(2012/02) Feb 2012

Oops: it may need some time before ur boy is willing to slp on his own. When I said u try sleeping with him and slowly move away, it's not within a night. Eg. Tonight u sleep beside his bed, tomorrow you sleep farther away, and so on till you move back to your room.

OOPs: My son is sleeping in a cot bed in our room from mothercare that can last till he is 5 years old. Have bought another smaller one for our girl which we will put in our room as well after the confinement lady goes off. I don't want my son to think that we are 'abandoning' him when mei mei comes so decided on that. And save $ on electricity too! hee hee. But this is just the plan as my #1 may get disturbed when mei mei cries at night cos he can sleep through now. Oh my #1 is only 16 months now, turning 17 months exactly at my edd (i.e. 15 feb). really hope won't have uterine rupture! tt's my worst fear. U planning to take epi? I am trying not to this time but the last time when i hit 2 cm my contractions were off the chart and i cannot tahan! this time I will try.

Oops: I just went to gynae today, she is about 2.9kg est. I at 38 weeks 2 days now. What about u? Hoping to keep her small so I can have more success rate with VBAC.

Icy claw: my sis recommended us the Sofy one also,
That's the ultra long one. SoulMummy say good coz
Bloodflow will be alot after the delivery.

Rocco: congrats and welcome to the gang

Bluecryst: not ex to make appt with lactation consultant .. Prolly around 70 if not TMC patient. If so will be cheaper. Highly recommended

Xia: type too fast Paiseh. Hehe..

Oh just to update darling daughter eyes puffy like having allergy or something.. Was pretty worried decided next day to bring her to doc. SGH tell us go KKH.. We were like ? Ok.. Called KKH. And they said will charge private rate of $102 for senior consultant fees only. Unless go Polyclinic then will get referral letter to get subsidized rate. And through it all must still book appointment. Lol. Decided to go Thomson PD clinic near my place. Got 10% off consultantion fee for FBI.
PD seems pretty nice and had long chat. SoulGranMa say just follow up at clinic in future coz nearby easy for them to bring her also. Oh well that's how we end up with current PD who we might probably be continuing from now onwards.

Oh ya DD a very healthy 2.47kg now! About 400 grams this week.

Hi icyclaw: u just delivered in gleneagles? C sect Or natural? U didn't choose a pd prior to yr delivery? The one u got from which clinic in gleneagle? A friend recommended me dr ngiam TE n will b engaging him for bb upon delivery.I will be gg c sect in gleneagle next wk too. Also have selected the single bedded. How's yr overall experience over there? Getting very anxious now, esp only tdy, dr asked me to opt for c sect next wk....

Hi mummies, I have given birth to a healthy boy 3.23kg. Initially was quite worried during the last check up when doc say he is only 2.83kg. So the difference is 400g!!

Btw mummies, any advise on breast feeding? If I bf one breast for 30min, bb refuse to tk in milk from another one. In the end it feels very full. Do I express the bm out?

Hi jingle bell, I have just given birth at gleneagles via csection. The overall experience here was great. The nurses very encouraging and helpful when it comes to bf.

I have a pd before surgery. He is doc yip yy. A very "on" doc. He will check on bb very early everyday to ensure that every thing is alright and will "report" to us usually before 7.30am everyday.

Jinglebell, yes doc Ngiam is good. My no 1 sees him.

Just went gynae check, bb gal is 3.1kg at 37wks. Now eating ramen at mandarin gallery. Must feast all I wan before confinement!! Going to jones the grocer later too

Shan, I'm so glad that you experienced that. My stay that was horrendous!! They bring your baby in on time for breastfeeding?

Hi Shan, usually the nurses at TMC will recommend 15 mins on each side. For me I BF my #1 fully till 1 year old and I realise there is no 'schedule'. If there is still milk on one side you can latch till there is no more. Better to drain the breast so that the for-hindmilk will balance. If the other side is full, pump out. Don't worry your baby won't have enough for the next feed. The more your baby suckles, the more there will be. This is the law of demand and supply.
All the best!!! kellymom.com has really good advise by the way, and very reassuring for women who think they don't have enough milk. It is worth a check.

Jinglebell, I slowly type out my exp bit by bit, you gauge on your own:

When time to go to ot for my preferred timing, nobody came and when we asked them abt it, the nurse do not seem to know anything abt the preferred timing and even after explaining, she say to wait.

On the first day everything seems ok, food is edible for me but my husband who is usually not very picky abt food say the food cannot make it.

2nd day: aldy getting very tired but the endless coming in and out of the nurses and all nearly drives me nuts. There is the nurse who came in to take my bp n temperature every 2-3hrs.

And then from ard 6am, a nurse came in to ask if I wld like to do sponging of my body, I told her, ehmm not now, maybe later and she left. At 8+am she came back, I was askIng can I do it at 10+am instead and she went out with a not so happy face. But did not return again.

Then ppl came in for:
- change bedsheet
- throw rubbish
- give newspaper
- give medication
- take Bp n temp
- take meal orders
- deliver food
- send baby in

Basically whenever I manage to doze off somebody will be in, and at least some of them will make an effort to be quiet as my #1 n hb is still sleeping. But some just barge in after knocking very loudly and talk loudly. I need to "shh" them quite a number of time..

dear all, I am 6 weeks pregnant, recently I bled and my gynae asked me to rest on bed. Do u all know what else I can do besides resting? bored to tears and quite worried too ;(
Oya I came across this website and the maternity clothes are very beautiful and affordable. I have ordered the goods and the goods are delivered very promptly. like their service. I am waiting for their new stocks.
http://*********/index.html

The best part is they can actually mixed up the breastfeeding timing:

Baby was sent to me at 8.30pm and it was recorded as such. When my hb n gal sent her back to the nursery immediately aft I was done w the 2nd round of breastfeeding, they were asked, when is last feeding. My room is very near the nursery and my gal came back shouting along the way " what time finish? I said 10pm. And In the end they send my gal back at 2.30am. Dunno if it was maternal instinct but I had aldy woken at 1.30am n waited till then as I had forgotten what is the interval like. Turn out it shld be every 2-3hrs from start time. When asking them abt it, the nurse can have the cheek to insist that my hb said 10pm, so they take the last feeding start time as 10pm when I send my gal back at 10pm, the most 10.05pm! And even if they take it as such, the time they shld send back latest is 1pm. Even if calculate as 4hrs, it shld be 2pm. And the nurse can actually tell me, "it's ok, only half ah hr late"!!

After complaining, the next day, baby was pushed in at 1335 and i fed left until 1420 n then 1536 right 1633.

A nurse came to collect the baby as instruction is that when not breastfeeding, need to go under light therapy and nurse left without asking abt the timing and at 1745 try to push in again. So either they are very late again or they are doing guessing work that does not make sense.

In the end I got so stressed up that I need to help them jot down nicely for them while being deprived of rest.

There was this nurse that came and encouraged me to walk to the toilet on my own and she was very detailed abt explaining why it is best to do it on my own fast and when I tried to, I cldnt and blacked out and she left to let me try again later.

And when she came back, again she keep saying no rush, but keep quiet for 30secs while i try and breathe in and out to try again, she repeatedly go on and on abt having to try until my mild tempered hb can't take it and asked her if she is in a rush to go somewhere, if so, he can help me on his own..

After trying a few times and crying cos so stressed by her, I succeeded to walk to the toilet and then blacked out and was shaking very badly. And then aft everything ok, nurses came in to take Bp again which i presume is to make sure I am ok, but half hr later, another nurse came to take Bp and when I asked how often they shld be doing this, she said 2-3hrs, and when I told her a nurse came by half an hr earlier, she checked the records and say nothing there!?

And I lost my appetite while staying there, by the last day, I cldnt even finish 1/4 of the food there. After complaining to the nurse in charge, she gave my husband a box of chicken of essence and in a nutshell say she is sorry abt all the unpleasant things that has happened but basically that's the way it is. I have to compliment that they actually took my feedback seriously abt the messy way they are recording the feeding time (3 patterns by 3 diff nurses) and Changed to our suggested way for the last night. Customer service pop by to ask if everything is ok, we tot they really care, but turn out it was just a routine question for her and apparently she can't do anything as nursing is controlled by another dept. in the meantime despite our repeatedly asking when we can go, there was no follow up and then after checking with them yet again, they told us it is cos they are waiting for the pd approval to let us go home. Which the pd had aldy called us to tell us the next appt date but we didn't realise that means we need to inform the nursery accordingly and then they process and after finally telling us we can go, they told us to go and pay downstairs and on the way out another person came and say sorry in a very general way and gave us 2 pkt of diapers.

While going thru the statements at 1+pm,, a nurse came to give us a medication that was ordered by the doc at 10+pm. And then a call told us to go back to the ward to pick up the health booklet and when I finally made it there with my pain, #1 fussing and #2 crying for milk, the head nurse went thru the booklet w me and then realise that the weight of baby upon discharge is not filled in and asked a nurse to get it. That nurse came back saying the records is gone, did I take it? I said no, and then she went to find and finally came back with it.

Paying more than $10k in total for this single bedded with lodger hospital stay for elective epidural c-section , I wld certainly never ever try again. Sorry for the super long post.

Icy claw, sounds like a really bad experience.....

At the usual checkup this morning, I got induced, pill inserted at 10am, cos water level too low. Baby is small at 2.5 kg, 37 plus weeks. Lucky we brought our hospital bag along. Waited for a room till 2pm. No single bedded left at TMC, so we upgraded to single premier. I just showered and poo, poo. Ready for delivery in the wee hrs. Having contractions now, still bearable. Will ask for epidural once I think I cannot make it....

GHK: very soon will see your baby le! All the best!
Sham: congrats!!
GG Lee: Ippudo?!?
icyclaw: sorry to hear about your experience! Hope you feel better now and speedy recovery!

Any mummies interested in secondhand medela freeystyle pump.. Only used for 9 days.. Come with box selling at $420.. Motor warranty till may 2012.. Please msg or what app me for more details... Yanyan 98251515

Icyclaw, that's really terrible! Such service from gleneagles despite paying so much! Why not bring ur case up to a higher management?

TMC is still the best, I feel. They even gave me a 'loyalty' hamper with 6 bottles of new moon chicken essence and flowers cos of my 3 births including this current one with them. Got upgraded to 2 bedded too cos initially requested for 4 bedded.. Hee.. N most of the time is only me n baby in the room.. Realised alot of mummies chose 1 bedded instead.

GHK, all the best! U will see baby soon! Maybe ur bb's weight will be more than 2.5kg too! Mine was 2.9kg last check by doc but gave birth to 3.165kg instead.
Lets hope the best for u!

BlueCryst: no prob, coz we signed up with mrs wong and our gynae at TMC but we delivered at SGH due to premature rupture of Waterbag.. We still went back TMC to see our gynae and the lactation consultant for follow up.

hi icyclaw: yr experience sounds horrible indeed. Which level did you stay on? I have requested for level 6.... Uhmm.....I hope I don't Kena same thing as you..... How come yr bill is over $10k? Incl yr dr fee?? Or just hospital stay? How many nites have u stayed there?

Shan: Congrats on yr delivery!! Which level r u staying ? Did u stay in single bedded too? Dr yy yip was initially recommended to me by my gynae. Heard he is gd too.

GG: yup heard many gd comments on Dr Ngiam.... Tts why chosen him.

Ghk, congrats!! Maybe u delivered already? Can share how's the premier 1 bedder? Me also book premier 1 bedder

GHK, congrats! The 1st Dragon baby! Do share your birth story!

Icyclaw- those are really horrible services provided by Gleagles! How can they forget feeding times, There should be continuation of service even when the nurses changed shift.

Soul, yep ippudo! Love their noodles! Went to jones after dat hoping to get their butter croissant but sold out! End up settle for choc croissant and baguette. Then tea had rochor beancurd and fritters and dinner went to orchid live seafood!!! Eat and eat whole day. After this weekend will have to control Liao

GG lee: envious! I can't eat all those good food now.. Counting dwn to two more weeks! I like ippudo too! Also wild honey..

Congrats to all who have popped!

Jojo, yes, me too!! So told myself this week last chance to pamper myself!!! Going dim sum now. After this will guai guai eat light le!!

Tks all for well wishes and feeling for me..

Godsent, aldy complained to and customer service who said she will speak to director of dunno what aso like that..

Jinglebell, mine was on level 6... Hope that they really look into our feedback seriously and change so that your stay is much better.

If you dun wan sponging early in the morning on 2nd day, think gd to tell them the previous day, aso tell them changing of bedsheet, giving of newspaper and throwing of rubbish to do together only after certain timing and try to be together?

My bb popped on 30 Jan.. I delivered him at TMC and was given a free upgrade from 4 bedder to 2 bedder. I find that their service is so so only as compared to my 2 previous births at Glen E. But 1 thing they are more prof than Glen E is their proactiveness in encouraging breastfeeding.

Icyclaw,
Sorry to hear of your bad experience with Glen E. Given the fees you are paying, you certainly deserve a better service...

Mummies on confinement:
Just wanna find out during ur confinement, any of u really keep to tradition? No fan, no aircon, no bathing and washing of hair?!

Breastfeeding:
My bb is still on total breastmilk. Everytime he suckle, he will go to sleep very soon and unable to fulfill the 15mins rule on each breast.. Any of u also have the same encounter? My helper end up bottle feeding him EBM cos she is able to track his intake of 50ml per feed.. Sigh..

Hi mummy icyclaw, after reading your post I do remember there was this incident when they forget to write down the feeding time for my baby. Then when I ask this particular nurse, she say she forget.

And when I ask for help from this same particular nurse the next day for bf. she ask me to wait awhile but she disappear for almost 1.5hr after undressing me and ask me to wait. I was very upset with her. However, the rest of the nurse were very good and nice

Talking about them coming in and out of the room. I do experienced that too. Very disturbing especially when I am a very light sleeper. Thus, didn't have very good rest when I was there. But maybe I got a habit of waking up around 4-5am everyday. :p so when the nurse come for sponging and stuff, I am already awake. But I think my hubby cannot tahan, cos he still sleeping

Hi mummy Bubbliciouslee, I do experience that also. No matter how I try to wake up the baby, he still continue sleeping. Same, need to express the milk out for easy tracking. Unless if I unwrap him from the swaddle, then he will not fall asleep so fast. But I cannot handle him, with his hands all over the place, and I not very good with carrying him. When the nurses around, they teach me to tickle him, and to talk to him. Duno why, with them around, he is very responsive. But when I try on my own, he fall asleep in thunder speed

Hi jinglebell10, I stay on the 5th level at gleneagles. Single bed. Dr yip yy is very on, but he talk a bit "mono tone". A bit like robot. But like his promptness. After I deliver via csection, when my gynae still stitching up, she tell me the pd already checking on my bb to ensure everything is ok. I super kiasu type, so like his "fast response" :p

Jinglebell, i still do not understand my bills:
1) Package is $4098
Doc Fee:
Surgeon Fee $2361.70 (was supposed to be $2200 but with GST also not right...)
Doc attendance fee, there are 2 docs who are supposed to be charging $110/day for 3 days, but turn out 1 is $235.4 (w gst?) but the other is just $110
Anaesthetist $600
PD Fee: $1200

2) Total Doctor Fee: $4507.1

Excess of $1804.03...?

I do not know of any additional complications that i have that require extra, except for the following (guessing):
*Phototherapy $382 (inclusive of after hrs surcharge of $82.13 & handling charges of $43.68??)
* Hearing Test $62.02
* Metabolic Screen $85
* Duphalac Syrup $8.4
Total: $535.42

Anaesthetic time: $109.13 (this is for anaesthesia Regional 1st 15min: $53.13 & subsequent 15mins: $53.13?? on top of the $600... )
Surgical Supplies: $202.82
Medical Supplies: $114.09
Equipment & Supplies: $166.36
Lodger: $249
Lab - Clinical: $181.67
Lab Referral: $128.68
Pharmacy: $126.3
Consultations: $20 (this is charged by PD for BCG vaccination, on top of the $1200 PD charges!!)
3) Total additional: $1298.05

4) Discount of $67.13 (Dunno how it came abt?? 1.24%??)

5) GST of $373.02

6) Antenatal services (external): $200.09 (dunno for what??)

Grand Total of $10409.13

Shan:

Guess level 5 is better after all.. ;p

Urs is elective epidural c-section too? Is your bill the same as mine? Can share?

Breast feeding: ok, im confused...

LC first said: 15mins 1 side, then 10 to 45 min dessert (the other)side, next start with dessert side.

Then another LC said: 30mins to 45mins mas 1hr each side, then change if still wan after doing finger test, and the above is for the colostrum, so i presume when milk comes in, it is the 2nd method..

But my gal also, everytime ard 10mins to 20mins max 1 side then knock out no matter what i do, then feed again 1,2,3hrs later depending on mood...

What is what...?

Breast feeding: ok, im confused...

LC first said: 15mins 1 side, then 10 to 45 min dessert (the other)side, next start with dessert side.

Then another LC said: 30mins to 45mins mas 1hr each side, then change if still wan after doing finger test, and the above is for the colostrum, so i presume when milk comes in, it is the 2nd method..

But my gal also, everytime ard 10mins to 20mins max 1 side then knock out no matter what i do, then feed again 1,2,3hrs later depending on mood...

What is what...?

I suddenly popped! Few hrs ago. With epi but could feel everything! Frm checking cervic, pulling bb out, delivering placenta n the stitching! Nearly fainted by e experience cos dun have that during #1. Im so not going to have #3!

Frm 1st contraction (which i didnt know) then deliver is 5hrs only! 2nd time mummy relly so so much faster. Pls take note ladies if u r 2nd time mummy. Going to see baby soon!

Hi Natbaby, congratulations! How long did your #1 take? My Gynae said it would be about half the time - for me my first was e-c-sec due to no progression after 20 hours so I don't know when half the time is! haha! Did you take epi late tt's why can feel everything? Maybe the dose is low?

Bluecryst: depending on whether simple or complicated Case ba? Average including pumping about 1 hr.
Cannot choose ba? That time we went mrs wong came by and she spoke to us quite a bit.

GG : wah! So much nice food!! We love Ippudo too!! Probably the best ramen around. Yummy!!

Choco croissant nice ma at Jones??

Orangeroses,
My #1 was induce. But gynae say start to count e timing only when waterbag burst till delivery. So 'technically' #1 was near 8hrs.. #2 was abt 4hrs. Relly half e time. But induce till deliver #1 was 24hrs la.

Natbaby: LOL! Ya i never know when the start calculating hen labour starts! Anyway congratulations again, have a good rest and hope everything goes smoothly for you from here.

Shan, natbaby - grats!!! Have a gd confinement and speedy recovery! =)

Natbaby - u felt everything? Is it like what orangeroses mentioned? U took epi late or low dose? Cos from wat I can rem my epi last time round when I still feel pain I call nurse den tink they up the dosage or wat till I was completely numb and it took abt max 1 hr.

Blucryst, chewie - thanks! Hope I can tahan the pain cos I really hate the vomiting after epi. Damn hungry! Keke

Jen - yA abalone!!! I Neva knew tat! Keke. Shiok!

Soul - joking nia la! Btw nice weight gain for ur DD! Gd to see tat she's growing well! Must b soul mummy milk gd! Heh.

Hazel - ouch! They remove the epi when stitching? Cos I rem I was like totally numb. No feeling to the extent tat when had to trf bed i got no strength to support myself. My lower body totally no feel and control!

Opps - my #1 currently sleeping with me and hb cos "spoilt" from young refuse to slp alone in cot. Will maintain same arrangement plus really enforce #2 to slp in cot all the way. Hopefully can b done! How's ur situation now? Better?

Bubbliciouslee - @confinement for me -> daytime low spd fan if mil not ard. If not hide in rm with Aircon. Night time all the way aircon! My mil ok with Aircon but refuse let me have fan. She just say cannot direct wind. Keke. Bathed everyday with herb boiled water but Neva washed hair. Onli dry shampoo. Just read an article tat wash hair must wait at least 15 days cos got something to do with recovery of womb.

@breastfeeding - tink got 2 Schools of thought. 1 way is to latch 15-20 mins each side(in between can burp bb). 2nd way is to just latch 1 side for as long as bb wants and alternate side for next feed(better for me cos bb tend to fall asleep and will refuse to latch other side if I unlatch her to switch sides). I started off the first way. Den after switched to 2nd way cos bb start to have green poop(sign of too much foremilk and insufficient hindmilk). Depends on which method u better for u. Nid to trial and error.