(2012/02) Feb 2012

Hazel - Thanks for the link. The edd dates on the scans r sometimes earlier n sometimes later than the original. E.g on my 25th wk scan edd was 01feb but on my 29thwk scan was 08feb. I think is based on bb size tt day.

GD
After reading abt GD and all a bit worried nw. As during my last check up. Gynae mentioned tt bb gain 700g in 4 wks while i only put on 1.4kg. He mentioned tt bb a bit on the big side. I love drinking coke... must ve it at least twice a wk wonder if it has anything to do with it.

hi all! sorry to interupt. i have the following items to let go, they are all BNIB, sealed and with tag, and not opened before.

1) Mothercare Wide Neck Bottle @ $15 (RP $27.00, selling at 45% discount)
(http://www.mothercare.com.sg/productdetail.asp?pid=233064)

6414843.jpg

- As your perfect baby feeding partner we're here to help you every step of the way. Our bottle range has been developed to help create a feeding experience that is comforting for baby and easy for you.

- Wide neck bottle 120ml 3pk BPA free

- Anti-rolling lid, will not roll on the floor, so keeps bottle sterile.

- Wide neck easy to fill and easy to clean.

- Soft silicone teat ideal for newborns.

- Easy grip for ultimate comfort.

- Non-slip base so stays upright.

- Extra feature of the anti-colic ring (sold separately)

- BPA Free

2) Mothercare Blue Car Stripes Snoozie Sleeping Bag 0-6months @ $18 (RP $35.00, selling at 40% discount)
http://www.mothercare.com/Stripes-Snoozie-Sleeping-Bag-Tog/dp/B003UU69IE?ie=UTF8&ref=sr_1_16&nodeId=44409031&sr=1-16&qid=1323197379

6414844.jpg

• The cosy dozing bag for little sleepy heads!
• Keeps baby warm when feeding or comforting at night
• Baby is less likely to wake up from kicking off the covers
• Choose from different seasonal tog ratings to adapt to changing temperatures
• Helps baby feel secure in unfamiliar surroundings such as in a different bed or on holiday
• Removes the risk of your baby getting tangled up in bedding
• Unzips from the bottom, ideal for changing your baby's nappy in the middle of the night
• Lined in soft 100% cotton jersey, with fully enclosed seams so there are no rough edges
• Unlike a blanket the Snoozie allows baby to move arms and legs freely

3) Farlin Pregnancy Wedge Pillow $15 (RP $30, selling at 50% discount)
(http://www.farlin.com.tw/products-maternity_08.html)

6414845.jpg

This is an ergonomically correct pillow which is perfect for side sleepers and provides essential comfort for the future mothers, reducing torsion stress on lower back allowing them to get rid of aches and pregnancy back pain and renewing morning vigour and energy.

Can meet up at raffles place or city hall mrt to transact. Will give further discount if buying 2 or all items above. Pls PM me if interested, thanks!

happytomato, coke is v high in sugar content.. so, will cause mummy & bb to put on weight faster. maybe chose a healthy version, coke light/coke zero? GD mummies cannot take coke at all. not even 1 can per week.

my dr did say always use the 1st 3 months edd as the benchmark, because every baby grow differently, do estimated dates based on the size of bb after trimester 1 is no longer that accurate.

NC, never had this prob till now leh. V hard not to scratch!! Yup, using Clarins oil. But there were a few days I lazy and I think dats when it started to itch! Now apply already still itchy..

i'm using the clarins oil also. been using everyday but recently will scratch abit and very lightly. hopefully it doesnt leave a mark!

btw, i saw a shop in chinatown, selling the clarins oil and stretchmark control cream at $53.30 each. retail price is $80+. its with those shops that sell cheap toiletries.

GG: it's the opposite for me leh! Last pregnancy I applied clarins oil, it itched like mad! This time I'm applying bio oil instead, not so itchy already. My ultimate itch came from the post-natal tummy binding! Whole tummy itched and swollen with red bumps!

Gg: hope u r not like me. I have to c skin doc tomolo. Supposed o b today but can't reach mt e on time. Bad traffic jam at orchard road. Now I feel so itchy too.

Hi Linda, I went to Robinson. Gd sales like Phillip and medela has 25% discount. If u buy $180 and above u get another $30 rebate

Hello mommies!!

Long time no see! Hows everyone doing?
My feet still swell, so every night gotta lift up to backflow the water inside...sigh

And tummy getting very itchy even tho juz applied oil! Woahh really cannot stand, must scratch but i try not to do it on skin...
Really must tolerate... Otherwise ugly leave scars i dont want...

Have u all bought all the necessities for baby?

Recently baby kicks getting stronger ...amazing feeling
Still waking up once every nite to go toilet...somwtimes woke up by kicks... Heehee

I am now in my weeek 30, counting down to 10 wks left,
Cant imagine we have made it so far, jia you all mommies!!
A while morw and we will see our lil precious ones soon!!

Sisters in final tri, hubs can hear bb's heart beat by putting his ear on your tummy already! I read it in the book... Hubs has always put his ear on my tummy n fr 20wks onwards he hear only water sound! Now, he can hear her heart beat!! I hv nv tell him Wat I read in the book, but suddenly just now he told he heard heart beat & asked me if they are mine or bb's!! Haha!!

Now, I m reading books on breast feeding, bb massage & how to train bb to sleep thru the night after the initial mths since I m done with pregnancy books.

Rocco, try again. I read can hear at 28w. But hub only can hear yeaterday when I m in 30th wk. Sometimes, bb position also matters.

Catherine, ya i went to the sales in the end too. lucky i manage to claim the $30 rebate from the flyer i printed out after they announce all vouchers being redeemed. heehee~

hello ladies!
Wah! i missed the robinsons' sales again..

I just apply tones of oil and scretch marks cream when i feel my skin is itchy. Really cannot scratch, else will leave behing ugly marks. My belly alr have stretch marks leh. boo hoo..

NC, you have sensitive skin huh?! cos sensitive skin will itch like mad after massage wor. my skin itch like mad after birth at hospital lor. The plastic sheet covering bed really making my skin itch like hell and I have to request for a wet cloth to wipe my back to ease the itch.

Teoong, robinson sales still there. Yesterday was preview for members. I came down just now n bought the F&P rocker. Now just finished lunch.

Hazel, really! thanks!! I miss the members discount then. Nvm will cheong there tmr since am on leave to see gynae. Make a trip dwn before I go gynae then. Woohoo!! Shppg again, but hopfully I can still walk the distances, stomach has been feeling very heavy and backaching these days.. cannot sit or stand for long.

Hazel, u mean it's baby's heartbeat, I always tot it's mine, haha... Will get hubby to listen...

Teoong, ya, tummy getting bigger suddenly, cannot walk for long also. If walk too long, pelvic/groin area will feel really uncomfortable...

Baby's kicks and punches getting more powerful now, everyone feels the same way?

GHK, yes, from 28wks onwards, can hear bb's heart beat on our tummy. But I think also depends on bb's position. Sometimes cant hear also.

Sweetcorn, I wake up every 1-2 hrs at nite to pee...tiring...

On belly itches, I'm using the clarins cream, really splash my whole tummy with it every morning and night. I tried using the clarins oil previously in the early months, but it makes me itch, think it's too oily for me, so I switched to the cream one. Think if the lotion is too oily, it may make the skin itch, so got to moderate....

Teoong: I also dunno whether it's sensitive skin, but my tummy really looked very hideous with all the red bumps lor... The massage lady said it's because of toxins in the body, dunno how true....
Any mummy experiencing bloatedness/ puking in 3rd tri? Seems like my ms is coming back! Haiz...

Oh dear-missed Robinson member sale again!
Anyway, I think not much things left to buy-already bought the big items like cot, breast pump, yaolan.

NC- I did last 2 nights. Couldn't sleep. Last night's bloatedness was the worst, had really bad gastric pain but can't puke out. Feeling real lousy lately, maybe due to lack of sleep, have been waking up at least twice in a night to pee and I had those really weird nightmares of my baby being gone. I always woke up panicking and frantically touching tummy to find baby heartbeat to make sure she's there-HB thinks I'm paranoid.

Mummies, any part-time helpers around SengKang area to reccomend? I'm thinking of getting 1 to start in Jan to help prepare for CNY and oso thru my confinement period in Feb/Mar period.

Hazel - Yah nw i trying to cut down totally on soft drinks but yesterday cannot take it had pepsi with pizza for supper :p

Rocco - My hubby also can't hear lei... he say only can hear those tumbling sounds...

NC - I read somewhere tt its normal tt some of the symptoms u experienced in 1st trim will come bk in 3rd trim. I also start to feel faintish sometimes.

Jen - U're not alone! I also have those weird nightmares of bb punching so hard tt broke through my placenta and stomach and i could hold his hand. Will wake up in sweat and check my stomach. Phew.

Happytomato - u feel faintish too? me too.. and i tot maybe i was eating or resting well... and nowadays i have this terrible heartburn.. but i feel better if i drink milk....

Mich - Yah just last tues i was shopping ard in toyogo when i suddenly felt weak and had to sit down. Weird thing is i wasn't standing up for long or anything. I also suffer from heartburn esp after a heavy meal. Super painful n uncomfortable. Gynae mentioned 1 way to reduce is to eat several small meals a day.

just wondering what most of the mommies here have done or bought.. It's my first baby I am really lost about what needs to be done and by when.. Any advice?

I am coming to 31wks le. Doc said my baby is alr ard 2kg.. I was told to do the GD test.. Now still awaiting results.

Has anyone experience pressure building up in your head when you turn onto your back? I can't seem to find a comfy position to slp.. When I lay dwn too long on my sides I ache all over.. Find some relief when I turn onto my back but after awhile pressure seems to build up in my head wIth every heartbeat..

Same here. I feel the ache when i sleep on 1 side for too long. To relieve a bit discomfort sleeping 1 side, i used a long maternity bolster btw my legs & another pillow to support my back. My bb will also kick if i sleep too slanted on my side, pressing on my belly. In d end, my angle is ard 45 degree or more wif the help of the pillow behind my back. Now wif the tummy getting bigger, i now would feel breathless after lying flat on my back even wif 2 pillows propped under my head.

hi mommies who have itchness.... share with you what my skin doc says today. i was referred to skin doc by my gynae cos i am really scratching myself and my tummy is red. Despite the fact that GPs told me i cant be cured until i give birth, the skin specialist gave me hope. bcos i have been scratching and i have not been sleeping well cos its itchy for some time i was asked to bathe with magnesium potassium. just 3 days to reduce the swelling. then she gave me moisturiser the skin doc say the oily the better. so far shower at 10pm now its close to 2am, i am still ok not scratching myself at all.

my gynae told me some scratchmark cream can cause you to have rashes. so if u are really not well please tell your gynae and they will pack u off to skin doc. trust me its worth spending $ to c the skin doc but do remember, festive season is round the corner. the gynaes and skin docs are gg on their vacation too. (i have to beg for an appt to see the skin doc if not my appointment is on 9 jan 12)

Yes Catherine is spot on. Those stretch mark cream has too much chemicals n may worsen itch. Some mommies itch coz of hormonal changes that resulted in super dry skin. Oil itself will help to ease the itch. So, cheap oil such as pure olive oil works well. Olive oil can be applied onto new born's skin directly too if they r too dry until peeling. My gf used horse oil to ease her itch. I didn't hv this itch issue. I didn't use any stretch mark cream also. In fact, my skin condition is v good with this pregnancy. Even my beautician said so, is hormones. Guess I m lucky. My problem is super breathelessness. Even simple chore like hanging clothes will cause that n only ease slightly when I lie on my left side.

hi mummies, I have been reading this thread silently.. I am also due in feb. My second baby.

Just want to share that there is a carter's warehouse sales ongoing till tomorrow. Very cheap. 3 dollars a piece. you may want to check it out. cos there are alot for small size. be careful of crowd thou'. Friend was there shopping on my behalf and she mentioned the long q.

I am also having weird dreams at night. And keep having interrupted sleep thru out.
My dark eye rings r getting worse.

Anyone packed hosiptal bag for delivery already?
Can share the essential list of things to bring to hosiptal?

Chilli, hv not packed. But here are they things I will pack:

Mummy - maternality disposble cotton panties, sanitary pads, bra, bed room slippers, socks (better keep ourselves warm after delivery), front open button pajama (for ease of nursing), basic toiletries (if u using hospital ones then dun need), dry shampoo (since I wun be washing hair there), laptop or iPad to occupy me, handphone charger.

Daddy (if staying with mummy) - change of clothes, toiletries, a jacket and /or blanket (as labour room is v cold), towel, iPad.

Baby - recieving blanket (some hospital will give, but not sure if it has been washed prior to that), blanket, a cap, one set of clothes for returning home, 2-3 sets of cheap booties and mittens (hospital is cold. I want my bb to wear them that 2-3 days when she is there, use cheap ones in case the nurses misplace them & for returning home), basic bb stuff like wipes, handkerchiefs, disposable diapers, some plastic bags/zip lock bags to put soiled items (in case I need them on e short journey home).

It have been ages since i log in here, have been traveling overseas last mth. So tired...

An update and things to share: My gynae told me i've Gestational diabetes and need to cut down on carbo, sugar intake to avoid big bb. As my 1st bb is 3.17kg, 2nd bb is 3.2kg and he say better to keep below 3.5kg for normal delivery. i'll pass my gynae my birth plan next visit and make appt to sign the paper to donate my bb cord blood.

I also have Umbilical hernia that need operation after delivery to help me recover, but it will be consider as cosmetic surgery.

Recover from Posterior pelvic pain + Swelling of the nasal passages when i reach 3rd trimester.

Milk have have been coming in when i squeeze my nipples, white dots are ok to be seen, unless u feel uncomfortable.

Sleeping on sides are recommend after 1st trimester. Use a pillow to put under the tummy should help. My hands get numb when i lie on one side for too long, so i turn to other side lo.

I use normal moisturizer 2x a day on tummy since 1st trimester. I've use stretch mark cream for the 1st,2nd pregnancy, but find it useless as the stretch marks will start show if it wants.

Usually pack my hospital bag 2wks before EDD. I sugg to pack chicken essence(if u all drink) and energy bars (or choc bars). Drink chicken essence before u deliver to give u energy to PUSH and the energy bars for hubby to keep him in delivery ward! He got no excuse to leave u while u r in pain, saying he is hungry! Haha... I also bring a bottle of plain water to keep myself hydrate.

For 1st time mummies, i sugg to not go hospital so early (unless bleeding or waterbag break). The whole labour will take more than 5 hrs, can slowly shower, eat meal before heading down. Staying in the delivery ward, make u more stress and dilute slowly.

Sugg for 2nd time mummies, need to go down hospital as active labour occur faster than 1st bb. I tink i need to rush down as it's my 3rd bb. Hee...

Just my little experiences to share with mummies to be. Hope that i'm not too nagging...

Thanks Hazel & Purelyz for the advices!Purelyz-I like your suggestion on the muesli bar part for HB! Think I will also put in crackers and chips so my HB has no excuse to run away. ahahaha!

Evon-I have white dots on my nipples as well, acoording to Mrs Wong from prenatal class, these are milk ducts expanding but nothing came out for me yet. Purelyz, you already have active milk ducts?

Lynn-let us know where the carter warehouse is? Think a lot of mummies will be interested!

I hv told even water bag break, also hv enough time for a quick shower. Buy some food along the way, coz once warded, mummy cannot eat. So, labour pain is many hrs, mummy will starve.. :p