(2012/02) Feb 2012

Jen, I got reason to skip if I get chosen. My boy's 1st bday is tmr. I need to celebrate for him. Wahaahahaaa......

jen>all civil servants are involved. just whether your ministry/stat board arrow u. :p

jascmy>happy birthday to your boy. my side if kena chosen n don't want to go, must produce medical cert from doctor wor. cannot just say birthday don't want to go

LSnTYL, Thanks. My colleague told me can leh. Cos I told her lucky I'm not chosen or else can't celebrate. She say can ask for excuse. I think my supervisor request leh. Her bday also tmr. She work for GE and not PE.

jascmy>maybe your side not as strict as my side. cos hear really got shortage of staff for election duties cos a lot of malays request for exemption due to fasting

LSnTYL, no wonder so many of my colleagues nvr work for GE but now call for PE. Oh ya, my supervisor is a malay. Maybe she give that reason loh.

LSnTYL and Jascmy, I think I must have been really lucky. I was working for stat board for 5years+ before I quited 4years ago. At that time, none of my dept people ever get called up for GE/PE, so didn't know :p The only time we get called for voluntary work was during the international MAS summit, chosen to keep the ambassadors' taitais company for Sinagpore tour in the limo taxi! Haahaha.

Rocco, I received a few sample packs from Ammum, S26, Abbott but never tried them cause I'm drinking fresh milk. You drinking them? Anything wrong?

jen>wah, tat's a nice kind of voluntary work wor. :p you working for MAS ar? how come kena called for their summit?

jascmy>could be. several of my malay colleagues used that as excuse. can understand lah. fasting if have to stand in hot sun or keep calling names n cannot drink water is v xinku.

rocco>i drank mommy's milk for #1. don't like taste so not drinking this time round

booked my postnatal massage liao

Jen, thanks for sharing, just bought the voucher

LSnTYL: No lah, funny thing is, we r stat board under MOH but kana linked to summit. Think they have not enough people in MAS to meet their criteria that time. Memo stated can only sent single ladies below age 35, then must be degree holder, if nominated by HR system,must go for 1st round interview and test English proficiency, go through Tourism course about Singapore etc.. Not fun at all, sat & sun also must entertain and the pile of work continue to pile on my desk. HAHAHA.

Jasmy and Pinkz: hope our BBs will enjoy the buffet!

Went for my checkup today
Apparently the "apple juice" method didn't work haha
Baby's leg was closing so tightly.. Couldnt even get the slightest clue on the gender..
Got to wait for week 20 scan!

Leting go my 6 month old peg prego piko P3 pram with car seat..

condition:9.5/10
price: $900 neg

pls call me at 91112839 if you wish to view it.
5956915.jpg

Charmaine, brand new, preg prego piko P3 pram is selling at $570, 25% off. The car seat is at $374.40, 20% off. Total price, $944.40. Delivered to our house some more. Mummy will rather buy brand new than second hand from you.

Sisters, check out: www.babytown.com.SG

If got discount may end up cheaper than taka member sale.

Hi babymaking, what's night terrors? You mean the toddlers get like nightmares because they play a lot in the day?

I think I didn't put on a lot of weight but tummy looks big... maybe cos of the merlion-ing in the 1st-3rd mth.

pinkz: I get my toddler health insurance, plus insurance coverage for parents because we are the baby's pillars.

NC: I also feel that after first baby, seems like I'm not so strong, so that's why this pregnancy I'm always so tired.

Me also, told my gynae this round feels lethargic, ms was also worse than 1. She says is common to feel more tired and aches for subsequent births. Now we almost 2nd tri can start to bu already right? Think will start taking cordycept, I believe it us really good for bb. Took a lot during no 1.

hello

no lah just wanted to ask ard who's drinking mummy's milk and wats the feedback?

I drink frisomum sometimes (usually i drink fresh milk cos convenient) but i have to try and finish the whole tin of friso that i bought.
I tried Anmum this morning and it was actually quite nice.

NC, im 16 weeks le but still lighter than pre-preg weight. Gynae hopes to see me regain normal weight first n keep food down
i agree with you, now #2 really weaker than before. But i was not in good health n was on medication when i conceived so i felt that was the cause. I urge all first time mummies to allow their bodies to recuperate for at least a year before trying #2. unless u feel time is not on ur side....

jascmy, im not thinking so far....doing my amnio tml. Will see how first...if bb is fine then i will plan
with my #1, i only started to buy n prepare bb stuff when i was 7mths preg. Heh.

gg_lee, thank you...am looking forward to it
for cordyceps, i rem my mil saying its for 精神 and can take thruout the pregnancy. I didnt take anything for my #1, no fishoil, no milk, no tonic, no birds nest. I just tried to have a balanced diet. Milk cannot take too much else body cannot process it properly, will result in 结石. Everything in moderation i guess....oh i did take black chicken soups! Quite like the taste
now i rem, my mil said before if take cordyceps, cannot take 白萝卜 as it will cancel the effects wor. So if u taking rem no 白萝卜hor else waste the cordyceps :p

Cordycepts r good. Best taken last few mths before delivery. Bb will be bigger n can absorb the good effects of cordcyepts. Bb's will be born with stronger immunity.

Yes, cannot take white radish. Not good for pregnant ladies in general also cos liang. I took cordycept once a week for no 1 and birdnest twice a week. Also got pow sen. Black chicken is good too.

Hi Mummies to be,
i am selling the following, PM me if you are keen in any

Ardo Calypso Dual Breast Pump at $280
Bought in Feb 2011 at $350. Used for 2 months.

Pigeon Silicone Nipple Shield (x 2) at $2 per pc

Capella Stroller 2009 version S705 (3 years old) at $100

Munchkins Soothing Crib Light & Sound - $15.00

Re: cordyceps
But cordyceps are very exp right? My mil bought once before, and added korean ginseng for me, all grind into powder. A day after i took a small amt with water, i had high fever. So i stopped. Till now the leftover power still with me somewhere. My boy was born 2.99kg at 37 weeks. I think ok bah...now 18mths 12.5kg. I think its the FM really, he is a drinker....

Re: breast pump
I recommend Ameda Lactaline Dual breastpump for budget conscious mummies. I bought a 2nd hand one from a mummg here for only $100. Its good enough for me but home use only as its quite bulky.

Cordycepts are not heaty. Yes, is v ex. Purpose to take late pregnancy before delivery is to build on bb's health and immunity after birth. I hv heard of a few couples who take cordycepts for prOlonged period n finally managed to conceive naturally. The gd effects of cordycepts hv been proven. It is getting fewer n fewer n hence the steep price.

it not really feb mtb group...it a group for mtb...

Cheryl is in charge of the group...but i dun think she is active SMH forum...she prefer FB. hence u need to add her as a friend in FB. U can look for Cheryl Alessandra Chew on FB and tell her u r from SMH forum.

hi morning, i'm wondering if anyone's using a doppler to hear baby heartbeat...i'm 14 weeks (expecting #2) along and i can't seem to hear anything !!

Hi, I'm thinking of getting a Doppler.. Haha.. Chk up once a month.. But I keep worrying abt the baby.. 15 weeks le but tummy like still the same frm 3 weeks ago.. Worried.. Shd I get a Doppler? Where can I get one off the shelf??

Thks Jocelyn

added her as friend sometime ago but can't msg her. weird

I am using the heartbeat Doppler and mOnitoring on my own. So far heartbeat ok, in green zone, between 150-160.

I got mine hmm...about a month back at Takashimaya (from Baby Singapore at the baby section). I'm not sure how to use it though. I wanted to get it because for my first pregnancy I was freaking out in the last trimester when I thought the baby was moving less than before. So I think the doppler is a good buy but...I can't seem to hear any heartbeat now, just my own blood flows. It's annoying!

i got mine from this wed and that time they have a booth at taka so i went down to collect straight away... the doppler is good, can track baby heartbeat but it takes time as baby keep moving, so unable to track very fast.. must be patience..

http://www.babysingapore.com/luvion/doppler.html

now I seldom use cos i can feel baby movement inside me.. esp at night..

Have almost new babyplus $180 (used twice) and Angelcare baby sound and movement monitor (used,full set no box), AC401 deluxe, sgp selling $340 brand new for basic set, selling mine deluxe set for $170.
SMS 9336-4477 to reserve

hazel, i think its the korean ginseng thats heaty, my colleague told me before...so i scared to take already since my mil had both the cordyceps n korean ginseng mixed together. If just take normal chicken essence, would it be sufficient?

gg_lee, my amnio went well yesterday. No pain just cramping when the needle went in. Needle used was very fine. I didnt look at my tummy but watch the screen instead as the needle went in. Somehow bb lie still when they were extracting the fluid when a while ago it was moving around quite vigorously. I opted to get the results in 48hours, paid a freaking $250 more. Gynae is optimistic. He said bb's legs are not short n from the scan he cannot see any soft markers of DS. Nurse was great, reassured me that she assists with amnio like 20times a week n its really a simple extraction. Was told to rest for 2 days n cannot carry heavy things or go shopping/marketing. Lucky my mil not working today so last nite my husband sent him to stay over at my mil's. He worry i will end up carrying him as my son clings to me quite bad. He was howling when my husband bathed him last evening, so sad. Last nite i felt quite painful cramps. Went away after a while thou. Supposed to see my gynae immediately or go to TMC 24hr clinic if 1) heavy bleeding 2) wetness ie feels like a gush of water rushing out.

kwxy, we 2nd time mummies can feel movements much sooner partly cos we can recognise the sensations already. I could feel mine ard 13 weeks even as i puked in the toilet. Slimmer mummies will b able to feel the movements easier too. But by 5th mth u cfm will b qble to feel de. Wait till u r 6 or 7mths, the bb will b so active ur tummy will jump around or change into weird shapes
when my boy was in my tummy n im taking mrt, he was extremely active n will move n kick until ppl ard me notice my tummy twitching. Sometimes i will yelp in pain when he kicked my bellybutton or even my ribcage. But dats when i was v near to delivery liao. I had bad pelvic bone pain when i was only ard 32 weeks, cannot walk. Add on the PUPPP rashes, Dr Tham put me on hospitalisation leave. After that, i started my ML n lucky i did. Bb decided to come out 1 week before the scheduled csection date. DR Tham rushed back to KKH wearing a super bright red shirt. Y? Cos it was the first day of CNY! Had an urgent csection that day n i had the 4 bedded ward all to myself until i was discharged. Looks like no one gave birth during CNY.

yanyan, congrats! You very slim? For my boy i could feel him move when i was ard 15 weeks. But he wasnt v active until 20 weeks. So i think technically for my #1, i can only feel his movements when i was 5mth along. The movements before that felt more than gas ^^

Butterwaffles, such a waste that your mil mixed the 2 together. But u had it when u had no 1 right? Maybe u can try one more time for no 2 later stage of pregnancy. Coz no2 maybe able to take n hence not heaty. Btw, pls rest in bed these few days after amnio.

Kwxy, when u feel movements, u will see a pattern. It is quite light at initial stage n usu last a few seconds. U may miss it if you r on the move. Some move alot at night. Some move after mummies have eaten. That's how u differentiate between bb's movements from gas.

Butterwaffles, yeap, I very slim. Now 17 week only gain 1 kg. 49.1 kg only.. Hahahaa.. I agree that baby move more at night Esp whn I lying down to slp..

hazel, i had it once when i was in 2nd tri with my #1. then i just stopped. Then another time, my mum felt its a waste not to take so she added to a soup she prepared n i drank without knowing, next day also high fever. First time i took, my mil asked me to mix it with water n just drink. Quite ok cos tasteless ah. I will try again soon, when my nausea is better. Not sure if those powders expire already or not ^^

Bytterwaffles, not sure how much u take each time. If u dissolve in warm water, one scoop of the bigger side of the plastic stirer (those that McDonald use for stirring coffee/tea) is enough. Shld not be heaty. I keep them in a plastic bottle in the fridge. Can keep very lOng