(2012/02) Feb 2012

Morning Mummies

Cassandra: The Doctor will take some measurements at the neck, followed by some blood test. My gynae told me that they will inform me within 2-3 working days if results turn out to be not too good... otherwise, jus have to wait for letter of notication...

Yanyan, I bought mine from kiddy palace-its called summer heart-to-heart for $58. Think Linda is having a spree on doppler.

babymaking- what is the brand of ur doppler? thinking of getting one..

I heard that 2nd Tri try to bu our body if not baby come out will always fall sick wor... but if mummy cannot take heat de better dun take too much bu.. and those body weak like me also dun intake too much or too strong. scared body cannot take it, will harm baby...
My fren ask me to take red dates and longan drink every week.. hahaha...

@feelingblessedprincess: hey there, I just saw your message. Oh, so they will send us a letter. How long will it take to reach? Sorry, kinda anxious.. dunno how it's gonna be like.. =P

Blucryst- Yes, you will get a call from TMC. Mine was very fast-I went in the morning and by evening, my hubby has received the call to inform us that BB is at low risk.

I prefer hot drink le...office ari-con so cold. normally 2nd or 3rd Tri then wanted cold drink.

Anyone take Sangobion (iron supplement)?

Feelingblessedprincess, after the Oscar scan at TMC.. We have to take blood test too? Blood test to test on what? The last time I did was only NT scan n blood test only taken at my gynae's clinic.

Morning Mummies, cold rainy day...

informed by gynae that i need to walk in for my OSCAR as well. is it we are late in booking or Aug is really a busy month?

shinely
you can start taking multi vits and fish oil after 13 weeks when ms/nasuea subsides, but must continue to take folic acid. mulit vits contain necessary vitamins and trace minerals such as iodine to protect mummy healths as bb will be 'eating' off your reserves and increase immune so that you don't fall ill so often which protects bb, also helps for bb's development.

fish oil is good for baby's brain development, increased iq and has been linked to less hyperactivity when bb is born.

the best way is to take lots of variety of fresh vegs and fruits and low fat meat. but i find it easier and cheaper to pop a couple of pills than prepare a well balanced meal that consist of all the necessary vitamins and minerals.

Godsent- its part of the OSCAR package, measurment are within limits, and then part 2- the blood test is test for any abnormal chromosom DNA which is the determining factor for down syndrome.

Effie, i believe we are just late in booking. Cos my 2nd appt with my gynae I'm already in my week 10+..

When u gg for ur scan? Next week?

yanyan>personally, I tink its more impt for us to eat nutritous food during the pregnancy than to intentionally bu. wait like you said if bu wrongly, might not b so good. My boy is healthier than me. He caught the flu bug from me and I'm still sick but he is ok le. but maybe the breastfeeding helped to build up his immunity too.

godsent>think there are 2 parts to the oscar scan. the scan itself to measure the thickness of the neck and the blood test. for #1, I only did the nuchal scan. didn't do the blood test at all.

@Jen: Hey Jen just saw your message when I scroll up. Wow that's really very fast. I'm going tomorrow afternoon, don't think will get a call by evening then..

Oh mummies going for scan at TMC, forgot to update- the radiological dept offers a package: sign up for both OSCAR and 20th week detailed scan will cost only $450 after GST. We were pleasantly surprised cause the clinic nurse who make appt for us previously did not mention and scared us off with separate scan cost that goes up to $580++.

BluCryst: depends on your hosp i guess... in my case, they will tk about 3 weeks to send me the results which is also almost the same time I will visit my gynae... However, shld be relieved if you do not receive any calls within 3 working days after test.

yan
mine is sonoline c - approved by FDA for use to track bb's hb. when i bought it back in 2009, it cost me around $300, i managed to get a lower price of $180 but only if there's a minimum order of 5 pieces.

if scared heaty, skip the longan and just make red date tea, as longan is heaty. yeah, 2nd tri is when most pple start bird nest also, but i avoided bird nest cos it's link to allergies and asthma when bb is born.

Thanks Jen and LSnTLY for the blood test info.. Things really change man since I gave birth to my boy 2 yrs ago.. Wonder next time what other tests must our DILs go thru. :p

Godsent- agreed wif you, our parents didn't have the technology to do such tests but now, medical sciences is advancing, maybe one day-we just chrone babies in test tubes, our children don't need to through pregnancy anymore.

Hi, I have been following the thread religiously everyday n really appreciate all that u have contributed regarding wat to buy n which product/brand is better. The shopaholic in me got slight bit excited n happier. ( most days, I have either been feeling miserable becoz of ms or feeling weird becoz the unfamilar feeling in my stomach. Sometime feeling slight pain, nt sure if it's the bb, hunger or gastric pain. V confused. Sigh. Sometime I'm nt even sure if I'm realli preg or is it juz a dream. Am quite unprepared) will probably b dropping by taka later today to hav a feel of the pricing then go back again next thurs after my Oscar to buy.

After reading so much I'm also worried n pantang abt the Oscar result. So haven't been telling my friends yet. Miserable sometime... Face also gt a lot of pimples,don't dare to go facial. Then these few days the skin ard my mouth feels v dry. Nt sure if it's coz of ms n I keep cleaning my mouth, There's a ring of redness ard my mouth with flaky skin at the side. Feel ugly.

feelingblessedprincess: yah, initially we thought only bad news will call too-so when my hubby received the call while having dinner, he basically freezed for a while. That scared me too, thought it was bad news but relieved to know lah its fine. The nurse said parents started calling clinic if they don't inform, so TMC make it a point now to inform.

momobb: How many weeks are u now? Have you seen a gynae? Pimples issues could be caused by the changes in your hormones, you might want to check with your gynae what cream is suitable for application? For me, my gynae only recommends a facial wash... try to drink more water and take more fruits to reduce the heatness... Hope this helps...

blessedprincess
No. When you’re pregnant, you shouldn’t take any supplements that contain vitamin A. This includes:

* fish liver oil supplements, such as cod liver oil
* high-dose multivitamin supplements
* any supplements containing vitamin A

You should also avoid eating liver and liver products, such as liver pâté or liver sausage, as they may contain a lot of vitamin A.

Too much vitamin A can harm your unborn baby.

the same goes for skincar/make up that contains rentinol and vit a

Jen: that is so nice... mine doesn't practise that....
They told me that doc will review at the next appt... But my HB assures me by saying that if they can wait, means everything is all right...

Oh dear, momobb- you should relax and enjoy pregnancy. I broke down once as well in my 10 weeks when I woke up feeling bloated and ugly because nothing seem to fit me these days. But hubby was supportive lah, he consoled me that being pregnant is an innard beauty that's different. You should not feeling bad about pimples, some of us got pubic hairs growing faster and oily face too-its all due to hormonal changes. Why couldn't you go for facial? I think its fine, I still go for mine.

momobb, cheer up ya!
Dun worry on the Oscar results! U will get good results out of it!

Me too.. I also gt a ring of redness ard my mouth with flaky skin at the side. So ugly and itchy. Gt a cream from gynae. Hope it helps.. Maybe u wana ask ur gynae for a cream?

momob: ring of redness ard my mouth with flaky skin at the side? sounded like cold sores- I got that once when I just came back from UK due to temp change. Have you been back from a cold country lately or the air-conditioning temp in your room is too cold? Usually lip balm would do the trick, have you tried or seem a GP yet?

blessed princess
yes, liver contains iron which helps in red blood cell production but it also contains a lot of vit a and high in cholesterol, hence not recommended to eat for bu xue purposes.

spinach will be better for that purpose, or if u have low blood, gynae will prescibe sangoblin (iron supplement)

cod liver oil (鱼肝油)and fish oil is different. cod liver oil contains too much vit a which will damage bb's eyes and liver. fish oil is the extracted version which will help with bb's iq and congitive skills.

Just finished my Oscar and blood test! Everything went smoothly and so far measurement ok and I'm so glad. Now waiting got blood test result

BB so much bigger now...kicking and waving at us!! Hubby and i so excited to see that, even dr tham said bb very active. Bb now about 6cm and heartbeat at 167. Edd moved one day earlier, 14/2/2012

I also went to the TMC hospital tour at 11am...next Appt will be 1/9/2011. 4 weeks later. Another long wait.

Jen: doctors are trained to deliver good news over the phone and bad news face to face. Shouldn't worry when clinic call..

feelingblessedprincess:鱼肝油 is for DHA supplements, think was told by one of our experienced mummies in previous thread before that 鱼肝油 should avoid due to mercury level concern. Most of us here take the new obimin which contains DHA safe for pregnancy.

Jen: doctors are trained to deliver good news over the phone and bad news face to face. Shouldn't worry when clinic call..

KWXY: I'm sure the test result would be fine too! Congrats, now we are same EDD, Dr. Tham will be very busy that day. hahaha

hi Momobb, don't worry so much. pregnancy is a wonderful and beautiful process. u must relax and try to enjoy it!

what u described are all very common pregnancy signs and symptoms. slight cramp, pimples, anxiety etc. just be sure to share them with your gynae so u can get the right advice and supplements.

cheer up and talk to us if u have doubts. =)

KWXY> congrats! my oscar is on saturday. nervous. hehe.

Godsent> i'm going week after next. for now, it is still fully booked.

KWXY> did u sign up for the tour on the day itself? i wonder if i can do that together on my OSCAR day, since now i m not even sure how long the test may take, so can only decide on the day itself.

Doctor give that fish oil should be ok, my Dr give me FOC NeuroGain, supply 1 month... next month take from him again....hehee.

wah, I go away for lunch and come back to so many new posts.

Godsent>It was the same when I had my #1 in 2010 leh. Can't have changed that much? Where did you have the test for your previous babies? Or is it you din need to take the test then?

momobb>Don't worry too much about the Oscar test. How old are you? If less than 35, chances are really v slim. Even if over 35, chances are still quite slim lah. For skin, maybe you need to switch to another brand of skincare? It could b the hormones caused by the pregnancy.

KWXY>glad your test went well. must have been fun seeing bb again.
Wah, bb might come out on V Day.

KWXY > i went for hospital tour too. i will stick to 2 bedder, but its kinda small hor? Anyway, did you sign up for FBI? I will be joining the antenatal class in october