(2012/02) Feb 2012

anyone planning to go for yoga / aqua classes once in 2nd tri? i guess most of us are approaching 2nd tri soon and it's time to plan.

Hi gals... I got bleeding today again... Called my gynae and she advised to increase my hormone pills dosage and giving mec for bedrest... Tom go do Oscar and see her... Supposed to do oscar on Friday... Sigh... Dunno what's wrong again.. Quite worried

If I never eat, I feel very nauseous and will puke gastric juice out... But after I eat, I keep wanting to burp.. If cant burp then will feel nauseous again.. Anyone has symptoms like me? Feel so xin ku.. hope will be over soon! Haiz..

babyfaery, me same wif u, a lot gas n keep wan vomit the gastric juice o burp....wat pearl say is true keep small meals n keep eating...not too full, not too hungry....i knw if i full i wanna vomit, if i hungry oso same.......
windy, takecare n rest more!

Windy, don't worry so much. If you want, you can see your gynae tmr if the bleeding didn't stop. It's spotting brown discharge or fresh blood. Remain calm and call your gynae if you have any discomfort.

Will appreciate mummies try not bring up previous mc process. It really affect some mummies emotional and may think otherwise. Pregnant women tend to think a lot and quite emo, it will affect some mummies, especially first time mummies. It's true there's so much uncertainty in pregnancy, so try not to worry so much.

I do have mc before too. Let's move forward and let this be our happy pregnancy!

Hi dear mothers, just wondering wat are the food that are cooling for pregnant women?
i just drank barley today, but i asked the herbal shop auntie, she says theirs is china barley, its not so cooling de. so long i drink in moderation.

other than snow jelly, bird nest and barley, wat other food are cooling?
and if we are too 'cool', wat are the side effects for baby?

thanks KWXY.. it's like fresh blood... like light menses.. no other discomfort leh...going to see gynae tom. Hopefully everything is normal... but can't help worrying.

Hazel, what a birth story to tell ur niece when she grows up.

Windy, more bed rest if possible for u. Take care!

Angel, welcome!

KWXY, true true....shld jus post those positive story n not talking bout MC! i am super emo n tend to tink a lot after reading a lot negative story! just b happy n cheer up! believe in god!

Rocco, i oso jus drank barley 1/2 small cup! dont tink so much laa...everything in moderation!

Windy, did you pop in 2 tablets of dusphaston?. If possible, stay at home and rest. You must think positive, talk to your bb.

Had yummy spicy mee soto!! The soup so yummy and rich! Hehe

Bought lots of fruit too, kiwi, grapes and honey drew! All of a sudden, got craving for pear! Those juicy pear...ohhh...drooling!

Thinking too much food le

kwxy, u r same like me....having craving for those juicy n yummy chinese pear.....n also persimmon! has been going to NTUC las 2 days but dont have...haiz....

i am counting down to go home n jus lying on my bed....missing my bolster and pillow n my dearest bed!

tis hour making me so slow...n feel like sleeping, has been burping a big gas out n vomitting gas!

Pearl and HappyMomToBe: Feel better that it's normal..got ppl like me.. Haha.. But that feeling really very irritating hoh.. Wish will be over soon.. How to eat small meals? So u try not to finish a packet of mee? only eat half? But like very lang fei leh...

I oso got lots of craving for fruits! Haha.. Baby loves fruits.. Haha..SOme ppl say chinse pear cooling leh.. but I still eat.. my gynae ask me not to eat pineapple and durian. Watermelon can a little bit.. My fav is watermelon! Haiz..

Told my hubby to buy me sashimi, sushi, coffee, ice tea, watermelon, bubble tea right after I deliver!!! Haha.. I wanna eat them!

babyfaery,lang fei also bo bian. Is better than i eat too full later and feel very bloated then want to vomit. I keep lot of snacks in office , so i usually munch them in late afternoon.

HappyMomToBe > me too. hope time will pass quickly..i going to fall asleep soon. Doc say that part of preggy symptoms.

babyfaery, i usually share wif hubby...either jus order one large meal o add $1-2 and then share...i eat n then he will eat all...then again, i wil ask him to buy me someting to eat after 2 hrs...mayb some small kueh o snack laa...
wah u dare to eat watermelon, i wanted but stil dare not...once stop wil not stop...anyone tried avocado juice? its nice n i have it like alternate day!
pearl, jia you! yeah preggy symptom donlike to work!

Happymom, same same ah...I can eat all kinds of fruit except pineapple and watermelon!

Was thinking to buy a blender to blend fruits with milk or Yakult! Drooling again! Haha.

I take small meals too between week 6-10. Now 11-12, I take many full meals! Haha! I got hungry every 3 hours! But after eating, bloated and will find ways to make me burp. Sometimes I will drink coke to burp, then I feel much better. If not I take sweets. The best method overcome nausea is to sleep!

Rocco> Grass Jelly is very cooling, of all the liang things, my mum is most strict abt this. Dunno why. Most melons are liang too, dong gua, xi gua etc.

Note that you actually CAN eat these items if you want, but not too often. Too much cooling stuff is not good for our womb. This is not bantang, but according to TCM.

Hmm.. I drink glass jelly every morning during breakfast cos cant stand soya bean milk..

I guess everything in moderation shld be okay.

Any mummies craving hot tea? I just went to cold storage and they have a huge selection of infusion fruit teabags. Much better range than NTUC. I bought the twinings passionfruit and peach tea. Sounds yummy and it's caffeine-free! Yay! Hope that will keep me off green tea craving for awhile. =)

I also realised that I've been spending alot more money on food these days. Last time always skip breakfast, sometimes skip lunch.. now cannot le. Die die 3 full meals a day. And all my healthy snacks are also more expensive than junk food. Especially those healthy nuts..and berries.. Sighz. Not cheap to eat healthy!

wah godsent! i am craving for glass jelly but dare not touch as i know it is very liang...i cant take soya bean milk too.....vomitted after drink even jus one sip!

kwxy, my house got blender, will try yr remedy liao...hehe! c if i can drink the milk + juice... healthier choice!

planet, me too spending so much nowadays for food as i dont cook at all nowadays!all outside food.....

Happymomtobe, gosh.. I didn't know cos thats the only drink that can stay in my tummy. I need to have a glass of sweet drink every morning else I will have dizzy spell.. Like that what can we drink in the morning?

I had watermelon juice this morning during breakfast. First watermelon since preg. Shiok.. craving curbed, can stop for awhile Liao...

Think next will be my milk tea wif grass jelly.... Keke

Godsend, wah.. U drink grass jelly every morning ah.. Is tat still consider moderation :p I dun dare to take since preg..

Planet, u eat so well ah... I just had junks... Hershey nuggets...

Windy, rest well.. Take care.. Hope yr bleeding stop soon... Positive positive..

Hazel, love the 'along PIE' on bc.. Haha

Effie, I thinking of going yoga too.. Still looking ard.. U found anything?

Angel, welcome

LOL...yeah morning is the more tuff....i oso nit sweet ting...n i love ice lemon tea o ice tea! however as it is caffeine, i stop liao...scare lor...then jus eat lor n then wil b so mouth bittering...jus tahan for bb sake! stop drinking glass jelly ok? once a while is fine...reali too liang...cheers...kuai kuai ok??

Godsent, wat abt fruit juice?

Kwxy, go buy blender... very useful.. I love papaya milk, honeydew wif yakult, dragonfruit wif yakult.. I use yogurt drink too, cheaper and taste same same too... Yakult like very fast finish Liao... Can make smoothie too... Niceee

Thanks ladies for the advises!
Ive been drinking grass jelly everymorning for abt I think 2 weeks.. Moderation cos one glass each morning. :p cham ah.. Faint ah..

Like that tmr how? Maybe I will try cold juices.. Cos I really duno what to drink.. Sigh..

But y grass jelly liang ah?

Godsent> Agree with the rest that drinking grassjelly everyday is too much. Hmm.. if must have sweet drinks.. how about fruit juice (apple, orange, avocado, pear..), milo, horlicks, bandung? Or ribena?

Pinkz> Not that I eat well, but don't eat also nausea, eat also nausea, so better to eat proper meals and nourish the baby. Haha.

To think I'm already mother of 3.. Shame on me.. :p I guess I'm not gg to be a good advisor on this food issue when my DILs ask me in the future. :p

Happymomtobe > i just drank like 1 bottle, you knoe the one from herbal shop. But the other day my mother in law boiled barley water also, n she made me drink also, so i think should be ok right.

Windy > Duphaston helps to stablize the condition, but still advisable to see gynae.

Hee hee luckily i dun realli fancy grass jelly. I drink alot of soya bean milk though.

Previously ard wk 8-12 i feel hungry like at 10am, in between breakfast and lunch, i will snack on biscuits, or bring frutis to work to snack. But after wk 13, i dun feel hungry le. But i have been feeling veri bloated and full. dunno why.

Just had a slice of cold honey drew! Heaven!

Today gg to cook a feast for hubby and myself. Bought lots of seafood, prawn, squid and fish, gg to grill them!

Occasion?? To mark our start of 12 weeks! Haha. Praying hard bb to be guai guai and grow well. Cannot drink white wine so tonight we drink ribena! Haha

Godsent, grass jelly is super liang... it's one of the top no-no food/drink to take, according to my MIL and mum. I m not even allowed to take 1 sip... i think you better stop drinking it...

hi windy
if you are actively bleeding, take 2 tabs duphaston 2 times a day (am & night) and bed rest immediately. when you see gynae tonorrow, request for proluton jab (long acting progesterone jab), jabs work faster to stablise.

i bled thru my entire 1st tri in 1st pregnancy and was on duhphaston and proluton till week 12 but still had a healthy baby. so hang in there, keep the faith.

kwxy
not meaning to be offensive, but i think many including myself tend to take things for granted when things are going on well. every pregnancy is precious, and it's a sharp reminder that mc can happen at any point in time.

KWXY > my barley is boiled with winter melon, but the lady said its ok.
Wow enjoy your dinner!

btw people, do you know whether we can take gui-ling-gao? I be going to HK this sat, so i guess i will be having some of this, over there! Are there any food that i should avoid? Do give me your valuable advice!

Godsent> No problem! I had such a problem ordering drinks initially! Drove my friends mad cos very hard to decide and choose something I'm "allowed" to drink. Heh. Oh, if you are at those malay stall, one drink I discovered is Syrup limau ice. It's rose syrup with fresh lime. Very refreshing. You can try making that too. Just make rose syrup drink and squeeze a couple of limes into it. =)

Kwxy: Wah seafood feast! Enjoy!! And remember to make sure everything is fully cooked!! :D

Noted ice cherry.. This morning will be my last glass.
Tmr will be a cold glass of bandung for me.
Maybe I can drink cold barley too.. Hee..

Rocco: Barley with winter melon is liang + liang. Don't take too often.

Gui ling gao is liang too. It's similar to grass jelly. Actually more potent. Heh. If you really really want, maybe take it just once in your trip? Or share with someone.

Food wise, just be very very careful about hygiene I guess? Food poisoning during pregnancy can be dangerous.

Godsent> Dont switch from everyday grassjelly to everyday barley hor. Lol. Alternate all your drinks!

rocco>I think gui ling gao is supposed to be v cooling. I thought winter melon is cooling too. in any case, I think all food taken in moderation is ok. as long as we don'tindulge too much

godsent>how about cold milo?

Babyfaery> i have the same symptoms as you, but so nice you can still take full meals. I can only take half meals.

pinkz> i saw some names mentioned in a mag i bought. will consolidate and share with everyone who is interested.

Rocco> i just came back from HK, and mom warned me not to take any gui ling gao, so sad... and the smell of those road stall food and polluted air from the streets keep making me puke.

i saw many mummies post about cold drinks, does it really cure MS? so far, i only dare to take a few sips of cold milo, coke, sprite, scared of vomiting.

effie: for me cold drink really works for nausea. when i started my pregnancy i was actually very guai and totally drank ZERO cold drinks.. but as MS got worse, I realised it's a good way to curb that nasty pukish feeling. and thanks to HappyMom2be, i discovered ice lychee, which is one of the most effective for me. i put canned lychees in the fridge and ate a few pieces with the diluted syrup in the evenings when MS was at its peak. of cos, i tried not to take them all day or everyday.. cos lychee is heaty. I alternate between ice lychee, ribena, sprite, vitamin c water, grapefruit juice.

now that MS is almost gone, i'm "weaning" myself off cold drinks again. slowly. heh. hope it works for u too.