(2012/02) Feb 2012

Linda>no arguments that bm is the best. But if mom is v miserable over pumping/latching then oso not v good, ya? at least there's still fm. I'm sure all moms would want to breastfeed if they can.

Hey mummies!!

Still discussing about what to buy and what method to love and care for your bb when you pop? That's v sweet! I'm also day dreaming of giving my bb the best I can.

Well, we are here to absorb tips and learn valuable feedback from each other. As first time mummy, I will absorb like a kotex and then choose what I want.

Just be yourself and choose the things and method you are very comfortable.

Im still thinking of shopping!! Omg!!

Who are with me approaching 12 weeks next week?? So excited!! Can't wait to share with my friends!

Babymaking>theres also studies done that malnutrition mum bm is still nutritious.. no way to compare to formula

LSntyl> Actually they just need help to know that its NORMAL to pput in efforts just like work, if you want to get a job done well you must put in efforts. you reap what you sow..

actually as i said 99% can.. i just cant stand those that can doesnt want to put in effort etc then whine about how they cant..

kwxy> im 13weeks now :p

Articles regarding malnutrition mum and bfing-

1)http://rehydrate.org/breastfeed/faq-maternal-nutrition.htm
Unless extremely malnourished, virtually all mothers can produce adequate amounts of breastmilk. When the breastfeeding mother is undernourished, it is safer, easier, and less expensive to give her more food than to expose the infant to the risks associated with breastmilk substitutes.

2)http://womenshealth.about.com/cs/breastfeeding/a/nursingdiet.htm
A woman who does not feed herself properly may still have a healthy baby, but it will be to the detriment of her own health. If you lack sufficient nourishment, your body will make milk production its first priority, and your needs will go unmet. It is just the same as it was during pregnancy, when the nutritional needs of the fetus were satisfied before those of the mother.

unless in SEVERE malnutrition then the mum milk will be affected. else theres no such thing as if eat junk food better to give formula.

Regarding bfing and diet
http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/mom/mom-diet.html
According to Katherine A. Dettwyler, Ph.D., breastfeeding researcher and anthropologist, women throughout the world make ample amounts of quality milk while eating diets composed almost entirely of rice (or millet or sorghum) with a tiny amount of vegetables and occasional meat.

Are healthy eating habits recommended for mom? Absolutely! You will be healthier and feel better if you eat well. It is best for anyone to eat a variety of foods, in close to their naturally-occurring state, but this is not necessary for providing quality milk or for maintaining milk supply. Although it is certainly not recommended, a breastfeeding mother could live on a diet of junk food – mom would not thrive on that diet, but her milk would still meet her baby's needs.

Linda> I believe every mum able to breastfeed... if bb really can suck yr breast, the milk will increase (better result then pump out). Some adv is totally don't give bottle so bb die die must suck your breast...then you will be success in bf. my #1 fail because her 1st feeding by bottle, after that she totaly don't bf.

Soul, then I wld advise u to try make Oscar app first... I made mine on 21jul already so difff (fully booked)... if u were to make app next week after yr visit will be worst lor....

Tummy ok la.. Maybe a little.. Gain ard 1kg...

AL> Yes better results i agree. But my advise personally is other than work pumping out, just latch on fully when you are at home, this is the best way to maintain the supply

dear mummies please always trust the LC you consult because to my horror when i wanted to take the course, i not only have to study the bfing thing i even have to study the medical things etc like the breast atomany(spelling?) And take a exam on the medical things.. and the 2nd batch of studentss all medical students out of 9 people of the 10 people all fail!! So scary

Oh ya KWXY: my sister going to arrange to get from a forum mummy the thermoscan. 60 I think.. By the way I think we will go buy the cot bedding from ikea. Seems like quite affordable. Omg! I just walked through a filming. Hahaha.

Pinkz : must arrange ourselves? Not dr advise then the nurse help to arrange? Like DIY. Lol.

Linda: worried leh. ikea furniture look so flimsy. Baby sleep inside I also no peace of mind.

KWXY: Me me me! *jumps up and down* One more week to go and we are in the safety zone! Muahaha! My MIL has already informed all the relatives.. Haha. I can't wait to tell all my friends. =)

soul> haha...baby so light...don't hv to worry la. but bb cot only for 1st year only, after that bb like to clim up more dangerous.

Joyojoy> still dunno wan buy baby rompers yet anot leh cause if sway around year end no fair. then jialat, cause i tink thats all i need and maybe a few swaddle

i am not going to buy anything at taka fair.. just going there see see look look.. survey a bit..
will only buy around xmas period

now buy so much also no place to put..

KWXY>hee, I'm looking forward to shopping for new bras. Must go taka see if pigeon bring in their nursing bras this time. I found them v comfy but a bit thin.

linda>its a really personal thing. I encourage all my friends to breastfeed too. But some just find their supply not so good. Then say cannot take fenugreek cos cannot swallow pills, cannot drink papaya fish soup cos too fishy cannot tahan the taste. at the end of the day, its their personal choice. As a mommy, I'm sure they want the best for their baby. All we can do is encourage and accept whatever they decide.

I'll prob buy some new bb clothes for bb from one of the online shops like babymallonline, blue navy or carters during their sale.

soul108>check out the size for the cot bedding from ikea first. cos I heard their cots have special sizing so bedding might not fit your cot bed properly.

I got my cot bedding from one of the generic brands in taka sale. not bad lah.

Planet,
I'm hitting 13 weeks tmr! Woo hoO! 2nd trimester. Except my MS is just peaking, taking away some of the excitment. Too busy hugging the toilet bowl. Thank goodness for my understanding boss

I prefer shop offline le and if girl I lagi kan chiong want buy lol

Lsntyl> as a mummy I feel arh the best we can give to babies are BM and yet because of the commercials everyone believe fm is also ok thus lack the determination so I feelthat the more informed they are at their choice the one determination they will have

birdbrain> JEALOUS! i wanna be 13 wks too! hahaha..

but then hor, do u guys realise that we'll only be preggy for abt 6 more months? the thought of that is like so short!

savour every moment everyone!!! =)

Yes Planet! Another 6 months! Very fast hor...so fast eat mooncake, then follow by Xmas feast and then cny...then pop!

wah... i cant catch up!!! its too fast =)

@ Linda, im keen in ur clothes... do let me know what u wanna exchange for... Tks!!!

Mummies, i have a bottle of palmer strechmark cream brandnew. My mom bought for me but i already have 2 open one given by mommies here... anyone keen to exchange ??? Tks!!!!

Mommies, i have the following items looking for exchange... do let me know if keen

- baby play gym (used 2 times) but baby cant stay alone. wan ppl to carry. so no use for it.

- palmers strechmark cream (brandnew)

- avent manual breast pump (used 2 weeks) after that i no milk...

- Medela mini electric pump (used)

im looking to exchange my current pumps as im considering buying dual pumps from mummies here. =)

Anyway, after comparing prices at fair ytd... i realise GSS cheaper...

KWXY> faster pop out better...very tired carring bb whole day for 9 months. can't wait to see my bb
don't know look like who...

Al>but when bb pop out, will miss the preggers feel. but near end, v xinku hor?

pinkz>I'm so looking forward to the mooncake festival. Going to gorge on peony jade's durian n chempedek mooncakes. :D

Dear All, I just go back see planet updated that chart. Wow so amazing! only Feb we have more then 40 new bb...
im so excited!

The file belong the planet le... only she is the authority person to edit. But i copy paste on my excel file..hehee
Can PM planet to update for ur detail

KWXY and Polanet- Me too! 11weeks and b4 days today, Next Monday will be start of 12 weeks!

Thanx Linda and LsTyl, wow really learned a lot about breast pumps and bottles selection etc from you gals! I never thought there's so much knowledge in these.

Hi Planet, can update mine into ur chart? Edd 14/2, FTWM, deliver at TMC, Dr A L Lim, first child.
Thx!

Super nervous abt the baby. Haha.. U all sound so experienced n like did so much research le. I only feel tired n nauseous everyday. Just wanna slp..

Jocelyn: Just realize I gave the same gynae as u.

LSnTYL: I thought I dont need my PISA anymore & pass it to my friend. Pai say to take it back. So will buy a new one. My first one was a PIS but I passed to my sis-in-law after I stopped bfg.

I agree with Linda on breastfeeding. Everybody is able to bf as long as you are hardworking & determine. Just to share my experience with my first born. I was so determined to fully bf & I got so depressed during the first week when my bb refused to suckle on my right breast. I refused to let my mum gave formula to my bb. My hubby, seeing that I was going 'seow', decided to take me back to Mrs Wong. Mrs Wong said I have a short nipple on the right so the bb refused to suckle. But she taught me to feed on the right first, when let down, switch to the right & press the bb down. Even when the bb is struggling, she just kept pressing gently for the bb to suck. After awhile, the bb latched on and she shared a lot of tips during the session. That's when she recommended me the PIS. So it takes a lot of determination & perseverance. I ended up with so much excess milk in my freezer that i have nothing else but ebm. This time round, am thinking of getting a mini freezer just for the ebm. Because my freezer is now stock with frozen meat/fish for my three kids.

Wow this thread is moving so fast, i just finished catching up with all the posts...
sometimes thru iphone from office...

Thanks babymaking for the heartbeat rate table.

Wow so fast talk abt breast pump!

btw, im just wondering if im normal. My body temp is still normal...36.6-36.8C...is this considered high? cos i dont feel warm. my coll all say when preg, your body will turn warm.

Yay, Saturday noon can see my lil one!! can't wait!!

Anyone knows abt Dr KK Chow from Raffles Hospital?
do you know how he is?

hi suey, yeah...high 5...
ask u, what u tink of him???
seriously my 1st impression to him n d clinic, wah so old n so scary, like those 60s...n he so old walk so slow...1st ting i told hb if i labour he jus cant do anyting n say push push push....haha!
n how much is yr charge???got pkg???
but d nurse all very caring n nice laa...sometimes funny!

wow Vone, you are so good, can bf for 4 yrs. I keep it to a max of 1 yr.

sweetcorn, I feel cold easily & at night, when my hubby complained hot, needs the aircon, I told him I feel cold & will wear my sweater to sleep. I didnt take my temp though so not sure what's my temp. I dont know the dr that u mention.

HappyMomToBe, same impression but he was recommended by my friend who sing praises of him. The nurses there are really nice and they said that the clinic decor has not change for the last 20 yrs! He doesnt walk slowly lah, I met him once at Isetan Scotts, walked pretty fast. He's a very nice old man.
When is your next appt? Mine is 13 Aug, 11am. I usually take Sat morning. My last 3 was also with him.

Hi suet,

me too!! same here...i feel so cold and my hubby say needs aircon...and my office is super cold...everyday wear those wool jacket...brrrr

perhaps every woman different pregnancy condition?

Hi suet
thanks ^^ i bf my #1 for 19 months and got preggie with #2 throughout the pregnancy i was breastfeeding him till the birth of #2
And then i tandem feed the both of them till now ^^ Wasn't easy to begin with all the naggings and myths from the older generation but it gets alot easier when they grow older