(2012/02) Feb 2012

ging3r (smiling_ging3r)> If it does really worth it liao, u go others even govt one unless u keep on change gynae at subsidised rate how to find 550 for whole pregnancy one?

HappyMomToBe (miracle_sweet)> At sun Plaza

Dragon_dilema2 (dilemad)>Where you stay? I stay red hill. I go alone with a huge tummy even when i got induced i brought my elder with me to induce and come back home.

Y need put #1 with infant care? be a sahm and take care lah.Y cant u place ur infant in infant care yrself? I also have fainting spells sometimes but i do everything alone.Unless u can take care of #1 urself like me. My #2 is 9mth+ And im taking care alone with #1 2yr+

Ur #1 only one child u can take care alone ma, and babies are cheap what, financial problem really not a excuse lah.

My advise is take care of ur own child instead of put infant care. And why is ur husband missing from the pic? Die die u cannot then tell ur husband to bring back ur child lorh. You do understand that abortion doesnt unpregnant someone it just make a person a mother to a dead baby.

Abortion is not to be taken lightly because this is a life and with #2 its just a few adjustments here and there, no choice.

Princess> I always close the door but when i sun beansprout i cannot dont close

K3: thanks for advice.

Linda: husband is bringing him to infantcare morning and because he cannot off work on time, so i have to bring back #1.. Husband's earnings is not enough to support me to be sahm. Also, #1's infantcare which is the nearest from our place ( which is still far, need to carry bb to take bus) has stopped taking in infants already. So must look for other alternatives, like maid, nanny. Mil does not consent to having maid while nanny is too ex (we depend on cda account for lighter burden of school fees).

Husband's job requires him to fly overseas without warning.. Yup, i do admit i feel very scared about abortion but we can't really solve the problem leh... I'm staying near to you, tiong bahru area. U have msn? Actually, main thing will be, a helper to help me and also my #1 keeps falling sick..

Linda: i do not breastfeed because of the stress after giving birth, so milk powder is super expensive. Every month, 400-500 flies off at marketing, and i like to buy different kinds of foods for my #1 to try, so spendings on him abit more. Also, #1 falls sick very often, so 1-2 weeks we will go to kk, or to pd once so another few hundreds fly off
we take cab when going our so weekends are more money spent.. With #2, to take cab is even more needed.. We'll be getting our flat soon so need some savings for furnitures, not renovation. Plus monthly contribution to my mum, bills, insurance, our own expenses and transport, it really adds up to alot.. My #1 is only 10months but his 6000 match dollar is left with 2000.. Even my sis is also shocked. That's how often my bb falls sick.

Hi Dragon_dilema2, did u really find out why ur baby keep falling sick? If like what u said, 1~2 wks once u need to bring him to see kk or pd... then u hv to find the root cause for his sickness... Not healthy for baby keep falling sick i must say...

Dragon,
Think thru carefully before u make any decision. Either choice you make, it's a decision you have to live with for the rest of your life. It's for u and your family to decide, others can only offer suggestion.
I do have a colleague near to 60 years old who never got over her abortion. Her husband convinced her to go for it as they felt they couldn't cope with a 2nd child whose age was too close to the first. Her following child has health prob, which she always says is retribution for killing her 2nd child.
Having having gone thru a miscarriage, i would say losing a child is something that will stay with you for a long time. So do thing over it very carefully.

Geyser: i guess it's because of infantcare environment and he got it from my genes, i also keep falling sick due to no confinement after birth.. Doc always say it's virus infection, etc.. But it looks serious to us leh, maybe cause he's #1 so we are quite afraid, one of my fren dragged bringin her child to see doc ended up it's pnemonia.. So we don't want to take the chance.. Furthermore, #1 was a very tough pregnancy..

Birdbrain: i really need some help to take care of my #1, example, gynae checkups, times when im not feeling well.. I've just started a new job so taking leave is quite troublesome, am also scared to break the news to them as it's a small company afraid they'll ask me to leave. Have taken quite a number of mcs then they abit not happy le, guess still thinking about wanting to confirm me or not.. My husband's boss also unhappy with him leaving on time after work.. So abit tough to balance here n there. I'm so lost!!

Planet: thanks for the info. Yeah, guess i will hold off till am 6- 7 weeks for a check. =)

Dragon: I can't tell you what to do, but hang in there ok? there would be such a time like this, where big decisions have to be made, but stay strong and trust your decision (whatever it is) i hope you will get out of all of these soon..

Linda: are u going to Dr ang now? are his fees really cheap? im thinking of going to him.. hmm, is his waiting time usually long? sorry to ask so much, just needed to know more about him..
btw, i heard tmc delivery charges went up by 20%...

am thinking of either KK's TPS or TMC again.. headache. =p

Dragon_dilema, I would suggest u bring ur boy to see a TCM to "tiao" his body...

For my #1, as he has sensitive nose so he tend to fall sick easily when virus in the air.. eventhough not that often but once he kana, then he will definitely sick for a wk at least. I know some ppl will say baby to small to see TCM, but I still bring him to see. Aft a few consultation and medication, my hubby n I feel that my boy getting stronger n fall sick even lesser... even if he fall sick eg cough, he will recover very fast compare last time.

dragon> u pm me how much ur husband earn im 100001% ur husband earn so much more than mine cause my husband only earn very little where u will be shocked. You are able to breastfeed but sorry to be mean you didnt want to.

As long as you dont think of the alternative formula, u will succeed in bf i can help you, and for ur son did u do things like giving him colostrum etc to boost his health? there is alot of ways to help him as i used to be a weak child even till now yet im living ok .

Yes i have msn u add me i can advise u better before u do the wrong thing

but i have to warn u im quite straight forward and i will be sorry if i offend u.

white freckles> other dr are 2-3times at least his fees.. yes waiting time is long but for the cost and the nice gynae damn worth it

dr ang only deliver tmc or mt a and for tmc got free upgrade from 4 BEDDED to 2 bedded

linda, thanks. =) i heard about the free upgrade. haha, is it really possible for every patient? anyway.. hows 2 bedded like? cos' husband can't stay e night and bb comes in to BF.. im wondering about privacy... i had e one bedded for #1. of cos, due to the rising cost of hospital fees, i might consider 2 bedded this time..

today i called his clinic for an appt- told to walk in before 3. phew, thank goodness i didn't go cos' if i am i'd bring my 1yo and if it's gonna be 2 hrs long wait, i think by then my hairs are all standing. Haha

Whitefreckles> Ya unless the hospital super full till even bed also dont have.. Quite ok la but suay if ur neighbor noisy.. I all along no $ for 1 bedded lol..

Haha, i always bring my kids like this wait le about 1hr+

Whitefreckles: doc ang is really cheap and some fees he absorb by himself. But my 4bedded stay for 3d2n ended up with cash paying $2k plus cuz i was induced and had long labour..

Geyser: tcm is alot of money! Sorry, my husband did enquired before. So now im trying to feed him as many types of food as possible.

Linda: yeah, u are a very straight forward person i can see, but sometimes other's problem to you might not be a problem. Hee sorry, yup, i gave up bfing cuz i was crying and had nothing to eat during confinement.. My mil did not let me eat, cuz my husband cannot cook. She was also challenging me on whether i am able to take care of a newborn when i was discharged, instead of helping me, she's adding salt to my wound. My pump had a part missing n we did not have the time to buy cuz was really busy handling with newborn.. I knew of people who earned less than $1500, but they can rent a flat, studio apartment for like $26 monthly? But we don fall into that range.. That's why i told husband, he either be very rich or very poor.. We got married, shot gun i admit. So imagine he's not even working at that point of time, no savings, we struggled and struggled but ended up with a tough pregnancy and always fall sick bb. So we haven even got the chance to save up den pop, another accident happened.. It may look cruel to kill a life but having too many to neglect it's also cruel leh.. Not that i'm very keen on abortion, but there are 2 sides to a coin! In fact, i know the feeling of giving birth le, and now to challenge another emotional challenge it's hard. Both ways, it's a mental, physical challenge.

Really appreciate all of u whom offer advices. Linda, will add u in msn.

Dragon> see u at msn im online now u pm me ur msn in case i dont see u online, btw im of what ur "type" and we are waiting for bto, which im sure we will live fine

And my pregnancy was worst than yours with zero help and no one did my confinement i handled ALL my babies from hospital to home. If i can do it with a third coming im sure u can too, as im sure im alot younger than you

pinkz: i am also burping a lot.. just like my #1, this pregnancy makes me burp a lot... even my colleagues are noticing it... i burp until i feel like vomitting but so far have yet to vomit for real...

i am having a love hate relationship with food now... at one point, i feel like eating something. and then when i buy it already, i eat only 2 mouthful or i feel disgusted at it and i don't want to eat it. so sian... then after a while get hungry again... then headache...

linda: u are super young and strong to be a sahm... i like your positive outlook.. stay that way!

add me to the list pls...
cranky 31 14 Feb #2 Jalan Rajah

Wow so many updates from everyone.

Let me share about my gynae price. He is Dr. H.K.Ho @ Mt Alvernia.

When I call on Sat mng about being tested positive my gynae wanna see me immediately and it is consider emergency due to my past history of miscarriages.

I paid a total of $423.21

Lab test 2 test @ $130 (blood test for 2 Sat 25 Jun & 2 Jul as my hCG is low)
Consult $120 as it is consider emergency
Crinone 8% gel 8 tube @ $104 (progesterone depository)
Duphaston 24tabs @ $37.92
Folic acid 30tabs @ $3.60
GST $27.69

I was told he is quite ex but no choice I have been seeing him for 9 years but not on maternity though. Diff for me to chg as he knows my condition.

I spent $77 for first visit to gynae including GST.
$60 for consultation and $12 for 2 mths supply of folic acid. Really quite x since whole consultation took only like 10 mins.

pinkz (pinkz)> u can buy the belly band at kiddy palace selling for SGD 29.90. I think it will be useful. Definitely getting it in future.

I also ... Recently find it difficult to sleep through the night. I'll be tossing around for quite some time. Anyone have the same prob? Maybe I'm too stress up of other stuff ...

Morning,

wow, so many updates after i off work yty....

Pinkz, think Geyser have given u her comment on clarin oil. me apply it after i shower with my tummy n back partially dry. and i can tell u, no oily feeling at all...i think it adsorb pretty fast...

Chergie, ur doc charge u the Duphaston quite exp... I got it at 10tab @ $14.98.

Nana & Chergie, I have problem sleeping thru the night. wake up to pee, etc....before i turn in, sure need to pee 1st and can sleep thru the nite but now, almost every night i wake up to pee...last sun, i woke up 4 - 5 times to pee... even my intake of water for night cut down, i still pee alot..

I just learn frm my cousin that Carter's diaper bag is waterproof and good. Go check it out when u decides to grab one. Its around $50 only.

Kate Spade has nice ones too but its more costly n not waterproof. Price from $290-$350

Jocelyn Tan: Ya its about 8ct more than urs per tab. Well I got no choice but he is really a good doc.

Anyone seeing a female gynae and its affordable and good cos my SIL is also preg and she prefers a female gynae n am worried mine is too ex for her.

good morning ladies,

i started to feel tired n nausea, feeling like vomitting n hungry however cant eat....

Linda, I reali salute you, so young yet so strong n so mature! U knows a lot of thing!

I hope to be SAHM too however cant afford, too many commitment n debts....So must guai guai work even tot I dont like...

Check with all of you, do you all pantang? Do you all still go out or just try to stay at home as much as can? I have friends asking me to meet up she just 1 mth after delivery, then have wedding dinner n bachelor night party, do you think I should go? I havent tell anyone I m preggy except in this forum n my mom! Hmm...

Happymumtobe..
i am usually not pantang.. but with this pregnancy, i rather believe than be sorry.. so no weddings for me

Hi Joyjoy,
Yeah actually deep in my heart i feel pantang! I reali need to makesure I have smooth pregnancy this time round! And I want to see my BB in this world!

Chergie,
Mine's dr yvonne chan from TMC. She great, no quite cheap. Her reviews online all pretty good. But she takes limited patients. A few of my friends got turned away by her staff last year.

Happymumtobe,
I would still consider going to close friends and relatives wedding, but babyshowers and visit newborns at hospitals are big no no for me. But cos i'm haunted by fact that i coincidentally had a miscarriage after visiting my sil & her newborn. Rather be safe than face the possibility of that happening again

Morning Mummies...

HappyMomToBe: same with joyjoy, i been avoiding all outings with friends.. This includes movies dates etc too... Can say I am unduly pantang but as this is my first and I want to see my gem, thus, rather be careful and xin ku for the first trimmster esp...

Dragon: not sure if you tried "yu gan you".. Heard that it is rather good for kids' immune system. Also, TCM is rather ex, but I think the price ranges for neighbouring TCM, you might want to enquire more... It is better for young kids to "tiao" their body in the longer term. When will your new flat be arriving? Since you mentioned not much reno is required, you can try to cut on furniture and get them on a monthly basis. Another thing you might consider is to work out your monthly income and go for some interest-free instalment plans. Courts, Best Denki etc all have such plans for consideration.

Happymumtobe: I just attended my sis-in-law's daughter full month lunch last Saturday & I also visited her at her home during confinement.. For me, for close relatives, I not so pantang.. But I may not attend my friend's baby full month next month.. Cuz baby still small & only after first trimester then I will feel more an xin..

Happymumtobe:me and hubby also quite pan tang especially this is our first child. but i think my hubby is more superstitious than me. As we just move to a new house and holding a housewarming party next 2 weeks. he still purposely call the FSM to check if it is ok to hold a housewarming party. As he scared that it might clashes with my preggy.

aiyoh, lost my msg,

just to share on my gynea's fees

Dr Adrian Woodworth: $550 for 12-15 visits.can start anytime. he is located at Sengkang COmpasspoint and Choa Chu Kang. But super chop chop guy...
and another gynea that i emailed is Dr Benjamin Tham at $600 after 12 weeks.

Chergie, Nana: For me, I manage to fall asleep ok. But I have been dreaming every single day for the past week. So weird. I'm usually not a dream person. And I'll wake up at least twice to pee. Sighz.

HappyMum, Joyojoy: No visit newborns in the hospital huh.. hmm.. how about visiting newborns at home? does it apply? I was thinking of going to my friend's place to get coaching from her.

Planet: same as you. I will have dreams every alternate day... will wake up twice in the night to go toilet too... Understand that the latter is rather normal for mummies in first trimmster. It will improves after we hit the second trimmster.

Happymomtobe, I got a wedding coming but confirm not going... I think for wedding if u wanna attend it's good to let the couple know u preggy see if they (or their parents) pantang coz it's actually not good for them instead of us.. Not very sure coz all these pantang stuff up to individual to follow.. I remember my wed oso got preggy attended, I oso dunno abt all these at that time...

Then got 1st year birthday party coming, been thinking shud I go.. Dun really feel like going.. Maybe ask hubby go himself la...

Cranky> thanks no choice as a low income family else if negative outlook die faster

chergie>same here.and every morning brush teeth dunno y will choke wanna vomit. Btw diaper bag is a waste of money lah just use ur normal handbag

happymomtobe>thanks no la i not mature, guo jiang le im not pantang kind of person. My commitments are heavier than u thought so if i can im sure u can. Being a sahm means alot of hairpulling in finances but if u dun wan these problems then sahm is not for u

Ginger>if good fren i will go else i lazy go but im not pantang so kinda no use advising

Linda >> im amazed how u can survive with single income if you say hubby earns little and i really salute to you for handling 2 kids + 1 more yourself. I did confinment muyself too but had a maid to do the housework but i did all cooking and grocery shopping myself...

for me its other way round cos im earning like 4xs more than hubby.. sad but truth
so if ever, it will be him being the SAHD! how will you girls feel if you are me?

Dragon, I agreed that TCM is expensive... but still worth it when u see ur boy better immune system.. I spent less than $200 for abt 4 consultations wif medications, then now only once in a while bring my boy see TCM to "tiao" body.. One of my friends' boy also having weak immune system, so my friend aft seeing my boy get better, she also do what I do... last wk we just chatted, she also agreed that her boy really better now.. and she will conitinue to let TCM "tiao" his body and even when her boy having cough/flu she also bring him to TCM but not pd/kk or gp..

Weddings i know! I have like 3 close friends getting married this year so i've been asking around ALOT. Apparently the most "xiong" time is when the bride enters the house, so avoid that. And avoid sitting on the newlywed's bed. Other than that, attending the lunch or dinner appears to be ok. But you must let them know u are preggy.. cos some couples or their parents might be bantang.

Btw, it's apparently a no-no to sit on another pregnant woman's bed as well. =)

Chergie,

i bought my Carter's diaper bag from Kovan mall at a small stall and that cost $25 only. DO look out for these.
Another good diaper bag to use is Lesportsac. Mine is and very hardy yet the bag is light.
From my #1. i end up having too many diaper bags as i get free diaper bags from hospitals and other fairs. DO look out for these.

Babytum>pass day by day only lo. Depend on how mch ur husband earn if example 2-3k u can be a sahm in peace mah when previously u earn so much.

But i wont really recommend cause u will fall into great depression previously have so much to spend niw so little. If ur husband agreeable then let him br sahd lor. My husband agreeable but i cant earn more than him and he no patience for the kids so no choice i be sahm

Linda>> ya hubby wont mind but i mind!!! im the traditional type thats y im not happy im earning more. some of my ambitious friends will b happy (since its suppose to be a male = female society) but i still cannot get over it leh...

Now hubby is also passing day by day.. if touch wood anything happens need major financial output, then he cannot handle..

2-3k can b sahm?? really? i always thot need at least 5-6k bare minimum..

Babytum: Few pple can accept the fact that the husband earns much less than the wife. So if you two have come to terms with it, i salute u! My husband is one of those who probably wont be comfortably if i earn more than him. =) In fact, i might not marry him if he earns so much less than me too. We are realistic like that. Haha. So good for u guys! dont fret abt it too much.

Just make as much as u can now. And save more, so you can retire early.. or maybe take a long break without stressing your husband out. =)

Let's have a bit of fun... shall we write down the pantang stuff and reason if u know. and the more serious No-no for health and baby sake (scientific reasons.)

Let me start:
Pantang stuff:
1. No sitting on another pregnant woman's bed
Reason: You will 'swop' the babies in each other's wombs..
hahaaa
2. No crabs
Reason: Your baby will be mosy and touch other people's stuff next time.
3. No Kopi O
Reason: Baby will be black....

Scientific:
1. No Raw food or shell-fish
Reason: Bacteria may be in the food if food is not fresh.
2. Lesser coffee/tea
Reason: Caffeine is a cause for miscarriage.

serene> Which level is the stall in ? I staying nearby so might want to drop by to take a look. SGD25 is really cheap.

Ur gynea package charge is also quite reasonable. Might starts at 2nd visit and it cost SGD850 after gst.But i nv ask the package have how much visit? My gynea is Woo Bit Hwa at Ponggol Plaza

HI younoes80,
i saw it at level 1 then. Hope it's still there. But selling of the carter's bag is commonly found at babyfairs too. i din really like it cos it's a little too small.
I am those who bring bb out for entire day and hence have to bring lots out.

Serene,

i think the crab, it a myth...when my mum preg with me, she eats alot of crab cuz craving...but i not touchy at all...it the bring up from the parents. Must teach...

babytum, me also earn more than hubby slightly but for me just cannot forgo my salary cuz alot of thing will have to be sacrifice...hubby is taking it coolly as he knows i cant be a SAHM, neither he a SAHF...