(2012/01) Jan 2012

Good morning all, another day in office...

Jac, i'm experiencing that too. Suddenly, my gal wakes up in the middle of the night 3++4am and starts entertaining herself, until time for her next latch then she falls back asleep at my breast. I used to latch her once in the middle of the night, for the past 2 nights, i've been latching her thrice!

Xuan_mom, I've never been an "expresser". During ML, I just latched my gal, never pumped. Know what, now I only can get less than 100ml from both sides each time. And it gets lesser and less during the day. So I get about 300ml a day? Pathetic but whatever I can 'produce' lo..haha

My boy also kept waking up f night feed these days. Just this morning, he sleep at 10pm last night, wake up at 1am, 3am, 6am and 8am...give him the pacifier he still move and make sound. Make milk f him, he cannot finish...waste all the formula milk...these days he don't even wan to latch on Liao
last te thought I may be going f work so wean him off my breast at 2 mths plus. Now decided to stay home and he already not interested in my bm. Feels a bit sad sometimes, it was tiring to latch him every other hr when breast feeding him but can feel the bond we have

Does your child throw temper often at such young age? Wow my second boy, sleep throw temper, wan milk throw temper, drink medicine throw temper and cry so loud, like I pinch him like that...so different f my first... My first seldom cry at all... Getting me sometime to get used to it...
Does your child also sometimes shake his leg like vibration? Mine did and I check w my friend, her daughter too... Say is dragon yr bb trait... Your child also can share?

Googlez82, I used to pump and latch on but nowadays just use hand to squeeze faster and more milk but is tiring... Even when pump like u, I got very little milk, per day only like 140ml at most. Are u quite big size w ave breast size? My confinement nanny once told me the strange thing about ppl is that those small size mummy w small breast actually produce lots of milk, donno how true is that:p

Morning..

jac, ya, my friend still need the maid. If not, other friends & i will be more than willing to take over her maid..LOL..

Jean, use pull-up when they are able to stand and walk. Especially during toilet-training. And pull-up more ex than diapers. In fact i seldom use pull-up for my #1. normal diapers more comfy. Only use when going out when she is toilet-trained.

brink, wow quite siong. heng u not working so can rest in the day when ur boy sleeps. do take some rest k. my boy also always cry/ throw temper when he wanna feed, wanna sleep, wanna carry, etc. cannot wait at all. he can be playing & smiling one moment, & next moment immed scream & cry. but he doesnt shake his legs, mabbe coz he's a rabbit. hee. weird trait leh. hahah. i also notice that my friends who manage to successfully bf for long r on the smaller/slimmer side. i'm abit top heavy & got low milk ss (which surprised alot of ppl!). think mabbe coz i wear underwire bra during pregnancy? i started my jamu late (after 6 wks) coz of c-sect & infection, & my massage lady say i got blocked ducts, she tried to clear my ducts & i did feel increase in ss, but by then i was already giving up on bf-ing liao coz too too tiring physically & emotionally. bad & lazy mummy. sigh.

moscato, i queue for my #2 can? mabbe 3-4yrs later? hahah..

btw, i kpo & went online to check on my ex-maid's employment history. she's onto her 3rd employer liao! the 2nd one got rid of her after less than 2mths. hahah. relle jialat.

Re: gripe water and juice
Any mummies giving their baby gripe water? I just found out my mum has been giving me baby gripe water/ juice daily! Haiz.. She said to prevent wind and constipation but I don't like the idea of introducing sweet stuffs to baby at this age since in future they will be exposed to these stuffs anyway.

Re: solids
Anyone started giving their babies solids yet?

moscato, dunno leh. next time muz find out the traits of each horoscope b4 planning for bb? hahha.

dekora, some of my friends do give gripe water daily, but small amt (1-5ml) & mix with water so less sweet & only once a day. but I didn't give my boy not coz it's sweet but coz dont want expose him to so much medicine so young, can avoid then avoid. my boy juz turned 5mths. mabbe will start him on solids in another 2 wks ba.

i don't give gripe water. But it's fine to give but not alot..there is dosage indicated on the box. also didnt give juices. Bb still young for juices..maybe wait til above 6-9 mths then can give some.

will give my bb cereals when he is abt 5 to 5.5 mths old.

Jac: ya luckily I was never working after giving birth. Donno how u all manage and survived man. 3 cheers f working mummies..But when u start work after my boy 18 mths, I missed him so much till cannot concentrate. Luckily I start work after he go to cc f a mth. Ppl talk about separation anxiety f bb, think I also have lor. My first cried f one mth when he go cc.

Jac: reading what u post on your boy put a smile on my face, their pattern all same same... In Chinese calendar, my boy is still a rabbit...my boy has turn 4 mths old. I never give gripe water f my first and now my second. Just don't like the Idea. Am am giving my second pak poh San f yu ren Sheng f his cough and phlegm at the same time he is taking his western med. have decided enough is enough, so am stopping the cough and flu med f my boy Liao...but still taking antibiotics

I also did not give my gal gripe water although I have a bottle brought by my dad. Also have the ZhEng zhu fen. I think older generation likes to give baby these two medication, supposedly good for them. My parent says I eat those when I'm a baby.

My girl also year of rabbit. She seems to be returning to her usual sleeping pattern after recovering from her throat. But lately she wakes up for one night feed at 4 then sleep until 8plus. Mine is a sleepy rabbit I guess. Haha...

I hope I can pump out milk for 4 feeds each day .

Btw so how mummies your stetchmark gone? Mine quite bad, like mandrain orange texture , crumble and wrinkle at the tummy area.

hmm. mabbe it's trait of rabbit boys ba. hahah.

brink, the IFC/cc teacher told us that several parents/ grandparents suffer separation anxiety too. got some stand outside the class & cry. hahah. thou I also heartpain but boh bian lo. juz tell myself muz treasure the little time I have with him at nite & during wkends. so even thou he cry & cry & need carry. mummy willing to carry (even thou having bad backache sia)!

xuan mom, I got no stretch mark. tummy very big & elastic. now still. mabbe never shrink much. hahah.

Re: elders
Haiz.. I told my mum but as usual, the same thing happen. She will tell me that in the past, this is the way she brought me up and blah blah. Headache. So is i got to keep both eyes and mouth shut. Thank goodness is my mother cos no matter how we quarrel, we will still get back together. Scary to think if it was my mil instead, I think heh no need to see each other again.

jac: yes, i forgot about the all time poo.. hehe

dekora: how old was your daughter when she first tried the pull ups?

moscato: yes i think you are right. will only get pull ups when they are able to stand. heng i haven't bought any. the mamypoko for girls look cute, though i prefer GOON for diapers.

brink: your description quite cute. makes me think of my 4mth old daughter - she also throws tantrum when she's hungry and when milk hasn't come. She kicks her left leg v hard (cuz we hold her with head on our left hand so she can only kick her left leg). kick kick kick. and only recover and smile happily when she finished her milk and is contented. hehe.. fiesty little girl!

re: stretchmark: no stretch mark, but the black line in the middle still not fully gone!

tomorrow is vaccination day for my little girl! taking her 6-in-1 and rotavirus. Standing by!!!

Wah you all so good, no stretch mark . Sianz.. I think I got no cure already. My tummy stretch a lot during pregnancy loh. I was quite small fame and skinny previously. Now more fleshy already loh.

Xuan Mom> sorry, no time to check forum until now!
No visible dip in volume when expressing in the office, but I trial-ran (pumping at fixed hours) for 2 weeks at home before starting work to establish the baseline.
Anything can affect supply while at work - sometimes busy until no time to drink water. No input = low output. Pressure to complete pumping (or lack of privacy) could also affect volume.

Brink> my girl was on antibiotics for 2+ weeks.
Her cough lingered for a few days after finishing her antibiotics, but it gradually cleared up because (1) adult caregivers were extra careful with hygiene, wear mask if sick so we stop passing the bug back to her and (2) I was trying to stop my own cough, so more careful with diet.

Thanks Jac and Babyjin, my 3rd day at work. Feeling quite good actually but just a bit rushing here and there and to squeeze in pumping hour between working hours.

Hey do you know how long we need to sterilized our bottle? Until baby is 1year old?

Jac: I kp went to mom website and see the history of my previous maid...guess what after me, she stay w another employer f 2 mths and she is gone...before me was employer 1 f a year, second employer f a mth and me f 6 mths...did not know can go see...should have done my homework then...then again over liao...

Xuan mom : I sterilized my bb bottle till 2 yr old...
babyjing, i stopped my cough and flu medication f my boy and only took pak poh fen f yu reng sheng and anti-botics...
anyone of your bb take the pak poh fen? can share how much u give and how many times?

My pd said after starting solids, no need to sterilise cos the utensils, etc we use to prepare food are not sterilised. But i still continue at abt 14mths then gave up. I will rinse with hot water before making each feed. Thinking of stopping using steriliser abt 6, 7 mths, just rinse with hot water. :p

Good morning all! Busy at work so didn't log in.

Brink, Yes! I'm rather big sized but with avr breasts.. lol! i've little milk ss, but juz doing what I can until bb starts solids ba..

Re: Gripe water
I've been giving my gal gripe water since birth. Cos mum says she'll take in air esp when she cries during bathing? So must expel out the air.

Re: Sterilisation
Yah, I oso heard somewhere that once bb is introduced to solids, unless wanna sterilise all the utensils, otherwise juz ensure hygiene and cleanliness. The traditional way is to put in boiling water for at least a minute? Guess my mum will do this and that's good enuff. Then time to put away the steriliser lo..

Re: 'vibrating legs'
Hahaha..my gal too!! She's also a rabbit. And she kicks her right leg so vigorously we hear "crack crack". I checked twice with my PD. He said it's the knee and that does happen. So scared it's the thigh or something wrong with her bone. Perhaps they are all jumpy rabbits! Legs with super strength!

One more day to go! Hang in there!

Oh to further add to the gripe water topic, it's in really small amount, like less than half a teaspoon with 2-3 teaspoonful of water. It becomes rather bland liao and I thought it also starts the bb on water otherwise they may not wanna drink water when they get older.

According to my mum, gripe water has some sedative element, so if bb takes too much, will be sleepy. I never verified that but juz for sharing.

Hvnt been in here for a while. Hope all's well.

Mummies who send ur babies to IFC and breastfeeding, how do u store ur bm to ifc?

hi googlez82,
am ave size and ave breast also...ss for first and second also very low...but i try to let my boy drink at least one feed of breast milk per day...have to squeeze twice in order to obtain the amt..my boy drinking 150ml now...but if breastmilk he cannot even finish 100ml...think he dislike the taste after starting on formula...
am happy today that my boy has stopped all medication...hope his phlegm will go away by itself...

brink, my boy still have the phlegmy sound. But when i check with my PD during his vaccination, he said he is ok..lungs clear too. Guess have to wait til he is 6-8 mths to outgrow. According to the booklet my PD give, the phlegmy sound is harmless.

mummies, need some advice on weaning. if my boy drinking 120ml fm now, for first time, how much cereal & fm shld i give? need to supplement with fm? shld i give the fm b4 or after the cereal? how many times shld i give the cereal in a day? i've alr bought the happy bellies cereal, but juz realise i havent got any weaning spoon/ bowl. blur mummy. hahah. going to get at the fair this wkend. what brand r u using? pigeon or avent or? also is there any need to get a sippy cup (bottle with handles)? saw pigeon got this magmag like very good (& ex!), not sure if there's any need? or milk bottle will do? dont recall using any sippy cup in our time leh..

my boy like sick on & off.. one day ok, one day not ok.. day b4 seems to have recovered, then yest voice abit coarse & phlegmy.. so far haven't bring him see doc yet.. sigh..........

jac, what i do for #1 is slot in cereal in between feeds, e.g. 1 hr later after milk, i will make some cereal for bb. Not a lot for the start, like 30ml of milk with cereal. 2 hrs later then give bb milk feed again. Slowly increase the cereal amount/ frequency.
I use Pigeon bowl, the orange one (for 12 mths) so can last longer. My girl still use the same bowl for porridge now. As for spoon, i have avent & combi (combi comes with a box so easier to bring out).
Yes, the mag mag sippy cup is good. I trained my #1 to drink using straw when she is 6 mths old. Ever since then i will bring water in her sippy when going out and at home too.

Moscato, ya, we went to see the and he said his lungs are cleared too even when he had the phlegmy sound but he did say if I worried, continue w the med another day which I did not cause morning I gave the pak poh San now... As long as he still drink milk and can play I try not to give him med...

Anyone of u feeding your precious pak poh San f yu ren seng? Can share

Jac think should bring your boy see doc at least to clear any doubts and to check if he really ok. Weaning spoon and bowl... I just bought a 9.50 pigeon set f kiddy palace last time, but realize actually no need one cause any cute bowl and small spoon can use to feed bb. But usually if u have only no. 1, u wan the best
so give him or her the best ba

Today hubby just complained to me that my second boy very naughty, lazy and jialut... Wan milk middle of the night , throw temper, cry so loud and when drinking wan to sleep and never finish his milk. My first was never like that...also donno what to say to him... :p, then my boy also like alarm clock every 3 he will wake up and wan milk, pacifier don't work and he still cry..I wonder how we can then train him to sleep thru...haiz. Any suggestions? Actually I do t mind my boy waking up to drink cause my first was very underweight then and my second is better lor, so am quite happy but still it is disruptive to our sleep. Just yesterday, he wake up at 12am, 3am, 6am f his feed... Tired man...

moscato, if u slot in cereal btw feeds, then in a sense u're increasing the number of feeds & total amt of milk intake (coz cereal also got milk mah)? then if feed more & more cereal, do u take away any milk feed? my boy quite pui pui liao leh. hahah. ur #1 so fast can drink from straw ah. did u get all the 3 different heads (tits, spout & straw) for the magmag?

brink, my boy has the same problem. feed at 830pm, finally put him down to sleep at 1030pm, wake up at 12am & 4am for feed, then 730am (coz we called him up to send him to IFC, if not he could have sleep longer ba). he always si lai one! wkends wake up very early (~8am). then wkdays got to call & call him to wake up so can send him to IFC, then he always give us a grumpy look. don't like to go sch! hahah. i also always wonder when he'll start sleeping thro & sleep on his own without me carrying/rocking him to sleep.

Jac, i can't exactly remember whether i reduce the amount of milk after the cereal feed. Guess u play by ear..reduce the milk intake or drag longer...depends on your bb's preference. Didnt really take milk feed..drag longer if eating more cereal..so think by end of the day, reduce by a feed.
i bought the mag mag full set for #1 lor. In the end the teat & spout no use cos she refuse to use. So when she was 6 mths old, i showed her how to drink from straw and she picked up the skill on the 2nd time i taught her.
This time i bought only the straw mag mag. Initially want to use back the teat & spout i bought for #1 but they change their cup. :S

brink, i also try not to give med, unless fever. my boy also refused to finish milk when sleepy. In fact, he cant finish 1 feed at 1 go. always left some which i give him abt half an hr to 45 mins later. For night feed, i will make lesser.

moscato, hmmm.. i'm using a separate milk bottle for feeding water (smaller & narrow neck bottle, milk i use the bigger & wide-neck bottle). then i also got the pigeon spout feeder as free gift. so guess no need for the teat & spout ba, maybe juz get the straw magmag ba.

i got the pigeon feeding dish as free gift too (http://www.pigeon.com.sg/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=115&category_id=28&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=52). but not sure if the spoon too big anot leh? looks more suitable for 12+m baby? can i juz use this or shld i get a smaller weaning spoon? muz the weaning spoon be soft tip?

then u can just buy the straw magmag. That time i don't want to buy a smaller milk bottle (my#1 milk bottles all 260ml type) for water so bought magmag full set instead.
oh you can use the feeding dish & spoon for now until your bb eat more porridge. No need to spend extra money. My avent spoon is not soft tip too. You can buy a bigger bowl to keep if good discount.

Anyone went to the motherhood fair already? Care to share if should go anot? Huggies and pigeon got good deals?

Hi Brink
I went there yesterday, didn't get the walker I want. Seems like jumper is more "in" thing now. Pampers for sale but very long queue, stock limited so better go there early if you want to get the deal. Huggies and goon no queue leh. Got a copy of motherhood mag and sample of goon diaper only. Not much attractive stuff. I think baby fair got more deals than motherhood fair.

Hmm... Then should I go????my aim is to get more Huggies diapers and buy the bottle cleaner f pigeon.. Maybe also check out the nestle brand cereal.... Dilemma.... There is also Abbott fair at vivo this weekend... Anyone going?

Hi Brink, if your aim is to go get the huggies diapers, then yes, you should go to the fair. However, they do not offer delivery, so make sure you have people to go with you to buy.

Huggies Ultra - M 40pcs, L - 34 pcs, XL (cannot remember how many pcs) = 2 for $22 (UP: $1 for $16.50)
Huggies Ultra Pants - L size onwards = 2 for $34.95
Free Gift = Every 2 packs of diapers, 1 lunch bag, every 4 packs of diapers = 1 little tikes bath toy

If you are interested in wipes, 2 for $1.50

For those buying pampers, please do go early. I was there around 4pm yesterday and they had run out of M size diapers. Not sure if they are replenishing though.

That time at taka fair I got 2 dozen Huggies ultra at $10.95 each w delivery free... Seems like not worth it to go... Maybe I wait f taka bb fair again in aug... My didi just recover so bringing him out is a risk....those who went let me know if pigeon wash bottle is cheaper than outside... Thanks ah... Think usual is $18.90 f two...

Wah brink , so good deal for Taka fair. Which day of August? I

Anyone brought Walker for your baby arh? i only saw this piko brand walker for S$55- $69. Other than that , no other walker seen.

Today i lunch in ... so tired and sleepy. Was it Jac or Lush that cradle your baby until deep sleep then can put down for nightime? it must be super tiring for you.For me, if my gal wake up for supper around 4am+, then i no need to go back ZZZ already. She will take her own sweet time to latch on and by the time she finished her milking its time for me to prepare for work ! Im like a panda now. Luckily my colleague all quite understanding.

my MIL bought Lucky Baby walker from OG sale last wk, abt $40+. Actually their walkers abt that price cos always got "promo" price..:p

my mum said my boy keep kicking his legs...shower time...milk time...even while sitting in rocker. Maybe practising to leopard-crawl. Haa..

The delivery of huggies at the taka fair was offered by taka itself, not huggies. Thus, this time at the Motherhood Fair at Expo, no delivery. Bought enough to last me till the next Taka fair.

Sorry not too sure about the bottle wash, but for the piegon wipes, buy 4 @ $78 (free bottle wash)