(2012/01) Jan 2012

anyone brought their bb to see PD for cough/ phelgm b4? what medicine/ treatment did the PD prescribed? my boy having alot of phelgm, vommitted all his milk. wonder shld bring him to PD or GP. medicine the same?

Jac,my pd prescribed prospan for cough. My boy is quite sleepy after taking the meds but his cough does seem to get better.1.2ml of it 3 times per day.

Shiok ! I just woke up from almost 3 hour nap.

Jac
My girl got cough lor. Yup, you are right, she got 2 jabs on the buttock and one oral for Rotavirus. Luckily she just scream for a second then stop. After that she been sleeping zzzzz...that why I can nap for so long in the day.

Jac/ jingle/ moscato
Think we all stay very near and could have bump into each other before. We can meet up go Lim Koppi Liao. Hiee...

Xuan Mom, PD jus asked me to feed more lor... ya im on tbf now, also tryin to aim for at least 6mths, but im starting work next week liao, quite sure supply will drop and cant pump that often liao.

MIL comin over to look after bb next week for a mth (they r Msians), hopefully bb will b used to her. Somehow I feel MIL doesnt luv bb as much as my own mum, maybe i overly suspicious but MIL always like to say "why bb cant do this or that yet, why bb always cry..." If only she can visit this forum and see how bbs now r different fr the past! ;p But i should also b appreciative that she has agreed to come to look after bb for a mth la. ;p

Jac, that time my girl had runny nose and cough, PD said no need medication, i jus used nasal spray to clear her mucus.

Lush
Who is your PD? Good that he doesn't prescribe infant with medicine easily. I felt bad giving my girl medi at such a young age. Your baby same age as mine lor. At least your bb got MIL to take care, no need to go infant care and easily caught bug there.

I'm also going back work next week. Haha think I'm too excited about going back to work that I dreamt about if last night.

Dr Lilian prescribed my girl with salbutamol for her phlegm and fedac syrup for block nose. Today give us Zyrtec supposedly help her to clear the allergies also and had her jabs , total I paid $290+... My pocket burn a bit hole already. What is prevnar? Cost me $169

Xuan mom, thanks for sharing the PD address

Prevenar is the pneumococcal jab, it's rather ex even at polyclinic, it costs me $150, but it's deductible via medisave..

Morning...

Jac: i also heard before PCF not so good..but that was years ago. I have 2 friends whose kids are with PCF now..think so far so good leh..but they are not in P1 yet so cant conclude. I think 302 is IFC cum CC..cos when i called, the lady asked me if i'm going for 602 or 302. Their website super outdated one..current announcement is 2010 news lor..:S

i brought my boy to see Dr. Lillian for his flu last mth. Also given zrytec and salbutamol for his phlegm but his phelgm still there. I stopped the med after a wk cos dont want to give him so much med plus initially doc said let him recover by himself but i see him kept choking on milk and waken up from sleep..went to ask for med the next day.

if nose congested, u can give him nose drop (iliadin). can get in guardian/ watson. This is medicated. If use 3 times a day, must rest after 5th day. Dr also prescribed with with a nasal saline spray. this is just pure saline water.

hi Jac,
the gp from prohealth prescribe rhinathiol for my boy phlegm and cough and iliadin to clear his congestion in the nose. there is one more med which I may need to buy later to clear the macus from his nose as saw the gp on mon and my boy was still quite ok then but now macus start coming out from his nose...
Xuan Mom, like u, my first boy also only saw pd for his sickness till he was almost 2.5 plus before we switch him to a gp...burn a super big hole in the pocket but first one always wants the best for him..:p. not that second one dont wan, just that it is way too long to wait for the pd in my area. my first boy pd then was doc vanessa from kidslink and without any appointment may need to wait for at least 2 to 3 hrs...with the time, I can see a gp faster and let my boy rest more...
But then now, my second boy like suffering so badly..vomited whole night and cannot sleep well due to flu and cough...was thinking if i should bring him to the pd...haiz...
everyone, how long does your child take to recover from flu and cough...???
by the way, I dont find gp around these areas good enough as compared to the old estate ones..that is why I always go back to my parents place to see doc even for my first son now...he sees the gp from my mom place...a bit far but at least the med he prescribe works for him...
I am also down w flu and cough, think I spread to my boy
. seeing him like that so sad for me..he is only 3.5mths only...and next week he needs to go for his jab...

brink, think it takes abt 2-3 wks for my boy to recover from flu..phlegm still have til now..but not sure it's the phlegm from the flu or the common "phlegm" that infant will outgrow by 6-8 mths old. will chk with my own PD tmrw..bringing him for vaccinations. My mum said he cant finish his milk these few days..also puked milk and kept stuffing his hands into his mouth.

u didnt use the CDA a/c for your PD visits?

Xuan Mom, i go to Dr Tan at Olive Tree clinic at forum, damn expensive but good thing is I dont usually have to wait long :p

How are your bbs sleeping now? Mine starting waking up every 2/3hrs for the past 4 nites. In the past she does not usually sleep thru but only wakes up max 2x. But now 3x?! Sigh
Os it because she has just learnt how to flip overto tummy? Haiz im feelin so tired... How to go to work if this continues... Zzz

moscato, wow so long for them to recover ah..

my boy also...now 3.5 mths still drinking only 120ml and always left 40ml for me...then now sick worst...only drink like 50 ml. ask gp how much should he drink now, by right should be 180ml x 6 feeds...how to go to 180ml when he cannot even finish 120ml...strange is when my confinement nanny was here, he can finish lei...once she is gone, he never poo poo daily and never finish his milk...does your child poo everyday since sick?
CDA account, yes, I do use it..also own money plus govt money mah...

Brink
My gal still coughing, I also stop feeding her already because I'm doubtful about the effectiveness of the medicine on infant after reading up some articles. Cough may take sometime to recover by itself. Like adult cough, it can take up one to two weeks to recover. My gal cough more frequent especially at night and tend to wake up for feed after that. Maybe her throat is too dry. I also turn on humidifier for her because she sleeps in Aircon.

Jingle
Yah lor, going back to work next Monday. U also going back next week right? Or jac? How to handle milk pump at work arh? Anyone can share your experience ?

moscato/ xuan mom, PD prescribed zyrtec? tot that's an adult med? I live on zyrtec D for my sinus & running nose leh. wonder if it's the same med. anyway it was the infant care teacher who said my boy had phelgm & vomited all his milk for his evening feed. but when I reach home he seems ok leh. mabbe vomit out the phelgm liao. try not to let ur bb sleep in aircon if they have flu/cough, will make it worse. yest I only let him sleep in aircon till 1+am when he got up to feed then after that turned off the aircon coz weather was cooler liao.

moscato, same! my boy also can't finish his milk (last time can drink 150, now only 90-120, & prefers to drink water instead) & keep stuffing his hand into his mouth. normal?? my dad says normal leh, bb eat lesser & sleep lesser when they grow older.

xuan mom, I also start work for abt 1mth liao.

jac
zytec got kids usage de..
hmm eh i also live on zytec...expensive hur..1 strip cost abt $15 bucks.
i asked my PD before, she said feed on demand. Bbs are like adults lo...when they are hungry, they will want eat more...like us mar..some days we also no appetite de.

brink, my boy still drinking 140ml now..also leave 10-40ml for me. hmm..sometimes he poos once every 2 days. the longest is 3 days.

Jac, zyrtec syrup can be taken by kids too..lesser dosage. My boy seldom sleep in aircon too. My boy will try to stuff his fingers in while drinking milk too...
ya, they will start to sleep lesser as they grow. But his is catnaps leh...sleep a while wake up...a while later fuss to sleep again..:S

i feel zrytec not really effective on my #1 but it's non-drowsy. I prefer Fedac for her...and it makes drowsy..an hr later she will go to bed..:p

for her recent h1n1, the PD prescribe her another type of flu med...also quite gd...drowsy too. :p

Jingle
Do you work on sats? I'm fine with meeting up on sats. Better than being stuck at home right? I always feel happier when Im outside with baby then staying at home with baby.

Hey! How about other Punggol mummies ? Punggol actually very small, maybe many of us are just blocks away. Haha...Then our babies can talk to each other in their own language.

Now my gal is at infant care I can relax a bit till evening. Im not going to do any housework today...Shake leg abit lah tml... Next Monday must put on my heels after keeping them more than a year in the cabinet. Opps maybe spoilt Liao, you all know lah after sometime shoes start to "talk" or peel off here and there. And gosh! I better spend my day trying out my clothing .. Chiam sure many can't fit in.

xuan mom
u sure sounds v excited :p
ermm let me share with u about my starting to work woes..eh u know when i first went back to work, I cant fit into my shoes lei *horrors* think my feet got slightly bigger after giving birth...
so think maybe u can see if ur feet can get into those shoes boh..and one of my fav heels cant fit in le *sob sob*

nope i dont work on sats, but weekends are the only time i spend time with bb ...so really wan accompany her 24/7 :p hmmmm weekdays u free de mar? maybe we can meet for dinner? w/o bb

jingles: i bought zrytec D at $11..from Unity.

xuan_mom: my bb is at my mum's plc leh..dont think i cant make it..especially i need to bring my #1 along too..

i bought new shoes so that i can come back to work..haha..

Brink
Did you check it out with PD? Personally i feel that 180ml (breast milk) each feed for 6 times a day is too much. Did she finished all or vomit a lot after that? I remember my gal takes in 120ml initially when she is 2month then I increase to 140ml till now. She seems satisfied to last her for 3hours. And if you notice most milk bottle up to 130ml to 180ml max capacity. And most mummies seems to feeding around 120 to 140ml. Usually will not go beyond that even if they grow older, infact they take lesser. But of coz if she her weight n poop is normal then shld fine. In doubt , always check with PD.

Oh haha I thought all of us can bring our babies along for meet up. Something like having a playgroup loh. Think it helps them to build personality like sharing etc, more sociable especially those not in infant care or no siblings. Maybe we can do that when they are older easier to manage loh.

For me , I'm ok to bring baby out shopping, I do Breastfeeding everyway, anyway if there is no nursing room from walking sith her latching on to cars, koppitam, foodcourt, fastfood, carpark, friends house etc...Just put over a shawl loh. More troublesome lah big bag small bag.

Ladies if you are dont mind can add me to your Facebook . At least then I can have a face to remember when chatting.

Xuan Mom; the gp i saw told me...never go to pd this time round...I wanted to increase my boy feed but somehow he cannot finish even f 120ml...always leave 40 ml f me..but if go see pd, they will usually say as long as weight increase then ok ba...
my boy 3.5mths weighing 6.8kg...just bought zrytec f my boy at gp..cost me 16 plus...prohealth always charge extra $2 if u go buy med separately..admin fee...
Xuan Mom, u have not been working for a whole year? or did I read wrongly...did u find difficulties in finding perm job after your long stay at home?

going to get some rest now...it was an eventful night last night and just now, when bringing bb to buy med..he vomit on the stroller and himself...kept waking up crying..so poor thing...

moscato, same lo. my boy will stuff his finger & suck together with the teat, or spin the bottle to make the teat rotate in his mouth, or pull the bottle out & push back in, or chew on the teat, etc etc. hard to make him finish his milk in one go, so unlike last time when he finish his milk in 5mins max. seems like we like our kid's med to be drowsy kind. hahah.

jingles, me & xuan mom different IFC. both MFS, but different blocks.

xuan mom, me not on the fb grp. don't mind mtg. my hse is open for gathering. abit troublesome to go out alone with bb, need my hb ard. hee. I still can't fit into my pre preg clothes. had to buy a whole new waredrobe 2 days b4 I return work.

Brink
I dont know what job you are looking for, but there definitely jobs out there, especially retail,Call center, sales job. But of course the job must suits your lifestyle and now that you have two kids, you probably cant have a demanding job that needs to do OT or weekends. Maybe you can try work at home or start an online job. Get stock and sell them in g market or facebook or start a blog. Nothing comes easy from the start.

Im holding a job, returning work next week loh.

Your baby weight seems ok for his age. If he can't finished the milk, maybe it is too much for him at one go. Dont worry too much. Cheer up. Cheer up! Take this chance to bond with your kids!

yeah Brink, your boy's weight is ok. My boy is lighter than yours. at 3 mths, he is only 5.5kg and his birth weight is 3.2kg lor..
hope he is at 6kg tmrw.

Dear mummies-just for sharing

If you thinking to get a Philip steamer cum blender , you can buy it at only $199 ( further discount if you are Robinson member) , free with eating bowl, lunch box set, drinking bottle, 3 Avent milk storage bottle. I just got mine yesterday. Not sure when the promotion ending.

Hiee...My hubby and mum says I'm a philip Avent supporter because everything i brought is from Philip ...sterilizer, milk/food warmer, breast pump, storage bottles, feeding set. But mummies to take note, most babies doesnt like its teat for feeding because it seems harder to chew. Pigeon and Nuk is more recommended, softer and closer to natural. My gal rejected bottle feeding until I change the teat to pigeon. Same cases to my friend's babies.

For your info, Kiddy palace is selling at $200 for the Philip steam cum blender without the above item mentioned. Even with my kiddy member discount it will still cost more.

xuan mom
wahh so fast buy blender le..
hmm i scared i buy now no place to put in my kitchen :p
no i also not FB user :p
but if u have wassap we can wassap each other la :p

Haha I kiasu mah, got discount quickly go grab loh. I even brought the chair @ ikea for feeding already. I wanted to do all these before I return to work. Easier to find time now.

Jac, jingle, how many time do your cow time at office?

xuan mom
u mean the white chair hur?
eh i heard that the white chair is dangerous for bb lei...

ermm i dont cow :p my bb is drinking FM

i had the philip steamer cum blender..only use a few mths then kept in the cupboard liao.haa..only used it to make mashed potato & apple puree for #1..i'm a boring mummy..:p.

jingles: the ikea white baby chair is dangerous cos ppl walking past tends to trip on the legs..might cause the chair to topple ba..but so far so gd for my #1..just have to be more careful when walking past the baby chair.

Jingles, moscato
Yah Ior the white ikea chair. I agree the safety aspect may not be that good. But that is the cheapest one among the market ( excluding those metal one found in old coffee zhi ca type- worst lor) . For the price I cannot expect much. Those at Kiddy palace one hoh, the cheapest one is $100+ and the very good one that does not topple ( plastic from top to bottom) very stable and nice but price also very nice lor - think is abt $400+. But thinking that baby will seat there at most for few months ( after that they will stand up or climb out, I decided to buy the Ikea one.

xuan mom, I also bought the Philips steamer & blender liao, bought at $159 at the last bb fair, bought without the set coz I got no need for the freebies. me supporter of pigeon! hahah. I hope it doesn't become white elephant coz me lazy mummy. hahah. also intend to get the ikea feeding chair. $25 nia. cheap cheap. did u get the tray ah? waiting till my boy starts solids then buy, else put at home very tin teh. but my boy can't sit yet leh, dont think he can sit unsupported by the time he starts solids leh, can sit in the feeding chair? if not, how to feed him ah? hmmm. my boy is on full FM liao.

btw, there's Philips warehouse sales on 26 & 27 may, and motherhood fair on 31 may - 3 june. can get more bb items!!

Jac
Is it? Got advertised meh? maybe can get the blender at even cheaper price. Lu gi leh. I put the ikea chair in the store room first loh,Cushion, tray also buy Liao at one go . Yah must wait till they can sit then can put on high chair. Think 5 or 6 month? So happy now we can park car at family lot. Haha...oh I can't fit into any of my top or bottom that has a ziP loh. Stuck halfway.Haha... Nvm we got excuse to buy new clothes already. LOLz...

Calling for Punngol mummies like xuan mom & jac.. Maybe we can arrange a gathering. I stay in punggol too. Coralinus near Shing Shiong.

After another 2 rounds of cleaning up, baby is finally settled down and am now carrying him and writing this message....scare put him down, he wake up... Just now measure his temp..37.8, gave him a shot of panadol just in case it shoot up... So tiring when bb gets sick... By the way, if u all happen to be working at orchard Ed, maybe can check out the sheildeon sale at orange grange rd.. Got quite a good buy

Jingle
It depends, when my hubby not working I can go anywhere I like and I like to explore different nursing rooms in shopping malls. But for convinence sake, I will go to compass point loh.
Heard great world got very nice nursing room, I wanted to go there but no chance leh, going back work soon.