(2012/01) Jan 2012

Jac, u need the bigger size netted bouncer..it's quite big..my colleague passed to me for #1 but i didnt use so passed to another colleague..dont know where is it now...

ya ya..tummy time whole head will sweat then he will fuss. I think he needs to drink milk in aircon room..or else keep fussing while drinking. When i was bf-ing him during the 1st mth, need to on aircon..:S

I'm using Naforye cooling mat but so-so leh. Wait for jingles' reply..see if she has better stuff..

uhhoo moscato/jac!

i using naforye lei..i find its good. To me i think its workable only if its in a/c lei, cos it traps the cool air.

Hmmm u all start using flashcards le mar? intending to buy flashcards and some books for bb. Seems she is avid reader lei...her fav is Dr Suess now :p

flashcards ah...i bought for #1..but 3 mins heat..haa...do a few times then didnt do liao. Only have 3 cloths books for her..just washed for my boy to use..
Wah..your girl likes to read ah..if u can, let her explore..flashcards supposed to be good.

trying to upload a pic of the cooling mat..but don't know why cant see leh..

i do "upload attachment"..how to make the pic appear on the post instead as a file har?..:p

Moscato
Where you brought the cloth book arh? I have only one hand down from my sis in law. I like cloth books because I think it is colourful & soft for baby to grasp and my gal seems to like it. She is always looking at picture whenever I read to her. I used to read to her every morning but now I'm bit lazy only read to her once a while.

Jingle
I'm also thinking of buying flash card leh. By the way I also thought my gal was difficult and how come I so Chiam ... Haha. My mum also agree, she say last time she still got time to do household when I sleep one hour in noon. Then every morning "hmm hmm" then I poop so my cloth diaper never caught shit de. Talking about poop hoh, did anyone has experience poop poop slips out of the disposable diaper? My gal when she poop so loud until I can hear it loh then quite often it is so much the. It leaks out from the sides or back and stained her clothing. I will go panick if I'm alone cause got to clear up the mess with a screaming bb..

xuan mom
ohhhhhh another punggol mommie here :p
think jac and jkids also punggol mommies :p
hmm yes, my bb will lo esp sometimes the side of diapers never put properly...like sometimes we carry her or she flips ard in the mat it will get crooked. It happens more often when she was wearing Pampers S (think it was small la) then we put her in merries M, it did not happen le...

no need to kan chiong...let bb scream abit :p dat time lagi best...she shit out of her diapers in the middle of the night, imagine me changing bedsheet, her rompers and washing everything at 2AM...fantastic -.-

my boy fever subside now down w flu and cough...whole night drink milk and vomit like nobody biz..think we change him four times the whole night..bring him see gp today on flu and cough and got a nose drip and cough syp f him...hope he can recover fast...think he caught the flu bug f me and my first boy...poor didi..

Last time, my first never fall sick unless is injection..now my second one fall sick at such a young age...
thought of bringing him to pd but queue will be super long until like wait f 3 hrs before my turn..so saw my downstairs gp instead.
Ask u all, do u bring your bb to see gp or pd at such a young age? my first saw pd till he was 2, burning a big hole in the pocket..then I saw in some magazine, actually bb-infant, dont necessary have to see pd when sick, gp can also...and most important is cheaper...
so many things at the back of my mind...wanting to find a perm job but no response to date..who to take care of bb when I am at work...can mil cope??? so many things to worry about...me also down w flu and cough...haiz...bad weather...
should i just stay at home to look after bb...all these thoughts have been bugging me since I gave birth to my number 2...

Xuan_MOM, my bro bought the cloth book..think from Popular sale. You should be able to get from Kiddy Palace, robinson, etc.
I'm also a punggol mummy..

brink, my boy caught flu bug from me when he was only 3 mths old too. My #1 also didnt fall sick unless injection...until i send her to cc. But #2 so young caught flu virus from me. Maybe didnt take good care of myself during 2nd pregnancy.
Common ailments i bring to see gp, a child-friendly one. If still can't recover then i bring to PD. But when #2 caught the flu, i bring him to PD cos only 3 mths old..luckily i did..cos the PD did nasal suction for him which i don't think GP can do.
But their vaccinations are done with PD. :p

ohhhhhhhhhh then i think i got it wrong again...i keep confusing jkids and moscato who stays in punggol :p

brink
hope bb recovers fast...

xuan mom & jingles, my boy always kana backflow when he poos coz poo alot & diapers too small. gonna upgrade him to L size soon. sometimes also kana his rompers & bedsheets. I had to wash his rompers & bedsheets at 4am once. well, that's life of a mum..

brink, think I'll bring my boy to see PD now till he finish his 6mths vaccinations ba. then at least PD will have records of his health/medical history. after that mabbe juz go see GP for minor cases & PD for more serious ones (touch wood!) lo. u don't worry too much la, very bad for health. juz take it as it comes. continue to apply for jobs, & if got job offer then go work, if not then continue look after ur bb lo. cheer up k.

dekora, u got iphone/ipad? u can download free flash cards app from app store. my boy also like not very interested in reading leh. will yawn & look ard when I show him the flash cards (iPhone app). not sure if using the hardcopy flash cards will be more effective anot.

anyone tried brillkids little reader? very ex. not sure whether worth buying anot. how much is those flash cards selling at popular / kiddy palace ah?

Maybe mummies can try reading the Motherhood magazines to your babies? It's colourful, my boy likes it. Sometimes when he wants to be carried, I will read to him, it works. Mummies can read too. I find it more interesting and cheaper than buying the cloth books and flashcards. I have the iPhone flashcards and those baby videos, my boy doesn't like it.

jac
u bot the jumperoo ah...but i heard only for bb when they hav good support of necks lei..so tats why i have yet to buy yet...cos scared of neck and spine support.

think its quite cheap in kiddy for the flash cards but i didnt buy as not attracted to the pics...color not vibrant enuff.

Moscato
I went popular only saw Einstein rubber book for bath time use, the rest is hard cover book. Trying to buy a few cloth books for her as I read the same book again and again until I sian. I believe it helps to train their tactile skills by touching and feeling them. But when she grows older I will bring her to library instead of buying.

Brink
My first Bb of course like 宝贝, so when she was sick I straight away bring her to see PD for a peace of mind. Very expensive, I paid $80 +for her cough and flu. But these medicine are available in GP clinic as well. This PD is charging alot more than other GP, got weekend and night charges as well. Im bringing her there because this PD has been her primary PD since she was born and follow up with her for jaundice and injection. After my girl finish her injection I may be changing to another PD at Hougang. So much cheaper, I paid only $50 plus for first consultation due to her fever and this doctor seems quite popular - old man .

jingles, I read the reviews on amazon & got ppl use for their 3mo bb leh. but mabbe coz those r ang mo bbs. hahah. by the time the jumperoo arrive end of this mth my boy already 5mo liao leh so shld b ok ba. I try then let u know.

xuan mom, think gmarket got sell those soft books. u do a search?

Xuan mom,

Who's this PD at hougang? I stay at serangoon area so want to find a cheaper one for my gal too, her usual pd costs me so much everytime so need alternative haha

xuan mom
i got my books from kiddy palace lei...those Lamaze soft books..but I think they are rather limited, only 4 5 pages, my bb after a while will be bored. Cos too little pages le

Jac
ok...hmm anyone got the hip carrier at home hur?

Medory
Dr Saw Aik Hin from Saw Baby and child clinic & Khoo family clinic@ blk 681 Hougang Ave 8, #01-879. I only saw him once because my PD not open on that night. First impression I find him bit quiet, doesn't talk much but carry a smile on his face. Very packed when I was there. My PD is a very cheerful friendly lady, very approachable but then expensive lor.

morning..

i got 2 cloth books: 1 nursery rhymes and 1 farm animals..very simple one..i think it cost less than $10 each. Babies have short attention span but ok to give them the same thing over & over again. haha..

jingles: i dont have hip carrier. I use pouch sling to hip-carry. Is the hip carrier good?

moscato
i used to have one lei...but i think dat time bb is too small and i find too din deh..i got sarong i got ergo i got so many stuff so decided to sell the hip carry. Now bb is getting bigger seems like more suitable to sit the hip carry liao..so mayb thinking of getting one again.

so now seeing if rest of mommies got buy bo..asking for comments

Dr lilan lim @ kids clinic loh, going to bring my gal for injection .. 3 jabs today. Chiam... Tonight dunno will she make noise or not and also afraid she will get cranky or have fever after jabs.

Yours leh? Jingle your boy how old?

xuan mom
3 jabs!! wahhh how come so many? tot max is 2 lei.
mine bb take jabs from KKH but she also has a PD - Allison from Rivervale Mall. Forget the name of clinic though :p

mine is princess la
she is now about 4.5 months old.

jingles: use your sarong to hip carry lor..Ergo can hip carry too right? i thot hip carry can be used from only 6 mths onwards right? now should be kangaroo-carry.

xuan_mom: how come 3 jabs? my boy going for his vaccinations this fri too...5-in-1, pneumococcal and rotavirus...i think cfm will be down with fever..

err moscato, hip carrier is v diff from ergo or sarong lei...u may wan to surf on dat...it does not have so much cloth on bb and she will feel more airy..

Jac/jingle/moscato
Thanks , will go check it out(",)

Anyone using ring sling? I have use the baby Bjorn carrier to carry my girl but my backache after a while. Think my back not strong. Then I tried using ring sling but not sure how to use and scare she slips out of it.

xuan mom
ring sling is safe so long as when u place her in, the cloth is arrange properly...hmm duno if u can get wat i am saying mar...cos if u dont put her inbetween the 2 cloths she will be placed out of the sarong? if u are thinking if the ring can withstand the weight of the bb, think it is safe, the dangerous part is only when we put the bb in the sling.

bjorn carrier i dun really like, cos the full weight of bb lies on the bb crotch lei

wah so many of us going to the kids clinic (@ rivervale mall, Sengkang). no wonder their biz so good. hahah. my PD is dr lilian lim. my mum's colleague say the GP (the family clinic) besides them is not bad as well. can bring bb there for minor cases.

xuan mom, 2nd vaccination visit will be 2 jabs (5-in-1 + pneumococcal) & 1 oral (rotavirus) vaccine. I find the ring sling more tiring on the shoulders & back compared to the carrier leh.

jingles, hip carrier is not really handsfree leh. looks obiang too. like those pouch used by uncle/auntie serving kopi at kopitiam. :p use ur ergo la. shopping centre got aircon mah.

Oh..the Family Clinic besides Kids' Clinic good ah? I tried the Faith Clinic near Mac..so-so nia..and the nurse blur blur..
So i went to Punggol Family Clinic at Punggol Plaza when my ger was down with HFMD.

moscato, I used to go punggol family clinic, but found it quite ex, got to wait quite long & always different doc one. now I go to the family clinic near my hse (u know sheng siong there?) coz nearer & lesser ppl. also not bad la, got alot of children go see as well & so far I always see the same doc. think will bring my boy there for minor cases since more convenient. haven't try the family clinic at rivervale mall yet, but was told its good. my 1st PD recommended the GP at mutual healthcare (at prime mart there), son of some ex health minister, but it's super packed.

jingles, I use my ring sling, hip carry style, at home. material thinner & more airy than the carrier. but thank God, my boy doesn't need to be carry so much as compared to last time. ever since he can flip, he seems to enjoy his tummy time more. usually I'll put him on his tummy, fuss liao then carry awhile then put him down on his bouncer/rocker (use toys to distract him), fuss liao then carry awhile then put him down on tummy, then follow the same cycle again. tired liao then put him into yaolan.

jingles: i need to take abt 3 LRT stops to get to Punggol Plaza leh..:p

jac: the docs have a fixed schedule...cant expect the same doc every day..they open daily from 8.15am to 9.45pm..long hrs..Dr. Aw (the male doc. He is the boss i think) is Wed, Fri-Sun morning..i think Dr. Liew (female) takes the remaining mornings...not sure abt afternoon & evening slots.

ya ya..i know there is one at sheng shiong..not bad har? i'm still trying to find a good gp in punggol..haa..

btw u didnt waitlist for the PCF IFC @ 302? so much convenient for you.

moscato
ohhh quite far hur..ya i saw dr liew few days ago on my flu..i asked how to prevent...she said u try u best la..if ur bb kana the virus, thats part of life...the way she put it is really -.-
not v caring lo...
i dun really like the drs there also..find they r nt v concern chaps..only wan see the patient chop chop only.

jac
hmmm ya but i got to think of something for my MIL also la...she carry my bb everyday scared her hand will injure lei...

hmmm ya now my bb likes to sleep facing down le..haiz..really dangerous lei, now her cot got to be clear of toys before i put her to bed.

moscato, so far everytime I go punggol family clinic always different doc one leh, think often got replacement doc or something. the doc i see at the family clinic is a male doc, so far always same doc. no leh, didn't waitlist for the PCF thou its juz downstairs my hse, coz my boy already quite settled down at MFS liao leh & can get priority for MFS CC. PCF is kindergarden rite? no full day program? anyway I'm staying at my mum's hse now la. maybe can consider when I move home to stay when my boy's older.

jingles, ya..actually i dont really like Dr. Liew. I saw her for my flu & cough. Chop chop..and the med didnt work on me. I brought my ger there for HFMD cos it's opened on Sun and i dont want to go to Faith. This time saw Dr. Aw, better..not chop chop. Also heard from my hb's friend that Dr. Aw is better.

PCF is not just kindergarten. They have IFC & CC..named as PCF Sparkletots. the one they are building at 302 is IFC cum CC..will also move on to IFC to CC automatically when they reach 18mths.

hi mummies, im from the july thread. any of u mummies on confinement tingkat? can share the food portion? photos? i need reviews b4 i confirm mine in july. TIA! can pm me=) btw ive gt a BP running, those wan get bb stuffs can go see see also.

moscato, there's already a PCF kindergarten at coralinus liao leh. so they r gonna build another IFC & CC as well? I only heard they gonna build a new IFC, dunno know abt CC. where u see all these info ah? not available on the PCF website leh. anyway I heard bad reviews abt the PAP kindergarten leh. friend's friend's kid attend PAP & cannot catch up during pri 1, need to join reading assistant program. not sure abt MFS thou. anyone got any experience to share? dunno whether shld change CC anot when my boy reaches 18mths. now like abit early to think of this hor. hahah.