(2012/01) Jan 2012

Hi all lovely mums/mummies to be!

Do check out the newborn photography to capture your bundle of joy when they arrived =)

FB: Search "PetitePix Studio" or email us at [email protected]

Wishing all mummies to be a smooth delivery!

url]

url]

url]

url]

I'm hesitant about giving pacifier initially too but sometimes that's the only way to calm her down. My girl wants pacifier when she's just two weeks old.

My poor bb has got thrush!
PD said its cos of the antibiotics tat i took for my csect wound, it has affected her as it killed all the good bacteria in her tummy. Sigj, stupid gynae still said antibiotics is ok for bf. v angry now. Nobody poor bb was so cranky the past 2weeks. PD gave me oral gel to apply on her tongue, I dont feel good givin her medication but still gotta cure her thrush. Sigh, mummies who r bf and given antibiotics be careful!

While sending first month invitation do anyone attempt to ask for monetary / voucher instead of gift? Any advise on wordings to use. Kind of paisay can tends to b more practical :p

Sorry to intrude in your thread, I have a brand new Baba Luna Baby Carrier (black) that I'm selling. Retail price $99. Selling $79. Please PM if you're interested.

i also give pacifier once bb hits 1 mth. more to stop her fr crying.

lush:
sorry to hear that...hope bb recovers soon!

Bianz, this is what my friend wrote for her boy's 1 year old birthday party:

"XXX is very blessed with lots of toys, will appreciate gifts of red packets."

Straight forward, no need to stress about what toys to buy, just prepare ang bao can already.

Marie
I guess stress comes wif the bb package.
I feel terribly frus and stress when i hv done all the necc but still cannot pacify bb or when u cant do things fast enuff to ease her crying.

agree with valteen, when the baby keeps crying and you have tried every method to calm them down, it is very frustrating! But do not get overstressed, come to the forum and talk to the rest of the mummies... if not might get depression. take care!

Mummies who bf directly, do u still pump??
I am trying to store more frozen bm so my gal can use when she goes infant care next mth.

When u bf, do u wait for your bb to cry for hunger then u feed or u follow some timing?

Any mummies bf in public? If not, how do u setyle ur bb's feed when u r out?

Ibought a breastfeeding blanket from kiddy palace yday. Need to try it out at home to see if i am used to this.

I also give pacifier when bb is ard 2 wks old. To stop his cryings and help him to fall asleep at times.

Started using yaolan yesterday but bb still doesnt nap long. Haizz..i'm so tired..

Lush: take care and hope ur bb recovers soon.

Valteen, i do bf directly most of the time, unless i feel engorge and bb is still sleeping, i will pump and freeze it, while letting her take the earlier pumped milk. My bb usually only latch on one side, so i will pump the other side and keep. I realise that when i latch, she drinks lesser, but when bottle feed, she can finish the supply for both sides.

I usually feed her on demand, if i had just emptied my supply, i will bottle feed her with ebm.

Valteen, i do bf directly most of the time, unless i feel engorge and bb is still sleeping, i will pump and freeze it, while letting her take the earlier pumped milk. My bb usually only latch on one side, so i will pump the other side and keep. I realise that when i latch, she drinks lesser, but when bottle feed, she can finish the supply for both sides.

I usually feed her on demand, if i had just emptied my supply, i will bottle feed her with ebm.

I need some advise from mummies out there.... Do anyone encounters bb breathing hard and gulping while drinking? My bb does that no matters when she was bf or bottle feed, and always ended up puking some milk out. What should i do?

For stress taking care mummies,

My gal now is going to 7 months this week. Previously i oso have difficulties to take care my gal. Im so frustrated and stress. We have to calm down. Slowly when she grow older, you will find they are so CUTE to play with. Relax mummies!

Mknwt
Thanks for sharing. I think my experiences are abt the same as urs. Bb usu suck only one side but as i can pump immediately, i am worried next feed has no milk. If u freeze ur bm how do u hv them ready for bb feed at any time? U stanby some on normal fridge?

Yes yes my bb also suck v hard and end up hvg to breathe so hard. More so if she is v hungry. She will then stop a while, breathe hard then start sucking again. I am quite worried cos dunno nlcommon or not.

Jac, mine was white. You were also taking antibiotics rite? U bf still?

Thanks mummies, i hope bb gets well soon too. Thrush will pass fr mummies to babies back n forth, so I have to treat my nipples now too. Sigh.. a bit mafan n painful.

Ya, I also panicked n heart-break n wanting to cry myself whether he cries real loud n hard n with tears... Wonder how can I manage without confinement lady n hubby arnd.

Lush: I didn't know the antibodies can do tbat! That's awful.. Hope ur bb will recover soon.. I'm also on antibodies for csec..

Marie: I do get stressed too even when I'm already second time mom.. Sometimes simply dunno y bb is crying. Try to relax, take a big breath and calm down. You can always pour yr frustrations here. That's wat I do when I feel pek chey. I find the forum more effective than telling my hubby. Hahaha..

Valteen: I usually store for 3 feeds in normal fridge then the rest I'll freeze in the freezer. If not, got to keep opening the storage bags.

On pacifier: I'm not sure if I should give coz my first one din suck n doing fine, not so sure if pacifier will cause nipple confusion..

Bianz,

I found some babies dun like to be cover alot. Especially when we are wrapping them with towel / blanket. Try to loosen it maybe they 're hot or bed is hot. they will feel not comfortable. Do remember to check on diaper. BF babies normally poo alots per day. You may try to feed them some water. they will thirsty same wif us.

JoJo
Thanks. I heard once thawed in fridge, ebm muz be used within 24hrs. Thatz y i quite loss as if not used, will be wasted.
Looks like I need to check out lots of things wif u ladies here to keep myself less stress over these. Lol Do u bf when out?

Bianz
After my CL left, i am also home alone wif bb. But at least my dad comes over every day, as my moral strength. He can help pacify bb for a while if i am tied if wif chores and cant run to bb fast. Other than that, itz solo. I feel esp low on energy at nite if bb is cranky.

Yes i cried a few times wif bb when she cried on top of her voice esp when her tummy is not well.

Valteen: it's true if you take out from the freezer and place in the fridge but if you pump n put in the fridge, it can be stored for 3 days.

Ya, do come in and chat with us often.. It not easy to face bb alone. But when they pass 6 month mark, it gets slightly easier n when they r one year old, you will feel the difference

They grow up faster than we think n sometimes when I look at my no. 1, I can't believe he's coming three..

Valteen,
How old is your bb? My bb is 3 weeks plus. For BM, i usually keep about 90ml supply at every one time in the fridge. When i take this out, i will bring down another estimate 90ml from freezer, in case i need for next feed.

Hope some other mummies can advise us if bb hard breathing and gulping is a norm for bb.

I've a few more questions here...

I'm a c section mum, can i check if c section mum can take alcohol directly? For now, i only take them from food. But my parents and relatives kept asking me to drink direct as well. Is this ok?

Is it ok not to swaddle a 3 week old bb? I find that the weather is too hot to be swaddled, and my bb doesnt likes to be swaddled. I only swaddle her in the air con room.

Valteen,
My bb also the same, breathe very hard like want to die like that if I don't latch him fast enough sometimes. Either that or his head and hands will swing wildly looking for the nipple! I was beginning to wonder if that was normal behavior.

Although i'm 2nd time mum, i still at a loss when bb keep crying. Plus he doesn't nap long in the daytime. I think boys more difficult to take care, compared to my ger.
Now just have to hang in there til he is more settled down. Will be easier to handle in 2,3 mths time ba.

hi mknwt,
my boy oso hv hard breathing during his milk feeding when he was abt 3wks plus.. i thk this is normal. if u r worried, can ask d doc to check yr bb..

i oso had c-section..if u r bf-ing, try not to take alcohol directly..i find tat it will affect my milk supply. i stopped after monitoring for few days. book said, if u drink alcohol, eg DOM, then 1 hrs later, it will go into yr body.. n nid few hrs to 'expel' out fr yr body.

swaddle is one of d bb soothing method..nid not to swaddle them if they r not crying. there r some material, 100% cotton is oso suitable for swaddling bb in non-air con environment, if u nid to swaddle them.

Any mummies using avent bottles having leaking problems with the bottles? Just realised mine leaked.
Had the same prob with their 125ml btls 2 years ago. Now their 260ml give me prob again!

JoJo
Okok, got what you mean. Will do that too. But now that i latch on, muz find right time to pump (made worse if bb doesnt hv a real fixed time to eat). Night time is most diff as everyone is asleep, i am tired and bb is not cooperating. Haha looking forward to the days they are morr stable.

Mknwt
My bb is 8 weeks old. Yes i do that now lor (re frozen milk)
During confinement i was asked to drink dom. I drank a few times then dare not vos am really not sure if will affect bm or not though CL and all tell me ok, jz express after one to two hrs. I remember antenatal class say ok to drink cook one but avoid direct consumption. I was trying to play safe.

I think if really too hot, try not to swaddle to tight and too much. May get prickly heat (pr heat rash). But at that young stage, they may take comfort in swaddling. So in aircon quite ok. We swaddle bn after bath and she is v comfortable.

Moscato
I am using avent bottles but ok leh. Some of the bottles hv this rubber ring that u need to place between the bottle and the teats. Did ur set come wif those?

Vio
My gal due to see neonatologist in two days. Will check wif dr

hi moscato, my avent bottles r ok..it will only leak if i din close tight enough or d teat did not pull out completely from d ring...

Any idea can we give Bb's 1st month jab earlier like on e 23 days or so, hoping 2 give him while CL is still arnd expecting him 2 b crackly, at least someone experience is arnd :p

Vio: do u screw the ring very tight?

Bianz: on 23rd day is too early. Can bring forward by a day or delay 2-3 days only i think. U can call the PD clinic to chk.

Moscato, im using mainly pigeon wide neck bottles but i have an avent bottle that comes w my avent breast pump. If i feed ebm using that bottle, i need to add a plastic ring that comes with the package before securing the teat. Otherwise the ebm will leak. The plastic ring fits smartly between the bottle and the teat.

What do u all usuall do when bb is awake? My gal is always awake for 5 hours in the daytime and I don't want to always carry her..but she will cry if left alone for a period of time. It's so tiring to look after her during this period..

Medory
My bb will cry for whatever reasons when she's awake too. Sometimes she just wants to be carried and be patted, after that she dozes off again.

Hi, I have been quietly reading the forum but have not participated yet. Today feel suPer depressed so decided to write it out.
My baby is 3 weeks old today.
I haven had a confinement lady. So it's really tough n tiring.
Baby also not digesting milk well. Regurgitate when burping.
But he seems to be putting on weight though.

Feel so tired.
Wasn't emotionally prepared for all the things to go thru now. Barely have time to just rest. Time to PumP. barely finish pumping baby crying for milk. After which gotta spend at least next 30 min to comfort baby n carry him upright so Tht he doesn't spit up the milk. By the time he settles in his own cot. I am so bushed.
How are u guys coPing?
My hubby also so tired after work.
He takes over tAke care of baby. We dun even have time to talk.
I feel so sad.

Hi green4life, me in the same situation as you... No cl and baby is coming to 4 weeks old. My mil would come over everyday with my elder daughter (she stays with my mil for now) to help but whilst she takes care of baby, I have to accompany my daughter. Don't want her to be jealous of baby. So do feel extremely tired at times, seems no break at all.

My baby also does regurgitate some milk even after me trying to burp him for 30mins and even after he burps! But guess it is normal unless he vomits all the milk out.

Don't be so sad! Enjoy the time with your baby cause they grow up so fast!

Green4life
After my cl left i was and still am experiencing what u r going thru. Itz really a cycle without factoring our rest time.

i am handling bb alone in the day also. feel heaty and nose blocked oredi, muzbe d lack of sleep, ha. every day eyes feel so tired, wonder how long i can tong. bu today i manage to sleep with bb for an hr in the day so its a gd start. usually at nite when i am very sleepy and bb is not sleeping, i will get very frustrated. or when coz of looking after her, i cannot do my own things like surt net, i oso get upset. i dun even have time to look thro my office work yet, geezzzz, can feel the stress. we all go thro the same phrase. like wat others say, gotta hang on. b4 u notice, things would have improved.

moscsto:
i have the same prob with avent leaking milk last time. but since they have this new rubber ring, milk stops leaking. all the current products should come with the rubber ring i thought.

reading the posts make me feel better.. at least im not alone feeling the stress and the toll of looking after bb.. my bb is 5 weeks today and when i exert myself abit more, i will start to bleed down there.. haizz.. bb cranky n in pain, how to not exert? i need to take cre of my health too.. but sometimes i it just have to b neglected..
super exhausted.. *waiting for this difficult phase to pass*

hmm..mine doesnt come with the rubber ring leh.

RitzC, jkids: your bottles are the honey coloured or clear ones? Mine is the honey coloured ones

Valteen, my gal even needs me to walk around while carrying her haha..

Green4life, I also no CL though I have a helper..but I still look after bb for most of the day and night..n hb can sometimes be oblivious to bb cries at night, It can be really get very stressful and helpless..n my panda eyes are so bad haha..

Silsilly, I also tend to bleed whenever I over exert..but rest seems like such a luxury nowadays haiz..