(2012/01) Jan 2012

Jojo: tried rocker and playing music already. Sometimes he sleeps in our arms already, before we can put him down, he starts crying again.

My CL leaving on fri liao.. My sleepless nites going to start.

I am also supposedly a Feb mummy but my bb popped on 30 Jan..

Just wanna find out during ur confinement, any of u really keep to tradition? No fan, no aircon, no bathing and washing of hair?!

My bb is still on total breastmilk. Everytime he suckle, he will go to sleep very soon and unable to fulfill the 15mins rule on each breast.. My helper end up bottle feeding him EBM cos she is able to track his intake of 50ml per feed..

Chewie,
Are u able to empty ur breast during each pumping session? How much did u manage to pump? My left breast is jammed up. Each time max i can get from left is 10ml, most times only a few drops.. While my right can get abt 50ml each time.. I am quite worried my supply not enuf to meet bb's demand...

I am also supposedly a Feb mummy but my bb popped on 30 Jan..

Just wanna find out during ur confinement, any of u really keep to tradition? No fan, no aircon, no bathing and washing of hair?!

My bb is still on total breastmilk. Everytime he suckle, he will go to sleep very soon and unable to fulfill the 15mins rule on each breast.. My helper end up bottle feeding him EBM cos she is able to track his intake of 50ml per feed..

Chewie,
Are u able to empty ur breast during each pumping session? How much did u manage to pump? My left breast is jammed up. Each time max i can get from left is 10ml, most times only a few drops.. While my right can get abt 50ml each time.. I am quite worried my supply not enuf to meet bb's demand...

Bubblicious, I dunno if breast is emptied.. Shd I jutst keep letting pump run till no more drops? My CL said its common one breast has more milk, usu the right. On my left, I'm getting abt 1 oz with 15 min, no baby suckling. On my right, after baby suckle I can still get 1 oz. so either I'm not emptying or my breasts are super imbalanced.. Hahaha

So far I haven bathe, wash hands and wipe clean very few hrs with boiled water. But I have fan on all times and aircon for some time to cool the room cos nowadays really hot

Thanks mummies for the advise on water.

Did any mummies here face baby suffering from jaundice?

My baobao has jaundice

Marie, what is your's baby's billirubin's level? My girl's reading went up to 216 the highest, no need to go hospital for phototherapy but need to go back to polyclinic daily to do blood test to monitor the level. Dr said more than 260 then need to go back hospital. I gave her as much bm as possible, so that she can pass motion more often to pass out the billirubin as well.

chewie and bubblicious, can try tandem expressing and latching? I will get baby to latch one side while expressing the other side at the same time. Cos my baby still can't empty both breasts and I'll end up having an engorged 1 breast. I get the let-down more easily when she is latching, hence easier to pump out more on the other side at the same time.

Jojo, I had lunch outside with baby sleeping in the baby carrier last week. Ended up some food dropped on her head. Need to bathe again when we got home.

I am a second time mummy as well and I still am trying to remember how to breastfeed. My son is 500grams heavier than his sis when he was born and I find that his intake is more than that of his sis. Was worried the first week that I don't seem to have enough milk ESP since I managed to total breastfeed his sis for 7 months. Don't want to shortchange my son, so kept trying to pump after latch. But first week milk has not kicked in so can't pump out much at all.

Now into the 3rd week, things have improved. I mainly latch on only and pump only once a day, usually in the morning cause that is when the breasts are more engorged. I could pump out 100ml most times from my right breast and about 70ml from my left. Pumping in the beginning does work to tell the brain and body to produce more milk but usually see no result. Milk only starts kicking in later. So for those mums who have problems now, keep trying.

Oh I was drinking the sacred tea for the first week and think it did help a little. Some people don't think it works but guess really depends on the individual.

Breast feeding: ok, im confused...

LC first said: 15mins 1 side, then 10 to 45 min dessert (the other)side, next start with dessert side.

Then another LC said: 30mins to 45mins mas 1hr each side, then change if still wan after doing finger test, and the above is for the colostrum, so i presume when milk comes in, it is the 2nd method..

But my gal also, everytime ard 10mins to 20mins max 1 side then knock out no matter what i do, then feed again 1,2,3hrs later depending on mood...

What is what...?

On sore nipples, my bb is 9 days old now, still very sore nipples, think her latching position now so gd.. But so far aso only do latching and it is usually very pain when starting to latch on and then when continue to drink, it's ok..

Heard that applying 3 coats of bm will help.. And my gynae gave me something (mothers mate) that is supposed to help, but think I can still tolerate so not using yet..

Hi mummies on total bm,
Am curious so u manage 2 get bm out fm day 1? Is it ur 1st born? When n how much u able 2 pump btw?

Hi bianz, initially I got colostrum but baby kept sleeping and dun latch. The LC at the hospital taught me to squeeze my nipple to get the colostrum. I got engorgement, so use glass bottle (formula milk bottle from hospital) with hot water to roll hard on breast and use my own hands and knuckles. Damn painful. Keeping expressing lor.. Until something come out. I only managed to get 20ml at day 6 after delivery. Then keep pumping 3 hrly to get the supply..

Seems like quite a few of us struck at the low milk supply.

My bf journey:

Day 1-3: total no milk. Feed bb fm after day 2 cos cannot imagine bb go hungry. But still continue to latch him.
Day 4 to 6: milk kick in at 4am. Supply only few drops. Bb can feel the difference in milk bottle and nipple. Having difficulty to latch him, even latch on he know how to unlatch so hv to do a few try.
Day 7: manage to pump 20ml every 3 hrs. And alternate to latch him every feed on one side only.

I am taking scared tea every dat since day one and already finish one pack plus fenugreek since day 3.

Now I pump after I feed him after latch him.

marie:
actually bb dun need to drink water according to doc. but i intend to intro after he hits one mth.

moscato:
my bb not sleeping well also, same like yours. like today, barely sleeping. how huh? i cannot imagine if i take over after cl leaves! but anyone noe y is bb not sleeping well?

i bath every day, wash my hair once a week coz weather is still quite ok. got fan but no aircon.

Jkids: u are in the same boat as me! I also dont know what to do. Lost! If dont carry him, he will cry. Sometimes i carry he also dont want, keep crying. If my CL carries, he ok liao.

Does your bb fuss n cry when he is not sleeping?

I also bath everyday with herbs. Only washed my hair once on the 14th day. Going to wash this wk. end of confinement! Want to trim my hair while my cl still ard.

I also use fan cos my bb sweats and scare of hot.
Initially i sleep with aircon, last 2 nites with fan. Started to break some of the confinement rules.

Mine is the same. Thinking of bringing him to a pd this week coz he is getting more n more impatient, cry til face v v red n also doesnt sleep well n eats a lot. Already up his feed to 120ml, he is only 3 weeks plus old, n he still tends to cry for milk before his 3 hr block. If it is 30 mins earlier, i will give in coz he cries until he wakes everyone up.

Anyway, confinement is 28 days right? I didnt follow much confinement rules except not going out much. Knowing it is over feels good. If 28 days, then i will finish mine this sunday.

Hi RitzC, Moscato

I bath daily with herbs, wash my hair finally on the 14th day ( CL says cannot wash ah). Then going to wash my hair again which is 4th day after last thurs. Phew..Looking forward to it. Have being sleeping in aircon room 25 degrees at nite.

BB loves hbs and CL to carry her, and CL carries my gal most of the time and does all the feeds ah... She normally insists to do it.

RitzC: my CL also give my bb 120ml but he doesnt finish all at 1 go, depending on his mood. Like yours, sometimes also cries for milk after 2 plus hr.

My bb cries fiercely n loud too. As if ppl bully him. Chg diaper or dressing him can be stressed cos i'm slow. :p

Chris: same here. My cl carries and insist feeding bb. Kept asking me to rest in bed.

Btw how much angbao do u all intend to give when ur CL leaves?

ritzc & moscato, i'm also feeding my boy (now 5+ wks) 120ml every 3hrs (8 feeds a day). he'll always finish everything & puke alittle sometimes after feeding. nowadays he gets hungry after 2-2.5hrs, so will be ard 10 feedings a day. he's also very very impatient & cries very very fiercely & loudly too. i've juz been branded a bad mommy by my aunt for not giving him enough milk. sad.
but i'm really worried abt overfeeding him. shld i control his intake or shld i feed on demand? maybe boys juz need to eat more???

moscato, did yr pd mention how many feedings per day for 120-150ml? coz my boy has some mild reflux so i'm worried abt feeding him more, but maybe i'll feed him more frequently then.

Can be 6-8 feedings per day or at interval of 2 to 5 hrs. Of cos cannot 150ml per feed at 2 hrs interval. Then will be too much.
Since he has mild reflux, like u said, smaller feedings at shorter interval.

It's abt trial and error. I'm thinking of changing the teats to 2 holes soon too. Cos sometimes he drinks til pek chek but when i tried 2 holes teat yesterday, seems too fast for him.

moscato, yah it's abit of trial & error. that's y abit frustrating. how old is yr baby? tot 2 holes is for >3mths? think is better to be slower than too fast? my current bottles & teats are 160ml + 1 hole (small), so i'll start 2 holes (medium) when i need to change the bottles to 240ml ones..

I'm using avent. 1 hole is for 0mth, 2 is for 1 mth. My bb will be 1 mth old this sat. My bottles are 260ml. Didnt get 125ml ones cos cant use for long.

Yours should be pigeon. Their S teats can use til 2-3 mths old.'

Babylicious >>> I never follow a single confinement rule for #1 and now same for #2. Bathe the very next day in hospi once I'm given green light to stand up. No herbs just as per normal. Now I wash my hair twice a day as that's what I used to do all the while. Air con on whenever I feel hot. Washing hands, pump, bottles since discharge. Have been washing veg and fruits too as I cook my own meals since discharge.

I don't take any extra herbs only a v well balanced diet since I'm totally bf. I have been taking walks almost daily at parks just to keep active. Sometimes the winds can be quite strong and I still wear normal tees and shorts...

So far no issues since my #1.. But it helps that I don't stay with my mum or MIL if not sure conflicts...

Jac, ignore what other people say la, it is easy for them to say coz they r not the ones handling ur kid 24/7. I made some of my relatives unhappy too coz i didnt follow their advice, the most ridiculous of which was to tie one side of my bb's hand down so that he doesnt startle easily n can sleep longer. I juz follow my instinct la, if blindly follow what the elders say, they will expect u to follow more of their ways.

Moscato, my boy drinks v fast n can finish all 120ml at 1 go. He does have slight reflux, so muz burp him n make sure not to rock him up n down otherwise he may throw up milk. Initially my dad wants me to feed him 60ml every hour but i insisted no, coz he dun eat enough he will wake up faster n i dun have energy to feed him every hour at night lol, coz after feeding sometimes he sleeps n wakes up fast n fuss, so whole nite may be juz feed, sleep,fuss routine, haiz

Hi moscato,

I'm using pigeon wide neck bottle (1 hole) for infants the one in yellow color. So far okie le, my gal is choosy cos the tits used in Mt Alvernia is different from the ones we used.

My in-laws keep asking me to carry bb often if not bb will not be close to me and when CL leaves i'll have a hard time taking care of bb. My frens who has CL also said the rest well during the 4wks then after CL leaves they just need to adjust and get to know bb's habits again which can take up to 2-3 weeks.

sorry, wat i meant is my gals is not choosy over which bottle or teats tat i used so far. Thank goodness. Just tat now she is sick (1wk+) and on medication then we'll need to carry her more often to coax her to sleep unlike when she 1st came home, she just eats and sleeps.

Babytum, envy you to the max! So you from #1 to #2, how much gap? And you did not experience a single bit of all the aches and pains, water retention and stomach not being able to get flat, stomach wrinkled etc before ur #2??

Are you chinese? Must confirm.. Cos my mum keep arguing that it is cos of chinese genes... ={

Icyclaw >>> No "side effects". In fact I think being active helps to prevent water retention and for #1 stomach was flat during man yue... This time cos #2 think will take longer to shrink that's what I read. And I'm a very cold drinks person cannot don't have so by discharge I was already drinking my ice blended or ice cream..l without it I v xin ku.

My parents are quite disapproved of what I do but they know they can't for e me. All I can say is follow your body and do what you think is reasonable. But I try not to drink or eat those stuff in front of them...

And yes I'm 100% Chinese and my parents also argue I can't use ang mo style cos Chinese and ang mo body diff.. To me it doesn't make sense la... I only believe in what's scientifically or medically proven. Also gynae gave green light to exercise (lightly) and says icy things no impact on uterus or anything... So I'm comfortable. But parents will argue gynae study western med they dunno Chinese stuff but I wil say u pay so much to consult them n yet don't believe their words then might s well don't c them in first place... :p

moscato, yeah I'm using pigeon bottles. so clever.

ritzc, i'm juz sad that my aunt said that i'm a bad mommy to my boy infront of my face. like as if she knows better. sigh. yeah my grandma also say that last time they use ropes to tie the baby's arms to the side so baby won't get startled so easily. but she din insist that I follow la. I've also been told by another elder to use bird seeds (instead of bean sprouts) to make a small pillow so that baby can sleep better. really "???". and also the other usual stuff like muz feed water la, baby only cries when hungry so muz feed him la, cannot always carry/rock/swing the baby else he gets used to it la, muz condition the baby, etc etc etc. sigh.....

babytum, so envy u. but guess different ppl body r different ba. initially I din believe in food aversions. but I took some curry & cold fruit punch last sat & had stomach cramps after that. grandma say coconut, cold drinks, tea, etc produce wind, need avoid for 40 days. guess I'll ren till then thou having bad craving for teh xi..

Hi ritzc, how old is ur baby now and how is his feeding frequency?

Jac, do u swaddle ur baby? Cos I always swaddle my boy so won't wake up so easily even when he startle. Maybe u can tell the elders that swaddling is the new method to tying the arms.. Cos my mum saw me swaddling and she understands.. She said last time the old ppl tie the baby's arms. I thk you just shut one ear and close one eye to their comments bah.. I also have many comments from elders and makes me so stressed and frustrated.

sqin, yep I do swaddle my boy. but he's really good at getting his arms & legs out of the swaddle clothe. he'll keep on struggling & making noises till he's free. he likes to sleep with his arms above his head & legs open wide.

Sqin, my boy is 4 weeks 1 day today. I stretch his feeding over 3 hours block with 8 feeds per day.

I used to swaddle my bb too but stopped after overwrapping scare on a hot day n with him warded at kkh for observation. But i still swaddle him when we go out. Coz my parents kept emphasizing bb have to be kept warm, he is already dressed in long sleeve n long pants everyday n sleep in room with fan blowing never towards him n perspiring everyday. Hiaz.

mocasto:
yes...he fusses when he doesnt have enuf sleep. he's keeping the cl and me very busy
how how when cl leaves? guess we need to have a quick bath and meal ...geez.. then my cl suggested me to buy bao lin dan fr fuhua which helps bb to sleep better. i may resort to this if any other method fails to work to make him sleep soundly...

Thanks SQin n serene123, on ur bf experience... Been struggling emotionally abt it... Had skip pumping yesterday n intend 2 try again tonite (day 6), praying for e best :p

Jac: my bb wants to struggle his hands out too but if dont swaddle, he doesnt sleep well. But sometimes i unswaddle him cos looks so hot! My cl dont swaddle his legs though.

Jkids: i will try yaolan for daytime 1st.

Evon: it depends on individuals and scenerios.

Bianz: I try this and it helps to pump more milk. U might want to try. 7 mins and break 1 min and continue another 7 mins . Than pump the other side.

Hold the pump at the funnel not the bottle. I watch this video on how to pump and the result is better. This will also avoid over pumping and u get to see the milk let down. Let's jia you cos my milk increase another 10 ml to 15ml from yesterday. and of cos pump every 3 hrs so far this is difficult to meet cos of overslept.

http://video.about.com/breastfeeding/Pump-and-Store-Breast-Milk.htm

Thanks Serene, will definitely give it a try tom, in fact I juz manage 2 pump out abit using manual instead of elec already very happy, hope can achieve more for my bb using ur method Tom, million thanks

When you express your breast milk, do you feed baby using bottle or feeding cup? I'm afraid baby doesn't want to latch anymore if I introduce the bottle at this stage.
I'm feeding baby at every 3 hr interval, if I don't express in between his feeds, will my supply drop?

Hi Grace, it's grace here too
IMO, if your baby feeds well and empties both your breasts, no issue with not expressing. If I don't express, my breasts are still full cos baby doesn't finish up everything.

I've heard it is demand and supply. As long as you keep the demand constant, your supply should not drop

My supply is in but due to poor latching, nipples are painful and bled. Any experienced mummies know if there is any problem with exclusive pumping and bottle feed?

Moscato, jac, jkids, juz to share, we juz realized that my bb's cot bed mattress was sealed in a latex cover underneath the original cot cooling cover. So most prob the mattress has always been too warm when bb sleeps in it. Now that we removed the latex cover- exposing the white foam mattress n covering it up only w the original cot cooling cover n mattress cover, my bb seems to be able to sleep better yesterday nite. That may be one possible reason for bb's disrupted sleep.