(2012/01) Jan 2012

Gd Am mummies,
something to share whats the average fetal length and weight for each week, source from baby Center.

Gestational age Length (US) Weight (US) Length (cm) Mass (g)
(crown to rump) (crown to rump)
8 weeks 0.63 inch 0.04 ounce 1.6 cm 1 gram
9 weeks 0.90 inch 0.07 ounce 2.3 cm 2 grams
10 weeks 1.22 inch 0.14 ounce 3.1 cm 4 grams
11 weeks 1.61 inch 0.25 ounce 4.1 cm 7 grams
12 weeks 2.13 inches 0.49 ounce 5.4 cm 14 grams
13 weeks 2.91 inches 0.81 ounce 7.4 cm 23 grams
14 weeks 3.42 inches 1.52 ounce 8.7 cm 43 grams
15 weeks 3.98 inches 2.47 ounces 10.1 cm 70 grams
16 weeks 4.57 inches 3.53 ounces 11.6 cm 100 grams
17 weeks 5.12 inches 4.94 ounces 13 cm 140 grams
18 weeks 5.59 inches 6.70 ounces 14.2 cm 190 grams
19 weeks 6.02 inches 8.47 ounces 15.3 cm 240 grams
20 weeks 6.46 inches 10.58 ounces 16.4 cm 300 grams
(crown to heel) (crown to heel)
20 weeks 10.08 inches 10.58 ounces 25.6 cm 300 grams
21 weeks 10.51 inches 12.70 ounces 26.7 cm 360 grams
22 weeks 10.94 inches 15.17 ounces 27.8 cm 430 grams
23 weeks 11.38 inches 1.10 pound 28.9 cm 501 grams
24 weeks 11.81 inches 1.32 pound 30 cm 600 grams
25 weeks 13.62 inches 1.46 pound 34.6 cm 660 grams
26 weeks 14.02 inches 1.68 pound 35.6 cm 760 grams
27 weeks 14.41 inches 1.93 pound 36.6 cm 875 grams
28 weeks 14.80 inches 2.22 pounds 37.6 cm 1005 grams
29 weeks 15.2 inches 2.54 pounds 38.6 cm 1153 grams
30 weeks 15.71 inches 2.91 pounds 39.9 cm 1319 grams
31 weeks 16.18 inches 3.31 pounds 41.1 cm 1502 grams
32 weeks 16.69 inches 3.75 pounds 42.4 cm 1702 grams
33 weeks 17.20 inches 4.23 pounds 43.7 cm 1918 grams
34 weeks 17.72 inches 4.73 pounds 45 cm 2146 grams
35 weeks 18.19 inches 5.25 pounds 46.2 cm 2383 grams
36 weeks 18.66 inches 5.78 pounds 47.4 cm 2622 grams
37 weeks 19.13 inches 6.30 pounds 48.6 cm 2859 grams
38 weeks 19.61 inches 6.80 pounds 49.8 cm 3083 grams
39 weeks 19.96 inches 7.25 pounds 50.7 cm 3288 grams
40 weeks 20.16 inches 7.63 pounds 51.2 cm 3462 grams
41 weeks 20.35 inches 7.93 pounds 51.7 cm 3597 grams
42 weeks 20.28 inches 8.12 pounds 51.5 cm 3685 grams

lush, did your gynae give u any advice on how to control your bb's weight? maybe u can try cut down on maternal milk, chix essence, tonic, bird nest, etc coz too "bu" for bb? btw, my bb has also turned to head down (previous checkup was breached position), but gynae says still too early to tell the bb's final position coz there's still alot of water so bb can still change position.. which is true la, sometimes i feel the kicks at the bottom & sometimes at the top.. ard 34-36 wks, where there's less water, the bb will settle at its final position..

morning mummies! hope everyone had a good weekend!

baby fair: really quite disappointing!
i only bought a cot with beddings and a nursing bra. the strollers like not much varieties and not much discounts too. will the parenthood fair really be better??

lush: shiok to max! hehe. i agree with you, should go for a trip before baby pops..if not dunno when will be the next time already. i only went Bali though, cos i dont trust myself to tahan long plane rides haha. anyway for the Chi name, my mum says she wanna count the strokes..so i will leave it to the parents for Chi name. so long as it sounds reasonably nice i have no qualms over it. hubby and i decided on Eng name hehe.

jkids: previously i had those back-high-front-low kind of maternity pants..always slide down too. if i make it tighter it wont slide down but when i sit down i feel like the band is poking my tummy. so i got those maternity pants that have this piece of additional cloth to wrap around the tummy. it's super soft so very comfy..wont slide down too. and it gives extra protection to my belly button. i like. :D hehe.

seems like a lot of babies have passed the 1kg mark!!
my baby was 800g when i went for checkup at 24wks 05days. hope during my next checkup the weight gain will be good hehe!

Alicia>> hee actually hor..none of my friend manage to BF successfully.. but i heard gd reviews about Ameda from some forummers and it is cheaper than Medela..

Morn mommies!

Jac: yah the Combi price not much diff...i'll check out parenthood fair then decide if shld wait till year end sale..

maybe you can talk to you boyboy before the scan and tell him to be cooperative..hehe..sometimes it works!

jkids: my waistband never slides down..it's tight tight..and yah same as u my tummy feels tight..skin super stretched...

jingles: my tummy also abit big to bend forward leh..but i'm not used to bringing food towards my mouth while i am leaning back on chair..so i still bend forward lor..quite uncomfortable..

Lush: you just went to Paris only? didn't go anywhere else? yah everything super expensive there.. and we're still complaining SG is expensive! haha..
my baby's head is moved down also le.. 27weeks 4 days weighing 1.1kg..gynae says average size..for bb's chinese name, i'll go suan bi hua when i got his eight characters
but dunno which shifu to go to..anyone got recommendations?

Alicia: are you planning to go for parenthood fair? think i'll go and see see look look

cyy: thanks for the info!
looks like my baby is on track..

poisedon_gal: lol yah BF is not an easy feat. i was going to buy the breast pumps at the fair already, until my mummy went "eh few hundereds leh are you sure you will even have milk." -_-|| i was like "waa ma thanks lor you are sooo encouraging." LOL! my mother is super practical haha. in the end i never buy cos the price is actually only $30 cheaper..so hubby says wait till parenthood fair. if not can buy online too
i will still be getting Ameda hehe..the lady was saying there is a service centre in yio chu kang so no worries about warranty. how about you?

vanessa: yup i think i will still go..1st time mummy ma everything also just go and see see lor hehe. but friends say, once you go for a few of such fairs, you have gone for all. cos it's more or less the same haha.

alicia
kekeke i find the conversation with ur mummy is really funny :p but true also la...i am also thinking same as her.....pump no need to buy so early. Though we wan to BF but sometimes circumstances also dont allow....so long as we know which model, if we need it later, can still ask hub to buy while we doing Confinement.

jingles: my mum is a joker lol. i never thought of it before until she mentioned it that day lor haha. yup she also says if dun need to buy now..if after delivery got milk then ask hubby go buy. but Ameda can only order online i think..so will take awhile. which also means will have to let the milk leak while waiting for the pumps?? hahaha.

(X): whao your baby's growing! hehe! i think gynae never say anything means it's all okay ba
anyway great to hear that ameda pump is good! hehe.

alicia
for me - our positions are swapped. My mom kept telling me that BM is good, i am the one who keep reminding her...sometimes no matter how we plan, things are not able to be done the way, how we plan.

Alicia, you can get Ameda from Robinsons. I think they still carry them? Nearly bought for #1, lucky i didnt..cos very little BM leh..

jingles:
buffalo in the pool! what a way to describe, lol!
your mum has modern thinking. our mothers' times are into powder milk, and not bm. i didn't manage to breastfeed my 2nd one sucessfully. he kept pushing it out. i wasn't upset. coz milk powder is also good. i am also lazy to be honest, din try hard enough. :p

y am i d only one with waistband slide down...zzzzzzzz

have u all thought of which brand's sterilization to buy? avent? pigeon or?

jkids
kekekekek yes lo..
now i think if i go down to the pool...the guards will look at me with damn wary eyes. When I walked down during my 2nd trim, they already like all eyes on me..now if i walk down, i am not sure if they will let me go down :p

i bot avent. Cos i intend to buy things one set. Bottles and all same brand :p

really envy all lei..can wear pants...i cant. haiz..felt v tight..

Robinsons having sale 26~30 Oct. All shoppers enjoy up to 20% off (Exclusions apply. CHeck in-store for details). Members get 5% + 5% cash rebate.

jingles, I'm still swimming like once a week leh.. so far still ok.. dun look at other ppl then won't know whether ppl giving u funny looks anot.. hahah..

re sterilizer, think I getting pigeon one ba.. seems like more ppl using? any mummies can review which one better?

jac
are u still using ur old costume?
i cant fit into mine lei..esp the bottom -.-
its like v v tiny now :p
n i duno should i buy a maternity one....expensive and gg to wear only like a matter of few more weeks?

jingles, yeah.. using my old 2pcs.. bottom is drawstring kind so adjustable & wear below tummy so still ok.. i'm having problem with the top.. so wear a (same color) camisole/singlet over it to protect my modesty.. :p

moscato & (X): oh okay i thought they only sell Ameda online! thanks for sharing!
do you have any idea how much they are selling it for? if the difference is minimal then maybe i will just grab from Robinsons.

vanessa: yay thanks for sharing!

jkids: i think i am getting tommy tipee cos plan to get their bottles..same as jingles, buy in 1 set. haha.

waa you mummies are so healthy..still swimming! i feel so lazy to even change nowadays wahaha. but i heard swimming is really shiok cos you feel very light in the waters

alicia: if i didnt remember wrongly, it was about $388 2 years ago?..not sure if they increase the price. Check out if entitled to discount during sale before buying. Usually Robinson doesnt give discount on Ameda. Only saw them giving discounts once.

jac
mine not drawstring kind...eh u wear camisole as in clothes camisole ah??
err.. i duno the guards will beep at me to come up or not cos not swimming costume..
actually the thing i worried most is the guard beeping at me, dont allow me to go into pool lo..then i will be so paisei...

think that day i saw, $399 for the Ameda bundle.
Else, can get pre-loved set from forum WTS section if you don't mind.

jingles, i wear the zara basic camisole over my swimsuit.. same color & abit like lycra material.. so looks like tankini, can't actually tell it's not part of the swimsuit.. so far got no problem leh.. dun paiseh la.. swimming is good.. can help relax & relief pregnancy syndromes..

re breastpump, mrs wong bb recommends getting the breastpump on 3rd day after delivery since that's the time when milk will come in.. no pt getting too early else will waste the warranty.. but not good to wait too long also.. i bought my medela breastpump liao since there's a good deal & it's a US set so no warranty anyway.. btw, i read somewhere that can use the breastpumps to help simulate milk production.. so i guess it's worthwhile to invest in a breastpump if u r serious abt breastfeeding/ giving your bb EBM ba.. juz need to persevere!!

I will be getting pigeon sterilizer..haa waiting pfor parenthood fair to get tat.. =p
Today my mum comment that my legs look a bit swollen...very sad...started liao..water retention..then my mum was like "aiya it is like that one lah..cannot help it"..very helpful hor..soo depressing...

iceyglad
thanks for sharing the news

i like M&B baby cot and cupboard!!!
Wonder how much their sales will be

poseidon
kekekkeeke older generation is like tis...their nonchalent way of dishing out such statements are a form of encouragement. Try to see it as positively as possible bah

jac
maybe lo..but their stuff is v pricey to begin with...so not sure how much their sales is gg to be.

thanks for sharing the pose. i was looking at the L shape pose and wonder will i feel giddy :p

for mummies who have bot cot from last weekend fair
wonder when are you gg to set up the cot? or is it possible to tell them to deliver/set up on another day?

Im wondering which pram to buy! need 1 that a newborn can sit and includes a carseat and allows us to open & close easily.. sigh... couldnt find any suitable... have you mummies found any good ones?

Jac - that's a very good idea to wear a camisole over! haha.. I was still contemplating whethr to buy a new swimsuit, you have given me idea!! :>

Poseidon gal - my ankles already swollen since a mth back.

Gosh I still have many thigns to buy! I have only gotten some clothes, a playmat. that's it! I need bottles, steriliser, a pram and a cot! ahhh...

Lush,
the car seat are usually add-ons. Sold separately. Eg Peg Perego, Quinny, Maxi Cosi.

For newborns, as long as the stroller can fully recline, it's suitable from newborn onwards.

If you want light weight, easy open and close, look at Aprica.

Jac>> thanks for sharing..i will go and try..haa i also wonder will i feel giddy anot.. =p

Guess i am starting to feel the effect of the last trimester liao..things like increase in heartbeat rate..tiredness..water retentation..

haa i only want to complain lah.. nothing much..

moscato & (X): thanks for the pricings
will go check it out!

iceyglad: thank you for sharing on this! only got a cot during the babyfair..maybe can go and see if i can buy anything else hehe.

jingles: yup it's possible to tell them another day. i bought my cot and they asked for my EDD..then says i can call to make an arrangement anytime for delivery and fixing up. have to be within 6 months from the date-of-purchase which is not an issue ma hehe.

lush: i have many things to buy too! so far i only got a cot for baby..nothing else. a friend passed me her stroller but i wanna buy a new one for my 1st baby keke. for your requirements on stroller, like abit hard to find something like that leh. usually those that include detatchable carseat, is heavy and not easy to open / close. those that can open / close with 1 hand, very light but no carseat. choices!! haha. my friend gave me a peg-perego which is quite heavy and sturdy, so i am going to get another combi which i can handle easily by myself.

poseidon_gal: haha go ahead and complain! it's all part and parcel of the 40 weeks hehe. i am also starting to get very tired all over again..every morning cannot wake up. how i wish i can stop working already!

Hello to all mummies here,

It's my 1st time posting here. Have started reading and following the thread recently. It seems like everyone is very active and busy with the baby shopping recently...

I am currently expecting my #1.
EDD : 14 Jan 2012
Gynae : Dr C.H Koh
Hospital : Mt. A

How time flies, 3rd trimester is here and so many things to do before the baby arrives..

Well, I hope to make some friends here and exchange useful info/tips... :)

poseidon
ya same here....at night seems like the heartbeat will beat really loud hur..or maybe the night is really quiet :p

alicia
ohh in this case i think i can go get my cot within these few weeks already. Will discuss with sales if can deliver and set closer to EDD

delphina
welcome

6207622.jpg

hello mommies!
long day today sia..now then can come in to check discussions

Welcome delphina!

anyone start to count the number of times baby kicks? mine is every 2~3 hours will kick intermittently for a while and then quiet...

vanessa: doc did ask me to keep track of bb movement oso..usually it will move alot during dinner time..and its not kick..its like its moving n stretching..

Jac: I rem for #1, gynea give me a sheet of paper to indicate by what time each day, bb had 10 kicks..duno wat its for oso..

welcome delphina!

vanessa: hmm i never do baby kick counts..my gynae told me it's not necessary cos sometimes we may be too busy to notice and we may end up scaring ourselves lol. she mentioned that so long as baby is moving on and off throughout the day, things are fine

for my baby, he's usually kicks a lot during / after i eat, when i am just sitting down, when i just wake up, and at night. especially active at night haha. it's super cute and entertaining to just sit there and see the tummy bouncing and moving around hehe! :D

counting down...

something embarassed to ask mummies here...anyone's bottom near anus area swells? mine happens after i have my recent constipation, not sure if it was due to pushing too hard and now the swelling takes place. its not painful though. what should i do? leave it? anyone?

jkids: nothing to be embarassed about la the other time when i had to force myself due to constipation, it did swell up abit. there was this thing that got pushed out of my buttock hole (i think i pushed too hard) and i just ermm push it back inside :x LOL the details sound abit gross. it wasn't painful too, but i felt very sore. left it alone and after a few days it was okay already

if the swelling area starts to get painful, do go see a doctor yah!

I didnt count the movements also leh.. ;p

recently I attended my company's d&d.. bb kicked non-stop especially when loud music is played! wow.. i wonder if it's cos she loves loud music.. or maybe she was irritated. haha..

(X)- thanks for the recommendation.. I shall go check out the strollers.. my friend asked me to go Baby Kingdom.

jkids - that happened to me before once!! After my constipation. That time was quite bad, I had to dig my poo poo out.. -_-... very disgusting I know, but it just doesnt come out even though I sat inside the loo for an hour. After that my anus swelled.. but no pain.. I couldnt sit down for an hour after that. I was also quite worried when that happened. Somy learning lesson is to not to take iron piils everyday. I only take it like once in 3 days. ;p

those would be piles. It's quite common for preggy. Coz we get constipated.

Aprica Robinsons have. Baby Kingdom, Baby hypermart (both at kaki bukit) and Baby Avenue (at balestia) are popular go to places to view strollers.