(2012/01) Jan 2012

jingles: your bb so cute!! loves food! hehe

Jac: no particular reason but gynae may ask you to roughly count the # of kicks/movements later in your pregnancy..just thought i should get used to counting it now..hehe..

(X): yah mine kick in the middle of the night lor..will kena awakened by the kick...then have hard time falling back to sleep..arrgghh..

most of your babies kick after food hor..so cute

Alicia: yup so funny to see tummy moving.. everytime i ask hubby to look, bb stops kicking..haha

jkids: may be piles? cos it usually comes with constipation esp during pregnancy..when i move my bowels and it's hard, will have blood..so asked gynae and she says it's piles and prescribe some stool softener to help.. try not to push too hard when u move your bowels..if you find yourself pushing too hard, then prob can ask gynae to give stool softener, otherwise aggravate the piles situation is worse..

ermm i had that a couple of days ago...as in slight swell but now no more le. But i do find that i takes longer to pass motion, compared to the past, i will be super fast.

Try loading on to fruits and veg if not high fibre bread and oats. It will help, mummies!

Iron pill can cause constipation..so eat your greens!!! Eat those veggies tat are high in fibre and drink prune juice.. i try my best not to take iron pill..i very scare of constipation.. during normal days my bowel movement already not very gd..now even worst..

Jingles: thanks for updating the table..it is really helpful !!

Iceyglad: Hehe maybe we will meet at Mt A since we have same EDD.

Vanessa :I didnt really count my bb movement,but usually she wil be active before I sleep at night and when I am hungry..sometimes I am in the middle of doing things then dont eat straightaway,she will kick me few times. i take it as a sign of protest.

Anyone is going to Phillip warehouse sale this weekend?
I am thinking to get the whole avent set (strelizer,warmer,bottles). not sure if they will offer there or should I just wait till parenthood fair in Nov to get everything..

Delphina: I made my initial room bookings with TMC bec her clinic is located at TMC. Going to see gynea on thursday and change my booking to Mt A. Ultimately, I still prefer Mt A. Will be going
Philips sale on sat to buy bottles only as will be getting sterilizer from pigeon instead.

alicia lush:
haha, u made me laugh, the way you described.

i din take iron pills at all, but took stool softeners. i think i muz eat a poolof vege and fruits b4 i can start making soft stools again
. are we supposed to take stool softerners daily till the constipation is gone?

1st trim it was ms, 2nd & 3rd trim constipation. sometimes wish the last lap comes faster.

baby movements...my bb moves at anytime of the day, no speical timing one. but when he moves and sibilings tok to him at the tummy, he would stop moving....duno cautious of sudden voice or wat...

Hi dear mtb,

Hope I can join in the thread and exchange some infos and tips with u guys..

expecting my #1.
EDD : 20 Jan 2012
Gynae : Prof Tee
Hospital : Kkh

welen alexis: welcome!

oops, i never give my details

expecting our #1
EDD: 14 Jan 2012
Gynea: Dr Eunice Chua
Hospital: Mt A

welcome Welen and IceyGlad

have you got all the items you need for bb?

i realised that rabbit year got alot of boys..95% of those i know have boys!

Hi MTB,

I'm a september 2011 mummy. Hi, I have a set of 3 weeks-old pre-loved Philips AVENT Twin Electronic Breast Pump to let go. Almost brand new condition. US set with international warranty ending on 3 Oct 2012. 2-pin adaptor included. Pumps used less than 10 times. Tote bag and cooler bag unused. All parts including brand new bottles and teats intact, except for the instructional CD which u can view online. Asking price SGD 380. Self-collection at Punggol. Interested parties pls PM me. Thanks.

Vanessa: thanks..

Haven not gotten all the items yet. Still considering which cot and stroller to buy.
Wanted to get something good from the fair but it's such a disappointment...

Thanks Vanessa. I've only got some of the some items. Yet to collect hand-me-down cot from relative and also purchase big ticket items like pram, stertilizer and etc.

Big headache as need to get most items x2 as my mom will be taking care of baby when I return to work.

Welen: maybe can check out the Parenthood fair 11 Nov~13 Nov at expo hall 5B? the baby fair was really a disappointment

IceyGlad: wah double the expense! your mom can't go to your place to take care of bb? then don't have to buy double...

my mum also taking care of my boy but i wont be buying double now..after confinment will get hub to buy those extra items..since by then he will know where to get what.. =p

We are not buying everything x2. We try to get hand-me-downs from relatives and friends. :)

Already found hand-me-down cot x2. Bath tub need to buy 1 as Mt A giving 1. Guess only need sterilizer x2 (1 big and 1 compact from pigeon), more bottles, 2 sets of the beddings for the cots. Will only be getting 1 pram and 1 car seat.

6214713.jpg

Hello morning mummies, seems like its a monday today :p kekekekkeeke so glad that there is a cool weather and nice to sleep for the past few nights!

welen_alexis
ohhh! we got the same gynae! Do you find he is a v mono guy? Nothing much to talk about...? Did he give u all the supplements automatically when you have your checks hur? For mine, I got to prompt lei....

iceyglad
your mom not v willing to help out in confinement hur? tats why quite a headache?

vanessa
like this good mar...then those who have girls will have more suitors :p kekekekeke more choices for the girls to choose from

jkids
got to rem to eat your supplements ah! but i read from somewhere at this stage...actually DHA is more important than iron now... :p

Jingles: my mom is more than willing to help out with confinement. Afterall, I'm carrying her first grandchild. It's just that she prefers that I move back for her convenience, which I dun want. My dad is doing home business and she is his PA. On top of that, she has to do house chores and cook for my dad and siblings. Hahaha, everything finally settle only after I tell her that if she is not coming to my place, I will get a confinement lady to help out and that will cost me somewhere between $3600 (agency) to $4000 (freelance). ;P

iceyglad
you are one lucky mommy that she is more than willing to help

mine did not volunteer but i guess even if she does, i think an outsider will be better :p confinement period is the most grouchy and sensitive period for a woman i guess...wahhhh 4k for a freelance??? thats v v exp!!

oh ya i forgot to share this encounter of mine on Tuesday.
Saw one mommy who was trying to do this incredible stunt in the mall few days ago, she was trying to change the toddler diapers while he is sitting in the pram. While she was doing this stunt, the pram flipped!! Lucky a guy was nearby and managed to hold on to the pram lo...cant imagine what will happen if he is not there, the toddler will have fly off as the bag she hung at the handles look quite heavy.

jingles: my mom last take care of baby more than 20 yrs ago, i am kinda worried too. but its seriously too ex to get a confinement lady when my edd is so near to cny. all of the confinement lady i called quoted me $2k x 2 when they heard my edd.

iceyglad
me too! kekekek so i sent her to this confinement course to rerun all the stuff
then she can help to supervise the CL as well as continue to cook nutritious food after CL ended

morning mummies..

jingles: i did that stunt twice for my #1 before. :p Once when she was less than a year old cos in a old shopping mall, no diaper changing area. 2nd time was quite recent cos i was unable to carry her up to the diaper changing station cos preggy and the station is in Female restroom so my hb cannot go in to help me. Lucky my pram didn't flip.

IcyGlad: try to call up more freelance CLs. I'm sure there are cheaper ones than $4K. so high the highest i heard is $3.5K. At least save $500.

icyglad: i oso had double of everything when my MIL took care of #1..but lucky i got a hand me down cot and stroller..so i save $$ on that..u can try look around the forum if you dun mind getting a 2nd hand one..

nice weather indeed! these days, i really drag going to work coz i hate taking the train!

jingle:
ok jingle :p

wow...the list is getting longer
got confinement course one?!

thanks for sharing this...so we muz note not to put too heavy items at the back of the pram.

iceyglad:
$4k? siao, like day light robbery!!! 1st time i heard it is so high, probably they purposely charge high since u are nearer your edd n would be "in need" of a CL. highest i heard so far is $3.2k.

is your mum confident to handle a newborn? my mum had no problem at all when she did my confinement. didnt take care of bb for more than 20 yrs but when she 1st handled my bb, seemed very experience like that.

i think your mum feels that she still has a responsibility to look after the rest in the family. plus, she muz be used to cooking in her own kitchen, and doing marketing in a more familar wet market. i moved back to stay with my mum last time also, more to her convenience and comfort.

any mummies know how to remove the rust at the base of the milk bottle sterilizer? it rust when u stop using it for a while....

jkids
here is the link to the CL course
http://www.wings.sg/confinement_nanny
after going for the course, you will be a certified CL. i guess its more of the psychology factor rather than if they can cope or not. My mom is also worried she cant look after NB. Afterall its already so long...but if your mom got a strong mindset to help, I guess she will have no fear..for mine, she is not that confident, so got to let her go through some familiarise course to boost her confidence level bah...

Thanks all mommies for the info on CL charges.Already confirmed that my mom will be doing confinement for me at my place to cut down on costs.

My parents + siblings are staying in a 3 room flat, seriously difficult to squeeze a place for baby & me. Especially after my sis revamped the bedroom we once shared, and with my bro sleeping in the living room.

good morning mommies!

IceyGlad: your freelance CL very ex leh..mine is 3K after much bargaining..she quoted me $3400.. gotta let her go back to Malysia for 1 or 2 days though..so my mom should be coming to help out for these 2 days *cross fingers* cos will be CNY eve and Day 1.
Maybe you wanna check with your mom if she is more comfy using the old method of sterilising which is to boil the bottles in a pot or using steriliser. If she prefers the old method then you dont have to get the extra steriliser le.. some moms prefer using old method cos they may not know how to use steriliser..hehe

jingles: good for the girls but the boys will have a tough time finidng wife! hahaha..
wah the pram flipped ah! cannot imagine if the guy wasn't around to grab the pram lor..so scary..so all the more i think i should get a sturdy pram..

vanessa
ya...i tot mine was v v expensive...now i got to know got $4k!!! GOSHHHH!!! cant imagine!!!
mine is not gg back lei.....she said she is gg to stay in spore with me. But come to think of it, may be benefit for her also :p cos she can collect red packs from those who visit me lo ...kekekee

yup..this is one pointer to note when u getting a pram. If u wan get light ones, better rem not to hang bags at handle.

Hi moms, 
I hv a few items for sale. Please sms me at 91558725 if you are interested. Collection at sengkang, buangkok, hougang, toa payoh and ang mo kio MRTstations only.
1) medela swing breast pump bought 14/8/2011 (warranty till aug 2012), Used barely a mth as i hv not enough milk supply.Will throw in 1/2 bottle of greenlife fenugreek capsules(increase milk supply) and 14 pieces of medela pump and save breastmilk bags. $180   
2) medela washable breast pads, very new and good condition $8
3) 4 pieces of nursing bras size roughly 36B (hv different hook sizes to adjust) selling at $15 for all.
4) 2 pieces of cotton nursing pajamas from Spring at NEX, worn less than 10 times, very good condition. Selling both at $15
5) medela breast shields with carrying case for occassional sore nipples from BF. $10
6) quinny zapp xtra baby stroller (blue), suitable from newborn to 4 yrs old. Used less only a month in excellent condition but decided to sell as hubby bought a jogging stroller from US while on business trip. $420.

iceyglad:
gd that your mum will help!

wow...visitors will give CL angbao during cny? isit a "must" for mummies to give CL a redpacket during cny? i did ask mine if i must give...she said no need, but the angbaos on 1st day and last day muz give...

jkids
me too...i wish i dont have to work -.-
climb up the flight of stairs here also lose mood le...now reserving all my leave till nov/dec before i working 4 days a week...
errmm i guess its individual bah. if she is really doing a good job, i guess why not?? afterall also not giving a lot of $. If mine is good and not calculative, like willing to cook dinners for hub..why not lo...so long process is smooth and happy one, i dont mind giving my helper additional remuneration

jingles:
u have someting to look forward to in nov/dec. i still have 15 days of AL this yr...but gd thing can carry forward some...

jingles me too! im clearing lve on n off in nov and dec... will be working 3 / 4 days week from nov... cannot tahan working liao. everyday super tired by the time i get home.

Wah.. So envy u mummies with so many AL. I'm left with 1 day only. Used up all my leave for studies last year. Started fresh this year and used up all my leave during the 1st quarter of this yr for holidays and my wedding... Wonder how I'm going to survive with juz 1 day of AL till Dec..

jingles: Super mono guy but overall ok. Not too bad also as nothing to say means we are ok..heh.. he will normally ask if need to top up supplement. But it seems like i only got 1 kind of supplement from him.

Btw when is your next appointment? Maybe can see you around if our appointment are near to each other.

adeline
dont worry lucky still have some holidays left for the year..upcoming haji and xmas

welen_alexis
v mono lei....compared to my previous gynae...its a huge difference lo..but i managed to open his mouth a bit after knowing him sometime. I wan to communicate with him lei..but i find he is more to a morning person lo. Come at night, he is v grouchy le. Next appt is next week lei..cant rem what time thought :p

Same here, he only give me obimin. You may want to request for neurogain (fish oil), its good for BB. For him, if you never request, he will not give de.

jkids: Ya, MC is another option lo. But usually when refuse to go to work, will juz wanna stay at home and nua mah. Kind of ley chey to step out of the house and see doc lo. Haha

jingles: Yep, I'm looking forward to all PH for the rest of this year!

Juz realised I forgot to take my supplements this today.. Uh-oh

Jingles:
I never tried his evening clinic before. Luckily he seems ok with me asking for mc for every appointment. I hope he wont be so mono when i deliver.

I'm consuming blackmores fish oil, he said ok. So far baby doing fine so no complains. Have you booked for your birth?

So when are you guys gonna stop working?

jkids: try vinger with water? wat brand u using..for my pigeon, i use the water cup they provide..20ml of vinger and the bal water..then after dat..use a cloth to wipe it..

hello mummies..such a sian day. my temp staff's last day on Tuesday, and now i am working all by myself once more (there's still my manager but she can't help me much). gosh. i just hope they get new contract / temp staffs in ASAP so i can start passing on my work already! hai that's the problem when working in a small office. flexible timings when there are people to cover you, busy to the max when you are alone
and now's a bad time to be alone roar!!

AL: waa super envy those mummies who can work 3 - 4 days a week starting from Nov! i'm only left 6.5 more days of AL and wondering if i should take all by this year, or bring forward all to next year. when are you all starting your ML? how many days / weeks before your EDD?

i am so sian to come to work nowadays..every morning also can't wake up. wonder if it is possible to get 2 weeks MC before EDD from my gynae or not wahaha then dun need to waste my ML / leave =p

alicia
totally can understand what you are going through...me too...i dread climbing up the stairs to this office now -.-
jst pack lunch up to eat and got to stop halfway to rest my seemingly easily tired legs -.- was never like this before

I will be starting my ML one week before EDD but I will take another week of AL before that
so after Xmas will not be in office already.

My office on 3rd floor. everytime i have to climb up n down i tell myself i am exercising. cos hubby keep saying i nv exercise, will not have strength to push during delivery. >.<'''

my EDD is a tue, so im starting ML 1 day b4 that, will be taking AL 1 wk b4 that. after New Year, will be back in office for a week to hand over stuffs, then disappear. =P

doc will give MC b4 our EDD one ah?

ate halfway n it rained heavy! luckily not wet...

alicia:
hope your temp comes in soon. my hr told me if we take mc juz b4 taking ml, they will not approved the mc. they will ask u to apply for ml. the loophole is, unless there is a gap in bet the mc and ml. u ay wan to find out more