(2012/01) Jan 2012

jingles, what u mean by microwaved food? i still using microwave to heat up my food, etc ah.. but will try stand far far away when it's lighted up to avoid the radiation..

Jac
Wat I mean is food heat up by microwave... Some mommies told me no good lei.. Best not to use microwave during tis period...

morn mommies!
another 2 days to baby fair! yippee!!

jingles: i think generally food cooked or heated up by microwave is not good for our health leh..convection oven is better but of corse microwave is more convenient...

any mommies experiencing constipation? didnt have this problem until this month...

Selling off 2 sets of Pigeon breast milk storage bottles. 3 pcs per set. Willing to sell at 50% off retail price. Interested, pls pm me.

vanessa
morning

ya...last time i used to packet food to work so that no need to fret wat to eat for lunch...now i also stop le..cos i know microwave food is not tat good for health also

hmmmm i forgotten which mummy is playing monopoly...is it Jkids? I am also waiting for sentosa cove lei!!

jingles, so far there's no scientific proof that using a microwave (unless it's leaking) or eating microwaved food is bad.. pregnant or not.. but i guess to be safe, juz avoid using the microwave or eating microwaved food on a daily basis lo.. everything in moderation should be fine..
i eat out every meal.. high salt, high fats, etc.. which i think is also equally bad.. sigh..

some links for u to read..
http://www.babycenter.com/406_is-it-safe-to-use-my-microwave-oven-during-pregnancy_1245301.bc?questionId=1245301
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100812150555AAAMbRl

jac
i read these 2 links also ytd night as i was too paranoid...think i will stop warming up my essence to drink in the m/w oven....haiz..i am just having prob finding a good time to drink the essence...

jingles, i usually pour boiling water in a cup then put the whole chix essence bottle into the cup to heat it up.. wait abt 2-3mins then can open the bottle to drink liao.. m/w oven tends to overheat the chix essence or heat it up unevenly leh.. doesn't taste as nice..

vanessa, ppl say prune juice helps relieve constipation.. but somehow i always puke after i take prune juice.. think too acidic for me ba? i'm taking probiotics supplements & papaya occasionally to help relief my constipation..

vanessa, i oso having constipation on and off. my gynae gave me stool softener medi, which helps alot. they told me to eat daily, but i only eat when necc. u may wana chk with ur gynae

Morning mummies! Mid week Wed...2 more days to baby fair! Seem alot of mummies taking leave to go shopping!

Vanessa- taking papaya helps. I had constipation during my 5th mth and went to see Gynae and she prescribe fibogel. Its really effective but once u can go toilet try not to take cos dun wana rely on those stuff for too long. So i stick to papaya instead.

jingles:
ok thanks ger..10 jan/tmc/dr yvonne. we dun give birth in d same hosp else can pop by to visit ea other baby. :p oh, i still take microwave food leh. drink essence of chicken 1st thing in the morning with empty stomach is d best. i am not the one playing monopoly, tsk tsk.

jac:
hope some one can help u bath bb when yr hub goes back to work coz mus avoid water if you can.
hope your boy guaiguai
so qiao...same edd
u not in tmc rite?

i also having constipation the last few days
last week, i had to take urgent leave just to give myself more time to pass motion at home.
this is my 2nd more serious one. been taking grape juice and stool softener medi, but compared to 1st time, this time like abit stubborn, dun want to come out even though stools are not so hard. the accumulated ones inside me makes my overall weight heavier

few days back...i felt so disappointed coz 3 young men sitting there and no one offered me a seat...every morning, feel stressed abt not getting a seat...haha. always prey for a more empty train so that got a few seats for me to "snatch"...

jkids
kekekeke now i cant remember who is the one who plays monopoly :p
yes i understand the situation....lucky my workplace is nearby..if nt everyday have to fight for seats in bus/train..it is so stressful...have u decided when to take leave mar? should start taking leave when you hits final trim to rest le...

jac
i also do tat at home..but my office cup is too narrow to put the essence in :p
haiz..think i will jst drink essence during weekends bah.

6180618.jpg

jingles:
i am taking b4 xmas comes...take full 4 mths, if not, maybe come back a week earlier...
u decide wen taking?

jkids, i'm with Mt A.. btw, abit early to start taking ML b4 xmas? when r u expecting to delivery? before xmas is 37 weeks leh.. i'm thinking of starting on 3Jan (week 39) unless gynae says i'll be delivering early..

jingles, buy a new cup or bring 1 from home to put in office la.. then can continue with your chix essence liao mah.. heehee.. btw, 1Jan (sun) & 2Jan (mon) are public hols.. so u shld start on 3Jan (tue) so as not to waste your ML.. abit close to your EDD? u expecting to deliver close to EDD ah?

Thanks mommies for ways of relieving constipation. Will try them! feel so bloated and uncomfy...

I'll be taking half day leave to go bb fair too!

hello mummies! the past week had been a really busy one for me..came back from holiday and kena bombard with never-ending work. shag to the max and i finally fell sick over the weekend

it seems like everyone's anticipating the baby fair
i am too! hehe. have not buy a single thing yet and it's about time to get started lol. will be going on saturday afternoon though..hubby wanna save leave for my ML haha. what are the items you mummies are getting? i think i should be just getting the bigger items..stroller, 2 cots (1 for my house and 1 to put at my mum's), and maybe some accessories like wipes and what else ah? haha. planning to buy my breast pumps from my gynae as she sells them in the clinic..or should i get from baby fair too?

talking about constipation. i had 2 really bad ones in the previous months..so bad that i cannot even sit properly. so i took a few prunes daily with lots of water, drink more fruit juice and it really helps
vanessa hope you will feel better!

i'm planning to take my ML 1 week before my EDD week, and take another 1 week of AL before my ML. so that will be about 2.5 weeks before my EDD. if everything goes as planned i should be on leave from 9th jan onwards
i don't think i can cope with working halfway and going into labor suddenly so i better start staying at home abit earlier! haha.

jingles:
i want to avoid the peak at my office haha, and not b stressed over taking trains/buses. actually i will take AL, then 3jan start ML so as not to waste ML as jac said. if i go on leave during peak, very hard to handover to the temp and teach her properly, dun wana stress, wana relac relax esp during the festive season
some mothers give birth at week 37. it happened to me last time. this time, i have low placenta, so duno if bb will wan to come out early or not leh.

jac:
your gynae is at yishun rite? is he good?i think he's my frens' gynae last time...

vanessa:
can understd wat u go thro. i had to lie down last week on the bed coz of this. couldnt even sit ,stand or play wif my hp..

alicia:
compare the prices to see which is cheaper
diapers also?
they may offer in bulk i think...cheaper...

wondering, esp those with edd in early jan...do u hope to have a dec bb? i like dec bb rather than jan bb becoz it means one yr of difference to start p1. feel quite wasted if the dec bb can start a yr earlier than jan bb though age diff is only 1 month or less...lol.

What time does the bb fair starts on Fri? Think promo items if any may only b printed on Fri's papers. There will b a Crocs Expo sale starting same day fr 9am for members. Wow, it will b v crowded there this wkend! Anyone going to Crocs sale too?

jkids, my gynae is a "she" & is based in punggol.. dunno what's good what's not good since this is my 1st.. but so far so good lo.. chose her mainly due to convenience (clinic near my house) & coz i wanted a female gynae (feel paiseh with male gynae touching me :p).. i've a feeling i might be induced early coz baby is big & gynae is abit pro-induction.. will see how it goes la.. dec is good coz can start sch 1yr earlier & don't need compete with those dragon babies for spaces in IFC/CC/primary sch.. but then bb will have less time (compared to those in the same yr) to reach certain milestones, dunno will be disadvantaged anot.. i guess i'll juz leave it to gynae & bb to decide what's best..

The Baby Expo starts from 11am from fri..but doesn't seem to have much publicity..

There's going to be a Phillips sale at end of the month, think it's 29th & 30th. Anyone getting their Avent breast pump from there? I wonder if it's going to be cheaper..

Alicia: hope you're feeling better!
breast pump you can get from some of the BP in forum..much cheaper than retail price. which stroller are you getting? decided? Wipes you can get the Kodomo one..alot of mommies recommend to me, good and cheap..got offer now at Watsons.. $2 per pack buy 10 get 1 free. They go out of stock quite fast though..my friend waited for a few months before this batch of stock came in.

hkbaby, baby fair starts at 11am.. i think adverts might be out tmr ba, 1 day b4 the fair? saw some adverts for past baby expo fair that are out 1 day b4 the fair.. i've been faithfully prowling the internet for adverts on this wkend's baby fair.. but so far dun have leh.. hahah..

alicia, take care of your health.. work can, well, forget abt it.. hahah.. i've slowed down quite abit liao.. opps.. i've also got alot of things that i need to get.. cot & mattress & beddings, stroller, car seat, sterilizer & warmer, baby clothes, etc etc.. hopefully the deals will be good..

jac
yes it will be close to EDD but some of my friends also told me if take ML too early also no point...and not v advantage also..its better to have more walking movements towards ur EDD for smoother labour. But on/off during late Dec I will be using up my AL as well...

jkids
when wil u start taking AL? Same as alicia? 1 full week before ML starts ah? For me...i will take on/off cos Dec time here is also v quiet..its off peak.

alicia
rest and hope you are feeling better

jkids: lol i have yet to do my research on diapers so dunno what brand to buy yet! think may go JB to get that later in the year haha. but you are right..if they do offer in bulk definitely cheaper!!

vanessa: thank you!
my friend gave me a peg-perego but it's heavy and think i will only use it over the weekends. i am planning to get a combi miracle turn..like the baby to be facing me hehe. and it's light so i can manage it myself. how about you..which stroller are you getting? oh really! ok i will go check out at Watsons! thanks hee!

jac: haha abit tough to slow down on work though i will love to.
the worst thing is that next week is my temp staff's last week and i'm so sure i will be KO after that. =X oh well i will just do whatever i can la..what do they expect from a big-tummy-woman haha. yeah definitely hope the deals will be good so i can whack everything at 1 stop. i am a lazy mama! haha.

jingles: thanks dear

alicia, i dunno which part of JB my friend's dad went.. but i guess with the tolls & long queue & diapers at JB are not exactly much much cheaper.. like not very worth it leh..

X, i paid $1250 for my prenatal pkg.. quite ex i think.. but i think female gynaes are generally more ex & also paying for the convenience factor lo..

Jac:
opps, diff doc!
actually research shows that they will be at a disadvantage in early yrs only, after very soon can catch up by pri sch. moz pp i noe who are smart are born bet jul-dec, lol.

jingles:
i juz look at the calender. looks like i will start in the last week of dec since xmas is sun.

Jac,
my prenatal is only $650. From week 12 onwards, only consultation and scan. Meds have to pay extra.

Your $1,250 include what?

X, erh.. mine is 16 weeks onwards (once a mth from 16-32 wks, then 35 wks, 37 wks, then once a wk till due).. includes consultation & scan at every visit, detailed scans (at TMC) at 20 wks & 32 wks, iron tablets & 1 postnatal visit.. i know she's ex.. but it's really the convenience factor lo.. din wanna travel so far & wait very long for every visit.. also i fell really sick twice during this pregnancy.. once had stomach flu & vomited every half hr.. was really glad that her clinic is juz nearby & i can drop in to see her & do a quick scan without any appt..

Alicia: i like peg perego cos it's very sturdy but very heavy leh..cannot handle on my own.. looking at one of their models which is lighter called the Si Series.. see if got good offer on this one..also looking at Combi Miracle Turn..

alot of NE mommies!

i also havent done research on diapers..if got good deals at the fair, will prob get and then pray that it will suit baby's buttocks nicely so no leakage problem

Jac: my prenantal package about the same as yours. Includes consultation, scan, vitamins

Just wanna share my recent purchases fm Shen Kwang Trading Co as recommended by one of the mummy here:-

1) mitten & bootee set (4 set in 1 pack) - $10X2pack
2) short sleeve shirt (6 pcs in 1 pack) - $13
3) short pant (6 pcs in 1 pack) - $12
4) long sleeve shirt (6 pcs in 1 pack) - $13
5) long pant (6 pcs in 1 pack) - $12
6) handkerchief (12 pcs in 1 pack) - $4
7) bib with string (6 pcs in 1 pack) - $ 10
8) singlet (6 pcs in 1 pack) - $9

Some of the item is estimate price cos I can't really remember the actual price, I calculated backward fm the total price I had paid. I bought 3-6 mths except singlet 6-9 mths. Shirts & pants come in three colour: pink, yellow & blue, we can't choose colour. For outing cloths, I order fm SMH overseas spree-OshKosh & Carter, hv not receive my items yet.

The place is easy to find, hope this info help mummy who want to get something fm there.

Look likes everyone is looking forward to the baby fair, me still dun know yet. If am there, think will look for baby cot/playpen, milk bottles, diapers, baby shampoo, detergent...Btw, this is my #2.

Hope every mummy get what they want to buy during the fair. Cheers!!!

jac: lol i will still go JB to see see cos driving in so not that inconvenient..then compare it with sheng siong. if sheng siong really cheaper then waaa can save a lot of time!! hehe.

vanessa: yup peg-perego is really sturdy BUT heavy! i cant handle on my own too. heard that combi is good and reasonable but because of the light weight, the pram may "flip" if we hang things and absentmindedly take baby out haha. so must remember to balance out the weight keke. pros and cons for all kinds of strollers la..most importantly get the one we are most comfy with
hope everyone gets what we want during the fair! hehe.

summer: whao the prices are super reasonable! may i know where is this place please?
thank you!

Hi Jac, I'm from Coralinus too. Nice to find neighbors from this forum. 
Hi jingles, can u add me in yr list too? I'm from tmc dr Adrain woodworth edd30th Jan

Jac, the material is soft but guess will "qi mao" after a few wash. Definately cant compare with those pricey one. For home wear, think is ok lo. Bb grown very fast, hv to change size often.

Alicia, here the add:-
Shen Kwang Trading Co
Blk 269, Queen Street, #01-246.
The blk just opposite the Guangyin Temple.

hi Michelle! nice to see neighbor here! i'm staying at 302A.. which block u staying? is this your #1 or?

summer, thanks for the great lobang!!

any mummies with bb gal thinking of getting the shirt & pants pack from Shen Kwang too? can I exchange my pink pcs for your blue pcs?

Morning mummies! Looking forward to Baby fair tomorrow!!
Was on MC ytd coz having terrible headache and felt so giddy that I couldn't even get down from my bed