(2012/01) Jan 2012

Haha. Oh.. Plain white also ok lah. I don't mind. Hehe. Ya, i agree it's quite multi-purpose

vanessa, mums & babes @ AMK hub got medela display/demo sets for u to try.. maybe u can go see the actually thing & try out the suction (try on arm, not the breast!), weight, noise level, etc to decide.. actually i chose freestyle mainly coz of the softfit breastshield & gentle suction.. seems more comfortable & less daunting for a 1st timer like me.. but probably it's not as efficient as the pump-in-style..

Yesterday 24 weeks scan done! LittLe Monster on the bigger side - 738gm
Luckily after BBmoon, manage to go back to reasonable weight gain
Oni saw BB less than 5 mins, my gyne super chop-chop...sigh~

Gyne also told me better not to drink Birdnest as both my hubby and my family got asthma history...
Sianz...was looking forward to having Birdnest...now mummy cannot pretty, pretty... =_=!!

Swaddle cloth
i recalled i got a set of baby clothes and receiving blanket in the Mt Al new mum/baby pack. Can use the blanket as swaddle cloth. No have to purposely go buy swaddle. Actually those thin towels/nanny can also use to swaddle baby.

Only diff, those swaddle cloth have velcro. Can paste and "secure" baby inside. Else, must have abit of skills to wrap baby.

X, Mt A new mum/baby pack got what things included ah? got free bath tub is it? what else?

btw, just to clarify, the TMC "swaddle" cloth is juz a big plain white cloth.. not like those commercial swaddle cloth with velcro/pocket/design one.. prenatal class got teach how to wrap the baby..

bb's elephant ears:
juz wondering whether mummies have any tips on how to prevent bb's ears from becoming elephant? eg my kid, the right side of the back of his head and his right ear is "elephant".the other ear is ok, nice. it became "elephant ear" becoz when he was born, he liked to zzz with his head slightly to the right that caused his head more flat now and his ear to eventully become more elephant. though we tried to correct his head position at that time, he still went back to sleep in that position. witin juz 1 mth, his right ear was obviously turned elephant. i dun want this to happen to my next one. any tips?

job rotation:
do u think i should tok to my boss to get some assurance that he will not think of transferring me out of the dept or within dept(for a diff job position) after i return from ML? i keep feeling insecure since i only return after 4 mths...

X, hahaha so cute.. "i'm a Mt A baby"..

jkids, no harm trying to sound your boss out.. better to be open/ upfront with each other & it also helps in his resource planning?.. but on the other hand, u might feel even more bothered if your boss does have the intention to move u out?

any mommies joining Mt.A's antenatal class starting on Nov 4?

jkids: if you are feeling so insecure maybe can talk to your boss.. but sometimes because of the changing needs of the company, job rotation is necessary and prob not up to your boss if you're working in MNCs.. so probably u can talk to your boss and tell him u like working where u are and hope that you will not be transferred out after you come back from ML. At least you let him know your thoughts

jac and vanessa:
thanks ...i also thought of sounding out rather keep it with me. but i duno whether i will "de zui" him? now i may try to find ways to come back to work earlier coz i really scare i will b transferred out...

zhuzhu:
haha, i am confused by how you did it..when u made bb sleep one side....where was his back? was it against the side of the cot or? wun he sleep on his back again after sometime?

jkids: my bb was sleeping vertically in the cot..more like in the middle..so when i change the facing of the cot mobile, naturally his head will turn where the music is..

I've the following to let go:

- 3 tins of Similac Mum (exp Oct'13), $12 each
- Lamaze Spin & Explore Garden Gym @ $15
- Lamaze Gardenbug Foot Finder & Wrist Rattle Set @ $10

Kindly PM me if keen, thanks!

Morn mommies! brand new week! looking forward to the baby fair this weekend!

jkids: is your boss the reasonable type? if he is then don't worry about 'de zui' him. Just let him know your thoughts and see what he can do. It's their jobs as managers!

wanna ask, what's the meaning of "BNIB"? I see this in the "SMH - Want to sell" section.

morn mummies!

another week to go ...so lazy i really feel like taking leave to snooze at home!
BNIB
brand new __ __ :p

cough epidemic
heard tat there is a cough epidemic going around..mummies becareful when gg out in heavily populated areas.

brand new with tag i think

err...actually the normal mask u see ple wearing is for the person who have virus.....if you want prevent, you should wear N95 mask. Then its effective...

Load on your vit c, water and loads of sleep mummies

vanessa:
he's my new boss, quite impatient. he does not have a chance to know my past performance. if its old boss, i am not so scared.

jkids
dont worry too much ....you can try sounding him out, but there's nothing good if you overworry about something you cant prevent if its gg to happen also. Worry too much is bad for yourself as well as bb....so..voice it out to your boss nicely and stay positive bah...

jingles:
not only this matter "fan" me. i have 2 "fan" matters. my mil's been giving excuses not wanting to look after my bb, keep saying "duno whether can cope or not". in fact she juz wants to enjoy life at this age lah. if we have a better choice, we would never ask her for help. . so now, i oso duno wat to do. maid and nanny seem not a good alternative for me but i would want to continue to work, if not, very hard to provide for the whole family.... anyone has a better solution can share wif me. sometimes i would think whether having a 3rd one is a rite choice.

jkids
how about if you employ a maid but with your MIL's supervision? So can send bb + maid to IL's place in the day, or leave the maid with IL and just send bb there, or leave bb at home with maid and get MIL to come over and spot check?

jkids
i totally understand the anguish and frustration you are gg through. Seeing your tummy getting bigger and bigger and cant get any commitment from anyone to look after a BB in a matter of few months time is stressful. And of cos, seeking help from your so call love ones (especially those who are immd family members) and to be slam door shut by them, I had gone through that as well.

Duno is a word which I totally detest....there is no such word as duno...only lazy...cos when you are lazy = dont want to learn = cant be bother = duno.

Is there a way can send 1st and 2nd one to cc then 3rd one to the care provider now?

So happy, just settled IFC for #2.
Haha... finally a space sort of free up. It's not near me, but at least, better than nothing. Finally can relax a bit.

Jkids,
think positive. Nanny, IFC or maid. Talk to your hubby and see which one better for your family.

jkids,
ya. think positively. When i asked my MIL, she sort of gave the same answer too. Later I realised that having kids are between husband and me, so in-laws are actually not obligated to take care of them. If they do, it'll be a bonus loh. I felt better after rationalising it this way. I'll be putting my kid in IFC also..

GT
haiz i agree...but the thing is its reciprocal. Cannot be they just expect the grandkids to play with them and then just sit around doing nothing when we are seriously in need of help. Especially they are able, healthy and retired.
To put it blantly - i scratch your back, i scratch yours....when they help us to ease our financial load, its also a blessing for them...especially when their health becomes frail and will need $ for drugs and checks.

That's my 2 cents worth of opinion (nothing personal
) - i dont fancy freeloaders who do not chip in to help and only reaps in the fruits....especially when mummies are so desperate for help. But well the time will come ...when they need our help too...so should we or should we not WILLINGLY help them too??

Happy Monday

Just wana share with you mummies on my gynes check up, baby is 24th week and weighting 800gram. Think a little too big and more I can see the belly popping now with baby kicking..

How is your check up and baby advancement? Any interesting stuff to share?

jingles & (X): Thanks for decoding these abbreviations for me!! hehe

jkids: Probably can consider IFC? Like what GT say, parents are not obligated to take care of our kids so better to rely on ourselves and find other help if they are really not willing. just stay postive and I am sure everything will work out just fine! just remember that there is a solution to every problem.

jingles: I totally understand where you come from. Before I'm pregnant, my mom and some aunties say "you faster give birth lah, we will take care for you".. then when I got pregnant, everyone keep quiet.. and my mom lagi best, ask me to bring baby to her house instead of she coming to my house. we don't stay near each other lo..so how to keep ferrying baby up and down? so pissed but bo bian lo.. thought my mom will retire after i got pregnant lo but nope..and I cannot afford her expenses also..so bo bian lo..

vanessa
yahhh..i went through a very rough patch before..so i understood what jkids is going through la...i just hope the thinking is reciprocal - that is, if your help dont comes willingly and readily to your kids, then, dont expect your kids to provide willing and ready help when you need it either.

Yes, the only thing we could is, stay strong and positive
together we could work this out with hubby....
our really own family

HI,

I'm new here, and I'm a Jan mother to be... Understand that most of you are communicating thru facebook now. Can someone add me?

Good afternoon mummies! Hope all of you had a good lunch!

Another brand new week! This is the baby fair week...so looking forward to Friday! Taking leave to go shopping!

Seems today topic is about who is going to take care of baby after she/he is born! I think most of us face this problem! Who is going to look after once baby is born!

As vanessa mentioned, before we got pregnant, they keep rushing us to quickly give birth so that they can take care for us, but once we got preggie, all keep quiet and just ask us who is going to look after ;( Haiz... I think we just gota depend on ourselves! Not easy being a working mum and looking after kids at night when we get home. But its our own flesh and blood so no matter how hard...we still need to go thru for our little precious ones!

Adeline- I think I haven't answered your qn, as for the baby fair, I think I should be there around 11 plus ba! Heard from one mummy that I met during my aqua aerobics class, she was telling me that her fren went do the baby fair last yr. The door open at 11am and she was there about 9 plus and she saw a Q from Hall 5 or 6 until the expo taxi stand! So scary....didn't know the response was so overwhelming!!! But i guess I'll just go after 11am!

cyy- wah 24 weeks and 800g that is pretty heavy. I just went for my check last Mon and i was about 25 weeks and princess only weighs 650g. Doc say its normal so I suppose she is growing well! Dun get too big now cos 7-8mth sure to balloon up! Then it will be too heavy to carry. I'm already feeling so tired and cannot walk for long these days. Wonder how to survive for the nx 3 mths!!!

Mrs Gui: Wow! Queue till taxi stand? That's a lot of ppl leh. I'm planning to go in ard 3pm coz that's the earliest my hb is available.

My boy weighs 1kg at 26 weeks! I find a bit on the heavy side though. But gynae said the weight is ok leh

Adeline- yes it so kua zhang rite! Ic...then I dun think will see you le....i hope to get bk by early noon, just go there and grab and go...hope can get what I want ;)

Maybe boy's weight is heavier...i Think as long as doc say ok..means ok ;)

jingles: well, our parents did bring us up, and I believe it wasn't an easy task as well..so no matter what we still have to fulfil our duties as children.
I think some parents think that taking care of grandkids are different cos if they used their own method, we may not be happy and this may strain the relationship between you and parents..so some parents rather not take care of grandkids... hehe.. i guess if our parents could do without help, so can we!!

Mrs Gui: so long ah the queue?! faint lah like dat... by the time i reach at 1pm maybe everything gone liao..hahahah

Mrs Gui: Ya lo. Think we can't meet le. Can post here after u return from the fair and let us know whether what're the good deals since u seem to be the 1st among us to be there? Hehe

Vanessa: I reaching there 3pm lo. Even later than you.

Adeline- ok sure...if I can got time i will do live updates ok ;) haha

Vanessa- I tink those ppl who go early is to go pick up freebies one....aiyo with tummy so big still wana go Q-up and get freebies....really "pei fu" these mummies...i will got ard 11 plus so that all the ppl all go into the hall then i no need to Q-up to go in ;)

jingles: maybe sunday evening got more discount! hehe..like IT fair, last day got very good deals

Adeline: you got your shopping list ready? the moment u reach there can chiong to grab your stuff le

jkids: I guess the next alternative will be IFC..sometimes maid might not know how to look after NB also..quite risky to leave them alone with NB.

Mrs Gui: so kua zhang on the Q at bb expo?

afternoon mummies! i'm so looking forward to fri too! finally can buy baby stuff & clear some items off my to-do checklist..

mrs gui, queue until taxi stand?? will abit kua zhang anot? hope it's not too squeezy.. else abit hard/dangerous to squeeze with the big tummy.. think i'll be going after lunch ba.. wanna sleep in late..

cyy/adeline, my boy was 855g (@ 75th percentile) at 25 weeks!! also on the heavy side.. sigh.. gynae say still ok unless hit 90th percentile.. going checkup this weekend.. hopefully he doesn't hit anywhere close 90th percentile.. else i'll have to do some test (think is test for GD) liao.. but then again, i haven't been controlling my diet.. opps!!

jkids, i can totally understand how u feel.. was feeling "fan" & depressed a few weeks/mths ago.. to the extend where i told my hb & colleagues i hated/regretted having this baby.. now feeling abit guilty abt having such tots liao.. think it's a combination of being worried abt work & child care arrangement cum anxious abt being not able to take care of my kid well cum the tot of losing my freedom & change in lifestyle, etc.. woes of being a 1st time parent.. i got 2 new bosses this yr.. big boss also impatient, mcp & not very pro-family.. also dunno abt my past performance, etc.. was worried that my pregnancy will affect my appraisal.. actually this was 1 of the reason why i delayed announcing my pregnancy to my bosses coz really dunno how they'll react.. initially wanted to take additional 2 mths no pay leave so that can breastfeed my baby for 6 mths but seems kinda impossible (will be possible if it's my old boss).. but heck, i'll still go ahead to take full 4 mths leave.. baby & family is more impt than work.. worse come to worse, at most change job lo.. i mean if the boss is so mean & not understanding, then no pt working for such a boss too rite?.. on child care arrangement, my MIL din even offer to look after my baby (her 1st grandkid/son) althou' she & FIL were the one who keep pestering us to quick have kids.. my mum is also working so no choice have to turn to maid/nanny/IFC.. after reading/hearing loads of horror stories on maid/nanny/IFC, i'm also very very very reluctant to put my kid with maid/nanny/IFC.. but boh bian mah.. in the end i settled for a FT maid coz the good thing is my mum is working flexi-hours, so can still spot check on the maid on & off.. but if this arrangement doesn't work out, my backup plan is to send my baby to a IFC near my office lo.. i also wish that my mum/MIL can look after my baby & no need to get maid/nanny/IFC.. but i agree with GT, parents are not obligated to take care of our kids, if they do, it's a bonus lo.. maybe during their time, they also take care of us themselves mah, without help from their mum/MIL too.. anyway, there are alot of things in life not within our control & also no pt for us to worry so much until something actually happens.. hope u can cheer up & think more positively, yeah! having a baby is a blessing..

jac
dont be depress ok!!! u must remember every small little life is a blessing..imagine us creating something from ground zero

same here la..i have heard much comments that most prob will be engraved into my mind forever.....though i understand that things should never be taken for granted..but i have heard flippant sweeping remarks from ple such as "where got grandparents look after their grandkids???"
for me, if you are not willing to look after, dont generalise everyone.
For me, I am v happy and grateful that my mom had quitted her job to look after me and my sister in the past and now quit her job to look after mine

3 cheers for my mom

Jingles,
u are very lucky.

Now we all talk so much. Wonder when it's our turn to be grandparents, will we be as willing to look after our grandkids?

if i am able and healthy.
a definite YES...afterall its a family bliss to look after your own off springs' offsprings

i will wan my kids/spouse to pursue in their career also...if not why will we fret for their studies/school when they are young..??
if we can confidently assure them their kids are well look after, they can then pursue what we have wanted them to, in their initial part of life.

Mrs Gui: Wah.. Live update! Hehe.. But don't be too concentrated in giving us live updates. must look out for ppl who might bump into you ya

Vanessa: Think i'll juz be buying baby cot, bassinet and some baby clothes ba. Still thinking what other things to buy leh.. I've bought milk bottles and sterliser le

Jac: I haven't been controlling my diet too. I have fast food and ice cream every other day.. Hehe

i was telling another fellow mummy, whom my hubby is in love with her daughter, i promise to look after my grandkids. Hmm... maybe this can be a plus point for my son to nego with his future wife. Haha...

Will u let Marcus marry your daughter? She laughed!