(2012/01) Jan 2012

just wondering how does the chinese culture here goes. For confinement month, can we actually stay at own mother's place or it is the tradition to stay at in law's house? I've asked my friends and they said for sg chinese tradition, esp if 1st grandson in the family, in laws will probably mind if we go back to our mother for confinement.

welen alexis
hello

hmmm got this culture....never heard before lei...i guess thats applicable only for ILs who wanted to help out in confinement. Cant imagine if they dont want to help and we go back to our own mothers!!!

jkids
YOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOO!
where are you...?
kekekekee cant imagine if your IL got stuck on this culture???

Morning mummies! Seems everyone is excited about the fair tomorrow! Any ads in the papers today? Hope there will be good bargains and we are able to find what we want tomorrow!

Adeline- hope you are feeling better today. Better have a good rest today too so tomorrow can cheong the baby fair!

Mrs Gui: Yep, I'm feeling better today le. Thanks
I'll be half day today to acc my friend for gown fitting and will head home to rest after that. Must have enough energy to cheong the fair tmr!

jingles: Yea lo. Keep cheong-ing nowadays. Can't wait for my half day to end in 1.5hrs. Hehe! For my friend's gown fitting, I'm juz needed to sit down and say either "Nice" or "Not nice". Haha

summer: thank you!!
will go check out over the weekends!

jac: lol i think a lot of jan mummies are having boys..if i ever buy i will need the blues instead of pinks too keke! but i think at home if boyboy wear pink quite ok la haha..he probably wont even know lol! =p or can save the pink for next baby! hehe.

adeline: hope you are better already hugs! headache is no fun during pregnancy. do drink more water yah weather very eccentric nowadays..then will have energy to chiong the fair hehe. so envious that many of you are going tomorrow..i have to wait till Sat!

welen alexis: erm i think it depends on the family ba..not exactly a chinese culture. for eg. if the ILs offer to help you to do confinement, then maybe not too nice to reject especially if you are staying with them. if you are not staying with them, i think it's your freedom to choose..the ILs can always come over to help out
for me, i'm staying with ILs but my MIL is not confident of handling me and baby at the same time haha so i am going back to my mum's for confinement, and she will come alternate days to help out
hope things work out fine for you!

Hi mummies n MTBs..!!

Hi Jac and adeline...
I am going to buy from Shen Kwang too.. wait till i buy then i see how many pieces I can exchange with you gals k.. ;p I need pink.. hee..

btw mummies, hw to join the facebook grp? anyone there? ;p

btw my edd is 20 Jan, do u mummies/MTB think it's ok to csect in end dec? I really nt keen to have 2012 bb hahaha coz of the dragon yr..

this is my #2.. 1st bb also csect..

Alicia: Ya, hav been drinking lots of water! Have a love hate relationship with the weather nowadays. Haha. Let us keep u updated on the baby fair since we're going one day before you

Liv: Yea, me and Jac need pink! Let us know ya. Thanks! You can add me on fb (pls leave a msg that you're from the motherhood forum)then I'll add u to our fb group
My email address is [email protected]

Liv: I think c-sect in end dec is too early leh since your EDD is towards the end of Jan. Maybe you can ask your gynae for opinion? I think the latest for you to c-sect if you wanna avoid the crowd with dragon yr babies will be 3 Jan as sch intake usually is up till 3 Jan

morning mummies! almost lunch time.. almost half day gone.. yeah!!

welen, i never hear of such custom/tradition.. but i think if your MIL offered to do your confinement, then it's better that you stay at her place & let her do your confinement lo.. else she might get offended that you turn down her offer.. unless u got very valid reasons for staying at your mum's place, e.g. mum can cook better/nicer confinement food, mum don't mind doing night duty, got maid to help do the housework, etc etc.. but if your MIL din offer to do your confinement, then of coz it's ok to go back your mum's place coz u'll need some1 to look after you mah..

mrs gui, haven't spot any adverts yet leh.. sigh..

liv, let me know if u wanna do a change.. i'm probably going down Shen Kwong to take a look this wkend.. heehee.. btw, baby mature at 37 weeks so i guess the earliest u shld do c-sect is at 37 weeks ba? but also depends on the growth/progress of your baby.. best to check with your gynae ba..

adeline, i checked the MOE website b4.. school intake is up till 1st Jan.. so if wanna join the rabbit babies then got to be on 1 Jan 2012 or earlier, else will join the dragon babies..

I had this huge maternity pillow shipped in from US. around $200 plus, letting go at $50. very good condition and great for supporting the back. collect at bukit batok. sms 96922155 for photo.

liv: i THINK la..if born 3rd Jan 2012, can still appeal to go into the 2011 intake. my cousin's born on 2nd Jan and he managed to join the earlier year intake. but of cos this depends on whether there are a lot of 2011 Rabbit babies or not..if yes then probably schools are too full to consider taking you in already. so it's a risk! hehe.

adeline: yay please keep me updated through here or FB! thank you!!
you sure are super eager to knock off huh haha. enjoy your halfday!!

i am soooo hungry already though i had a packet of beehoon in the morning lol. gonna eat laksa for lunch today..have yet to eat laksa ever since i got preg! slurps!!! hehe.

The shop at Bugis was recomended by lelebe, tks lebebe for sharing with us.

Below was her post on 3 Oct @ 8pm:-

Wholesale BB clothing at Bugis
Shen Kwang Trading Co
Blk 269 Queen Street #01-246 S(183269)
biz HR: 9am to 6pm, closed on sun n PH.

Eg: Pre pack BB clothing in pack of 6 (cant choose colour) - $12.
Found sold in pasar malam - 4 for $10.

Is it ok for bb girl wear blue at home? Think can choose all white in a pack too. Check with the store.

welen alexis, my boy will be the 1st grandchild for my hub's family..hengz my IL dont have such tradition..else i will die..haaa i going back to my mum's place for confinment..more comfortable lah..and my mum's place is very near my place too..

hee i am hoping for a dec baby since my edd is 3 jan..

those going to bb fairs, dun forget to look after your tummy at the crowded place ok!

jac:
same leave we take, same edd we have!

jingle:
i am here. morning busy settling complain from customer, hehe. so now then can report here. never heard of this culture b4. if only my mil heard abt it...then maybe she would help me last time, tsktsk.

alicia:
how old is your cousin? rules may change, ha. my colleagues oso told me something like your cousin case b4, but that was like 15 yrs ago. can appeal to 2011 if born 2012? oh! always thought any bb born from 2 jan cannot appeal to start sch a yr earlier. but i heard if born on 1 jan 2012 and dun wan to start sch with those born in 2011, can appeal to moe with a valid reason. enjoy yr laksa!!!

welen: i guess its more of who is doing the confinement for u..never heard of this culture oso..if ur mum is available to do confinement for u..then u should move back to ur mum plc..

yday went for gynea checkup..little gal weighs 968g @ 26w2d..looks a bit big

jingle:
sian yah...my boss pushed to me. imagine mgt cannot even give an ans, n wat am i to handle? in the end...mgt busy now cracking their mind what satifactory ans to... heng i am not working at the top else i need to pull my hair...

jkids
better dont pull hair la.....later the tendency of dropping off during our ML is v high le..no point dropping more now :p

ohh gg to storm soon...it v dark here @.@

Helo mummies, hope all had a good lunch! Huge storm out there....pls keep urself warm! But I guess we mummies like to cool weather now since our body feel so hot these days!

My gf forward me the baby fair ad le! Just saw it...here are some of the stuff advertised: Maclaren stroller @ $239, NZ pure wood baby cot with latex mattress & bedding set @ $339, baby bouncer @ $39, Avent feeding bottles 4oz x 3 @ $16.50 (this is for Purchase with purchase, gota spent $100 before can buy at the price) and PARKLON baby play mat @ $59 but only for the first 50 pcs, can't see the size though!
Naforye air-flow cool mat @ $19.90

Just though i give you gals an overview on what's on tomolo! Hehe....can't wait to cheong to Expo...like so many things to buy! happy shopping mummies!!!

i'm interested in the parklon playmat, i need a big big one! But only 50pc, and no size mentioned... doubt i'll be in time for it. Haha...

(X) i think it should be a small size one la ...cannot be big and selling at $59...then u will see everyone sure grab!!! I tink its cheaper to get on BP.

Mrs Gui, any milk bottles trade-in promo?

hasn't been posting this week. Busy with work.
Went for my Wk28 checkup yesterday, bb at 1.1kg, average size.
Also cheong Robinsons sales yesterday...tmrw cheong Baby Fair..

hellooo mommies!! busy busy this morn so now then come in and see the discussions!

so happy baby fair tomorrow le! hope all of us are able to get what we want at good deals!

never heard about confinement have to be done at ILs either... if they offer to do confinement for us then it makes sense to stay with them. But if not then I guess we're def more comfy at our mom's place

as for school year, only the 1-Jan baby can choose which year he/she wants to join, the earlier year to become the youngest of the lot, or the actual year where baby is the eldest of the lot

jkids: don't pull hair!
i also have to work with difficult customers..haizz..anything we can't handle just escalate..hehe :p let the managers headache!

Mrs Gui: The ad's in the papers?

Alice: Hope they have good deals for Combi
and i agree that Combi's cons is it will flip if we hang heavy stuff on the handles... hope we are able to find one that suits our needs too!

yeah! finally going to see baby tonight!! hopefully he's growing well!

jingles:
me not mgt level so no chance to pull hair...lol. i was telling my hub that we women are the one who get pregnant, go thro the ups and downs of worrying about no seat in public transport, who looks after bb next time, what if transferred out of own dept when back fr ML. i was telling him all hub must give more support to the pregnant mother, so weida as a wife and mother.

anyway, i toked to my boss already that i want when i return to work, i want to do back the same things. he gave me his assurance. i hope he dun break his words. but at least i have a peace of mind.

jkids
since you have already voice out, just pray for the best bah
at least you have voice out your concerns

true...we women are facing all the crap...compared to mommies of the past, guess we are facing more challenges as expectations of the workforce had raised many bars since. But of course, we cant neglect daddies too. We must understand they will suffer blues like us too. So share your worries with your spouse, but make sure the support is 2 way

jingles: you make me feel so welcome here..haha..

stroller: I'm using Aprica, also light-weight as Combi. Will flip if u hang your things and u carry your bb out. Nearly bought Peg Pegro back then, but heavy & bulky leh. Was glad that I bought a light weight one. More convenient to bring it out alone and easier to push ard in shops.

jkids, sigh.. i wish my hb can be more understanding & give me more support.. but i guess they can never understand what we go thro' unless they go thro' it themselves.. glad that it went well for u with your boss.. dun worry too much liao..

Jac: Thanks for the link!

jkids: great that you toked to your boss! now can rest and relax liao..hehe
don't need to worry I am sure he will keep his words!

and yup, i think women are very weida also..go thru all the pain of having baby, taking care of them,, working..the list goes on... so i always feel that women are stronger than men mentally
we can tahan alot of things..hehe

moscato: Aprica is very small and light! good for bringing baby out but the price is also very nice! hehe :p

Hi mummies, sorry i cannot post the pic cos its on my iphone. Duno which paper my gf took from. Maybe today or Straits times i suppose.

Moscato- Long time no see ;) Wah u already start shoppin le! Any good deals at Robinsons?

im not too sure abot trade-in milk bottles. Got this type of lobang one meh? I thought they won't recycle milk bottles? I haf like 15 milk bottles at home which i inherited also duno what to do with it? Any mummies know can trade in milk bottles lobang, pls share ;)

I'm using a peg perego. It's very steady, but heavy, i dun have to worry abt it falling backwards even with my heavy bag, plus the peg P3 comes with the standing board behind. My 3yo now likes to stand there. I also like that the wheels are big. I dun have to worry that wheels get stuck when i'm pushing into MRT.

Combi, Aprica, Capella, light weight, small wheels. So will get stuck easily. Must "lift/tilt" stroller when going in and out of MRT.

I normally only take MRT with stroller. Coz no need keep. If taking taxi, will use carrier or slings. Haha... too troublesome to keep in booth of taxis. Plus, not all taxi drivers help.

Wow Mrs Gui, thanks for the insight on the fair specials..seems to have some good buys, can't wait to go on sat

Ah Vanessa that's nice..I'm seeing my gal next Monday, can't wait to see how big she is now

(X): thanks for your reviews on the peg perego. really tough to decide which one to buy..if i tell my hubby i wanna buy 2 think he will kill me..hahaha.. there really is not perfect stroller lo..either get 2 or make do with either a sturdy but heavy one, or a flimsy but light one... choices choices choices!

Vanessa: i bought my Aprica at Taka Baby Fair 2 years ago. $399 i think. That time don't want to pay $600+ for Combi miracle turn mah..sometimes a bit regret cos my Aprica only 1 way and half canopy. Other than that, it still serve my purpose well.

Mrs Gui: i bought mostly toiletries from Robinsons and a toy for my #1. Oh..mustela was on 25% for cardmembers, was a good buy.

Some baby fairs have trade-in promo. The recent Taka baby fair has leh..for Pigeon milk bottles. Bring your old bottles and buy new Pigeon bottles at 50%. Avent also have at the Taka baby fair but only can purchase their non BPA free series. I thought of trying my luck at tmrw fair for Avent but guess no chance liao.

Hope the Parenthood fair on 11-13 Nov will have. Pigeon i also ok with it.

Medory: havent seen my boiy in a month! it's like eternity waiting for the next gynae visit..hehe.. how i wish there is a way we can check on baby on our own everyday..that will def reassure me alot! hehe