(2012/01) Jan 2012

Zhuzhu- yes kua zhang to the crowd that can Q up to taxi stand!

Jac- yes its to the taxi stand there! ME stay near expo area so dun mind to go early...hope can just grab and go....afternoon can go bk home to sleep. These days cannot sleep late also....will wake up around 7plus...used to it and I think my princess wana wake up to have her breakfast! haha

X, i was also wondering the same thing.. if got $$ to retire then of coz will retire & look after grandkids.. but if no $$ then will be a burden to our own kids as well.. sigh.. so now better save more $$ so can retire earlier & comfortably to look after our grandkids..

jingles: Lucky you!!
prefer my mom to take care rather than MIL...hehe :p

(X): yah..maybe when it's our turn to be grandparents we want our freedom and don't wanna take care..haha..but can only tell when the time comes

Jac: baby's always a blessing!
we will always find a way to resolve issues that crop up
go with the flow..i also agree that if boss not understanding then no point to carry on in the company.. zuo4 niu2 zuo4 ma2 for them before we pregnant and in the end the bosses not willing to accomodate us when we're preggie or after baby is born then really no point at all...

adeline, me too!! juz finished 2 tubs of ben & jerry & bought another 2 more tubs yest.. the mcdonalds monopoly came at a really wrong time too!! hahah.. jialat..

Jac: Wahaha! U finished all on your own? I usually share a tub or a scoop with my hb. Coz my hb will keep nagging if he finds me eating too much ice cream. As for Mac, I'm more into the food than monopoly game leh. LOL

jingles: I'm trying to go easy liao but juz couldn't control myself :p

Thanks for all your suggestions. Although I know very well about the other possible options, I am glad to be able to have a chance to hear your thoughts on these. I agree that parents/in laws are not obligated to look after our children. But I feel that as families, we should help one another if in need, wat are families for, I would do the same too if I can assist. So its disheartening to know that my mil can help, but find excuses not to help, she ever told us to consider finding a nanny. To me, her remarks came across as blant as she would rather her grandchild being looked after by a stranger. I am not asking her to help us forever. Although my dh managed to convince her to “try” out first, I am really worried she would back out after I deliver. Leaving my bb to a stranger is heartpain and really the last option but I guess if my husband or I still want to continue to work, I do not have a choice. We are already facing the financial constraint with a 3rd one coming and if one of us quit, I cannot imagine.

Maid: I heard a lot of maids’ horror stories. I think I will end up looking after the 4th person. If I hire a maid, then my mil has to come here everyday coz we dun live near each other. I cannot leave a maid alone with the bb even for a second.

IFC: There is a high demand so I doubt there is anymore vacancies but I could try. But the IFC are far away, so without a car, it makes it even harder to choose this option.

Husband: He wanted this 3rd bb and said his mum would surely help us. So if his mum changed her mind, then he would need to quit, lol. N that also means he cannot provide for his mother.

Me: I am the last option.

jingles:
Sorry to hear about what u went through. I forgot... who will be looking after your bb? Its your 1st bb rite? My kids are in ccc already. My only headache is this bb inside me.

Looking for a good family for my Filipino helper whose contract is ending End Oct.
Currently getting $450.00 and every Sunday off from me.
She is a good nature, mature lady who is good with children.
Please contact Roy at 97431090 or email [email protected]

jkids
i share the exact sentiments as you.

*hugs*
Some elderly just do not know their blatant remarks hurts like hell and will remain engraved in our minds forever.
My mom is looking after mine. As what you have also mentioned, I dont expect her to loose her freedom forever also. Most prob till 18months at least, I will be sending kid to childcare. I am just too paranoid on the germs/care the infant care can give...there are just too many virus out there...handfootmouth and all.

I just need help to tide over this period. I totally understand the kind of feeling when you are at your wits end, and no one is willing to help out and even slap irrelevant comments on your face. Be it they mean it or dont mean it, words flew out could not be retrieved back.

What about recce a nanny in your area? If you are residing in a developed town, should be quite easy to find...

adeline, i share the ice-cream with my hb la.. we take abt 2 wks to finish 2 tubs.. still considered quite fast rite.. hahah.. tell ya hb, ice-cream = calcium = good for baby!! hahah.. but seriously, i think i better start controlling.. dun wanna end up with GD..

jingles, got sentosa cove to spare me?? heehee..

vanessa:
seems too early to tell but i am quite sure so long as my hands and legs are strong and i am not working by then, i will help look after my grandchildren haha, coz having gone thro this myself, i don't want mu kids to go thro this agony. and if they have a good education, i would find it a waste tat they cannot continue to work. agree with jac that we mus save now, if you can, play some stocks or shares, start small, so that $ will grow. then one day u have to buy a house and rent it out

jingles:
juz saw your earlier reply. you have such a wonderful mum! u sounded like no family member could help you look after your bb. i agree with your views on looking after our grandchildren. give me a hi 5! i was telling my mum if i had to look after the kids myself, sorry that i could not provide them anymore, i was very upfront. i was thankful my mum helped me for 6 yrs until my twin nieces came along. the nieces would turn 1/1/2 by the time i go back to work, so doubt she can help me. anyway, i don't have good bro or sil so the more i doubt my mum can help.

jingles:
i also scare to leave bbn IFC at a young age-sick and hfmd. my area has alot of young couples
i have to trust the nanny and her family members if i really choose this option. i always think of the extreme-child abuse, sex abuse! i am scare! n i dun like a male stranger to bath for my bb! haha. i noe some nannies ask their children to do it.

jac:
We are “fan” over the same issues. At times, I wish this 3rd bb never comes, wish this bb is a boy, so maybe my mil would help :p for me, I think at my age its hard to find a new job if I lose my job, plus I like what I am doing, and there is off-peak in the year also so its easily for me to leave on time.

Usually those who keep quiet are those who dun want to help-be it confinement or caretaking. But I remember when I was expecting my 2nd one, my mil told me to look for a confinement lady, haha, so I knew what she meant.

Jac: Average 1 tub a week leh.. Fast leh.. Hehe. Ya, i told my hb ice cream = calcium but he doesn't buy that. He asked me drink more milk instead -.- He said ice cream too cold for baby lo. Aiyo

jkids
yes i am just the many working mummies which are facing the same prob. Have bb but no1 willing to help.
I also agreed with u....since I had gone through this terrible phase, I will never want my kids to go through the same also...in terms of $ wise when you are old, dont worry la....i believe if you are willing to look after your kids's kid, they will be very willing to provide for and look after you as well

Kekekekeke seems like we are quite alike lei, I also told my family...if i need to quit and look after my own kid, also cant expect me to provide for them anymore. Afterall cant expect hub salary to be cut into so many portions!

Mrs Gui,

Gynea already told me I might have a 4kg baby if I take durian and sweet stuff but so far check-up my sugar level normal and I totally agree for the next 3 months will sure to boom and for now already have a hard time getting up from squatting feels like a penguin when walking also...

Adeline,

So long Gynea says fine then no worries

Jac,

How does the percentile works?

jkids: if not working of corse ok to look after grandkids.. mine's a boy lor.. some DILs don't like MIL to take care..haha..so if they ask for help and already retired then will sure help

everyone's dream is to be able to own a private property and rent out for 2nd income. But with the condo pricing going up and up, doubt can afford. Stocks and shares have their risks too..the higher the returns, the higher the risk..what if stock market crash overnight and money gone..wah heart pain leh..that's what happened to a family member of mine.. got hands burnt during the 97 stock crisis..gotta keep working to clear off debts even till now in her 50s... so quite scary..

jingles:
haha, we are so alike in many ways indeed!
))

vanessa:
good also, no need to look after grandkids if they dun ask u for help, more time for yrself!

your family member invested too much i guess. mus invest in blue chips or local co like banks, safer. but start small lah then $ will grow bit by bit. once you have invested a handful sum, probably 10 yrs later, the property price may have gone down.
by putting $ in the bank will not grow $ leh.

jkids, my MIL also ask if i getting confinement nanny.. then i replied "no, coz too ex".. then she ask if my mum will be helping.. then i replied "not sure, she may be busy working".. then she juz kept quiet, also never offer to help.. then she kept on implying that other relatives (cousins-in-laws, etc) got parents/in-laws to help coz their parents/in-laws are rich & not working, blah blah blah, so is not her fault.. but nevermind la.. i rather my kid be closer to me & my parents..

jingles, actually quite unfair to our own parents lo.. if we stop work, we can't provide for our own parents.. but hb will still continue to provide for in-laws.. & our kids are going take on the in-laws surname.. damn unfair..

jac
same here
i also have 10001 thoughts which its really unfair for my side...but the only thing i can dish out is
看开点吧

yes, its good that our kids will be closer to us and our own parents...if they have not chosen the option to bite through the storm with us, they cant reap the perfect fruits either

lets not focus on the thoughts that they are not willing to do bah..anyway wont change a thing. We must well focus on things that will make us happy and positive like the upcoming bb fair

cyy, 50th percentile is the mean/average.. so anything above 50th percentile means baby on the heavier side.. anything less than that means baby is on the lighter side..

jac:
actually i got a confinement lady oredi, but when my mil asked, i told her not yet. i want to see whether she would offer help? :p
give her a chance to be good.

if you cannot provide for your parent's side, then your hub muz cut his allowance to the other side coz he will need to give you more allowance

jingles:
i strongly agree......"if they have not chosen the option to bite through the storm with us, they cant reap the perfect fruits either". i will rem those who help me and dun help me ...lol

jkids, u very bad leh.. test your MIL.. hahaha.. :p

hb has a mind of his own, wanna be xiao4 zi3, cannot control.. but so far we haven't come till this stage yet la.. my plan will be 1) FT maid, 2) IFC, 3) nanny, 4) me stay home..

hmm looking through all the posts.. i realise that my mum is really gd to me.. she will be helping me to take care of my kid after he is born..

Jkids, what about other relatives to help babysit, instead of narrowing down to mum & mil? For #1, i planned maid and ask in laws help. Theystay near me, but don't want to help. Infant care ard my area not good and in-laws don't like me send baby to infant care, so i withdrew my girl. My mum wanted to help, but stay too far away and her health not good, can't look after at night. I ended up sending #1 to my aunt's. But everything worked out well so far. My aunt and her husband dotes on my girl and takes fantastic care of her.
Haha, my colleague asked me the other day what's the point of staying near in-laws if they don't provide any help? I just told him what to do, married their only son, let him talk me into getting a place there. Lucky not staying together. Else stay together still have to send #1 to my relative to take care, will definitely cause a lot of unhappiness on my part.

3 more days to the fair

jkids
kekekeke well for me, its just a matter of reciprocal...everyone will have limited time and resources, so of course, for those who have willingly and happily help me when i am in dire straits, priority will goes to them in the future too when they need help.

snowwhite: you should check with ur gynea on the best c-sect date..usually gynea will give u a range of dates to pick..

For me i am quite blessed oso.. my MIL looked after my #1..now #1 is 4 yrs old..my FIL can take over..so she will be helping me with my confinement for #2 and i sorta assume she will help take care of #2 lor..
lucky these are the only grandkids she had..otherwise duno how she cope...

jac:
my mil is not totally bad, at least she cooks nice food for us when we visit her, but she can be better
if she's willing to offer help to do confinement, i also wun accept it since i have paid deposit to my CL already. but at least i will appreciate and rem one more thing she wants to help us. so who do confinement for you then-cook and look after bb?!

the rest who have no caretaking issues are so lucky and blessed! i was also blessed for 6 full yrs until my nieces came along. anyway, after 2 days of rethinking(hope i wun need to worry about this issue again), we shall let our mil try out. if she tries out and thinks she really cannot handle/cope, i will look for a nanny. but i duno how long it will take to find a suitable nanny and whether she can continue to help until i find a nanny, but at this pt, guess i can only worry when the time comes. :p

jkids
all i can say its we are so alike

same here my mil is also not an evil one.
she will cooks nice and good dishes when we visit her...but there are many sticky issues which sometimes lines are drawn too clear and painful. And v often these situations are, when we need help the most. I will say it is fair if this treatment is given to all their kids, unfortunately, its not so.

Well cheer up! and lets have a happy preggyhood....no point dwelling on things that we cant change and cant do anything about it

Actually I'm beginning to worry over caretaking issues too. My MIL is currently looking after my SIL's daughter who is 4yrs old but she assured me that she'll help me take care of my boy and do confinement for me. However, my SIL announced recently that she's pregnant and due in Mar. She'll be hiring a CL anyway but I think she'll expect my MIL to take care of her newborn after confinement as well. Wonder how my MIL cope with 2 babies and a 4yr old. Not forgetting she still has to bring the 4yr old to and from sch...

jingles: Yep, thought of discussing with her. But the maid has to stay with her as I'm currently staying with my in-laws and there's no extra room to accomodate another person. Maybe can juz ask her to bring the maid over every morning and fetch her back everyday since she comes home for dinner everyday. Hope she's willing lo

jkids, i'm getting confinement catering to settle the food part, maid to settle the housework, hubby will be on leave for 2 weeks to help take care of baby & mum will be ard on & off to help ba (i hope).. this is my 1st confinement.. hopefully i can cope lo.. keeping fingers crossed.. but this is my own baby.. xin ku abit is ok ba.. mentally prepared for it liao.. anyway, u dun worry so much la.. cheer up, cheer up!! things will work out one.. if not, worry when time comes ba..

adeline, maybe u & ya SIL can share $$ to get a maid to help your MIL? the maid can help do the housework & cooking while she focus on the kids..

adeline, can hire the maid under your MIL's name & maid can stay with your MIL? if your MIL is over 60yrs, levy is also $170/mth.. just that u & your SIL will not be able to claim FDW tax relief (on the levy)..

Jac: Maid cannt stay with my MIL coz me and hb staying with them for the time being together with my BIL. No extra room for maid le.. So the only place the maid can stay is with my SIL

jingles:
yah loh! tsktsk...maybe we will also give birth at about the same time. yes! my mood today is much better now

jac:
it will be quite tiring esp when your hub goes back to work after 2 weeks. confinement period muz have ample rest
yes i feel more cheer up now

adeline:
hiring a maid seems to be a good solution, except where/who she will stay with. is the 4 yr old in ccc?

jkids: If we're hiring a maid, she cfm have to stay with my SIL coz my MIL's house has no room to accomodate her. Will discuss with SIL this wkend lo. Yep, the 4yr old is in half day CC from 1pm to 5pm i think.

jkids, i guess if i really cannot cope then my mum will come help ba.. she not so hard-hearted la.. juz tat she doesn't wan me to rely totally on her.. but i'll have to do nite duty myself lo..

so far still no adverts on the fri baby fair hor.. wonder got any good deals.. can't wait to go shopping..

adeline:
if your sil doesnt mind, she should consider putting the child in full day ccc

jac:
but muz rem to get someone to bath bb, not u ok. tsktsk. my mum did my 1st confinement, and during nite, we had to look after bb ourselves, very tiring, i rem i very suay, was sick also, bad cough. 1st nite, bb kept crying every hr, luckily i didnt have post natal blues, ha.

jingles:
i am due on 10 jan
u?

Hi Mummies, anyone knows where to service Medela breast pump? I got an hand me down set and seem the motor not very strong le. Want to see if can send for service. Anyone knows?

Medela Service Centre 81 Toh Guan East #03-01 Secom Centre Singapore 608606 Tel: 6562 6298 Mon-Fri 9am to 5.30pm Sat 9am to 12pm

jkids, u have the same EDD as me!!
btw, hubby will help bathe baby for the 1st 2 weeks.. have prep him for it already.. then i'll do it after that.. shld be ok ba.. i hope my boy won't be fussy kind & cry every hr.. else i'll go bonkus mann..