(2012/01) Jan 2012

mrs gui
hmm tat means its the front part of sacrum..got to pay attention when getting up/down/walking/down n up stairs as well as sleep posture.. I will not get the toiletries first ...cos all these small small items will get lost if there is no proper cupboard to place in lei..

Jingles
yes the front part! So painful leh..ya now everything is super slow! Turn also slowly turn. Feel so heavy to turn also....then keep sleeping on one side also uncomfortable.

By the way when are you going to get your cupboard? Going Ikea to buy? I think I will get mine either end of this mth or early next mth. Cos my store room is so full of baby stuff le and I believe I wun haf much energy to shop towards the 3rd trimester. Now end of 2nd trimester already cannot walk much liao....cannot imagine 3rd trimester how! But there is always online shopping come to think of it haha ;)

mrs gui
ooopss i got a typo error. Meant to say back of sacrum in my previous mesg but if its really the front then u have to take note of the following pointers:

1) to get in/out of car/off the chair with both legs

2) do not squat on one leg when we bend down to pick items on floor

3) to keep legs close while siting on chair or car.

the basic idea is to have our legs close as often as possible as the weight of the bb will increase over time hence putting on pressure on sacrum (front) area.

I will be looking around in ikea when hub is back lo...then when its being set up, then i will be able to put things up neatly..now room got bb clothes all in plastic bags :p

Pre-loved LV Damier Beaubourg for sale
Condition: 9/10
Hardly used
Can use as a diaper bag
Comes with dustbag
Bought at ard $1300

Interested, please email [email protected] for more details.

6152855.jpg

jac: never use mustela barrier cream b4...i oso cannot rem wat i used to shower bb when born..probably california bb items..then later when his skin becomes sensitive, i change to cetephil..

morning

i cant wait for the end of the day to get home to sleep.....

scary...there is this girl who jst finish having chix pox and came back to the office :s :s

jingles: Same! My room is full of baby's clothes in plastic bags too. Haha! Can't wait to buy a cupboard and pack all the clothes in. But have to wash them 1st. My MIL said towards end of the yr then wash.

Jac: I bought 6pcs of short sleeve and 6pcs of long sleeve for wearing at home. Only bought 2 sets of bodysuits for going out like bringing baby for checkup and jabs. Feel like getting more but my mum and mil said baby will outgrow the clothes very fast. So not sure if I got is enough though.

adeline
i also bot about 2 weeks supply of clothes....cos i am worried tat during our time, weather may not be ideal to get clothes dry in time. Not forgetting my monkey neighbours residing upstairs

Guess if not enough can always ask hub to help to buy lo....afterall tats what they are standby for during the first few weeks

Morning mummies ;) TGIF!!! Ya can't wait till next Friday for the baby fair and then its shopping time! hehe! By I will check out Cotton On kids tomorrow since I'm gng United Sq for my massage ;) I think will start my shopping one week in advance haha!

Seems most mummies bot lots of stuff even before bb is born haha! Same here...my whole storeroom is full of baby stuff! As for washing the baby clothes, i bot kodomo liquid detergent to wash the cloth diapers. Read somewhere that we cannot use softener, only detergent to wash baby clothes! I have started washing some clothes le cos there is just too many...i scare my bamboo not enuff to dry and these days cannot trust the weather....so when i see there is good sunlight, I will just wash a few pcs then keep in the bag.

jingles: dont envy ah..haha.. last night didn't sleep well le, cos baby kick and kick.. aiyo.. today groggy.. o_O

Mrs Gui: I got my sis to get the calendular cream and Desitin from U.S. le..hehe..i jiasu lah..buy earlier cos I worried later i start to get lazy to shop online le..hehe :p

jingles: Ya, if not enough then ask hb to buy lo. Hehe.

Mrs Gui: I can't wait for the bb fair too! Which day are you going? I'll be going on Fri coz I kiasu, scared a lot of stuffs will be gone by Sat. Haha

I don't intend to buy diapers leh. Gonna wait till after baby is born then buy coz not sure what size can my boy fit. I heard some babies cannot fit into NB size but S size instead. So not sure what size to buy for my boy.

Vanessa- today Fri le...just hang in there....half a day more to tahan! ME too ...dun raelly sleep well these days cos always get hand cramp, leg cramp ;( But i just found out wearing socks to sleep may help abit with the leg cramps. Cos for the past 2 nites I wore socks and it seem to be ok..no more leg cramps ;p

The Desitin cream and california baby stuff isit much cheaper in States? If the difference not alot then maybe i get from the BP cos got a fren who is gng over to States but I'm afraid he doesn't know where to get them.

Adeline- I'm gng to the fair on Friday too....what time will you be there? Maybe can meet up for awhile haha ;) As for diapers, ya no need to buy cos I think the hospital will give some, not enuff then can just ask Hub to get them. I may use cloth diapers in the morning, at nite then use disposables. As you mentioned, duno how big baby will be...so maybe NB cannot fit, gota buy bigger size.

hmm.. i'm thinking of getting..

short-sleeve top - 5pcs
long-sleeve top - 3pcs
long bottoms - 5pcs
bodysuit (short sleeve & no pants) - 5pcs
sleepsuit (long sleeve & long pants) - 3pcs

all in 0-3mth sizes.. is it enough or too many? anything else missing? also worried clothes can't dry fast enough coz my service yard is kinda small.. so many clothes squeeze together very hard to dry..

morning mummies! i am back from Bali for a few days! and thank god i am back cos Bali had earthquake yesterday. =X if i'm still there i sure panic like mad.

it seems like everyone's preparing baby's stuffs and awaiting their arrival already!
i think i am such a slacker..haven't buy a single thing yet. will be going home with big and small bags during baby fair i guess! hehe.

you mummies are going on which day for baby fair? end up i will be going on sat cos hubby cant take leave on fri
hopefully wont be too squeezy keke.

alicia
hello!! welcome back

hmmmm yes lucky u came back earlier..by way, since u been to bali got buy any bb stuff from there mar? last time my friends went there they were all raving abt this frangipani soap lei...u know wat it is?

jac
i think its enough la...anyway not to buy so much now also...cos what if bb comes out too big for the size you bought? so just buy a few first to stand by..i find blankets and snuggles are more important

mrs gui
i think if i am game..i may pop by on sunday to take a look la...see got any good deals.....but tat is if i am still up and perky lo..nowadays getting v sleepy.

Jac: I think what you've got shld be enough. Hmmm but why 8 tops and only 5 bottoms? Maybe u shld start buying some 3-6mths also. My friend's boy is already wearing sleepsuits for 3-6mths at 2mths. I bought bodysuits form H&M in 0-1mth. Now it seems small. I'm worried my baby cannot fit in leh..

mrs gui, i'm also getting leg cramps these 2 nites.. seems like some of my 1st tri symptoms (heartburn/indigestion, leg cramps, backaches, etc) are back.. sigh.. wat kind of socks u wear? i read that some mummies have good reviews using the scholl qtto compression sockings (sold at watsons).. but i'm worried that it'll be too warm & uncomfortable wearing socks to sleep..

adeline
if its too small can keep as souvenirs

afterall those purchases are our first impulse shopping as mummy...i will still keep those clothes if my bb cant wear and show it to them then they r bigger

Mrs Gui: yupz hanging in there..took Brands Essence of Chicken, chope it will perk me up abit..hehe..
good you found that socks can releive your leg cramps
can get better sleep at night then

I think the difference for the creams bought in U.S and BP doesn't differ that much lah..my Calendular cream 4oz I got it at S$30, and Desitin cream 4oz (purple) I got it for $7. So you can use this price to gauge.. my sis knows where to get the items so it's easier for her. If your friend doesn't know where to get them then prob get from BP better

Alicia: Welcome back!! yah got earthquake yesterday! heng you are back safe liao!
Hope you feel rejuvenated! prepare for baby fair..cheong ah!! hehe :p

Jac: I got about the same number of baby clothes as you mentioned. should be enough bah, cos i think when we deliver, there will be gifts with baby clothes also so should not be a prob...

I'm going baby fair Friday afternoon. Hubby can only meet me at 3plus so I'll be there at 1pm alone or prob with another preggie friend if she can make it..

adeline, i haven't buy any baby clothes yet.. actually some typo.. meant to be 8 tops (5 short + 3 long) & 3 long bottoms.. also dunno whether necessary to get sleepsuits anot leh.. was wondering top + diapers + swaddle should be enough? the long bottom is in case of cold & rainy days during day time & not convenient to swaddle ba.. frankly, i really dunno wat to buy.. hahah..

Alicia- welcome back! Ya heng u are back le! So dangerous ahh if you are still there! But how was the trip? As for the baby fair, maybe you go Sat morning, hopefully not to crowded. BUt I think Fri should also be crowded cos seems some mummies will take leave to go haha ;)

Jac- I think you prepare more than me. I didn't buy that many pcs for NB cos using the hand me downs. I think should be enough if you can wash the clothes everyday ;) Don't get too many 0-3 mths cos baby will grow very fast and moreover we duno how big our babies will be, so its advisible to buy bigger sizes!

Jac: I didn't get any sleepsuits leh. I intend to let baby wear separate top and bottom to bed coz i find sleepsuits more difficult to change diapers wor.. Not very sure if that's the case also. Haha. I'm still considering whether to swaddle baby. I thought of juz covering blanket over coz I'll be dressing baby in long sleeves top and bottom

For those who are interested in 3D scan, I just left parkway east hospital. Paid $58.99 for the scan and the radiologist gave me abt 8 pic in cd form. Think it really depends on whether ur baby cooperate or not. First round, baby position not ideal. Always head down instead of facing upwards. After trying 15-20min and can't take any gd pic, went out for a walk. 2nd time, baby facing up Liao, but keep moving around. Manage to take some pic, but not v ideal
looks like my baby dun like to take photos

for #1, i went mad and bought quite alot of clothes. Then realise... actually, they dun need that many. Haha... get rompers on 3-6mth. These "stretch" with washes and can last for a while. Hehe...

adeline, some ppl think swaddling helps comfort the baby.. baby won't be so panicky or startled by loud noises.. if i recall correctly, mrs wong recommends swaddling the baby for the first 6 weeks.. then after that only night time if necessary.. but muz stop when baby reaches 3mths?

thanks mummies for the advices! think i'll skip the sleepsuits ba.. my revised my shopping list.. looks ok?
short-sleeve top (0-3m) - 5pcs
long-sleeve top (0-3m) - 3pcs
long bottoms (0-3m) - 3pcs
bodysuit (short sleeve & no pants) (0-3m) - 5pcs
swaddle - 3pcs

alicia, welcome back!! was juz telling hb yest that 1 of the mummies in this forum might be in bali.. heng u managed to avoid the quake.. i actually experienced a quake the when i was there in 2009.. damn scary..

X, erh, rompers meaning bodysuit (short sleeve without pants) or sleepsuit (long sleeve with long pants) or got hybrid kind? u din get any 0-3mths at all? straight away use 3-6mths ah?

catherine, cheer up.. some things not within our control.. maybe do another round? do 2 times also cheaper than what i've paid my gynae lo.. btw, to do the 3D scan for $58.99nett confirm need gynae referral letter ah? coz i think my gynae will go "????" if i ask her for referral letter.. but i not very happy with her 3D scan leh.. very chop chop.. also never give many photos..

I oso din get too many 0-3 mths clothing..i am more KS..i bot more of 3-6mth or 6-9 mths..okie to let bb wear bigger clothing..since they grow very fast..too long..just fold the sleeves or pants lor..

hihi any mommies know what's the difference between Medele Freestyle and Medele Pump-In-Style? Any idea which is better?

the rompers i bought are those w/o pants ones. Mostly short sleeves. If weather cold, i'll wear pants over or use those leg warmer thingy...

#1 was born 4.15kg. So i just used 3-6mth. and those newborn sets that colleagues gave. Haha...

Adeline,
Beansprout pillow sort of give the baby the feeling that there is a hand over, assuring the baby. Swaddle is to prevent the baby waking up from shock due to arms and legs moving too much. U know what i mean... like sometimes, we sleep, then we tot we falling down kind of feeling? And i heard swaddling is good, coz encourage baby to struggle and free themselves. Working their muscles. Haha... Then again, my #1 hated to be swaddled.

adeline, mrs wong say dun use any pillows for NB.. she say hospital also never use any pillows, only swaddle.. but i guess there r different schools of tots ba.. i also not very sure.. any experienced mummies can advise?

Jac: for 3D scan, need gynae referral letter. My gynae just scribble a few words" pls do 3D scan".. Parkway east hospital also accept leh..
also need to bring along 20 week growth scan report. $58.99 is after gst.. Before gst was abt $55? Worth the try if ur baby is cooperative and in optimal position
consider v cheap

catherine
errmmm may not b bb's fault also la...it also has to do with sonographer's skill..if skill lousy no matter how cooperative bb is, also cant get a good picture de lo

jac
i think u need a referal letter thats for sure lo...no matter wat, you are gg to another hospital, to get another scan...so of course, he will need to certify you are suitable to do so...as u are under his care.

vanessa
you can read some of the opinions here

http://community.babycenter.com/post/a5393295/medela_pump_in_style_vs_freestyle

http://www.circleofmoms.com/breastfeeding-moms/medela-pump-in-style-or-freestyle-404792

Jac: I oso never really use a pillow for NB..i just place a pc of washable diaper underneath the head..cos they sweat lar..then change as n when needed.

Adeline: If dun wan to spend $$ on getting a swaddle, a washable diaper oso can do..Otherwise i think TMC selling those kind of big size cloth..duno wats dat call..can use dat oso..

The wonder of a washable diaper..

X, thanks! hmmmmm.. i think i better buy my baby clothes & disposable diapers closer to delivery ba.. coz think mine might be a big baby too (now already heavier than avg liao).. then mabbe juz get 3-6mths can liao.. althou i'm so dying to go shopping now.. all the baby stuff so cute!!!

zhuzhu, the washable diaper u referring to is those traditional square muslin cloth kind? for cloth diaper, i bought prefolds liao leh.. not really suitable for baby to lie on coz it's not flat, the center part is thicker than the sides.. but i've bought swaddle cloths liao..

adeline, i bought the TMC swaddle cloth.. 2pcs for $13.50.. not too ex.. u can consider..

3hrs more to go!!

adeline, $13.50 for 2pcs cannot expect too much.. it's juz a big plain white cloth, no design/prints, got a TMC tag thou' :p.. i actually got 6pcs of it coz think quite multi-purpose.. can use for baby to lie on after bath while u dry him, place over nursing pillow while breast-feeding, place on top of mattress, etc etc..