(2012/01) Jan 2012

StefSeanSharbabes - You same with me .. No.4th
This no.4th came unplanned cause we were using condom as contraceptive.. So even 99% also can get pregnant. My no3 is going to be 1year end of June.

FOr no.1 and 2 no contraceptive at all the gap was 3yrs.. Now they are 10yrs and 7yrs respectively.

Before no.3 came i was using IUD for 3yrs than the side effects was terrible. Always got infection,HOT flush and heavy period. Suffer for 3 years. Took out the IUD. Than was on pill Yasmine for almost 2yrs when my GP told me my weight PROBLEM could be due to the HORMONE inbalance of the contraceptive i am using.

I become SUPER FAT after i used IUD. She adviced me to stop all the contraceptive use condoms or LIGATION. Than hubby say ligation noway still young. So we plan for no.3.

Than when No4 came earlier than we plan, hubby say its ok.. God knows the best for his followers.

Maybe No5 in 3yrs time after i complete my Degree. HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAH.. Time is the factor of fertility in Woman body.. The older we get the harder to conceived.. SO by 3yrs time i will be around 36yrs ...

CT, u are very fertile
I tried 2 years for #1 with alot of methods. TCM, take temp etc etc. Finally strike. #2 is easier. About 8 months of trying.. Just aim O day and whack. We are not easy conceive people..

<font color="660000">ms Carpe Diem,
Tracy hoggs system is gd. Tried it with number 1 n actually it works but only effective if ur the main caregiver or the main caregiver is willing to follow ur methods. Once my mil took over everything went down e drain
I know of mummies who use gina ford method n swear by it but its abit too rigid for me...</font>

Jowinbb: Hang in there. Just 1-2 weeks more and you'll be out of the worst of first trimester!

CT and jowinbb: Do drink more water, may get dehydrated from the puking.

Stella: Sounds good! Think I'll give Tracy Hoggs a try. I did find it a little cruel personally to follow Gina Ford to the letter although she also has other practical tips on preparing for bb's arrival. Thanks for sharing!

Wow CT - great! No 5 in the planning already

CarpeD - no way to leave bb crying for 10mins - I will go crazy. I try not to let bb cry in the first place - I gan cheong lah

hq: yah, I don't think my heart can bear him/her crying too. When my friend's bb cry, already feel 于心不忍 already, what more my own?

Any ideas how to prevent bb from crying in the first place?

zhuzhu: Me too. If can, try to rest more. I can imagine it will be uncomfortable if we're coughing/having flu while pregnant.

Ms Carp - i used Tracy Hogg method and i felt i have so much time on hand...and i can identify my girl's cry easily cos i know wat to expect.. I find Gina Ford abit too rigid too.. And i cant allow my girl to cry for long cos to me when babies are born, they cry because they have their needs... Either wet diapers, feed or sleep.. They dont cry because they just feel like it. So when bb cry, means we have to go through a whole list to check wat it is to eliminate the cry... Only then baby know its safe n secure..

X, don't think we hv met before. I was active in sept 08 thread.

Ms carp diem, my oscar is next Monday. Am looking forward to it!!

Jowinbaby, I like beef now and I don't hv problems digesting it. But I do hv problems with onions and garlic!! Had beef and cheese subway sandwich yesterday for dinner.

CT, I really do not want anymore kids. I'm the v fertile sort too. Always do once and jackpot! I was bf my #3 for 2.5 yrs. Din get my menses for 2 yrs and was not v active with Hubby during bf too. #4 came just after 2nd BD. For my #1,2,3 they also came just after once or twice of BD.
So i cannot take anymore chances.. Iud also will hv side effects? I read that the mirena iud hv least side effects and no weight gain... I'm v afraid of side effects. Maybe I do libation after #4. but am also scared that its for permanent and what if I want another child I'm future cos spmethig happened to one of my kids??

Gina Ford method - I read through her book but didn't have the heart to follow it for #1 - after all a mother's instincts is still to sooth the baby once it cries, rather than leave it alone for 10 minutes. I do know of mommies who followed her methods &amp; reaped the rewards though (like having baby sleep through the nite from 2-3 months old). Now, even at 2+, my #1 still calls me some nites cos he sleeps alone &amp; needs reassurance that we have not abandoned him :p Will most probably not stick to any such methods for #2 - quite difficult too when we go back to work &amp; another person (e.g. MIL) takes over as the caregiver. Thank goodness I am a light sleeper &amp; fall asleep again v quickly.

CT - Yasmin made you gain weight? hmm.....

Wearing maternity clothes - I know its weird, but I can't wait to be properly preggers &amp; look preggers. At least then I can get a seat on the MRT! Plus I have alot of pretty baby doll dresses from my 1st pregnancy that I would love to wear again

I'm 11 weeks 5 days, n did Oscar today.. $220 only but a tube of my blood was drawn! BB heart beating at 167bpm! What an excited one... No wonder I always feel breathless o.o

Felicia,
Oscar test only $220? Where did u do it at? It's very cheap!

Joyojoy,
YAY!!!!! So how's baby doing?

Blue_Y: Sounds great!

MayC: Thanks for sharing.

Joyojoy: That's v gd news! Congrats!

Felicia: It is exciting to hear the hb! Your OSCAR test is cheap, where did you do it?

i was also v excited when I hear bb heartbeat and nearly wept. so I can feel ur excitement joyojoy! ;) I realised if I watch or listen or read anything about bb/love/romance now, i will want to tear, haiyo.. ;p

tomorrow OSCAR. jiayou bb! mummy loves u!

i think chinese tea is too liang.. my mum also dun let me drink angmoh tea. So i have abstained from most teas, just the occasional green tea.

Im so sleepy, am always so sleepy &amp; drowsy at around this time, how to work. zzz...

joyojoy: dats good news!! When i first scan, gynae took a while to detect the heartbeat..cos bb was very small..my heart nearly skipped a beat..now i am hoping to hear it during the next checkup again..

peanut: probably not chinese tea..i think ang moh tea still ok..but then everything had to be in moderation

joyjoy.. yeah.. congrats!!

Ms Carp Diem, Thanks. I hope so. My #1, MS till 5 months. I hope this time till 3 months will do.

I agree with MayC, i cannot leave baby alone to cry for 10mins. There is always a reason why baby cry. Uncomfortable, wind in tummy, poo, urine, colic etc. Such young baby dun fake cry. Perhaps from 2-3months onwards, we can start to train baby to sleep through the night and provided baby is ready. Can't simply starve baby if baby is really hungry.

StefSeanSharbabes , thats good. There's quite a number of things i cannot stomach now. Like mushroom too, i puke. :S

Lush, i m still taking tea n limit myself to 1 day max 1 cup. I cannot take milo &amp; horlick, i puke. Not fancy coffee. Nothing much to drink already. Can't be taking juice and ribena always.. Haiz..

At Woman's Specialist Clinic, Yishun Ring Road. Blk 103. My Gynae has his clinic there..

Cheap hor.. $220.. So I did anyway.

But his clinic is always packed. Too popular.

CarpeD - I think it's mother's instincts I try to check on bb e.g. diaper etc and I have a log chart for poop/pee and bf-ing timing for the 1st month, once bb "urh-urh" a bit I will go see wont wait till "wahhh"

Lush - welcome to sleepy club o_O - esp after lunch all the oxygen to to stomach - eyes zzzzz

I'm taking alot of sweet drinks, gummies, candies and all that.. If the diabetes test that I have high sugar, what will happen? Any danger to the BB??

Felicia,
I had gestational diabetes for my #1.
No good. Have to constantly test blood to check for blood sugar level.

Danger is that baby will be big, thus difficult to try for natural birth and also health maybe affected as baby may have too high/low blood sugar levels.

joyojoy: Congrats! I was like you, quite emo when i heard my bb heartbeat.

hq: I think TMC have such classes leh.

After lunch, i oso super tired. Will turn into Zzz monster, barely can open my eyes. Den cannot drink kopi..jialat

joyojoy - congrats!

i could never let my baby cry, especially if they are less than 1 year old. they cry out of need, not because they are being naughty.

lush
i am also feeling very emo nowadays. esp if i see pics like jie jie kiss di di, i will start tearing. can't wait for bb to born, and for my 2 children to meet each other.

jowin
i have also cut out coffee and tea, sometimes drink fruit tea or herbal tea, which is not caffeinated. maybe you can try that? lipton sells this type of tea, I think.

Lush: Same same! All the best for our OSCAR tests!

(x): I had read from some info on internet that tea contain less than half the caffeine than coffee. So I guess it's ok if you control intake?

Hq: Keeping a log, what a good idea. Thanks for sharing.

Tks Piggy B will check with them need to train my maid - cos CNY period dont think my mum will be that free to help 100%

ZhuZhu - wah you are more detailed than me, this time i will prepared in excel first, last time I only realised I need it after birth then use ruler and draw and draw haha

mmm talking about being emo , I felt that I was only emo at the begining but than I didnt know I was preggy tot mense coming but comparing w #1 this time the "fire" not so strong,although I also crave for chili padi , #1 my poor hubby always get it.

joyojoy - congrats! =)

stella: ytd aft my post, i marched to the freezer to get the sara lee. had 2 slices n went bk to the room. hungry in 5mins. useless! and im definitely not gg to wallop the whole thing! so i guess i have to find smt else. =) fruits, not at nite la, i now wake up 1-2x to go pee. very frustrating. im afraid fruits might mk it worse! =(

echo: how abt green tea n oolong tea?

blue_y: yup got it! i replied u! =) mayb tk fruits if u nd the sweetness..

(X): i hv my bubble milk tea too. =p

felicia: mayb try to cut down.

re: bb cyring
i let my girl crying for 20mins before. i jus cldnt stand the noise so i went to her. i'm sure she can cry longer if i continue to ignore her. =/

re: bfg
i bf my #1 for 15mths and no menses at all. i didnt get preg at all tho. =p

BF as contraceptive
Well.. i BF #1 for 19.5mth. Also no menses at all. But coz of my thyroid, doctor advise that i stop and monitor if menses comes back. Else, tough to diagnose if AF MIA due to thyroid imbalance of due to BF.

hq: i just grab an un-used notebook..then start my recording

jamie: i still drink the packet polka green tea...cos i wanted some cold drink..

jamie
i also pee 1-2x a night. very annoying. for a filling and nutritious snack, how about oats or a cereal bar? Even cornflakes would be better than sara lee cake =)

green tea and oolong tea both have caffeine in it. should be fine to take, just don't take so much. i don't know if these are considered 'cooling' or not though...

(X)
you have thyroid problem too? what do you have? i have graves disease (autoimmune hyperthyroidism).

piggyB, hq, JTML, maddie strange hor, how come now our tempers nt as bad and we not so emo. hahaa! but it's a gd thing la. esp once 1st tri ends, more or less can be sure no emoness liao. =)

re: contraceptive
is iud effective? im scared to do irreversible stuff so might opt for iud. i dun #3 too and i dun wan accidents. #1 n the current #2 are considered accidents altho im married and got preg la. but im very sure i dun wan anymore aft this. taxing on me n my hb financially too.

echo: ya haha! tink i will drop the sara lee n gif it bk to hb. it's his anyway. i'll go stock up on other stuff. maybe ritz crackers.

zhuzhu: hahaa! me too. i jus had 2 cups of it from the 1.5l bott. lol

About bb feeding time, im kind of afraid n not sure what to do for this time round. Reason being, for #1, i pump and feed with bottle, thus i know how much n when she's full. This time round i decide want to latch on directly. How do we know when bb is full? This will be my 1st time to try full latching... Im afraid i will worry too much if ive enough milk or bb drink enough etc..

(X)
Wow that is serious. My case is quite mild, just treat with a bit of PTU to suppress my T4 production. But I also have PCOS, which is why I had problems conceiving #2. It is good that you can bf even with thyroid problems, as it can cause low milk supply.

blue_y
i also fully latch on my girl. only pumped when i return to work, and continue to nurse her directly at nights and on weekends. the way to ensure that bb is full is to count the number of wet diapers he has. if he is peeing and pooing, means that he has enough - what goes in, must come out! best way to do it is to let bb nurse on demand (esp for the first few months), as frequently as he wants to, as long as he wants to. nurse until they pop off, then offer the other side. this will help to establish your ss. of course, the best sign of results will be when your bb gains weight and grows well.

echo : when i had #1 I had graves disease (autoimmune hyperthyroidism) too, I was so thin eat an eat also wont fat. and no seaweed that soooo painful when i love jap food. it seems was pregnancy caused after birth was just very very hot but thank God after ard 1.5 yrs medicine ok now.

thyroid problems cause low milk supply ??? I didnt know that , cos I was like a cow alot of milk even on medication.

(X)
Haha me too! I also strike after TTC for 1 year. If I didn't get it this cycle, I would have gone to see fertility doctor.

hq
hmm, maybe only hypothyroid will cause milk supply problems. i am only mildly hyperthyroid, plus i have PCOS (which causes weight gain), so nett-nett, i am a bit overweight.

blue y: just offer bb the other side of the milk when bb is done with one side..when bb is full they will stop..when i was bf-ing my boy..even b4 i take off the bra..his mouth already open big big..hand already in the air..grabbing for the breast..
machiam like super hungry kind

jamie,
Too early to ask.
#2 still in tummy. Haha...

Thyroid and milk production
Not sure if there's any link. But thyroid will definately coz AF to go haywire. Lucky we still manage to strike!