(2012/01) Jan 2012

Jac: yeah ur gynae sounded fierce. But i think my doctor is thinking in the same way. He said the earliest I will deliver is 7 Jan if I go for 40 weeks full term. Hehe since the beginning, I am hoping for bb to be born in last week of Dec. No need to compete for school enrollment with dragon bb anf more family support during that week as everyone is in holiday mood. oh well, i am just hoping that bb will be born healthy and at e right time.

I am also thinking whether to take of the bb myself, infant care or nanny. Still cannot decide. Everything has its pros and cons. i heard that for popular infant care, better book now and deposit to secure place.

jkids, erh.. not sure leh.. i trying to curb my caffeine intake.. so only drink 1 cup of teh-C per day.. think kopi caffeine level higher than teh.. not sure ok to drink anot.. haven't had any kopi since preggy.. arrah..

medory, u finish 1 whole cup by yourself?

hi mommies! didnt log in today cos was on half day!
went shopping and finally got my boy his cot!
and a dress for my best friend's wedding..

furniture --> I got wardrobe and chest of drawers from Ikea 2 weeks ago and was assembled the same weekend by the Ikea guys. I just got out of he house before they start the drilling and stuff...the cot will which I bought today will be delivered about a month before my EDD.. and they will assemble for me.. i think as long as we are not in the house when the furniture is being assembled should be ok bah... my hubs not a handy guy leh..if wait till i deliver then assemble the cot think too late le...

IFC: so scary ah.. NTUC ones all booked for next year! wow~! that's fast! hope the mommies looking for IFC will be able to find one soon

toyogo: if you have alot of plastic stuff to get then the toa payoh warehouse is a one-stop place cos they have all size and shapes there... i got alot of containers to organise & store stuff..

food after delivery: i miss my sashimi and oysters, chilli crabs and half boil eggs! will really wack buffet after delivery sia....

btw any mommies going for brazilian wax ah? i've never done it before but actually is it a must to shave everything off before delivery? If it's a must then i guess I'd rather do it myself than let the nurses in the hospital do it lor... but painful to wax hor...

Jkids n Jingles - high five! Can't wait to deliver to have my taste buds back! Till now still have sourish taste when eating n need to brush tongue af every meal! Can't believe almost 28wks still like tt though not as bad as 1st tri..

Jkids - on gender preference been wanting a boy for #2 but now accept it as long as healthy n another gal will b great companion to my elder gal.

Vanessa - no need shave.. Dun recall anyone did for me at the hospital.. Hmm.. Mayb depends on how 'bushy'... Heehee..

hello mommies! morning!

jac
kekkeee your gynae is so straight face till i went to check the table and just got to find out who is your gynae :p
haiz...how come he cant patiently explain to you hur...:s scary to have such emotionless explanation esp when we are #1 mommies and sure hav a lot of qns de...

vanessa
envy envy! where did you buy your cot and how much hur? I intend to buy this week too
hub also not a v hands on person so will call the ple to fix maybe 1 week before EDD...though i am not sure if its too late....hmm i duno abt shaving. But i do know abt trimming....ermm you wan go waxing now ah? not sure if it will be more sensitive and painful now lei.....did your gynae advise you to?

jac
i am still drinking tea in moderation though i dont drink everyday la. Went to makan the other day and i order teh-O, this woman who was taking orders stared at me and sheepishly said, it may be too cooling for me....funny lei...if i dont drink wat can i drink hur? at least its better than a full bottle of sugary icey coke right? -.-

hkbaby
yes the taste is still there in my mouth too but not that bad already....does it taste strange after brushing your teeth? mine does. Taste v v strange...but i try to wash it away by gargling with mouth wash...

Jac: problem is i don't drive..there is 1 MFS near my workplc..but quite far to bring bb home from here. Nowadays MRT so crowded somemore.

Vanessa: no need to shave before delivery. They didnt give me enema to clear my bowels too. Maybe becos i was already in labour then?
btw the nurse will check for dilation..uncomfy and painful (plus i was having contractions) then. When my gynae checks, not painful one.

morning moscato~ ~
yahh when i first heard i was \0/
cant imagine whole hand gg in to inspect when we are not full dilated..it must be painful like hell esp for those mommies who did not take epi.

morning mummies..only midweek, i'm so looking forward to the weekend

Jac: yup i will finish the ice blended all by myself hehe..but on normal days i don't really take caffeine drinks..my friend still drinks one coffee per day when she was preggie, so i guess it's everything in moderation bah..

Vanessa: i checked with my gynae the other day on brazilian wax and he told me better not to haha...cos the skin is more sensitive and it's gonna be more painful.though i really miss doing it

moscato
kekekkekee finger? whew...my friend told me whole hand lei.......

medory
yes yes! me too...i am looking forward to my long long weekend cos i had applied AL on Fri :p

hmm..i dont remember feeling her whole hand in there...maybe too painful liao..haa...at least the nurse said sorry to me...cos i was having contractions pain at the same time.

jac:
maybe your gynae was moody that day with many patients? i realise my gyane is nicer and patient when he doesnt need to rush thro each appt...

hkbaby:
gd that at least u can eat better now
sisters are usually close to each other
u will love seeing the bonding bet them. i never had a sis and wished i had one! my bro is as gd as not having one in my growing up stage.

shaving:
actually shaving is needed if you are doing c section. so unless u want to shave yourself in advance

fingers:
nurse uses a few fingers to check lah. very uncomfortable cos she needs to go as deep as possible to feel the opening...

my friend had to go hospital yesterday cos she was having some slight bleeding..and she told me the doc put her whole palm in to check for dilation

she still jokingly said luckily it's a female doc whose hand is smaller OMG..

jingles, yeah my gynae is those no-nonsense, straight-faced, chop-chop kind.. sometimes will more friendly depending on her mood ba.. i also get weird stares when i go wang or ya kun.. think some ppl still believe we shld totally avoid teh/kopi during pregnancy ba..

medory, i still trying to ren.. see when cannot ren then drink.. hahah..

moscato, hmm.. hope u can sort out ya child care arrangement soon.. hopefully your mum will be ok to help u.. good luck!

all the talk abt brazilian wax & hand going in there is freaking me out.. hahah.. looking forward to carrying bb in my arms, but so not looking forward to the labour process.. sigh..

Regarding coffee & tea: I've not drank a single sip once I learnt abt my pregnancy! Not even coke, green tea and ice lemon tea.. But I eat chocolates even though it contains caffeine.. Haha!

adeline, u got alot of self-control!

need some advise.. is it useful to get a rocker/ activity mat/ play mat? any mummies getting one?

During the antenatal class by Ms Wong, I remember she mentioned abt shaving and clearing bowel. Hmm by then it would be hard for us to do the shaving ourself right?? Hopefully no need to do like what hkbaby said.. The whole labour process seems scary to me too...

Hey check with u all, anyone taking Prufirsrgift insurance? Think it is the only insurance in spore covered the mummy and unborn child.. Any comments on that? I went to expo bb fair and the salesperson offer to me. Till now havent taken, but she said enrollment has to be before 32 weeks..

Adeline: wow! you have my admiration...i dun have such perseverance haha..so we all have some 'vice' that we can't abstain from keke

Jac: give yourself an ice-blended this long weekend lor, occasional treats make us happy mummies :p

jac
ohhh how i miss my yakun half boiled eggs

ermm i intend to get 1 rocker for bb, but not now. Got to monitor bb's character. My friend bot one for her bb last time and didnt manage to use it as bb is too afraid to sit on the rocker, in the end $100 went down the drain....

adeline
wahhhh you are v good! can tolerate..
for me, i will order it during sometimes over weekend when dining out. If not really strange sitting there with nothing on the table especially in the cafes. I will order and drink only about half cup.

delphina
errmm i have bot great eastern pinklife earlier on. this covers pregnancy too but the only condition is you hav to buy it much earlier before you conceive.

medory
yes i agree with you...too much control will also cause depression at a later stage. I was sharing with my friend who is a psychologist - cos i was being banned from watching too much TV programmes. He said so long as its not too disturbing or gory, but over suppression for over a period of 10 months (including confinement period) will cause depression at a later stage.

Adeline: i used to be like you for #1...really abstain from caffein, cold drinks...for #2, i drink tea almost everyday and cold drinks at times. Felt guilty twds #2. :p

Jac: i have Fisher-Price rocker...used til my #1 can sit by herself, i think. I have playmat too..it's gd! my #1 sleep on it for her nap now...my hb will lie down to watch tv and sit there to read newspaper too. Still considering whether to get a 2nd one..cos not cheap.

delphina: i also got my info from bb expo, but till now still undecided whether to get it or not...though the coverage sounds good..

Jac/Medory/jingles: I only limit my caffeine intake only. I still continue eating cold stuffs like ice cream though.. So i'm not that disciplined also.. Hehe

Actually I had a hard time abstaining myself from coffee as I used to drink at least 1 cup in the morning to perk me up. Almost went crazy in the beginning when I abstained myself from it. But I got over that stage and can survive in the morning now! But can't do so for ice cream coz I'm an ice cream lover

moscato: Precisely lo. Coz mine is 1st pregnancy. So tend to be more disciplined. I think if I have #2, I'll be the same as you also!

adeline - i can imagine...its like gg through cold turkey treatment ~ ~ ~~ :p
i also cant stop myself from eating ice cream
though i only reward myself to 1 or 2 spoonful...

hmm any mommies bot glass milk bottles for ur bb?? wonder why there is glass hur...isnt it more dangerous? can crack and all lei..

good morn mommies!

shaving: good if don't need to shave or do brazilian wax..i scared pain..hehe

coffee/tea: i take milo most of the time, only once in a while then take tea.. think everything in moderation is ok lah

dilation: wah whole hand in ah? i can imagine the pain liao..

rocker/play mat: i got hand me downs for these 2. My friend says it's useful so i take lor

Prufirstgift: I signed up for this already. I feel it's good lor..in case *touch wood* anything happens we're covered lor.. and also after delivery, my portion will be transferred to baby and it becomes life insurance for him.

vanessa
kekeke waxing not pain de la...if the person who is doing it is skillful enuff, the pain will b minimal and gone in a jiffy. Compared to labor, i think its gg to be nothing :p

where you buy the cot from??

jingles: cos plastic not good..becos we keep steaming it plus use hot water in it. that's y there is BPA-free milk bottles in the market now. Still plastic but BPA-free.

vanessa: is the cot those convertible kind?

jingles: yeah agree waxing not very painful..i even have a home waxing kit kekeke..

jingles, i still do take half-boiled eggs leh.. have the teh, kaya toast & egg set quite often actually.. heehee..

don't have any hands-me-down.. so was wondering shld spend the $$ on a rocker/ bouncer/ activity mat/ play mat anot.. not cheap.. or juz use those thin mattress/ ti lum good enuff liao??

mums-flash.com currently having offer for the babycraft rocker @ $59 (up $99).. http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=195233363878660&set=a.185142108221119.41714.156580784410585&type=3&theater .. worth getting?

adeline
kekkeke yah...i am quite on and discipline when abstaining from sweet stuff :p

medory
own waxing kit? Wahhhhh.....you can even wax urself ah? for me, i cant lei...i cant see, scared later wax wrong area :p

jac
errmm maybe you just monitor first b/f buying? some bb really dont like de..

i intend to get either of this. looks really fun

http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2508003

or

http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2402051&prodFindSrc=prodCrossSell

but got to monitor bb's character first

jac: just request as your bb's full mth gifts from your friends or relatives. Tell them don't get baby clothes gift sets.
or take angbao is the best. :p

if bb doesnt like to use something that you have bought, can sell away in forum.

moscato
i also feel like stating like cash gifts/vouchers are appreciated :p
cos i dont wish to receive any duplicates or anything which i find that is useless....

but i think like too materialistic liao..duno ple see liao will scared bo :p

jingles: home waxing for arms and legs only...brazilian must go professional keke...

i think for close friends and relatives can state what you would like...but for others i think very hard to give a direct message..

medory
haiz...i really wan vouchers/cash lei.....i think sometimes relatives also dont get the point de..even when u state it explicitly -.-
thats why mommies always tend to receive unsuitable gift for the full moon party and ended up alot of unwanted items in the house :p

jingles: I also prefer cash and vouchers to gifts.. I always give cash when I attend baby showers so I hope they'll reciprocate and do the same.. Hehe

jingles/adeline: my mum even told me not to buy so much clothes for bb cos usually would end up receiving a lot of clothes as full-month gifts lor..

i also usually give vouchers or cash as gifts, especially NTUC vouchers for milk powder purchase haha..

Medory: I bought a lot of clothes for my boy already leh.. Until hubby keep grumbling.. But baby clothes are simply juz too cute to resist! Hehe.. And I worry I may not like the clothes which relatives and friends buy coz I'm quite picky. LOL

adeline
same here...i also quite picky on clothes...imagine got weird ple who can give obsolete hand me downs when they are giving us 2nd hand things, i cant imagine wat they will buy also....unless they are relatives who have good taste bah..if not NB also cannot anyhow wear clothes, later got rashes..

any mommies into buffet lately hur? thinking of trying out Buffet Town

jingles, i like this! -> http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2402051&prodFindSrc=prodCrossSell

actually it's my mum who was asking whether i'll be buying a bouncer/rocker.. coz she said she saw her friend using like quite useful.. bb can sleep on it, play on his own, etc.. hmmm.. maybe i'll get my mum/bro to buy for me instead.. heehee..

i also prefer ang bao, more practical.. think i'll get my mum & MIL to spread the news verbally (e.g. say we got all our bb stuff liao, no need anymore, etc).. hahah.. hopefully dun get those baby (mickey characters) gold chains from relatives.. dunno what to do with those, cannot sell somemore..

jingles: Ya I agree that NB cannt anyhow wear clothes coz their skin quite sentitive.. If I don't like the clothes that other ppl buy, I won't let my boy wear at all lo.. Then will end up don't know what to with it and pile up in the house..

I'm into buffet recently! Buffet town nice ar? I've not tried before leh..

Jac: I also don't like those gold chains and stuffs. But nowadays gold price so high, don't think ppl will buy ba.. Good idea to get mum and MIL to spread the news! I'll adopt this method also. Hehe

adeline: ya the clothes are too cute to resist..my gal's godma even bought her so many pairs of socks haha

jingles: ever since preggie and cannot eat sashimi, i shun buffets haha..cos when i see those food that i used to like but can't take now very depressing

jac: my mum also advised me to get a bouncer as she said it's easier to leave bb there for a while and it bounces with bb's movement, can keep him/her entertained

jac
kkekeeke nice right? the gym mat is so cute...i was so INTO getting this..but i guess i will buy it much later....maybe some good relatives will buy it for me :p
i also dont fancy those goldy stuff lei...they are not exactly cheap also...why not give us something more practical like vouchers so that we can xchange for pampers/milk powder.

adeline
u into buffet too? can share where u been too lately? i went for the traders 1-for-1 UOB..its v worth the $

i hope my mum and mil will also spread the news that cash/vouchers preferred over any other stuff..but i scare their skin not thick enough to help me spread the news...
I very scare my mil invite the whole kampung to my baby shower..coz this is her 1st grandchild/grandson... my hub got tons of relatives..very scary..

poseidon
kekeke same here, i doubt my mom will ever be so thick skin enuff :p so...i guess i will jst let be bah..i intend to do a small scale shower for my own relatives. Too much ple and long "open house" hours may tire bb and expose bb to unnec. germs as well. For my hub side, we will be doing another one...so if his side want to do a big scale/small scale up to them bah...i dont wan a repeat nightmare of wedding arrangements...in my opinion, bb showers should be small scale and intimate.

jingles: I've been going to mostly steamboat buffets and korean bbq buffets wor.. For international, I've been to The Line @ Shagri-La recently. They're having promo for 1 free with every 3 paying adults when u make reservation online