(2012/01) Jan 2012

Blue_Y: agree with you that anyone can be gracious. Think the issue also is that these seats are marked as prioritized for specific groups of people, so my personal take is that it is more than being personally gracious, it has an additional element of also being socially obliged as well. Having said that you are really pregnant so conscience is clear.

Congrats CT on your scan. It must be a relief to know your baby's good progress.

On my side i'm glad that my spotting/light bleeding has stopped while I'm still continually hungry and tired (though not good for my showing tummy and my face which is growing rounder!) But I think these are good signs of the baby's good physical development. Will wait for next appt with gynae to be sure.

Millie's mum: yah my growing tummy is a bit of concern too, vanity-wise. But I comfort myself a little thinking it means more support for my baby, coz I'm currently a little under-weight for my height. Still, think it's weird to see a tummy on a "bean-pole", heh.

Let's be really active in breast-feeding after to regain our shapes quickly, ok? Though we'll have to give lotsa TLC to our nipples I think, heh. Hope the bb won't bite!

Steffy: my tummy's showing too. We'll gambate together to lose weight after pregnancy ok? Now, let's all concentrate on eating healthily ok?

X - *shy*

Carpe Diem, don't worry. U r only slightly underweight. I am seriously underweight so you are still ok with me ard...wahahaha...

Ms Carpe: I have yet lose the weight that i gain from previous pregnancy.I suspect that they will stick with me for life already.
I cant stop eating and munching. I was like this for the 1st trimester too. Very hungry.

Coyote: but your tummy's not showing yet right, so it still looks ok... I'm a little thin but got tummy, so looks weird Loh, heh. Was reading a book on pregnancy and it says there should be little weight gain in first trimester, most weight gain comes from 2nd trimester.

But for us who seemed to be gaining more weight, let's try not to worry abt it ok? (Although I also feel concerned, haiz) let's just concentrate on eating healthily

Steffy: A little bit more of you means more of you to love... Get your husband to shower you with TLC as a way for him to participate in the pregnancy progress which I think over time will get him to understand our extra kgs as our gift to our bbs. Yesterday, on a weekend, my husband queued for Nasi lemak for a long time coz I crave it for lunch. And as I joked with him on the extra kgs I will put on, we both rejoice that this is an indication of healthy development of our bb, and to some extent, is my gift to our bb, also my hubby's child. So let your husband participate in the progress together and kinda get him to appreciate our new shape loh...

Am sure we can find ways to get rid of the extra kgs, but if not, let's encourage our husbands to love us with our new shape.

Ms Carpe - u know what, lets do it.. In future when babies r born, lets be our own breastfeeding support group cos for some, like me, it wasnt easy to hang on when there so much issues along the way. We must encourage one another...hehe
Unlike some who are constantly hungry, i can go on for hours w/o food. Seriously no appetite. Each time i eat, will have much leftovers. Hubby say give pple in Africa, can two pple eat. Lol. Hope my appetite kicks in soon cos i think bb needs gd food to grow..
other than that, ive no other symptoms. My tum tum still flat.. Waiting for the buldge. Pple say 2nd one onwards, bulge shows much faster...

Hey guys,

thanks! I thought the forum will do some tagging if someone replies to my qn... like facebook so was checking my email..haha. Okies, thanks for all the suggestions. Going with my elder sis doc, Dr Irene Chua, appt in two weeks..really excited!. My first kiddo... i hope no complications. Pampering has already started at home. Not allowed to do housework and lunches prepared by hubby. How else can I exercise.. like not getting too lazy by childbirth...

BF came easy for me. Only Day 4 i had engorgement. After that, i reminded myself to massage, latch and pump every 3 hours.

Successfully bf #1 till he was 19.5 months! I was a cow in the year of the cow. Haha...

With support and encouragment, i believe, we can all successfully BF!

Veronica,
Baby will reject when full. Or...Look at the colour of shit. Haha.. will go into details later. In case u forget.

Carpe Diem - yup I think tummy not showing. No one notices except me

Priya - There are powder milk catered speacially for pregnant i.e. Anmum, Friso Mum. But sad to say that both are not suitable for me, I have runny stool and tummy ache. So now I switch to normal Nespray milk powder.

X - u r a good mummy, bf for so long!

Coyote,
Partly coz i enjoyed the bonding moments. And the ease of it. No need bring bottles out! So easy.

And also, #1 hated formula milk (FM). I tried so many brands, all he reject. When i weaned (due to advise from doctors coz my period didn't come at all thru the 19.5 mth), he still refuse FM. Heng PD say ok. He's big enuff to benefit from the solids he's taking.

im new to this thread.

im ard 5wks now and going to see my gynea tml.

Im feeling very blue dunnoe why!?!?

X - When its my turn, I hope that I can enjoy like you did.

Hi Jennifer, welcome. Pregnancy tends to be more emotional, maybe that's why.

Jennifer,
When u see the tiny bubble on the US, u will be trilled. Is this ur first?

Coyote,
We Jiayou together!

Priya::; Enjoy that nw cause when #2 comes along, dats history. I wish i am pampered too... But being a hsewife and a mum to a 15mths old. Life still goes on as per normal... Laundary, mopping,sweeping and bla bla bla...

Coyote: #1 usually tummy nvr show up that fast... Never preggy before.. #2 faster cause tummy loose already..hahahaha

Coyote - Thanks for the welcome!

X - this is my no. 2 and i dont remember feeling so blue/emo during my 1st pregnancy. :s

The feeling i had as if there's no tomorrow! haha dunnoe to find it funny or sad....

Taking folic acid and Pramilets (multivits).
I'm having contispation. 1 week only move bowels once or twice max!!

Tummy showing – I think mine is starting to show (but at 5 weeks, how can that be?) – but maybe its just psychological cos my colleague just commented that I am so slim (and there I am, thinking, haha, not for long). Anyway, I gained like 0.8kg already since I found out I was preggers less than a week back! Argh…I hope I won't gain anymore weight so quickly, else I will surely get scolding for my gyne again. I gained 11.6kg the last pregnancy, so hopefully I can keep to the 10-12kg mark this time round again.

Btw, 2nd time mommies, is it true that the bulge would show earlier for us?

millie'smum – on supplements, I was on folic acid & regular multi-vits for the last couple of months, but switched to pre-natal vitamins (from GNC) this week. Will get Obimin from my gyne (the standard multi-vit they prescribe) once I see my gyne. Other than that, I will also start on pure fish oil maybe in a months' time. I took fish oil for my entire pregnancy previously, and as long as I continued BFing.

X – wow, you BFed for so long
Pei fu! I exclusively nursed Kieran the 1st 6 months, then continued till he was 1 & got too big/fidgety and had too many teeth!

On BFing – I highly recommend that all of us BF if possible. The weight melts away like butter if you BF cos it takes 500 calories a day just to produce milk! Just need to sit there & feed every 2 hours, don't even need to exercise – easy way out really! I looked back at my weight in my gyne appnt book & I actually lost all the weight I gained within 10 days after delivery!

X: oh oh u ust be feeling bloated...

Im taking folic, probiotics, calcium, DHA, B-complex, Vitamin C n Mila Seeds.

Im nt taking any Prenatal Milk. OI hate milk. I wasted few bottles with my #1 pregnancy. I will just continue with the supplements i took like my #1 pregnancy...

am i the only 1 constipated?

Before taking the multivits, i was clearing bowels immediately after each meal. I was abit concerned and asked my gynae, who laughed at me... saying after taking the multivits, bowel movement may not be that regular. Haha...

I'm new to this thread. Went for Gynea last friday and confirm I'm about 6 weeks pregnant. Took 2 test kits before and got faint positive.

EDD is around 16 Jan 2012. Abit sianz coz CNY is 23 Jan.

This is my #2. Has a boy born in 2009. Am staying in Jurong West St 65. Any Jurong West mommies?

X - me!! Have been too these couple of days, but attribute it to higher progesterone levels. Just take more fibre (I am drinking del monte prune juice & prunes on a more regular basis). Also drink more water & get some regular exercise (e.g. walking).

Jennifer - welcome
Btw, B cup? hehe...funny nick

I go toilet everyday but today I have uclers on tongue leh... puzzled.

u gers take so many vits? I only take folic acid leh. And normal milk....bo liao...

No leh, only the folic acid & the duphaston loh. She didn't even take urine/blood test how does she know what am I lacking of?

Blue_Y: Yes, let's support each other to bf together!

Coyote: So good *sighz*

(X): Do share your bf tips with us later on in our pregnancy! I'm keeping my fingers cross I can bf until the child is 1.

Jennifer: Try listening to happy, inspirational music, see if that works for you? Welcome to the forum.

Millie's mum: This is #1 for me, but my tummy's showing already

Hello Bunnymuffin!

I'm currently taking folic acid and gynae-prescribed multi-vits. But frankly, I don't know can trust or not, coz the multi-vits has 5000iu of vit A, and I'm scared I'll have excess vit A that can cause toxicity? Do your multi-vits have so much vit A? So frankly, rather than taking once every day, I take 6 time's a week. On the day that I don't take the multi-vit, I take my own omega-3 fish oil, vit B complex, iron capsules with one meal. And on another meal, I'll take calcium. Oh and I hv irritable bowels so I ls (opposite of constipated) which means I've got to drink more water...

X - maybe u can try prune juice... It helps.. I hate it but for my #1, i forced myself to drink it while pinching my nose cos it helps in moving bowels.. Esp when the stage baby is fully formed but growing, you hav to take irOn pills.. Tht was when the constipation gets real bad.. I hate the thought of going thru it agn.... Huhuhu...another option is to take more fruits. Theres few times at the last stage when i got so constipated i take lactol to loosen stool.. (think its lactol.. Forgot name)
Im now taking folic acid plus drinking Enfamama vanilla...

Bunny- i stay jw st 65 too.....

(X): Thks for sharing, so my multi-vit does not have too much vit A hor? I was so scared there'll be too much (coz I love meat and eggs) and I now ask for "no liver" with my mee pok tah.

Anyway, will see another gynae soon and will ask about these multi-vits, will see what this gynae will say...

Carpe Diem - What is so good? Yes have to remember cannot take liver.

Do u gers have any pantang? My SIL says cannot take these:
1) Squid - won't dilate
2) Prawn - too toxic
3) Salmon - high mercury
4) Watermelon - too cooling

Why cannot take liver?
My gynae only say no ginseng or TCM and NO PEANUTS!

He's very stict abt peanuts. He believe that there is strong linkings between peanuts and ezcema.

I'm missing rojak and satay and mee rebus!

Diao... i just had shark's fin and ate my fav pig liver and kidney mee sua over the weekend.

TCM/Ginseng,
I dunno leh. I just think it's a western vs chinese medicine thing. Haha...

Nevermind lah, ate already then don't think about it.

Oh...delicious shark fin also cannot meh? Feel like eating crab

hmmm we better go n find out whats the standard Vit A to consume daily. Im worried abt toxic too. Fish i know, no shark mackerels, no raw foos shld be eaten thruout pregnancy..

My daughter is 2.5 yo and I am still nursing her. She has never had any FM before, only started drinking fresh milk when she was 1+. Bfg is really very good for her, she is in 50-75 percentile for weight & height.

(X) - I actually read that this advice has been revised after more recent studies. you should only avoid peanuts if you are allergic to them, otherwise you can continue eating as normal: http://www.amazingpregnancy.com/pregnancy-articles/251.html

ms carpe diem
if you are taking a prenatal multivit, then the Vit A should be at a safe amount. It is not necessary to avoid Vit A completely.

Wah Echo,
u still nursing ur gal ah?
Did AF visit u at all these 2.5 years?
So u gonna continue nursing ur elder girl till when? U are expecting now? What is ur gynae's advise?

(X)
AF returned at 10m, when I stopped pumping at work. I am starting to wean my girl now, hoping to totally wean by the time she is 3yo in Dec. I don't really mind nursing 2 children, but I think 3yo is a bit too old la!

I didn't tell my gynae that I am still nursing, although I have read that it is safe to nurse through pregnancy unless I am at risk for pre-term labour or have other complications.

Congrats Ct for your scan!! Mine this thursday!! Can't wait!! :D

I'm also gaining weight..can't stop munching!!!! Scary lor!! Hope I won't gain too much

Today so so sleepy!! My eyes wahlaoo...keep lsitening to music just to keep myslef awake!

I heard sushi no good? Peanuts also is it? But I'm not sure why tho..

coyote: It's so good that you tummy's not showing yet in this first trimester, very normal coz in first trimester, we're supposed to have only a little weight gain.

(X): Not to worry so much, from what I've read, just try to balance the amount of vit A intake over a week, so don't have to worry if on 1 day you overshoot.

Anyway, the readings I've read says that we can't have too little vit A (which also causes problems for the eyes), but neither can we take too much (which causes toxicity.) The concern though is that different resources say different things about the upper limits of vit A (some say pregnant women can take up to 45,000 IU, and others only up to 10,000 IU!) and that's why my concern about taking liver IN ADDITION to multi-vits that already have 5000IU of vit A.