(2011/12) Dec 2011

My bb getting less sleep during daytime too.. Carry till he sleep but once put on cot, he will wake up.. Got to repeat the cycle many times.. So tiring... Sometimes he will frown n make crying noise like having nightmare.. Does bb hv nightmare? Think it's nightmare tt preventing him from deep sleep..

Girltradester: give your helper more time. U hv to demonstrate

to them how to do things. Sometimes they dunno how n will take longer time.

Poseidon: I use California bb cream. I find it gd.. It's absorbent so don't really need to clean off.

ejunko: my baby boy also sleeps at most 1 hour after his afternoon feed or not at all. But hopefully he doesn't fuss then at least if want to PS still can go.

baby likes to go out in stroller or baby carrier, once in moving vehicle he will sleep. So sometimes will bring him down just so he will nap. Otherwise he may be very cranky later.

girltradester: my baby also won't sleep if carried while he is not v sleepy. Usually I try to put him down and only carry when he cries quite loudly, he still can't fall asleep on his own.

Nidal, don't think babies can dream or have nightmares leh. Read somewhere that it is the Moro reflex that causes them to startle easily during sleep and the reflex doesn't go away until 6 months. It suggested swaddling baby to prevent the reflex. But I find it hard to swaddle baby on hot days.

Hello mummies, check with u how much u giving ur baby at 7wks? I giving my boy 140ml, but he still feeding at 3-4hrs.. Occasionally close to 5hrs. Sometimes he vomit, sometimes dont. Too much? Cos my fren fed her baby 100ml when her son was 7 wks. So worried baby have reflux again..

Yi chin: oohh bb don't have dream. Sometimes he will scream suddenly though he's deeply in sleep. There r a few times that I'm startled by his scream.. Yes, agree weather is too hot to swaddle him. I use bean pillow, not effective.

SQin: does he vomit a lot? If its little bit, its normal. my bb drink 900 to 1000ml (abt 120 ml per feed, 2.5-3 hrs) when he is 6 wks n he vomit, Merlion type. Doc said its reflux n to reduce his intake. But difficult to cut down, I just maintain his intake. He is 8 wks now n still drinking same Amt.

My maid is a philippino and seems like a honest and hardworking gal. Think we can both understand each other. heh.. Hope she remains this way. Just that planning for what to cook for lunch and dinner is quite a headache for me!

Im using cloth diapers in the day. Will need to change frequently cos baby pees often. And even with liner, poo can get to the cloth diaper. So i would wash by hand using washing powder as soon as i can get free time. At night after baby gets a bath and changes to disposable diaper then i would wash all the cloth and clothes in one shot.

Baby was cranky again this morning and puked alot!! I asked my maid for advice, since she has 2 sons, 2 and 5yo. She thought baby was gassy and did some massage, and baby pooped. After that he actually smiled!

Wah sounds like alot of work for cloth nappies...

girltradester: where did you get your cloth diapers from? Does it holds the pee well? I thought of Bumwear but dont know how many pcs should i get for a start.

Nidal: If you want to swaddle try Aden+Anais Bamboo swaddle cloth. Its super soft, breathable and durable!

SQin: My boy drinks 130ml 3hourly. But sometimes he'll doze off (at 70-80ml) then an hr later wakes up for another 70-80ml. So far no reflux. So perhaps you can do small "meals" at a shorter time frame?

Anyway im very puzzled...the elders keep saying its ok for bb to puke and ask us to feed more, so shall we be concern about reflux or not?

Girltradester, I only see my baby smile when she is drifting off to sleep. Reflex smile, haven't really seen her intentional social smile yet. U so lucky!

U can get maid to wash nappies in the day now. Smell nicer when dry in the sun. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ejunko, I got the traditional cloth nappies from kiddy palace. 1 packet for 10 pieces. I also get the nappy cover that u wear outside the nappy, so that when she wet the nappy, she doesn't wet the bed.

When baby got wind in tummy, the ways to get it out is through the mouth, which is burping or through the bottom. I guess reflux makes the baby uncomfortable as some gastric juice comes out together, causing heartburn, that's why my girl cries everytime she had a reflux.

Thanks nidal and ejunko. I thk I will try reducing his feeds to 120/130ml bah.. Pd also asked me to reduce intake in his 3rd wk, but I gradually increased again cos I tot he now bigger liao..

But he will sometimes vomit (big mouthful type) when I burp him after latching.. That means he is also over-drinking? Tot his PD said he can decide for himself..

SQin, my bb just reach 7 wks and now he take 120 ml 3 to 4hourly.

nidal, my bb also will make alot of funny noise esp at night.... i can't sleep well every night when he make tat funny noise... =(

BTW, all e mummies out there, during day time, how long ur bb sleep at X wks?

Hi mummies.....I thought this might be the best thread to ask for recommendations on CLs...since most of you probably just had your CLs left right [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ?

In urgent need to find one now...EDD end Jul 2012 and most CLs seems to be already booked!!

Appreciate any recommendation.

Thanks a million!

Hi Marie, sry i cant recommend any CL as my hubby and MIL take turn to look after me and bb. Why dun u ask ur hubby to take leave and cater confinement food?

Thanks Lay Leng for the suggestion...but this doesn't seem to be an option for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hubby can't go on long leave....

now ds at wk 8... drinking on average 125ml per feed every 2.5~3 hrs.. sometimes he will shock us by drinking 170ml or more at one feed but that happen once in a blue moon...

he sleeps alot less now..abt 3 hrs every 2 feed..

I got my cloth diapers from a babyshop in Ang Mo Kio central. Diaper cover is from kiddy palace. Currently using 20 pieces of cloth and 3 covers.

I would love to try bum wear but i already bought the cloth type. Think there are different types of package deals to choose from.

Marie, i think my confinement is a forceful lady. She would insist on her ways. If you don't mind, i can give you her number.

Hi gals, where do you bring bb for 6 in 1 and how much? I brought my bb for 2nd hep B jab at singhealth polyclinic at week 4. Next appt is 5 in 1 in mid Mar cos singhealth does not offer 6 in 1...

My bb has been vomitting milk, sometimes curd almost after every feed. Also crying, like in pain the last 2 evenings/nights. I don't know if i should bring him to see pd. I am now trying to do colic massage on him and also feeding him ridwind. =(

Thanks girltradester....think I would prefer someone who would also listen to my suggestion [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow nidal & liling2109, your babies are big! i think so long as bb is happy and healthy, big is ok!

Brought bb for 6+1 today too, he's only 5.4kg 59cm, approx 50-75percentile only, so far non-gassy no reflux (all fingers crossed).

girltradester: Ouh how is your bb doing now? better? wanna call your PD and see what he/she advises? anyway our 6+1 was done at Mt. A by Dr. Rhonda Watt...very lazy to source so stick to her. Love her!

Hi poseidon, u using avent bottles? cos the smallest bottle is till 125ml.. hee. I using avent 260ml bottle now becos my PD advised not to let baby drink to the last drop to prevent taking in air so usually i pour ~10ml extra for allowance.

Will ur baby regurgitate after drinking 170ml? Can he last longer then?

Nice to know all of u here!

I am new here too, gave birth to my dd on 4 Dec @ Gleneagles...

Just took her to pd on 4 Feb for her 6-in-1 jab and will only take the rotavirus 1 month later.... as pd advised tat bb with colic is best to take the rotavirus jab separately...

my bb currently weigh 4.06kg at 8 weeks+.... cos she was only 2.62kg at birth... pd says its normal and she's growing well... i guess every bb has different growth rate... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

now feeding her 110-115ml ebm per 2-3 hrs.... wonder should i try to increase her feed to 120-130ml.......

Yi Chin: I am currently staying at Bt Panjang too.... my mum's place.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Welcome bubbles c!

As long as bb is healthy n happy, weight is not a concern. If they can eat n sleep well then we mummies r happy!

Poseidon: your bb can take 170ml at one go.. Impress!

I still using avent 125ml bottle... How I feed 170ml was I gave ds his normal amt then after finish he still cranky.. I use the same bottle to heat up another 55ml of ebm.. between the 125ml n 55 ml..ds was tearingdown the hse coz ebm need to be heated up so he need to wait for 5 mins..

That time he drank 170ml also didn't last longer... 3 hrs after still ask for milk...don't know why once in a while ds feeding will go haywire n he will siao siao drink so much...

So far so good..

reflux.. I make sure I burp him well after each feed.. maybe that helps too bah...

I havent consulted my pd. Want to see if we can make bb feel better by massaging first. I looked up colic massage on youtube and practised on baby. Seems to be working!

When are you gals going back to work? Im still feeding on demand and not using the bottle much. With the maid, latching is my only way of being 'intimate' with baby. Sometimes feel sad that baby will not be under my care when i return to work. Im thinking of latching him at night and during weekend at home.

And do your babies fuss at your boobs? My baby just did and i thought i had no milk, but i have leh. Thought he had gas, tried to burp but he also fussed. Then my maid carried him and he stopped fussing. She said he's sleepy. hrmmm....

Hi Bubbles_C!

poseidon_gal: mine too, usually occur after 8pm, then he will sleep to midnight before hungry again. PD said its because bb wants to "store" milk for better sleep later. Is your bb seeking more milk in the evening too?

girltradester: Awesome!

Any mommy using bb carrier now? Thought it'll be easier to bring bb out instead of pram. But ppl tell me its bad for bb's legs growth cause have to be wide open....any opinion on that?

Abit bu she de to use bottle so soon unless necessary, like when we go out. Cos the domestic helper can better comfort the baby than me. So my only way of being close to baby is to bf him directly. Guess i can still afford to feed on demand until bb reaches 3 months..

BB carrier is the one where bb sits upright? Not sure if bb's neck is strong enough, so i plan to use it like after 4 months only. Now can use sling, bb lies horizontally.

ejunko: I'm using baby bjorn carrier. Sometimes bring him out carry for short while, maybe around half hour. Quite convenient, can have both hands free. Tried the sling at home, but can't get the hang of pulling the different ends & can't get baby to be comfortable.

Do most mummies here ebm? Like girltradester, I'm still latching on most of the time. Can I ask how often do you express yr milk? 3 hourly?

I find it difficult to express so frequently cause I'm looking after baby on my own & worry that he will fuss while expressing.

girltradester: wont lah, you can still talk and play with him ah, or bath him, find your way of pacifying him...not necessary must breastfeed to stay close i think.

yuet_sim: I like the idea of hands free lol. But is bb's leg in awkward position? Neck leh?

I do ebm, only once in awhile latch on. Am pumping 4-5hrly...no time to do it 3hrly ah especially when bb is awake most of the time...

ejunko: i am like u..... latch on only when baby cries badly while waiting for ebm to be warmed up..... i also pump 4-5 hrly sometimes even 6hrs later..... especially if i nid to coax my dd to zzz....... i hav a baby bjorn carrier too but yet to use it as am worried her neck may not be stable as yet.... was planning to wait til 3 mths later..... i did try the sling and bb seems real comfy lying horizontally and all curl up.....

yuet_sim: i am on almost 100% expressing bm... u can always pump after baby is asleep.... provided baby is ok with electric motor sound..... so far my dd can zzz together with the motor sound so i usually pump when she fall asleep... if she happen to wake up halfway, i will talk to her and let her hear my voice and gets reassured tat someone is in the room with her... unless she gets cranky and cries badly.... then i will stop pumping n attend to her first....... if u wan mobility in expressing bm and being able to attend to ur baby, u can do manual express..... allows u to walk freely and still interact with baby...

girltradester: u shld intro bottles to ur baby now... i have mummies frens who intro the bottle too late and baby rejects bottle and only wan direct latch on.... so if u r planning to go back to work soon, do intro bottles early and not too late.......... some babies are ok with both bottles and the breast.... so try it out with ur baby and see how it goes.... good luck!

Brought my girl to pd today. Only 4.3kg at 8 weeks. Pd decided not to jab her. Told me to give her gripe water and showed me some tummy massage to get baby to pass gas so that she can take in more milk during feeding. Need to go back to pd again next week to check if baby is gaining enough weight.

I'm also using baby bjorn carrier. It has neck support for newborn. Much coolers than the sarong sling. Baby will fall asleep when I carry her in the carrier. She doesn't like the pram, will cry when I put her in.

Girltradester, I'm also latching but I'm giving 1 bottle of ebm once a day cos my 2 elder girls refused to use the bottle when I started work after 4 months of latching and went on hunger strike for more than 12 hours! So training this one earlier. Thinking of extending maternity with 1 more month of annual leave this time cos this baby born 3 weeks early and low birthweight. Scared infant care won't take good care of her.

Bubbles, how long u'll be staying with mum at BP? I go to BPP quite often to buy lunch and gong-cha. I'll be the one carrying an infant in a carrier. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yurt sim, I latch mostly, cos express out to feed need to wash pumps and bottles. I lazy lah, lift up shirt and bra can feed baby already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm giving baby 1 bottle of ebm per day to train her to drink from bottle in preparation of infant care. So definitely need to express either before or after that feed, depending when baby is sleeping or if someone else is around to help bottle feed her. If not, I'll only express when engorge, esp when baby sleeps too long. So no particular timing for me to express.

Nowadays, baby will fall asleep when I'm carrying her but the moment I put her down on the bed or cot, she'll wake up. So she hasn't been sleeping much these few days and is quite cranky.

So I gave in to the 摇篮 last night and she slept quite a long while! Don't know if this is a good thing or bad thing!

Yi Chin, to me, anything that can make my baby cry less, sleep well and my workload less is a good thing! I tried 摇篮 and pacifier but my baby rejected them. =(

bubbles_c: i also worry if its too early to let bb sit on carriers, thats why havent buy yet...very lazy to use pram ah...

Yi Chin: Is your bb gassy/having reflux (touchwood lah)?

Did you swing her through out? If not then maybe its the position that makes her comfy.

Sometimes bb wakes up when place on bed because of the acid that cause them discomfort (i.e heartburn) when laying flat. So if 摇篮 works and she sleeps well, its a good thing!

Just that try not let her get use to it lah...

anyway, regarding latch on...i have a very stupid qns....

what do you guys do if while latching and another breast is leaking? pump at the same time??

i tried to pump (electric and manual), but once baby move around then i gotta give way...any advise?

SQin, we got the electric 摇篮. If turn off, baby will wake up. So need to switch on through out so that she can sleep longer. Hopefully won't shake the brain too much!

Ejunko, the pd said if we don't help baby to get rid of the wind in the tummy more often, she's get reflux soon.

When latching and both breasts feel full or engorged, I'll latch one side and pump the other side with manual pump. If don't feel full, I'll use my palm to press firmly on the other breast at the nipple, if not will leak.

ejunko: yah..i think so.. haa so he is storing milk har..

yuet_sim: i am also 100% expressing.. used to express every 3 hrly..but now i am trying to stretch to 3.5~4 hrly.. it is quite irrating when i want to get out of the hse but need to be back home before the next pump session..haha so trying to stretch without blocked ducts and engorgement..

Mummies..can your bb self entertain? mine once his eyes are open..want people to carry..walk ard and talk to him!! the only time he can quietly be in his cot awake is when i stuff tutu inside his mouth...

hi mummies, thanks for sharing. Looks like each have different schedules for expressing. Agree that it's less 'hassle' to latch on, no need to wash pump.

How do you all keep ebm cold & heat up the ebm when you are out? I have yet to try latching on in public with shawl (coz sometimes baby will fuss at breast & cry really loud), so far will seek out nursing room in the mall when baby is hungry.

ejunko: usually I just keep bra on with breast pad, only open one side for latching. Not sure whether I leak though. Maybe can try breast shell or is it called breast shield? Can collect leaking milk for feeding if its sterilised.

poseidon: my bb can self-entertain if he is full & contented for up to 15 min. Can put in playpen with toy hanging within his reach or sometimes he will just suck his hand & talk to himself.

hi all, i gave birth to my ger on 13 dec.

Can i ask; those who have taken the 6in 1 and rotavirus. besides fever and diarrhea as side effect does ur BB also become sleepier and dunch drink so much? thx!!

I can't figure out how to collect the leaked milk from the other breast, so i just use hanky or tissue to soak up the mess.

I really think i gotta use bottle soon because my baby has been fussing at my breast, when i have milk and would vomit after every feed. If i have too much milk, might as well pump out so i have extra to store as well, right?

And i think my bb now prefers the helper. When bb cry and i carry him, he cries louder. When pass to helper, he would stop crying and able to fall asleep! Gosh...At this rate, i think i can go back work soon. No need finish all my maternity leave.

My baby also can only self entertain for 10 to 15 min the most. After that, need to be carried. But lucky no need to walk around, so I still can use iPhone or iPad when carrying her. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yurt sim, I will find nursing room to latch when outside. So when we go out, we'll choose places that are baby friendly. If not, latch in the car.

Bunny, can the sleepiness be due to the fever?

Girltradester, u've got such a good helper! And she's been here for only a few days right? If u can, store up as much ebm as possible during this time, cos when go back to work, cannot pump so often, supply will drop.

Hi mummies out there, how to you know whether ur bb is hungry, boring, want to sleep, stomach not well... for me, i hard to figure out wat my bb want wor... sian... u all got encounter this pro?

thx, she dun have fever. But very sleepy and no appetite and i managed to find out thats the side effect of 6 in 1. **stressed ar**

@yuet sim, i go out i use FM. easier cos feeding BM out is too troublesome.

@girltradester, u can use a cloth or wear a nursing bra. ensure the cloth press against ur other nipple, it should minimise the leak (wont completely stop though for me)

@yichin, where u get ur electric cradle? mine is manual one. and i want to get electric one esle really very time consuming at times to rock her.

Lay leng, baby hungry, I'll look at timing from last feed and stroke baby at corner of mouth to see if got rooting reflex. Want to sleep, see if baby yawning or rubbing eyes. If none of the above, then I'll put her over my shoulder and pat her back. She'll then either burp, fall asleep or be comforted.

Bunny, I got the electric motor from one of the shop in beauty world in Bukit timah that sells toys. I saw it in kiddy palace too.

Yi chin:

Ur bb at 4.3kg at 8 weeks is not too bad... Mine only 4.06kg at 8 weeks.... U can try rub ruyi oil on ur bb... Mine had bad colic... Was feeding her wif rid wind in her milk but her colic is still bad as she is sucking in too much air... After i seen pd n he too advise to use ruyi oil i rub twice on my bb together wif rid wind in her milk, she is much better now. I b at my mum place for quite a while ba.... Haven decide when to move back to my in laws place...... Haha ;)

My bb loves to b carried around then she wil zzz... But somehow she wil wake up when i put her down.... Now i increase her milk intake let her hv a full stomach n place her on the cot after burping..... Wil comfort her n pat her if she cry... Stuff tutu to her if needed n she wil zzz in the cot... Got to b patient n try a few times....

Poseidon:

Indeed... When we go out... Its realli frustrating hving to rush hm to pump.... Sometimes when i reach hm, my breast pads r thoroughly soak..... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

When my mum n i r bz we wil tell her to self entertain for awhile b4 we come bac n play wif her... Sometimes she understands sometimes she doesnt hahaha... So realli depends on her mood...

Yuetsim:

i oso feed fm outside... Bringing ebm out is realli troublesome... Hvnt figure out how to warm it up... Or maintain its coldness....

Hi Bunny! Yes my bb feels very sleepy after taking the 6-in-1 jab..... N she simply has no mood for anything..... Cos she was hving fever on n off n after taking e panadol drops she jus zzzz n zzzzzz ......

Hi lay leng... I c my bb actions too... Jus like wat yi chin says....