(2011/12) Dec 2011

Jacqueline - here's more on other research on early gender diagnosis.

http://www.obgyn.net/fetal-monitoring/fetal-monitoring.asp?page=/fm/articles/fetal_gender_placental_location

This one tells about baby being on right side or left side of the uterus. Right side of uterus hv 97.2% of being a boy. If baby on left side of uterus, 97.5% chance is a girl. It's v interesting.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I love reading such articles and research. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

This time my baby at 6.5 weeks was on right side of uterus.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5677649.jpg]

CP - my earlier deliveries were natural too. so naturally i would prefer my #4 to be natural too. i'm quite scared of cuts actually. Anyway, the cut for ligation is only abt 2cm long. much shorter than Csec. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yup i'm eldest is P1 this yr and my 2nd will be P1 next yr. so far so good.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] just hv to scream at her sometimes. I'm more worried abt my #2 (boy) entering school. I think he may need more attention in his school work compared to my #1.

Hi Stef.. So do u tik ur bb is a boy or girl? After reading ur previous articles.. I tik ur bb might b a boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Jacqueline .. Tik I ate finished my food cos I like fish soup and also cos I put alot of chilli into the soup [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And yup my hubby is definitely sweet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw I'm also wondering .. Can we do stuffs like going for herbal hair treatment? Perming or rebounding our hair? Even perming eyelashes?

Paisey .. Jus curious n wondering if we can still do such thing an will it affect the the bb?

Ace - My gynae thinks my baby is a boy at the 12 week scan. Will hv to wait for 16 week scan to confirm.

I'm hoping for #4 to be a boy as my #1,3 are girls and #2 is boy.

StefSeanSharbabeslooking at ur scan.. i also ask hubby to whatsapp me the photo for last scan.. he took photos of all the scans and save in in hp.. and show ppl! haha!! so from my 12th week scan, my baby is opp direction of yours wor.. looking down at the photo, head is on the left and legs on right..

btw, which is left and left is right?? left n right diff when looking at different directions!! hmmz.. the % diff is not very big leh...

ace, so gd.. u can still eat fish.. i usually love fish!!! but ever since my MS period, i had very bad time with fish.. vomit is jialat.. vene the fish porridge in hospital will make me vomit.. so, till now i dare not try fish leh.. u think i should try taking fish again??

Hi Ace, its better not to do any chemical services at this time. A male hair stylist told me its ok to do rebonding (not sure if he really knows), a female hair stylist told me to avoid due to hormones issues. So its really subjective and up to the conscience of the person advising all these.

ace, it depends leh. some ppl say cannot.. last fri when i go kk for followup after discharge, i did ask the gynae.. he says can!! and its important for mums to look and feel gd!! and i dun remember asking my own gynae leh.. hubby said i asked before and she says no but i totally dun remember.. gonna ask her next week when i go back for appt.. I WANNA REBOND MY HAIR!! really regret perming my hair for CNY.. =(

but treatment is confirm ok.. i did treatment before.. prob ard 1 mth back..

Stef, so gd.. ur doc can guess at 12 weeks.. i was hospitalised at kk for MS during 12 weeks plus.. also did scan. but the person says duno guy or gal.. =(

next week i should be ard 17 or 18w le.. hopefully...

Stefsean, upon reading what you write like very accurate wor my first was always on the right of my uterus and turns out to be a boy .. Had only went for my first gyane visit together with Oscar 2weeks ago and this bb seems of mine seems to be

very comfortable on my right side too I sure hope it's not going to be a boy again :0

MamaAsh, can add me in your chart too ..

Nick : baby bee

Hospital : TMC

Baby no :2

Edd : 03jan2012

Jacqueline- i think for the position of baby (beanie at that stage) in uterus, hv to look at the 1st scan during the 5-7 week scan. Cos after that the beanie becomes a foetus and fills up the uterus, so you can't tell.

right side of the uterus is the left side on the pic.

Seems like a number are having their gynae visit today and tomorrow. Have a great time! Guess more n more of us will start knowing the gender.

Back from the baby fair. Not much things though. I only bought baby cot plus bedding set. For prams, the only vendor there is Baby Hypermart. For the stroller model that i am eyeing, it's still the same price 1 mth odd back at Hypermart so i guess i will buy nearer to delivery, hoping for price drop as 2012 collection comes out.

I wanted to go to the baby fair but last min decided not to go. I don't have much storage space and that I heard it's better to buy near delivery. Seems pointless to go and just check price then squeeze with ppl.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

beanie is the stage when we can only see a dot?? i dun remember the beanie location le leh..

actually my friends tell me dun buy so early.. coz u nv know what u might be receiving from ppl after u give birth.. and also the price diff and the new things to be out. till now, we only see see look look when we see shops selling baby stuff.. hubby also say dun buy 1st.. =(

kimiko, ya.. if we buy now, the things will be left there for 6 mths!! imagine the amt of dust!!! and more cleanings that need to be done..

zzz its only 330pm.. and i m sian to the max liao.. =(

stefseansharbabes, i thot of ligation after natural delivery but the thot of cutting irks me out... ur theory of boys on right and gals on left is interesting... how do we see from the first scan whether isit left or right?

jac, i am as bored as u...not even 4pm now and i am falling asleep soon!! enjoy ur movie date tonite [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my cravings ah? hmmm chilli crabs...sushi (non raw ones)... its quite random...suddenly juz wanna eat kind!!

ling, great tha ur checkup went on well...told u dun worry too muchie!!

ace, some pple go for rebonding/dyeing... best if it doesnt touch the roots... but juz ren for a few mths la...after u popped, go for a nice haircut/rebond/color then attend bb's full mth...

tie, what kinda brands have counters at the bb fair?

kimiko, no need to buy so early la...got good deals then buy...

So far only got bb cot & will get them to deliver only nearer EDD so won't collect dust. dun think bb cot prices will go down much bah. Since they throw in the mattress plus manage to bargain further discount on the bedding set, hb decide to buy. This will be the 1st grandchild in both families plus a lot of my friends are having their 1st born this yr too so we are not expecting much hands me down for the big items like cot, car seat, stroller and pump. =)

Sporty, there's Baby Hypermart (cots and strollers - Peg Perego, MacClaren, Inglesina etc), Moo something (the cloth diapers, which i am keen to get instead of using disposable disapers as recommended by a few friends who gave birth early this yr), cord blood, Prudential, Avent and miscellaneous clothing booths.

Hi Jacqueline / Kimiko / Sporty

I had nv checked w my gynae b4..will check w him on my next visit .. Th treatment I am referring to is herbal treatment..hairs drop so much lately due to the hormone changes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

but well I will try to ren.. Although hair is really in a total mess now!!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jus spoken to my boss .. She said cannot do .. Chemical not gd for the bb.. Cannot eat even preserve foods..

Btw Jacqueline.. Yup tried goin for fish agn.. They r good n healthy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Really thank God tat my taste bud is still the same.. Still eating the same food I like b4

And Stef .. Yup I remb ur post earlier on tt u hv girl / boy / girl and was thinking .. How nice if she has a boy tis time round [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jacqueline/sporty/CT

same here! going to watch transformer later!! :D

CT,

your part time maid so expensive???

Jacqueline,

online predicted girl, but doc say should be boy....

stefSean,

something interested. Left or right side of uterus also can determine the gender. hehe...

i noticed that if i lie on my right side, it tends to be harder as compared to left side.

Sporty - ultrascan pics are mirror images. So what u see on the left side of pic is actually on the right side of your uterus. And what u see on the right side of pic is actually on the left side of uterus.

Sporty, thanks. Can't help, jus can't stop worrying. Keke

I'm also watching transformer on Sunday

Ask you ladies, I'm in dilemma. I don't know where should I deliver. I wanted Mt A but my gynae is station at TMC, she hope I can deliver so that she can attend to me straight away

Sporty, thanks. Can't help, jus can't stop worrying. Keke

I went to see my scan at early stage, my baby is in the centre! How? Haha

I'm also watching transformer on Sunday

Ask you ladies, I'm in dilemma. I don't know where should I deliver. I wanted Mt A but my gynae is station at TMC, she hope I can deliver so that she can attend to me straight away

Hi Ling

I also wan MT A but my gynae is Gleneagles Medical Ctr .. Actually it is better as gyane can attend to u straight away..

Anyway we r there only for 2days so still okie [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Juz gone for scan & confirm that I'm expecting a baby boy! My boy's delighted but my girl's disappointed. I've decided not to do the amnio test so did a 4D scan instead. Gynae checked in detail & adv the measurements & looks like a normal baby. Can see his facial features, body, hands & legs clearly. It's amazing! Now can start thinking of baby names Liao...

Ace: My hairdresser adv no coloring, no perming, no rebounding, can cut only 'coz the hair chemicals used may be harmful to the baby. Better play safe than be sorry.

Steph: Will your son be attending the same school as your girl? My daughter's in SCGS, all-girls school whereas my boy will be registering in ACS, all-boys school so I have to shuttle between 2 schools + parent volunteer activites in both schools + a newborn to handle..wonder how I'm going to cope... If I stop volunteer work in school now, worry that the 2 older kids may be jealous of the baby..

MamaAsh: Pls update my records as EDD13Dec, baby boy, Gleneagles, staying in Bt Timah. Thanks!

Dacylet- Ntuc charge part time cleaner more expensive. $12.50 perhour is the market rate n i think if alone do twice weekly cleaning 4hours job is never can b clean. i prefer take 2 people. the man can climb wipe n got power to push n carry stuff. the lady can do other thing. i just want clean n neat. i dont like maid at home. no privacy.

Jacqueline: I on-off see got job ad for admin assistant on perm part-time basis. Either 2-3 full days per wk or daily till 2pm type. Some childcare centres also have opening for part-time assistants, no need teaching qualifications.

My ezcema was bad in Tri 1. Now itching has stopped but my skin is very dry & flaky. Face was very dry & flaky during Tri 1 but now ok liao. I guess as your preg progress, your pimple problem will go off?

ACE: I just moved to Punggol 6 mths ago. Near SPC petrol stn. We're considered distant neighbours liao? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

TIE: Same sentiments regarding the countries u mentioned! haha! We went taiwan for honeymoon last yr so hubby not keen to go. I miss the smelly beancurd, taiwan version of prata, oyster mee sua, papaya milkshake. Have a fun & safe trip!

Guess it's either Malaysia, HK or stay home for us.

Happygal: I also experience slight twitches. Sometimes also feel dull pain which goes off after a while. Tdy got few times feel a slight movement then ntg liao. Duno is it bb or stomach gas.

Sporty: Extra 1 or 2 glass of milk enough for tri 2 ah? Omg, I gobbled down the full packet of mixed veg rice for past 2 days! Before preg & during tri 1 I only could eat half the rice. Hope I'm not over-eating!

Ling: Altho your gynae based at TMC, is she ok with Mt A? I think both places actually aren't that far from each other? My gynae gave me choice of Gleneagles or Mt A.

Craving for durian now. Had some last Sunday but still craving for more. So happy finally can eat it w/o feeling bloated unlike in Tri 1.

Ace and Sporty,

I asked my gynae, he said it is ok. Uterus is expanding so no worries. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I did not gain much also but as long as the baby growing, they say it is fine. Nevertheless, I will still try to gain more weight.

Ling,

I tink better if gynae is nearby then can attend to u asap.

CP,

U decided against amnio? How far along r u? May I ask how accurate is 4D coz I still deciding if I wan to go for the amnio. Any inputs will b greatly appreciated.

Thanks mummies for the re-assurance. It's good to hv co. on this long journey esp since I'm such a worrier. I've been drinkg cold water, playing music and lying on left side, just so that I can feel that elusive movement...and got more worried when nothing happened. Lately, my tummy feels flat. But hubby keep saying it's cos the bump has grown to be more even and I'm tinking too much. I'm gaining 0.5kg per week tho. Must really tell myself to not be so paranoid....

Jac - for Spring maternity, yah only selected designs are at 50%. but a gd selection leh. I work near Vivo and the outlet there will replenish their stocks...so I managed to get S for a dress the 2nd time I went.

On gender - my gynae told me at wk 12 maybe boy. Then at week 16, told me 80% gal but bb leg crossed, she concluded cos seem to see 3 lines. I have both gal and boy symptoms. I tink my bb cannot decide. Haha. I prefer boy (I hv 3 sisters, tats y). Hubby prefer gal. Haha.

Hello everyone, I have been reading all the posts for the past 1 week but this is my first posting. Glad to see everyone doing well and excited like me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Due date: 6 Dec. 1st pregnancy

Gynae: Dr Irene Chua @ KKH The private suite

Gender: Boy. I attached a pic (obscene shot hehe) of his boy parts captured during the ultrasound done at 17 weeks this week. My gynae had seen the gender at 13 weeks already when baby had legs wide open.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5680138.jpg]

dawn,

not true that got pimples will be gal.. my #1 is a gal and my skin n complexion was so good n smooth during my preg (after the ms period lah... during ms, i look very terok... but no pimples too... just haggard....hahaahah)...

Happygal: I read that twitches could be signs of baby moving. My #1 I felt the twitches at 17 weeks but is round the same fluttering was felt at week 14plus and articles say usually after first pregnancy you can feel baby movement earlier than the first. Here were some moms who shared that they felt theirs sone as early as 10 weeks...

Jac/ Ace: oh man... I dun take veg and fish is my Staple... But this pregnancy I am so sensitive to the smell of fish!! Hopefully this will go away soon... Now eat more chicken, bean curd and fruits. Fish cake seems okay for me tho....

On rebounding hair, try not to. But there is this hair relaxing lotion available at SaSa that helps make your hair straighter after each wash but it's not permanent. Just makes it sifter, straighter n more manageable. You can give it a try brand is " phyto " botanical hair relaxing balm. I also use shampoo that makes hair straight.

CP - my girl is in haig girls. Going to put my son in maha bodhi. Hv also put my girl on waiting list for mama modhi so that they can be in same school.

Hi Betsmok .. Can tell me the name? I bought so many leave on b4 but nope help .. Hair is also quite frizzly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Chan PL .. Yup I tik we r quite near to each other . we can plan to being our bb for walk Liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi CP n all .. Yup won do it le .. Will endure n put hair band to make my hair look neater [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Happygal .. Yup lets put on some weight but hopefully not too much though [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I ate quite well ydae .. Had Thai food for dinner .. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I really feel my bump le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but falling asleep can b abit difficult

I read tat we must sleep on our left rite? I'm so used to sleeping on my right or facing now .. Can't do it now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

But whenever I slept on my side .. I felt like I'm crashing dwn abit of my side tummy ..

Do u all put a small pillow or anyti on ur side?

The shampoo is. Sunsilk - buy the straight solution. For the balm it's "phyto - botanical hair relaxing balm" which is available at Sasa [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ace : I do put baby pillow below on my side - more comfy. Also remember to keep feet covered if you hav fan or zircon on... I heard it helps to keep wind away or something ....

Sian! My doc still dont want to tell me the gender since it is not confirmed. I cant tahan my medicine bill, each omega is $2 and I need to take 2 for each day. And paying another blood test for my hb too. Sight, money is really not enough. I remember one of the MTB bought their omega at the pharmacy. Mind to share the name of the omega again. Thanks a lot!

Btw - gynae that gotta stop the car for every 2 hrs and stretch a bit if we are driving to Malaysia.

Chan: If I'm not wrong, Mt A fees are cheaper than Gleneagles. My gynae gives the option of Gleneagles or TMC but strongly recommends Gleneagles coz op facilities are better & his clinic is in Gleneagles so more convenient. Anyway, it's nearer to my home & My 1st 2 kids were born ther so will stick to the same hospital.

Happy gal: My triple test results show high risk prob due to age. Gynae said triple test often gives false negative. I went thru amnio test with my 2nd kid. Tho it's not painful, I had to be extra careful in that 1st 3 days whereby gynae adv bed rest to prevent miscarriage. Since I'm going to keep the baby no matter what, might as well skip this procedure, spare the mummy & baby from the risks & spare daddy's pocket..ha..ha.. Btw amnio test doesm't come cheap hor... Tho 4D scan cannot 100% confirm the baby has no down syndrome, there're some other measurements where we can use for comfort. From the 4D scan, we can see that the baby doesn't have clad lips, thigh measurements are normal. Last mth's scan also show his nasal & neck bone measurements are normal. He thinks likely the baby is normal. I can skip the amnio test if I'm not willing to do it but have ti sign the letter to absolve gynae from giving false adv in this issue. Will trust God for a normal & healthy baby.

Ace: Alternative is you can cut your hair shorter. I cut mine as I can't stand the hot weather. But still feel hot after cutting... At least, I look neater & more energetic.

Shasha: Why can't your gynae tell you but subject the gender to confirmation? Agreed that it's costly to see gynae. I paid $500 deposit under package wef wk 12 but still have to pay for the other tests like blood test, 4D scan, fish oil, etc.. Amost every visit got something new to pay leh.. Frankly, I notice that the prices have drop a little as compared to my 1st 2 deliveries except for the hospital charges which can be slightly offset by the extra baby bonus. I delivered my 1st born in Dec 2003 & it cost us almost $10k spent in Gleneagles partly due to I went for inducing but sub ended up in caesearian. Thank God that I went to op theatre within the stipulated 10hrs after checking into the delivery rm so hospital charged me as elective caesearian so saved q a bit then. At that time, no baby bonus for 1st born & limited mat can be deducted from medisave so main bulk we paRemind cash leh...Rem my inlays asked hubby why he didn't give them extra pocket $ from bonus & he joked that they were already carrying his bonus spent for that year..ha..ha...

Hi CP

My hair is fine n frizzly.. Tik cutting it short will b even more disaster [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nvm I will try Betsmok's advice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jus had a yucky meal at the food court of midpoint orchard .

Tried their ban mein b4 .. Not nice

Wanted to eat Korean Kimchi noodle today .. It is also not nice as well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Shasha: mine is natal care triplus each month/box is $32.10. I bought from gynae. U can actually go kkh to buy natal care plus off the shelf it cost ard $30. Yours is really expensive unless the content is much better.

Betsmok,

Really? I will take more notice then. I don't really know how it feels as this is my first pregnancy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ace,

I also got craving for thai food but ended up with Mac instead....

Cp,

Thanks for the info. Sigh... will decide if I wan to do amnio. I still got abt 2 weeks to decide. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Happygal, I did amnio already, yeah just hv to rest well esp first 2 days, cannot carry heavy things. My doc gave me antibiotics n duphaston pills for 5 days. I paid abt $250 in cash for normal result. The TMC nurse assisting in amnio was telling me recent 2-3 yrs there's an increase in ppl doing amnio.. One patient had ratio 1:12 result turned out normal

too, ds is v small chance. so if ur ratio is not that bad then u

don't hv to worry too much.

Anyway I shld b having a boy this round, my doc cldnt confirm earlier in scan cos Bb legs closed but later during amnio he asked sonographer to see n they confirm boy. The only myth true for me is MS bad is gal n MS mild is boy.

Have anyone of you been to the Baby Fair @ Expo and Young Parents Fair @ Marina Sq this weekend? Contemplating whether to go for any of them. Heard the Baby Fair is really small.

I was reading Mother and Baby July Issue and spotted a Annum Breastfeeding Forum 2011 on 13 August, Saturday from 12.30pm to 5pm @ Amara Hotel. They'll be covering interesting topics like pregnancy workout, success to breastfeeding, Baby's Cord Blood, Massage techniques to help BB to relax.

Anyone keen to attend? You can call them at 8303 5568.

I have just signed up!