(2011/11) Nov 2011

Jmi,

I have the exact sentiments as urs regarding maid and won't hire unless absolutely necessary. Hate the idea of having to look after another adult and I know I'll get paranoid, install cameras and things like that. Maybe when kids are older like 4-5 yrs old. Can talk and understand what's right or wrong then see how, hire one to help my mom.

Ent29,

Ur Hubby won't be disillusioned lah. Haha!! Sounds like he loves kids! If he adores his niece, he will love his own a 100x more. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Iemiko,

All the best for the scan tmr! Update us!

I have been a silent reader on this thread and enjoy reading all your posts [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Pls update my details.

Nick: toonies23

EDD: 8 Nov

Gynae: Dr Eunice Chua

Hospital: TMC

Baby: #2

Area: Whampoa

jmi,

please help update mine too? i'm expecting a girl. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i'm ok with indicating first name. easier to identify also. think still blur not sure who's who.

starry, okie added. On first name, we see what the rest of the ladies feel if majority ok, I'll add from what I know in FB. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi ladies, I have been having like intestine cramps or like gastric cramps in my upper abdomen. I know or think it has nothing to do with baby but its very tender n feels like the pains u get when got stomach bug or virus..crampy, empty feeling n the nausea is more frm the 'bug' than pregnancy i tink..

not sure what to do now..my gynae appt is nxt thurs so i dont want to go running dwn to my gynae now..rather stick to nxt wk's appt n got chance to find out gender then also..shld i go gp? my cough also haven recover frm my last gp visit like almost a mth ago so i very skeptical of what the gp will give me...sigh...in such a dilemma n dont want to kena mc again..aiya..just damn sian then hafta feel like tt now...

Morning ladies!!!

Starry,

congrats on knowing the gender!

So nice to have another girl.

Jmi,

i dont mind adding first names if the other mummies dont mind.

Yesterday so weird..

Had rice n lontong at 1pm but by 3 plus i felt hungry.

So 4pm had noodles but by 6pm i felt hungry again.

So took bread with some fruits.

The whole hungry n eating cycle went on till 10pm.

Even when i was waiting at pd, i had to pop by 7-11 next door to get food to munch.

Anyone has the same experience like me?

jmi

can help me update?

my EDD change to 23 Nov

Next appt is 11 June.. this is my #1 and my area is Bukit Batok

so nice tt some mummies already found out the gender... i also wan to know.. but dunno next appointment can tell or not... T.T

my SIL & MIL got some "weird" method to find out the gender... haha...

1) buy 1 kg of garlic (tt is a lot!! i swear) then pluck and count the # of garlic.. If odd is boy.. if even is gal..

2) look at ur 1st bb scan.. (usually only shows the sag).. if the sag is long n oval is boy.. if is round is gal.. any mummies here who knows the gender liao can confirm is this true or not?

to be frank.. this is the 1st time i heard of these 2 methods.. nv even see online b4.. haha..

Ya... to add to Huishan.

For those mummies who know the gender, just curious whether the symptoms differ between gender and whether there is any truth in old wives' tales?

2 more weeks to go for me...

koi,

if really true this is a girl, my symptoms are quite different.

#1 (baby girl):

- very mild MS from week 8/9, gone by week 12

- obvious soreness and size increase in breasts

- huge appetite

- no headaches

- fainting spells from week 9 onwards, blacked out a few times

- enjoys spicy, salty foods

- rice counting: even no.

- chinese claendar: inaccurate

#2 (baby girl):

- MS from week 4 onwards, now week 17 and still having nausea on and off

- no soreness in breasts, slight size increase only from week 13 onwards

- very small appetite

- headaches

- dizziness from week 12 onwards, didn't faint

- enjoys spicy, salty foods

- rice counting: even no.

- chinese claendar: accurate

Starry, congrats its a girl! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lynzi, haha, good mah, u so thin, need the extra calories! Eat more, eat more! Great that MS is over for u!

Leikela, when in doubt just see GP lah! At least get some med for the stomach cramp (could it be heartburn?), u dun have to suffer u know? If u dun like your current GP, change a new one? Your primary concern now should be to stay as healthy/comfortable/happy as u can, like dat then can have a happy chubby baby mah! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Huishan,

my goodness, who would be so eng as to peel 1kg of garlic?! Sounds more like a scam for MILs to make DILs work in the kitchen, heeheehee!

Jmi,

lets not reveal our names here ok? Since some of us prefer to remain anonymous.

@ JMI: Btw, can help to update me with my next appt : 9th June

First baby

Area: Tampines

Thank you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

OTW

How i wish is wat u say lor.. haha.. now i am stuck with 1 kg of garlic which i dunno wat to do wif it.. haha... at least if is like u say.. my MIL will use the garlic.. haha

koi,

for me, the symptoms are very different

#1 (baby girl)

- no MS at all, just don't feel like eating salmon and apples

- feel very energetic throughout pregnancy, can walk for hours non stop.

- no headaches

#2 (baby boy)

- have MS for the first 3 months, feel nausea but no vomit.

- feel like eating meat.

- feel tired often and cannot walk for too long.

- get headaches frequently

I didn't try any of the old wives' tales.

naturally,

i love the article! so close to my heart. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks for sharing.

huishan,

cheat lah! haha!! maybe they just want u to peel the garlic for them? nv heard of this method too. :p i count rice and it is accurate for me. 30secs finish counting le. another old wives tale is to look at your #1's nipples. if pointed means next child boy, if flat and has a small dent means next child girl. accurate for me too! kinda weird huh, these myths??

toonies,

my #2 symptoms quite close to yours. feel like eating meat also and get tired super easily plus the headaches.

naturally - ya went to my company gp just now..today its a lady..quite nice...she said tt as pregnancy progresses...it will push up against the stomach n alot of women are then prone to gastric pain n cramps..she checked the painful spot n its the stomach so at least i know its not the baby or the uterus...she gave me some med to deal w the acidity...once every morn..for 1 wk..i took 1 earier..still not much effect..still pain..but at least i know im taking something n prob not a bug coz no LS...

toonies,

that was what my gynae said when he saw my hubby's sad face. but i seriously doubt it? scanned for a while and really no sign of any balls or bird. at 17 weeks should be formed liao. but i know he is still holding on to some hope lah. haha!!

Starry,

my fren's cousin gynae said she getting a girl.

She so excited cos her no 1 is a boy.

She bought all things pink..even pink cot.

Skali after delivery, discovered its a boy.

Imagine how shocked she was!

Today im super, super craving for yam paste.

Arghhhhh

And im still exhausted from taking care of my boy last nite.

Lucky got my mil n fil to help.

starry - congrats on your baby gal!!

huishan -wah,so hardworking to peel garlic ah? mine unable to see the sac accurately coz both kena squashed together wor..

lynzi - eat more!!!good to have appetite

leikela - hope u will feel better soon.

rainzz..

ya lor.. peel till my hand all smelly lor.. now stuck with them in my fridge waiting for it to rot... haha... coz my mum say preggy cannot eat too much garlic.. will leg cramp de leh..

True True

I have a colleague whose #1 is boy.

When she had her #2, she wished for a girl and indeed, it was a "girl".

Doc confirmed girl even at detailed scan. She went to buy all the pink clothes.

Suddenly at 9th month, became boy!

She super super disappointed and told all of us her story.

Thanks starry and toonies for your sharing.

Ya lor, my SILs and BF first thing after congratulations is "what's the gender?"

When told about different symptoms, they seemed to have high hopes.

Feeling so sianz.

Really feel like telling them off.

Another colleague too...

Showed us her ultrasound of her boy's private.

I said "oh I don't have last time, didn't know can get, should have asked for a copy."

Reply was "Girl one, nobody want to keep lah!"

*Roll eyes*

koi..

i heard of similar story also.. but tt is found out only after birth... imagine bb boy wear pink clothes n sit pink stroller... haha... kinda poor thing lor.. if it is the other way round not so bad...

my SIL has 3 sons.. youngest is only less than 1 yr old.. but her 2 older sons is 10 n 14 liao.. when she found out her youngest is a boy she cried for 3 days lor.. haha.. she say she buy boy clothes till she wan to vomit liao.. she hoping mine is a gal lor.. me n hubby also wan gal.. but i keep thing bb might be boy..... T.T

huishan - for me is now i cnt stand garlic taste/smell..haha..confirm will puke out.

everything muz eat moderately.

koi - my sis told me same thing too..sometimes if scan gal,might not be accurate coz the "stick" is hiding.she got a few friends kena liddat.

seriously,boy/gal doesn't matter as long as they are healthy

Hi mommies, I've a almost brand new copy of Gina Ford, The Contented Little Baby, bought from Kino. I've wrapped it nicely in transparent book wrap too. Selling for S$22 with normal postage. Can also meet up at Raffles Place area. Pls email me weeling.chew[at]gmail.com if interested. Thanks!

OTW, just finished reading the article too.

Quite my style and I do agree with the author about the criticisms/dilemma she faces.

Our kids are ours.

I believe all of us will try to give them the best we can to offer.

Cheers to all mummies.

hi babes, just had lunch, awfully full. and i am damn mad. told my logistics colleagues more than 4 weeks ago to get ready some things (2 container truckloads) for a client by 23rd May. ample time right??? i was assured over and over AND OVER that things will be done on time. even went all the way to ask them if they need any part-timers to help consolidate everything but they said no need. they told me everything's under control. today's 24th and not even half done!!! client's complaining to me and i'm feeling very cheated! grrr... i don't know what's wrong with them, leaving everything to the eleventh hour. so upset!

lynzi, koi, huishan,

nowadays still can make such mistakes? even at 20 weeks detailed scan?? gosh! highly unlikely though, right? think i will be super duper shocked if come out boy. if tell me at detailed scan boy i will be okay, but wait till give birth hor, very jia lat leh.

starry

acutally all these scan is not 100% accurate de.. coz also depends on the position of the bb.. maybe bb can hide leh.. haha.. i also got hear b4 got ppl up to the last mth then know the gender.. coz bb dun wan show.. so vvv hard to say one.. can only say now the scan is clearer than last time la.. n the accuracy is higher only lor.. only 100% sure one is amnio lor.. coz test for the XY chromosal mah...

starry - take deep breathes in n out.seriously it's this type of colleagues who always sabo others,nvr think of the time n $ wasted.

haiz..juz called the confinement lady agency..goodness..the lady i wanna find is booked.yikes.

i tot i was booking early when in fact got people even faster.*faint

hopefully the agent able to help me find another 1.

This stage is so exciting, so many mummies have found out their baby gender.

I will have to wait for next wed. : )

Hoping for a boy but somehow i think the gynae will tell me it's another girl. Oh well!! as long as the baby is healthy i shouldn't ask for more.

Huishan : My stuffs are all pink since my #1 is a girl. If i am indeed having a boy this time round, he will be sitting in a pink stroller too. Dun intend to buy any new stuffs except maybe for clothes. lol.

Just a question, i am eating the fish oil capsules (blue colour box) ordered from SMH BP.I find it really smell fishy. I used to take fish oil but in pink box purchased at my gynae's clinic. It doesn't smell at all. Any mummies feel the same?

Lynzi, koi,

wah cannot imagine the shock! Now u're making all those who are expecting baby girls to start having doubts, haha!

Koi,

your SILs and that colleague favour boys so much huh? Actually i hate this sort of thinking, makes mothers so stressed! Whether girl or boy, every pregnancy and every baby is a miracle of life worthy of celebration!

ha ha, my hubby is hoping for a boy... so funny my little sis who is in P5 was learning about human reproductive systems told my hubby... boy or gal depends on my hubby so cannot blame me! ha ha... nowadays kids learn so much in school!

Lynzi, I had a lousy lunch. Making it up by having Baskin Robbins double scoop ice cream now. Yumz.

jmi - i wan...haha...yest ate haagen daz macadamia nut brittle..duno y tasted weird to me liao...so sad..it's sweet then bitter aftertaste.

best i juz bought 2 tubs..now hubs have to finish them.haha