(2011/11) Nov 2011

jmi,

saw jared's photoshoot. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] very nice! love the props used.

starry, thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I love this PS more than his 1st one. :p

My colleague told me I've to be fair to #2. Jared had 2 PS..so I better get for #2 also.

Jmi,

Regarding the photoshoot lobang, will it be at the newly opened StudioPlay premise? Actually I've met Sean and his wife before, nice folks, esp his wife very sweet! Knew them thru my gf who is their church friend. And this gf recently did a photoshoot at the new studioplay, said her gal had a great time there! but photos also not taken by Sean himself. Glad to see his business expanding, I may want to support him too, sometime in July when my boy will be turing 3. Hmm by then my belly should be big enough to shun bian take some pregnancy shots too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jmi,

actually the one of him at 10 days old is also nice. different feel at different stage of life. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

how old did jared start walking? asking because i am hoping that my girl will be walking when she turns 1yr old, as that's when i'm gonna pop. hard to take care of her if she is still crawling and needs carrying.

Sophia,

If u have assurance from your SIL that the disposable diapers are fairly new, then should be ok. If not, just play safe and throw away ba. But dun let her know else next time no more free hand-me-downs :p

Starry,

There's a saying that if a child learns to talk early, he/she will learn to walk later, and vice versa. I think it's kinda true, my boy developed his motor skills way earlier than his language skills, preferring to train up his muscles rather than to learn to talk. He walked his first step slightly after turning one, but until recently after attending N1 class then he started to talk more! But hor, I find that after kids start walking (will want to run soon after that!), it's a even more dangerous period as in they will want to test out their new walking/running skills but yet they are not steady enough so very prone to falls and little accidents!! Oh yes, time to childproof the house too if u have not done so yet, I regretted big time not getting earlier the table bumpers and edge bumpers (for table legs or other furniture with edges!!

OTW, StudioPlay is a new concept they opened recently. I think it focuses on tots and families, whereas Sean Lau is on baby photography. I believe both Sean Lau & StudioPlay share the same premises.

starry, lazy jared is still happily cruising! He's been trying to stand without aid, so perhaps will really start walking say in the next 2 months?

Both crawling and walking has it's 'pain', when they crawl, they still need carrying. But when they walk, you need to chase after them!

naturally, jmi,

thanks for the info. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] true lah, crawling or walking also will have headache. actually i am prepared to let my girl bump/hit herself against things when she learns to walk. 'cos only then will she learn and be careful. of course childproof the house first lah. otherwise the poor baby will suffer 'cos of parents' ignorance! i agree with the idea that if learn to talk first, will walk later. see this in some kids. so now teaching her sign language. hope she quickly picks up so that she can better express herself in future.

My girl didn't have the crawling phase.

She liked to hold on to edges and walked. One day, she suddenly let go of her hands and started walking on her own.

A lot of chasing actually as they are still unstable and do not know what's dangerous.

koi,

your girl so steady! most kids will definitely go thru crawling phase. did you witness her first steps? i'm quite sad that i probably won't be able to see my girl take her first step since i am a FTWM. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i'll probably cry when i see it.

Felixp-Me too i am having constipation though i try to eat more fruits,veg and water.No No No more bananas for me.That day i ate quite alot of papayas but still constipation.My gfriend also pregnant,she too having constipation.

starry,I was shocked!

I happened to be in US visiting my hubby during that time. I was skyping my girl and saw her on skype webcam. Suddenly, there was a background scream by my family...

In a way, I "saw" and witness it on webcam but couldn't see it in real person.

koi,

wow! what a nice surprise that was! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my MS is back. feeling quite horrible now. thought gone for good. already 11w2d liao leh..

Yesterday night before i sleep,i did some light stretching exercise.Then i soak my hands and feet on hot water.I really feels so much better and can sleep better.Carpal tunnel syndrome did not bother me much yesterday night.Phew...

littlebb,

that's great! i was thinking whether you slept well last night or not. glad it was better. do the stretching and soaking again tonight! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

little bb, glad to hear last nite was better for you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry, ur 1st tri ending soon. Think ur MS will also be gone soon. Must endure - Jiayou! Try drink some ginger drink as some mommies suggested. Right now, I am 7 wk 3 days -- no MS, but feeling indigestion, kept burping [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jmi: Both of Jared's photoshoots are so nicely done! The first one had such nice furry blankies, am sure he enjoyed sleeping on them. And I agree with Starry that the props for the second one are so cool!! I would love to see baby photographers at action. Must be so professional and patient to get those wonderful shots...

Starry: You should do one of Jadelyn too! She's so photogenic and has such a sweet face!

Littlebb: I'm glad to hear that! Hope tonight's self-therapy works again! This evening a little cold, so must soak hotter water! :p

Re: Constipation

Bananas are apparently bad for constipation. My friend fed her baby carrots and bananas and then the baby had constipation and the pediatrician told the baby, "Your mummy is trying to give you constipation..." Haha...

Felix,

忍 now lor but very uncomfy. Hungry but zero appetite. My weight has been stagnant this whole time. Now MS like on and off. Come 1 day, 2 days disappear type.

Ent29,

My hubby lah! He says waste money to do baby photoshoot. But luckily his cousin did it free for us. Not a lot of props though. And she was older already. Like 3mths plus.

Just now I really got thick skinned and asked for a seat on the crowded train. Really don't feel well at all. Luckily that guy also ok lah, gave up seat to me graciously.

Ent29, thanks. We love Jared's PS too. NB PS mainly capture those sleeping moments, when they get older; no way will you ever capture those sleeping shots again cos they will be moving able. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jmi,

Very true.. After the first few weeks, no way will they let u take them lying there like that. Will wriggle and scream murder! Haha!

Felixp, read the Help above the forum on table.

Jmi, ur IFC charges r cheap. which area is that. I paid $577 aft subsidy n I think is the cheapest in Yishun liao.

Hi moms,

Quite a few days dun come in here. Took a while to read the many posts.

Fainting

I think this is getting more prevalent once we passed 6 or 7 wks? Pls bring along a hacks sweet and medicated oil in ur bag. In case u feel like fainting. Can squat down or sit and rest till better then take a hacks sweet to help u. Women usually anemic and during pregnancy our body working doubly hard so dun know when we will feel super drained and black out. I have my fair share of discomfort for the past few days. It can come in the morning or mid day so moms going to work esp if u r taking public transport, always stand near pole or door where u can squat and rest. If u think u r fainting, tell the person next to u esp a woman that u r pregnant and may faint, pls watch out for me. Dun feel pai seh ok. Usually women can and will help another woman easily. If not, they will ask other passer-by to help.

Pump

I heard avent and medela are the better ones ard esp the electronic ones compared to the manual functions. I used Medela pump in style a few years ago.Wd be using this again. Good pumps r costly. I find pump to be one of the expensive one but if u r working and providing bm, then pump is a good investment. For moms who do tbf, pumps only good for 1st 1 to 2 months. I only used mine to establish bm supply and on tbf once the supply is steady. If u r buying preloved ones then u need to replace the breast funnel for hygiene purpose.

Food and nutrition

When i had my #1, i was very strict on what i put into my mouth. With #2, i think i slacked. I ate a bit of seafood, some junk food like fast food, instant noodles, spicy food, a little cold drinks and durians so early. Basically i foul many rules. Hope all bb all turn out fine despite the fact that moms like me are just eating what we feel like eating [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Smell

These 2 days i started to be more sensitive to smell? I start to smell things ard me fishy though there is nothing smelly. Never like that for my #1. I din have much ms this time round but i had it 2 times some where last week so i think body working really hard. Then i think consistently a few times that i experienced, i feel super drained between 4 and 6pm and needed to cat nap. I just nap wherever i am instead of bed. Anybody experiencing the above like me?

Boobs size: haha you ladies are really funny when I read abt the increase and decrease of size. But I totally agree! Mine were from A cup to C cup and super full becoz of the milk but after I stopped BF, it went back to A and I find they have become even smaller than original.

Photoshoot: I did for my twins with a freelance photographer Kelly. She has a website which can be found here in the forum. Can even see the photos of my twins [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I guess I will do for this one to be fair.

Food: I am not too particular about what I eat... only avoid raw food, processed food like ham, and chinchow (my mom says it's too liang)Otherwise, I will eat what I feel like eating that day. This time around seems to have cravings like yesterday want to eat lor mee. My previous preg didnt have at all. The person craving for food was hubbi and he was the one suffering from vomiting and all......

Hairdrop: found a shampoo for hair loss. Under Himalaya brand. Will buy a small bottle to try.

morning ladies

gg for appt todae. cant wait to c d lil one. =)

starry & sophia

are the boot milk bags from boots pharmacy in BKK? mi gg there end may for honeymoon. hehe. mayb will go find & stock up. used many many my first yr milk bags when i had my bois. kekez.

re: boobies

any mummies experience that boobs no go smaller but remain same size afta stop bfing? my cup increase each time im preg. don like big breasts! lolx.

re: preg PS

mi did PS for both my bois at my mummy's workpl. 1st one FOC coz they use d pic for their advertisement. hehe. now dono wan to take for #3 anot. looking damn fat afta giving birth to 2! =(

Sophia, yes I send my boy to IFC. He will be 'graduating' to the PG in August.

Oohhh, I'm going BKK for a 1 day trip next Tuesday. I'll go raid Boots for the milkbags then.

Anyone wanna tong-pang?

me, me!!! What ever numbers you can buy (coz they sell out FAST), let me know how many you can sell to me.

Felixp: milkbags are used to store your expressed breastmilk. Expecially useful for nightfeeds, if baby cant latch on properly etc. I used them coz I had too much milk and my twin daughter could not latch on.

Loh, which IFC did u put ur kid in in Yishun? Mind to share?

I din buy any milkbags cos i mostly latch. Have some of those avent cups though. now felt it to be a waste of money.

Jmi: How much was the photoshoot? Maybe I should just try to experiment for myself now with my DSLR. Hohoho. Then stock up on props to take sleeping photos of baby! :D

Starry: Jadelyn is looking more and more pretty. Can't wait for her to have longer hair - she will even prettier all dolled up. Hehe. Oh, and can I ask you about your cloth diapers? Saw the moo-moo ones that were being posted up on our forum the other day. But how exactly do they work? The inserts are washable issit? And they don't leak as much as those old-school holey white cloth diapers I guess?

Juz finish seeing dr. Gg for OSCARS in 4wks time & see dr in 6wks. Hopefully can get d dr i req for to do my scanning. Hehe. Now EDD pushed back to 25/11/11.

wow, talking about photoshoots already? getting stressed... i know nuts about pumps, milk bags, etc... where do i start? eeeks....

i am worried about confinement ladies, it seems that the good ones are already taken up and i read on forums horror stories about bad ones.... omigosh... and i am thinking of asking around only when i am after the first trimester... issit too late to ask then?

need some advice... i am going on a europe trip during my 11+ weeks till 13+ weeks, coupled with a cruise... should i get travel insurance especially for pregnant woman? is there anything which I should prepare or look out for? i am worried about drinking the milk and eating the cheese there...

my hubby thinks i worry too much -.-

re: milk bags

i'm going phuket in 3 weeks' time and i think got boots pharmacy there at the jungceylon mall. anyone keen to buy? if keen let me know? i think i can buy in bulk and bring back. hee hee!

2nd time mummies, how long did it take your milk to totally dry up? i think i am still producing milk! felt ard the nipple area the other day in the shower and small droplets of milk came out. stopped bfing for more than 3 mths already. don't know is it because of pregnancy so still making milk? won't affect anything right?

jmi,

which part of serangoon north is the IFC at? i am working ard the area and thinking of sending my girl to one near my work place if really cannot find one anywhere in the west. this is worst case scenario liao.

ent29,

thanks for the compliments! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i hope she has more hair too leh. look so bald now. :p those moo moo ones are local brands. think quite good also. they are pocket diapers, meaning there is a pocket inside in which you can slot in the absorbent insert. then just put the whole diaper on baby like you would with disposables.

once diaper is full or soiled, just remove from baby, pull out the insert, rinse diaper and insert under water, wring dry and dump into a pail for washing later. for poo poo, use the bidet or just hose the poo away. baby poo is like yoghurt, washes off very very easily. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] must wash off poo asap otherwise if keep too long will stain the diaper. same thing, wring dry and place in pail. soak them for a few hours in detergent. my mum uses the ABC detergent (very good for cloth diapers and baby clothers). after soaking, wring as dry as you can and just dump into machine for speedy wash. i can assure you, no poo poo stains AT ALL if you wash properly. they dry very fast indoors also.

simp, i can just nod off in front of my computer after meals ... so i need to rest a bit... i find that lying down or simply resting after meals help with my bloatedness and burping...

Sophia, ok. I'll just grab whatever numbers I see in the store. I will be latching directly too but need milkbags to store the BM to be freeze for IFC.

I'm SCARED of the Avent cups! The cup fell off when I was pumping at 3am once and all my milk were spilled!!!

Ent29, I paid $188 instead of the usual $258 cos it was through a mass sign-up. $188 comes with 5 shots, 5 x 5R prints and 1 tabletop. I paid $250 instead of $300 to purchase the whole CD of photos

aabunny,

don't stress.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] now still early to plan for pumps, milk bags. get them later in 2nd/3rd tri also can.

for milk and cheese overseas, refrain from those soft cheeses and unpasteurized milk. they may carry bacteria that will be harmful to baby. i think that's all lor. apart from that, take things slow and enjoy the trip. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] for insurance, get those comprehensive wide coverage type will do bah. but i'm not sure if you declare your pregnancy will it be more expensive or not. actually some credit cards cover you worldwide. can check it out too.

jmi,

i spilled milk before too. the milk bag dropped. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] 60ml and 40mins hard work gone.

My mum's hands ache when do too much housework. She did my 1st confinement but for the 2nd, she thinks her hands will act up.

She can do cooking and taking care of bb but washing and all, too tiring for her.

Do you know of anyone who does part time washing of clothes or dishes or knows where I can engage one for short term (confinement)?

starry: i send my kids to the ifc in serangoon north. it's around blk 500 plus near Rosyth pri.

spilt milk: yes, kena before. very wasted.

confinement: I think there's a company out there that you can get confinement ladies. My cousin hired before. Not cheap though and also see your luck. If bad, can be a nightmare.

Starry: Hmm, the cloth diapers do sound like a good option! More things to wash I suppose but much cheaper in the long run? Can use it up to how old?

Ssbaby: Wow, looks like a good deal!! 70% off the prams leh. Those I see all above $500!! But there are >$500 deals! But is it to kiasu to buy prams now and how exactly do we choose prams??