(2011/11) Nov 2011

Evelyn, i think the spotting will not stop so fast...for me it tooks abt almost 1week to stop my spotting..just continue to take the med...

If u r still worried, mayb u might wan to make a call to ur gynae n get advise or if after 1week still hav spotting, u can check with ur gynae...

rest well n take care!!

22 - 24 Apr. Hall 6A, Expo.

Time: 11am – 9pm (Fri & Sat) 11am – 8pm (Sun)

Organiser: Vivacious Media Pte Ltd

Contact Details:

Tel : +65 6404 3676

Fax : +65 6343 9600

Email : [email protected]

BABY EXPO provides you with amazing choices and unbeatable value on everything for your pregnancy, baby and toddler. Get set to make the most of our HOT DEALS & GREAT PROMOTIONS!

bleh, im not fm june 08. im fm sep 09, perhaps there another member hving similar nick.

Welcome Joanne! you can buy those cheapo test kit or clear blue(more accurate) but will be more ex

jo's mummy/ssbaby,

Thks for sharing.

jo's mummy, are you still working when spotting? I do have 2 days rest at home, but seems the spotting really not gone aways so fast. Just back to work today. Ya, will continues take the medi since doc give for a week. Will have my next appt 1 week later which on next Monday. Currently, I will go to my house nearby gynae should there is abnormal case (like my virginal itchiness and spotting). Next week is my previous gynae at SGH.

Tuesday checkup doc still cannot see the baby hb, but can see the waterbag is growing bigger, it is 3.3cm..

Will try to rest more, now in the office but very moody, not much appetite too.. last week will keep on feel hungry, think this week very emo liao..

joanne,

congrats! you will be the youngest mummy here. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i suggest buy clearblue digital. you can definitely test now. and hope you get a BFP!!

if you do OSCAR (optional test for down syndrome) at week 12/13, there will be blood test involved. think there is another one during 2nd tri for HIV, rubella, Hepatitis etc. it's a compulsory test if i am not wrong. if you have family history of diabetes or what, may have to do blood test for blood sugar etc also.

Oscar is Down syndrome? I wanted to do initally. But drop when my gynae nurse fren told me that the result will only be 70% accurate. If u want 100% accurate, they need to do a further test by getting ur "yang shui", which is very painful and risky. If doc din do it properly, u might miscarriage. She got a patient who did it else where, n got miscarriage. the hubby blame on her doc but the doc say his wife din go to the doc whom they recommend and been doing this every day. Also, this test is mainly for mum who is preg after 30+ (cant remember).

As for me, i cant do any abortion due to religious reason. So no matter what, i will need to give birth, so drop the idea of the test.

berrpie, I see.. Luckily my main project on hand has been completed before CNY. Thus, now consider still qutie alright, not that stress as last time. Ya, thanks for assurance. Just would like to know whether taken the medi the spotting will still be there, din noe is my body or medi got problem.. Haha.

That day visit the doc, when collecting medi I do check with nurse, what should I monitor, she say since has the hormone pill, it should be safe, and after one week just come back and do another round of checking. Think I shall still be carefully monitor whether any abnormal in this week. Thks.

starry,

Hmm..... I think those people you mentioned, I may be in it too. But I'm jealous, actually especially for people who start family so young. I got married early..... around 25~26 yrs old. We didn't really do any contraceptive measures yet I was unable to conceive. One good thing is that we have 5~6 yrs of "er ren shi jie".... went overseas for holiday, but bad thing is that I also have to underwent those Chinese medication, IUI, IVF.... It is really a painful experience.

Most important is what u and ur hubby feel. No need to mind abt what people say.

Felixp,

I conceived at age 31 and now I'm 33 having the #2. My mum said after giving birth to the 1st one, u are very fertile..... can get the 2nd one very fast. Now I believe this is really true.

hi ladies, i was reading that you have to start applying stretch cream now? is it too early? he he... so Clarins and Avent are good?

Shirley, thanks for sharing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] we are thinking of having 2 so that #1 wont be so lonely. I oso wish to chop-chop so that can "close shop" early before 35. Haha, now my #1 havent 3 mths yet i am thinking so far ...

J&k, good to hear that u went see gynae, do take good care.

Welcome Joanne!

Evelyn, I also have spotting. after taken 2 jabs and hormone pills, still've brown discharge now & then. Do just rest and reduce walking. Resting'l help.

awbb, so all positive?? Think you can stop testing liao ... stop wasting your money and save them for your bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Evelyn & Berrypie, rest well. I oso have a one-off spotting earlier but now okay. Still eating the hormone pills doc gave me.

Hi Joanne Koh,

Mummy is always the greatest! So, since u might be the mummy, next time blood test maybe nothing to you when u see the little baby growing in ur stomach.

Remember, there might be something more painful in the final stage...... labour.

AW_BB, don't worry, I also tested myself 3 times. Cos the 1st time was positive. 2nd time was faint. I had bit of spotting when my boy was hospitalised for rotavirus. So I tested the 3rd time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

shirley,

i always take these comments at face value so have no thought at all about what those who said these have gone through. maybe some really said it out of concern bah. i feel that sometimes life is not fair. happy healthy couple trying for years and years cannot conceive then there are babies born into poor, broken families. i would be jealous too if i have tried for years and couldn't conceive. but that doesn't mean i take my two surprise pregnancies for granted. really treasure both of them and thank God every single day.

the only thing i have a teeny bit of regret is lack of er ren shi jie with my hubby. got married less than 2 months then found out 5 weeks pregnant with my girl. didn't have the chance to travel or what as my job initially allowed me to travel to US and Canada. no complains though! hubby and i love our little girl very much and it's a great joy for both of us to see her pretty face everyday after work.

feel that you are very strong to have been thru all of that. i don't think i have the mental and emotional capacity to go thru the same. glad that you are now expecting your #2!! it's really true huh, fertile after giving birth. a mummy friend also, conceived via IVF after trying for 10 years then when firstborn was 6mths old, pregnant again! happy ending. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

awbb,

stop testing liao lah. haha!! pregnancy test later become paranoid test! save up the money for something else. buy stretchmark cream??

joanne,

blood test is not that painful. and very fast over. you won't even remember the pain lor. whenever got blood test, i will pinch myself somewhere and focus on the pain there. it sounds odd, but it helps me to overcome the pinch of needle prick on the arm.

speaking of travelling, i'm supposed to travel to HK for work end-jul. will be ard 27weeks pregnant then. anyone tried travelling at that stage?

Starry, you may want to check with your gynea if you can travel then. There maybe travel restrictions from 24 week onwards.

jmi,

travelling restrictions from week 24?? so early? i guess there goes my chance of travelling liao lah. my boss was still saying send me and my colleague go HK to meet some clients plus have a free and easy tour before i go deliver. so nice right??

nvm, fingers crossed and see how.

starry,

Hmm.... my hubby's company planning a Desaru trip on Sept which might be my 32 weeks. But that one doesn't require taking flight. There is a pamphlet given by my gyane.

Inside written :-

Commercial air travel poses no special risks to an uncomplicated pregnancy. Domestic travel is usually permitted until 36 weeks gestation whereas international travel may be curtailed after the 32nd week of pregnancy. You should always carry documents stating ur expected date of delivery. ......etc.

Perhaps your gynae has given u the pamphlet but u haven't take notice? So, no problem and hope you enjoy the HK trip. Buy wife biscuit there..... it's nice.

Haha.... in fact before giving my 1st son, it is too late for travel, so we ended up we stayed in Resort Sentosa for a good break. Really a very good rest because once deliver, diaper changing and every 2 hours feeding milk is very very tiring.

happymum,

shirley,

thanks for the info too. my gynae nv give me any pamphlet. i remember my friend had huge tummy with her #2 and she was 26-28weeks pregnant then and travelling by flight to KL. can't remember which airline, think it was air asia. but she was not allowed to board! she was hopping mad then because their policy didn't indicate this.

shirley,

i found the diaper changing quite ok. in fact i like to change my girl's diapers. haha! it's the bfing every other hour and pumping that's tiring. but i am looking forward to that again.

oh yah, i didn't manage to go for any babymoon at all last time lor. so this year hope can go relax and have fun before giving birth. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry, I guess even after gynea gives the green-light, it will be wise to check with the airline. Cos some airlines have their own restrictions.

I went for a babymoon for #1, this time round, not sure if can manage a baby/family moon with my boy.

Ssbaby

That time my mom did confinement, I din bath for 2 weeks for hair. Hot herbal bath every day after wk. The hair really smells. Only thing i din give in was aircon, if not i din think i can take it. This time since I hv cl, I wd shower daily including hair. However I wd blow dry after that.

J&k

My tummy hasn't started to itch but I think once 2nd trim sets in, wd start to itch. I wd go hunt for organic cream and if I manage to get, wd let u know [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Spotting

A lot of nov moms r spotting, pls really bed rest or mc for bb' safety. All other things can do later or ask others to handle. U really canny walk and move ard too much n need bed rest a lot. Can eat on bed also better.

Confinement food

#1 has slight jaundice so I din take Ginger, wine based dishes and even greens that wd cause wind like cabbage and broccoli I din take. Only ask mom to do healthy dishes that encourage bm. In e end I took mainly healthy dishes and now my body

ssbaby!! 50% discount??? i should hav ask abt this yesterday b4 went to buy!!! i paid $21.90 full price [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

simp,

my mum and several friends told me air con is fine as long as not blowing direct at you or freezing cold. it's the fan that women on confinement should avoid. 'cos moving wind. heard of this? like you i avoided those foods and veg too. scared baby got colic. i had a lot of fish, chicken, pork, spinach etc. and also a lot of papaya fish soup (really wonderful for bm supply).

starry,

I leave all the diaper changing to my hubby when he is around especially night time. Coz night time is the most tiring!!! Btw, if it is a boy, while changing him & he pees at the same time can be quite tricky, coz boy can pee very far. My mum called this as "jing cha" (let you drink tea).

jo's mummy,

Maybe your hubby's job really tiring? My hubby does take the initiative to help out. But sometimes.... he does laze around. Coz night time there are a lot of washing to wash. He needs to help, otherwise I will be sleeping very late. He always concern that I do not have enough rest as I'm bf my son so I'm the only one who can pacify the baby at night.

Hihi ladies, how's everyone? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Been MIA for a while due to busy work, and also to catch up on backlog since i'm feeling less lethargic now! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And i want to share something with all of ya! I just remembered that a few years back i did up a simple excel file to check baby gender according to the Chinese baby gender chart, which originates from the Qing Dynasty, also known as 清宫图. The chart uses lunar age, which can be a little complex if u are not familiar, basically we are 1yr old when born, and then every cny we get 1 yr older. Anyway not to worry, my excel file will easily work out your lunar age based on your birthday, and then will let u know whether its a girl or boy based on your conception month! Interested? heehee, click here!

Chinese Baby Gender Prediction - Baby-Desires.com

oh allow me to put up a little disclaimer: Although many women around the world swears by the chart, I do not guarantee the accuracy hor! Treat this as purely entertainment in the name of fun ok! Don't go buying pink/blue clothes or paint your nursery walls based on this result!! :p

By the way, i'm supposed to have a little girl this time round, going by the chinese gender chart! Let's see if its accurate! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I thought there are some sort of shampoo for the hair during confinement whereby you need not wash? You just apply on the shampoo will do? Any idea where to find?

shirley,

good for you that you could leave it to your hubby. i did everything by myself. wasn't 'fang xin' to let hubby handle baby. haha! :p

hi OTW, thanks for the chart, hope it is as accurate as it is..cos it says girl which im desperately hoping for!!

Shirley, ur description so funny, jing cha..hahaha...

not only they will jing cha, they will "jing shit" too..bcos 1st 2months their poo poo is watery n me n my MIL kena shoot by his shit!

Jmi,

my hubby too! To him, the more the merrier, of cos lah, he is not a hands-on daddy mah! But then again must give him some credit, lately he's been helping a lot to pacify our boy, who has been testing my patience almost everyday!!! Yesterday he insisted on feeding me a lozenge when i told him its bath time. Told him no, and off he flew into a crying fit! The day before, he wanted to bring his new mini bunny soft toy into the bathtub! *faint*

starry and jo's mummy,

just treat this as a fun guess lah! actually it wasn't accurate for my boy, he's supposed to be a girl! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/lol.gif] maybe that's why he looks girlish? heehee!

Naturally, I've gotta give my DH some credit for helping. He helps out with most things except:

1. Cooking

2. Bath if my boy pooed. No poo he will shower.

3. Laundry

4. Feeding solids. He's lousy with feeding solids, makes a mess and is so SLOW!

So #3...let's see how things will go with #2 first before jumping on #3.

>> "jing shit"

What a funny term, ha, but yes yes! everybody told me to be careful of baby boy's pee when changing diapers but no one warned me about liquid poo!!! So to the first-time mummies of baby boys, take note okie! :p

Hi OTW, thanks. ur test show mine shld be a girl [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] This tally with wat my fortune teller says that my #1 will be born in 2011 and a girl.

Jmi,

Your hubby is GOOD!!! Mine does none of the above leh. He sees himself as his son's playmate and sometimes as discplinarian, that's it. The chores are left to mummy and maid... sigh! Hmm, yesterday i was reading MM Lee's Hard Truths, and i think my hubby belongs to the MM Lee's style of fatherhood, instead of like PM Lee who likes to tell people that he can change diapers without poking the baby with the pin!

Thanks ladies, ya....thanks for reminding me to buy the clarins oil for stretchmarks. Sigh hate cellulites too!

I keep having those menstrual like feeling, dunno y.

Starry: I travelled to Germany when I m 5 mths I think. Rem to get alot of pillows from the cabin crews for your back.