(2011/11) Nov 2011

berrypie ha ha, was silly lah... my hubby wanted me to drink enfamama... (he even especially went out to get milo after I told him some of you mix into milo)... and I refused.... ha ha, so we quarrelled over a silly drink.. ;p my hubby becoming naggy! i think these days we have a reversal of roles! now i understand how he feels when i nagged too much... :D

happymum & all,

Will heed ur advise to rest more. gynae close now. call in the evening later. I will be very obedient and rest more.

aabunny, I also had similar experiences! Just tat mine was, I wanted to eat the Chinatown glutinous rice and yesterday I dream twice about eating it in my dream in a day. Dun be angry lah.

aabunny, well, ur hubby dote u lol.. I went angry with him over CL. I told him CL cost about 2k and he say so ex! Can dun want anot and ask me do myself.. Urgh.. i scolded him and say can, if he can be on nite shift every nite. And also if i dun get my health back, u can forget about having a #2. He kept quiet. I won the war! lol

I still duno what i am craving for.. Arh! Sleep.. thats all...

aabunny,dont be angry..ur hb worry abt u..1st time dad too. When my hb accompany me to the gynae, he always very thick-skin, ask for free milk powder sample. The girls at the counter all knows us...so paiseh

ha ha... not angry anymore... we came to a compromise, i have enfamama with milo for breakfast (reduced dosage, half the recommended amount..) did not taste as bad as i thought... in fact quite good, until i reach the bottom where there is some undissolved milk powder...

i think i crave for salty soupy stuffs... or maybe it is the msg i am craving for!!???? i hope not...

ssbaby,

i'm also craving for sleep! didn't catch too many zzz last night because got a little girl woke up at 3.30am to POO! sigh...

really got a lot of power mamas in their 30s here! guess ent29 and i are the youngest ones.

berrypie: I like ur hubby spirit! Lol... Ya.. My upcoming CL has done for many of my frens who are vege (About 10 or more).. I got a $1k one.. who is from Indon. but my cousin who engage her say not good, only know how to take care of her grand children but not others.. Ask me Dun save on that money...

starry: look like having #2 while u have a #1 seems tough.. i might reconsider on having a #2 liao if no one helps me.. opps.

still reading this thread but didn't post so often.....

berrypie,

Wow! You put ur baby at CC when he was 3 months old only? I put mine at 4 month old. Initially he wasn't familiar of the environment and kept crying non-stop. Infant care teachers have to take turns to carry him. Also really heartache to see him so young always fall sick. Only maybe around 10month then his immunity is better.

Thinking of getting a job. Do you think company will still employ pregnant woman? Quite expensive to put at childcare if no subsidy for working mummy.

Simp,

Same here. Maybe finding a helper after I got a job. Only 1 baby here I already find too little time too much work. Now with another baby, every is $$$. Not used to having a maid around. Even have maid dunno where to let her sleep. I rather get childcare & helper.

Most of you here are going to see the gynae so soon. For mine, it seems like the next appointment is almost 1 month's time. Time pass so slowly...

aabunny, if u are in my shoe, i doubt so..i dont take milk powder but he still ask for them..and bargain for more...faintzz..whenever i called the clinic, just tell them the person who ask for milk sample,immediate they know who is it liao...

aababy, cant advise much on CL as i did my own confinement. Everyday, everyday my hb will go over to mil to bring over the food. Lunch and dinner is the same food just reheat..Almost everyday is the same food, abit sick. My hb just feedback why the food always the same and mil cried over this and we gave her 2k excluding food...not gg to ask for her help this time rather pay for catering...

shirley, think not easy. Seldom pple want to employ pregnant ladies, perhaps part-time yes. Anyway no harm trying. There is also subsidy for stay home mum,$150 instead of $300 for CC. Infant care, im not sure abt the rate.

Shirley, my son went to infantcare when he was 3.5 months old. For my case, my boy adapted to IFC very well, no separation anxiety whatsoever, mommy was the only suffering from separation anxiety. Falling sick in he beginning can't be help, I take it as he's building up his own immunity.

berrypie,

Was thinking of calling my ex-boss to ask because previously I was also working part-time. But a bit pai say...... coz last time she really asked me if can negotiate abt the timing, etc. But now preggie and ask to work, I scare she doesn't want me...... haha.... then I have to dig my head to bury in the sand liao.

No really true leh. This new school Carpe Diem actually full day subsidy playgroup only $150. But my son's current one Cherie Hearts full day subsidy is $300 for playgroup. Weird.... I thought the rate is kind of fixed by MCYS. That's y whether I'm working soon is kind of important. Now kind of stuck on which school to choose actually.

berrypie, prob need to tok to ur mil ba.. anyway, good to have someone who can look after the baby and cook for u at the same time.. So i dun mind paying more... take this time to recover my health..

Shirley, u mean infant care is only $300 per month for working mum? i tinking what to do my little after my 4 months maternity leave....

ssbaby, government subsidy for IFC for working moms is $300/month. The fee varies from centre to centre.

shirley, no need to feel paiseh...if your ex-boss realli need staff, he/she will employ u. If not, just take it gracfully..look for another one[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

CC under MCYS should be fixed at $300 subsidy for working mum. Not sure abt ur area but Carp Diam at my area is $300 subsidy. You may want to check MCYS on this.

berrypie, I read somewhere here there's this Natal Essential catering service for confinement food, I see their menu like not bad, full 28 days $15+k, including lunch n dinner. reviews here says its quite tasty. IMHO, $1.5+k is cheaper than ur MIL 2k... hehehe.. But of cos, its still outside food lah. I guess why they can be cheaper is due to bulk purchase of ingredients, instead of ur MIL cooking for "ala carte" style.

http://www.natalessentials.com

ssbaby,

actually not tough right now. i don't know if i can say the same months later when i grow larger in size! my girl usually sleeps throughout the night from 8.30pm till 6am. haven't had her wake up to poo for a very very long time! don't know why suddenly so 'happening'. haha!!

ssbaby, my mil din look after the bb lor, just cook once aday for my lunch and dinner. There is always mil issue, dont want to talk abt it...

berrypie,

there's always the endless mil issue lah. never-ending one... i'd also go crazy if my mil were the one doing my confinement.

berrypie, ya i do agree that.. hope u can resolve on that.. find a better helper now lo..

starry, so good! just let ur girl continue the habit and u wun get disturb at nite.. :p I hope mine will be like ur gal also! :p

ssbaby,

hopefully she will get back to the routine tonight. yours will be easy to care for to if you follow a fixed routine. but this one can slowly figure out after you give birth lah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

berrypie,

Oh yah!!! I think I read the wrong section. Yes.... subsidy for working mum is $300 for Carpe Diem also. Ai yo.... but Cherie Hearts is much more ex.... even further from our home. But next time baby may need to go to their infant care if I work coz cannot tahan taking care of bb whole day 24hours. There isn't a Carpe Diem infant at my side, that's y may looks like have to forfeit my registration fee to stick back to the Cherie Hearts.

Looks like I have to be more thick-skin a bit..... haha. Anyway, maybe discuss with my teacher first. After all, she is quite experienced. She may know how would the boss handle it.

ssbaby,

Government subsidy is $300 for working mum. For non-working mum, subsidy is $150. This only applies to full day child/infant care. Infant care is a lot more expensive than childcare coz very young. You may be prepared to pay around $800+ even after subsidy.

starry, my boy's IFC isn't one of those 'branded' ones like Cherie Hearts etc.

Oops wait a minute, I got my numbers wrong. Subsidy for IFC is $600 and CC is $300 for working moms. For non-working moms subsidy is $150 for both IFC & CC.

Meaning my boy's IFC is actually $1,090 before subsidy. I'm paying $490 after subsidy. When my boy moves to PG at 18months, it will cost me $420 after subsidy.

jmi,

i didn't know IFC can be so cheap. thought all standard 'market rate' at $800-$900 after subsidy. $490 is very good leh. how's the 'service'?

berrypie & Jmi,

Really? What is the name of your infant care? Where is it? I don't know Cherie Hearts is branded..... coz my husband and I went to another IFC 2 years back.... even those HDB downstairs that IFC costs around $600 after subsidy. So, both of us thought IFC charges around that price.

Wah!!! Like that dunno whether should switch to another school. Coz if my infant plus my boy both at Cherie Hearts, it's going to be a killer.

Last time Cherie Hearts charges us around $600 after government subsidy. I think now checking their price, they increased to around $100+~$200+ over the 2 years...

starry, my first choice IFC which is right below my block played me out. Talking about them made me fume. I'm staying in a relatively young estate so there are 4 IFC/CC around me.

The 2nd one wanted my boy's BC for registration. How to have BC when he wasn't even born. So his school is the 3rd one we went, and we were happy with what we saw. He's happy there and we're happy with the teachers there.

His school covers from IFC all the way to K2, so I have a choice of putting him there or taking him out later to other schools later on.

Shirley, I'm staying in SK above Buangkok MRT station, so my boy goes to Junior Schoolhouse which is about 5 blocks away from my home.

I have 4 IFCs/CCs around me.

1. Faith Educare (My original 1st choice that played me out, boycott them. We even complained to Teo Ser Luck at the MTP Session about them.

2. My First Skool by NTUC

3. Junior Schoolhouse

4. Sparkletots

My SIL will be putting her boy in Cherie Hearts in May so she shared the rates with me, after subsidy it's about $800.

berrypie,

Wow!!! Thank you! You have been a great help! This website does show the fees. I don't know that we have been paying so high-end on infant care all the while. May I know when do u start to register ur infant to school?

Coz I wanted to register my son on some childcare around my place, most of them said are all full. So, I wonder if it is a trend that kiasu parents are putting their child on waiting list long before they register.

hi, lately so busy and my gal got high fever so tiring me.

Actually i will put my gal to the carpe diem as well end of the year, coz nearby us..other than that all full already all need in waitlist..

Check with you all mummy, when ur do oscan test?

May i noe i can sigh up the SBI on saturday, they got work on sat?

sodami,

yes, u can sign up on saturday mornings. i remember when i was at TMC for OSCAR last time i saw the application forms there at the counter. got 2 staff there managing the counter. if i'm not wrong, they close at noon on saturdays. i suppose i'll be doing OSCAR during week 12/13.

shirley, if u confirmed u want to send ur child to CC, best register as early as you can. I had booked the CC below my blk a year ago but still on waitlist..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sodami, it msut be vy tiring for u. hope ur girl had recovered.

starry

Yes think after i know im preggy, can feel it a few days later or on and off. I also tgt funny dunno if it is the movement of bb or just the process or my own hunger pangs haha.

CC/IFC

Think i lugi most. When i stopped working, got preggy no ml, no bonus no nothing. If i havn start working now no subsidy for cc/ifc, another lugi. Think once the #2 is out, eventually i will need to work. Dun think can survive on single income. I heard cc/ifc many are full and on long waiting list. This will become my headache once i start working.

Vegetarian

I remember someone is a vegetarian. Can share what are the vegetarian confinement menu/recipes. These days, i eat meat selectively and mainly veg with carbo for health purpose. If there is a veg way of confinement menu, i wd like to know.

berrypie

when my mom did my confinement, also there' issue but eventually i forgotten abt them. Can imagine if it is w mil.

Mil

I realise my relationship with mil was good b4 i had kids. Once #1 came, conflict also started. These days i try to be quiet or if there is a need, i will state my stand. So not easy to be a dil.

pigy

i cannt remember but i believe it is not good for yourself and bb. Maybe would induce labour or cause instability. Especially moms who spot, it is not good to squat and bend at all as bb trying to secure a pl in the womb. I suppose the posture wd be strained and add pressure to your body. I remember a friend told me, preggy moms are the most privilege and everybody has to accommodate all their requests [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] This is a good feeling

berrypie,

But bb still haven't give birth, can still register at infant care?

SODAMI7721,

I'll be doing my OSCAR scan at the end of my 3rd month. That will also be my 2nd appointment with the gynae, hope everything is alright.

Shirley, different IFC/CC has different rules and regulations. Suggest you shortlist those around your area, ring and go take a look at the place, put your name down on waitlist.

I found out about this when we lodged a complained about the IFC that played me out. Teo Ser Luck said that IFCs/CCs are all privately run, so they all have they own rules and regulations, some require BB's BC for registration, some just need you to place 1 month deposit to secure the place.

pigy,

actually life can be back to normal even when pregnant. just don't do strenuous exercises or activities that need you to stand for too long. don't think we have very much chances to squat in our normal routine right? the only time i squat is to pick up something off the floor, which is not often.

sodami, berrypie,

i had issues with my mum and grandma too during confinement but all forgotten. after all they are my closest kin. with mil different story. feel that no matter how hard i try to forgive and forget, i will never really forget entirely, you know?