(2011/11) Nov 2011

leikela,

feeling drugged out the whole time hor? 1st trimester is like our 'hibernating' period. keep wanting to fall asleep. haha!

vt,

my gynae also told me to be very careful, 'cos it's a case of threatened miscarriage. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] trying not to carry my girl so much now but sometimes can't help lah. when's she whining or wants milk, how to not carry her??

I just book my CL! :p Coz i am vegetarian, need book first before she taken. Lucky no need put any deposit. But she charging me $1900 + $100 ang bao. A sixty yr old auntie. Helped many of my vege frens.. so i guess she is good as well.. :p

thanks starry, i will have a look at the website.

VT, we were ttc-ing for 3 years. We went from Western medicine to TCM and back to Western medicine. Last year, by chance, we went to see a urologist and my hubby had a varicole vein operation. I guess the operation did good cause I am pregnant now. I was about to do IVF but since we are Catholics my hubby was against it. During these 3 years, it was a very emotional and trying time for me and hubby, we prayed a lot, got angry with God at times, despair and was ready to give up, finally we decided to leave it to God ... to be honest, I was a lousy Catholic at the beginning, but through this ordeal, my faith was strengthened through this journey even before I knew about my pregnancy...

Starry, as my boy's EDD is within the 15 days of CNY, there was an additional $500 surcharge on top of her usual rate of $2,000. Even though she only arrive 1 day after I was discharged from the hospital (cos she couldn't get bus ticket, I was discharge on the last day of CNY), I still paid her $2,500. This excludes arrival and departure ang pows.

For the additional 2 weeks, it was pro-rated. $2,000/4 (weeks) x 2 = $1,000.

For #2, it will be $2,000 for 4 weeks since it's not within the CNY festive period.

aabunny, I'm a fellow Catholic. God is good and HE will provide. Have faith in him. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning and welcome all new mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re CL:

I am still not sure whether to book now, cos my mum says no need for that as she will help me...but it's like everyone else has been telling me to find one and it sounds like a good CL does take a lot of pressure off.

aabunny

I have been trying for 10years.. Western, Malay, TCM..praying.. you name it I have tried it...

Seeing colleagues' pregnant make me even more jealous & sad...

aabunny and jmi..yeah God will provide..i admit i was a lousy Christian to..until alot of things happen to me over the past 2 yrs brought me closer to him..

sometimes we really take for granted when times are gd..after my past 2 mc in the last 5 mths..i told myself that he wanted to give me a perfect baby n thats why he gave me those mc..coz he was looking out for me..instead of blaming him i should look at the good intention...it will happen in his time..now i just pray every night for him to protect this baby..n let this be his time..

Ladies, u think should go n book now? i veyr kaisu..scared someone book her before me le..but also dont want to overcommit now..although i know should believe la..haizzz...

starry - ya like forever in this sleepy mode..feel like im a lazy pig but i really cant help it...

Leikela

I also had 2 miscarriages before.. cry like mad...agreed with you God wanted to give us a healthy baby :) juz that my turn has not arrive.

hi girls!

wah, today's topic is on CL already! i'm still at "hibernating" mode like starry described! hahahha

my last CL wasnt too good. and still wondering if i should engage one for this round. mum wanted to do for me but she's not gg to stay thru the nite, which is something i really needed. tsk tsk.. how how?

VT, jia you!! my TCM told me before, if the "machine" is ok, then there shouldnt be a problem. ur turn will come soon! i have a fren who's been trying for 5 yrs alrd and still not giving up. i believe, if there's a will, there's gotta be a way!!!! good luck!!

phoenix,

i went without a CL for my girl. this time round also won't get CL. my mum did my confinement for me and i am very happy having her do it for me. if your mum says she will help you and she can cook confinement meals, then i think you are in good hands! what's your concern? is it night feeds and scared not enough sleep? i looked after my girl by myself including all her night feeding. i admit it was tough initially getting only like 4 hrs sleep per day during the first week. 2nd week onwards it got better. and i am glad i looked after her alone. no need for any transition at all since i was 100% hands on.

jmi,

you and hubby were very generous! no wonder the CL worked happily for you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

leikela, aabunny,

sometimes trials and tribulations do bring us closer to our faith and treasure little things more. i wasn't a very staunch christian in the past till i went thru a particularly challenging period several years back then i realize that it is really important to have a faith to hang on to.

ssbaby,

i went to try the vegetarian bak kut teh and kway chap already. very nice! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bleh - ur last CL stayed the night..i dunno if i want the CL to stay..hmm its a privacy ting but i suppose in that 1 mth will prob need so much help..tt i wldnt care abt privacy..

if u haf ur mum or CL stay the night..will ur baby slp with u or w ur mum/CL?

VT - your time will come..just have faith [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry & desertmoon, thanks!!! ;o)

Starry, my gynae said same thing. Even handbag, must be light. For your case, I understand more difficult cos your girl still bb, how not to carry rite? Everything will turn out well.

VT, my gynae also said once spot, must go back cannot take it lightly.

VT, i know its very tough physically & mentally, dun give up, am sure good news will come soon ;o) my colleague's wife did IVF for few yrs and successfully delivered a boy. 2 yrs later, second boy comes naturally. Both in pri sch now.

Jia you!!!

bleh,

go hibernate if you can afford it! i badly want to but gotta work. very sian. back aching also.. hey, why not challenge yourself to do all the night shifts this time round? then can save the $2000 odd to buy other baby stuffs. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just wanna share something funny abt CLs since we are on it... one of my friends' CL seemed very prim and proper the first few days. suddenly one morning my friend saw the auntie walking ard the house without a bra!! her 'papayas' swaying back and forth under her aunty-ish shirts lor. my friend asked her why don't wear bra and she said "weather very hot". wahahaha!! in the end kena scolded and forced to wear back her bra. lol!

Starry: ya, some CL also insist on expressing only. That's why imp to find one that meets yr basic expectation. Wow, envy u, I wished my mum knows how to do confinement. But she's working plus no clue at all abt it,

VT: thanks for recommending, but I am kinda "aiming" my friend's CL. Hehehe!

Happymum: do rest well k. Don't worry too much, I have friends who spot all the way. Be positive and shall be fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ladies, I realized most of u are 2nd time mum?? My boy will be going 18 mths soon. I am still thinking whether to send him to childcare. Any input on this?

Hmmnn, when can we transfer our child to a normal bed huh? My boy still using his cot so I am thinking where my #2 sleeps. Sian, all rooms soooooo small!!!

leikela, my mum's cmg close to 60 and i think it'll be tiring for her to do the night shift for me. furthermore, i wouldnt bear to let her do all the cleaning on my behalf as well. at the same time, i really do wanna rest very well for the first month to recuperate. i have a 3yo boy to take care of at the same time. thus, my confusions and worries. last time, bb slept with CL and she'll bring him over for feeds only. she cooked and cleaned for me and hubby.

starry, yes i go "hibernate" mode after lunch. hahahah... i agree with saving the $2000+ for tonics and stuff for bb. that's y i m still contemplating. still weighing out the pros n cons of getting CL or mummy to do it.

Thanks Ladies for all the well wishes!!

Its has been nice talking to you.. will pop-in when I am available.

Will continue to perservance..

If you need any 'Confinement Herbs' list, feel free to drop me a private mail as its has been prepared by my MIL.

It will be cheaper if you purchase from the Waterloo St. (opp the Guanyin temple, above the hawker centre) if you buy in bulk.

The items there are fresher also...(dun be mistaken, i dun get commission from them)

One of the MTBs whom my MIL did confinement for also mentioned that they do free delivery also.. guess must be certained amt spend..

In the meantime, enjoy your motherhood.

but if u really wanna rest n recuperate then tink no choice to spend the 2000+...some emotional and psychological rest n sanity..cannot be replenish by tonics...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

awbb,

my mum is a great cook and she loves being in the kitchen so it's very apt that she helped me with confinement. i remember she was busy from morning to evening making mee sua for my breakfast, fish soups or something light for tea-time, sesame chicken etc. for lunch then other yummy stuff for dinner! since your mum is working then cannot expect her to help.

who is looking after your boy now? i am going to register my girl for childcare too. don't think my mum can handle 2 kids leh. when i go back to work after this ML, my girl will be 14mths old younger one will be ard 4mths old. how to handle? unless my girl really guai and 'fuss-free'.

Starry: talking abt those confinement food make me drool lol! I'm taking care of my boy, have a helper to cook n clean so still ok. How old is your gal now?? My boy super active now, dun even knw I can keep up when my tummy showing .

Starry,

I am just a bit worried that my mum may have lost touch with handling babies, but I guess things will get sorted out by the time we come to it..thanks for your advice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Awbb, thanks!

I let my boy sleep on mattress when he turned 6+ mths, I bought the seahorse type which is thicker. Then at 18mths, he slept on his own in his room, still on mattress. I only let him sleep on bed when he is 5yrs old as he tends to toss & turn alot. As for childcare, it din work well for my boy, he went at 2 yrs old but ended up falling sick every week and hospitalized twice. So we gave up. But for my friends, their kids cope very well at childcare, some even started from infant care.

On cl, I also think own mum's help is the best. My mum helped me with #1 but I will be the one waking up at night to bf and handle bb so as not to wear my mum out. Cos it's really very siong. For my #2, I engaged a cl, my friend's aunt cos my mum had to help my SIL. That cl not good then I changed another one halfway in my confinement, 2nd one very very good! She was a great help but too bad lost her contact ;o(

I think good cl is really a luxury but cost is not cheap. Charges excl our confinement food etc. I have friends who got maid to help then cater confinement tingkat, works out well too but provided maid knows how to handle bb.

Was told natal essential is a good caterer for confinement food. I tried their dinner service now called mom's cooking, very good. 2 of my friends catered their confinement food, said thumbs up too. Only prob is food needs to be heated up at times cos delivery time quite early.

In my case, my DH wants to get a CL. Reason was also my mom doesn't stay near and she has her own home, my dad, my bro and dog to look after and plus she works. Plus being a new mom back then, we wanna avoid any frustration and don't want to tire my mom out. Cooking, washing, feeding in the day and night isn't easy. My CL dutifully brought my boy to me for his feeds every 2 hours.

Besides, paying a person to get things done makes things easier and will definitely have no qualms telling her what is right/wrong etc.

My mom just has the luxury of visiting her grandson every now and then. It's much easier for all of us.

Of course, different person has different needs. So whether to hire a CL is entirely a personal choice.

bleh,

by the time you give birth your boy will be close to 4yr old?? then should be quite independent and you can focus on your new baby then. $2000 really a lot of money. if can cope on your own with your mum's help then can really save it.

awbb,

i miss the sesame chicken! really very very nice. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my girl is 5mths old now. also very active. needs a lot of entertainment.

phoenix,

my mum also a bit lost touch when i had my girl, but we quickly adapted within a few days. the first 2-3 days back home was very chaotic! and all over a baby lor.

Starrymommy

Thanks for all the info & tips on CL. =)

Desertmoon

I ordered my food from Natal Essentials. Their food not bad & big portions but their pricing on the high side. Can check out their webby. Would highly recommend them. =)

Mi suddenly having spotting & cramps. Tink gonna walk down to women clinic & check if my dr around anot. =(

j&k,

no worries, glad to share. hope your spotting is nothing to worry about. if ur doc is not ard, go see another one and have a check today.

Wow, thread is moving so fast!!! Btw, have your mother told u not to put anything on the bed or fold clothes on the bed so as not to affect baby? She brought young baby girl clothes (wore by my niece) and asked me to put on my bed to hope for a baby girl. Anyone has heard of this before? Everytime I bathed & dressed up my son, I use my bed as a changing area. I only scared that dunno whether this will affect my baby as my mum said this myth is true.

Normally husband's side is mostly boys, then chances of getting boy is more likely. If husband's side is mostly girl, then there are higher chances of getting a girl.

Hi VT,

I have been TTC for around 5~6yrs before giving birth. Went to Tong Chai for a year, then last attempt went to IVF. IVF is a terribly painful process. I even counted how many jabs I inject myself.... total 38 jabs!!! How I reacted to the jab is that there is one time I vomited 3 times a day. Vomited so badly that my face shape became so thin. Luckily the doctor gave a super powerful and expensive medication that after eaten half the pill, I'm ok again.

After the whole IVF, my period starts and I was very very upset. Around 1~2 months later, I'm able to conceive naturally. There are also cases whereby failed IVF may also get u preggie eventually according to one of the nurses that I talked to last time. So, keep trying.

yes, engaging CL is definitely a personal choice. so i'm still thinking. hahaha

starry, by the time i pop, my boy's ard 3.5yrs old. he's quite sticky but generally he's ok. like leikela said, some times the money saved may not mean i get to rest like i wanted to. aiya, i just cant decide. hahahhaa

today's ms is slightly better and i succumbed to long-time craved-for beef noodles and mcflurry after that. yums!

u girls have a good lunch!

Shirley,

Nv heard of that myth before le.

Bleh,

3.5yo shld be fine le. No need so much attention. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies, hope everyone is doing well...Still so restless, my boy had been sticky and cranky lately..had to carry him most of the time,cant hv a good rest..last nite when my hb pat him to sleep, he was calling mei..mei..so funny,my hb thot i teach him that cos i wanted a ger this time..

Happymum: I can't put my son on a mattress cos he will wander around and not sleep, he is sleeping alone now. That's my main worry about chilcare, I am afraid he will fall sick easily.imagine, a baby with a sick toddler, I think I can bang wall.

Yes, CL not cheap. Plus the $$ for food. Sigh! Think I better save up now.

Starry: wow!! 5 mths old n u are preggy! So nice!!

starry, my boy is like a girl (he agrees with this himself). v sai nai and whiney one. yes, i agree no need so much attention, but he wants the attention! hahaha... buay tahan him. maybe becos i'm v hands-on and took care of him myself largely during his 1st yr. idk. but in any case, to make my life easier, he's gotta learn to be kor-kor now.

shirley, i oso never heard of that myth leh. i only heard of avoiding doing any cutting or sewing on your bed while u are preggie.

AW, bb will definitely fall sick at CC, my bb was at infant cnild care since 3 mth old. He had been falling sick every mth, we had spent alot on his medical bill including his surgery but we think it's good to build up his immunity lor..thou heart pain when u see ur bb sick.

aiyoh, my work productivity super low... so sleepy, back and shoulder aching, and feel so bloated, keep wanting to burp... feels like there is a bubble in my throat all the time, waiting to explode to surface....

Thanks berrypie!

Actually, I'm quite worry because i went to see gynae on the 19th Mar as I had light spotting since 14th Mar (due for menses). I tot my menses came n my plan for #2 failed again as i've tried for abt 4mths. However, the spotting last for 4days so i tried to test if im preggie. I use the cheap cheap test stick n it showed a very very faint line...i get advise from my friends they ask me to see gynae. So i visited gynae on 19th Mar.

The nurse did not do a urine test for preg for me as i told them i've tested twice at home with a very faint line. THen my doc do a scan but cant see anything..she gave me some hormone pills to stop the spotting, ask me don walk too much, don do housechores n don carry my boy. She say just hope for the best so i think my preg is not confirmed yet. She schedule next appointment on next tues to check again.

Now no more spotting n yesterday i bought the clear blue digital preg test n this morning tested as pregnant 2-3weeks. so can i confirmed that i'm pregnant?

Hi Jo,

Should be confirmed as i know clear blue preg test kit is very acurrate.next tue should able to see the sac..no spotting is good.

OOOO..Goodness me...this thread's on SPeed plane!!

Jo's mummy...I was asking same question to everyone as well...I use the kit twice the second one using the digital one also 2-3 weeks..HB says I am stupid waste so much money testing same thing...but somehow not very sure if its reliable or not ma...

awbb,

i conceived again when my girl was not even 4mths old yet. hubby and i were super shocked but happy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] think days ahead will be tough with 2 young kiddos, but i'm sure we will know what to do when the time comes. in fact, it was also an unplanned pregnancy with my girl. we conceived her during our honeymoon! so i was telling hubby after this baby we really have to be very careful and do proper family planning le.

bleh,

he is still young so sai-nai a bit nvm lah. when older and go to school, then gotta teach him to speak properly and no whining. i plan to do this to my girl also. cannot stand whining kids. especially those 5-6yo already and still whining, throwing tantrums etc.

jo,

congrats! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you are indeed pregnant. no matter how faint the line as long as got line means pregnant. maybe too early so can't see anything during scan. i only saw a tiny sac with the v-scan during 5weeks.

hi jo, welcome!

starry, i correct him immed when he starts to whine. i hate the whining too. makes my blood boil... esp when he can express himself thru words already. whining kids are generally v spoilt n pampered kids, i think la. he's utterly spoilt by the grandparents.

Congrats Jo!!!

I am also taking hormone pills due to spotting. Do make sure u dun carry heavy things and try to rest as much.

Berrypie, maybe your boy has a hunch that he is having a mei mei? ;o)

Shirley, me too, not heard of the myth. Only know cannot cut or sew when on bed and no painting also.

Aabunny, I always feel that way from late afternoon till evening, like something stuck inside throat.

Awbb, that time when i was doing my #2 confinement, my boy was hospitalized, very tough. Family support very impt. Luckily, my family helped out and the cl was also very good.

tell me about whining. My 13 month boy has been whining. And I always blame my DH, cos he's a whiner too!

jmi, ur hubby whines to get ur attention is it?? hahahha then the son and hubby whine together to fight for attention...