(2011/11) Nov 2011

Hi fion, may I know what kind of Chinese medicine we need to prepare for confinement ? For bathing or cooking? My CL did not tell me anything to buy leh. Maybe I need to call her n ask.

Weekend is always so short. Sigh... My flu n sore throat has gone for one week but these two days it seems the sore throat is back again. Cannot eat those food is bad for throat ... Sad. Any fast solution to cure it without taking medicine / seeing doctor?

Little bb: My gynae also told me will have to check the cervix for my next appt, think is to check any infection.

SHJEAN:My sis bought 30pkts of the herbs from chinese med hall for my confinement,jus hav to cook with meat n drink everyday.It is to pu our body organs and cost around 300 plus.

Its the weekdays again and im so blue and sleepy and tired.. Woke up middle of last night with sore throat and headache.. Sigh...

Over the weekends, I experienced stomach pain.. Not too sure if its contractions like you ladies mentioned but the pain is like food poisoning.. Lasted for abou 5mins and stopped.. Any idea what is that?

Hi! Rebeana.... i also experienced stomach pain in the early morning... lasted for few seconds... then stopped... i also not sure wht exactly it is... i slept for some time and then woke up and did work...

hi all!!! I found a website selling strollers very cheap!!!

I just enquired for the combi urban walker.. Though the pricing on the website is same as in the market. but when u email the person and ask, he gave me a price which is $69 cheaper than market price... hehe!! juz wanna share!

Anyway, I'm so bored at home... everyday I will take out those things that I had bought for baby and repack again.. haha!! juz to pass time... feel so crazy... haha!!!

Fynn,

There is a time, I have packed and laundry my gals stuff/clothes, will keep on check and see whether anything has been missed out. My hubby always laugh at me... Think it is nature of a mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]~

We just enjoy the time for preparing the stuff for our kids..

Dun know what happen today my bb din move .. Call KKH and they ask me to come down to see the heart beat .. Then the playful bb got strong heart beat but din move .. Then nurses say shake only a bit movement .. Dun know what wrong with her today .. Make me so worry abt her ..

Hope everyone is feeling good today! Just to check, issit ok to go for dental appt (simple scaling and polishing) at this stage? I'm 31 weeks now.

Gums have been bleeding while brushing, thought if I don't go down soon, will not be able to go to the dentist for a long time esp when baby is born =P yikes....

cyn,

I heard from my colleague better dun go to dentist while we are preggy woh. So far, when I have bleeding, I just try to brush carefully.But I think you may able to check with your gynae whether alright to do a dental check.

Kiamkiam,

What did the gynae or doc say as bb with strong hb but less movement, did they advise any other things for you?

Got a scare just now.. Had some spotting just now. Call gynae and the nurse asked if I had stomach pain which I said yes and she asked me to go down immediately. Said could be early delivery. Scare me.

Luckily after the test and all, nothing serious. Gynae also cannot explain what went wrong but gave me 3days mc and ask me to rest.

I also have gum bleeding!! I read from magazine n it says it is quite common for pregnant ladies... HAha!! I also dunno can go dentist or not... So, let it bleed lo... I so scared my teeth will drop... Haha!!!

hi mummies, i had bleeding gums too and finally buay tahan went to dentist - after gum treatment (coz bleeding is caused by gum disease), now totally no more bleeding! yeay! best decision ever man... just let the dentist know ya preggers and they will take extra care of you. can go, no need to worry :D dont put up with it!

julia

can i check where did ur sis purchase herbs from for my confinement? i din kw got premix cos it seems easier than i try to fig out what to put

SHJEAN

me oni buy some longan, wolfberry and hong zao. din realise thats a small branch and they don sell much. wld also be getting e da feng cao for bathing. u have CL shld not worry to much as they wld normally tell u what to get. am not enagaing CL but gona depend on a new maid..

gum bleeding

read in bk preggy lose calcium to bb for bone building, hence our tooth shows sign of lose of calcium.. in fact i think we lose more than calcium, beauty, dry hair, hair drop, pain and whats more.. mummy really went thru a lot for darling bb ahh

Yesterday i experience stomach cramp as well,its like stomachache.Lasted for about 30mins.

I just had my first coconut juice today..My gynae said its fine to take and its very good so dont worry can just take in the 3rd tri.

Went swimming yesterday,cant swim so much like before.I tried not to use too much strength so i swam slowly.Had a good time.

Thanks for your information on Chinese medicine. I will call my CL to find out n share with u all.

Gum bleeding

I had this problem n sore / sensitive teeth in my 2nd tri. I did not see dentist n I used colgate sensitive toothpaste n mouthwash instead. And it works on me. After it got better I used dental floss every night to remove all the dirt. If your bleeding is not so serious maybe can try this. If it is really cannot be cure maybe should ask your doc first before seeing dentist.

Cervix checking

I have done this last week at my 33 weeks. And yes it's to check if there is any infection. If yes will do treatment. I think maybe I will have coz got discharge since pregnancy.

Stomach pain feeling

Sometimes I will have the feeling also but only lasts for a short while. I also Duno why

Fion: My sis bought from one of the chinese med hall in jurong, not too sure of the name but will ask her again. Think there are some chinese med hall also sell those herb mayb u can ask around.

Rebeana,

Dat is so scary! Seems like many mummies having stomach pains and aches, pls take care!!

Fynn,

Haha you very funny leh.... Teeth won't all drop off ah....

I've been pretty diligent in my dental health all along, but still gums bleeding leh. Called up my gynae, he said it is still ok now to go for dental checkup. So finally made an appt for next week. Yeah, mummies will experience calcium loss, iron loss to baby, so important to drink lots of milk, fruits and vegetables and maintain healthy diet to replenish!

Talking about hair loss, will be cutting my long hair short soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Scared all my hair will drop off after delivery.... Sadness, took me almost 2 yrs to grow till this length...

Shjean,

Oh no, I have discharge all these while... next week then going for my checkup, gynae didn't say anything about checking the cervix yet. Hopefully no infection!

Hi cyn

Dun worry . I just guess only. I have not received doctor call yet. No news means good news. Hopefully no infection. My doc did not inform me before checking . Think too them it's just a small test.

Hi Ladies ,

I've the following Preloved items for sale.

1) Babysafe sling (dark blue colour) $40

2) Munchkin Voice Activated Crib Light $25

***Info on Munchkin Voice Activated Crib Light

Now the light of your life has a better way to be lulled back to sleep. Soothing womb sounds and 3 colored lights cycle on for 10 minutes the moment it hears your baby cry. They're the perfect combination to ease your baby into slumberland - which means you can get back to sleep, too.. And the lights are just the right brightness for nighttime checking or diaper changing. We call it a crib light - but you'll call it a small miracle.

Features:

Voice activated or manually controlled light and sounds

Babies love the actual recorded womb s

3) Supreme Snuggle Nest (Brand New) $85

More info on Supreme Snuggle Nest by Baby Delight.

"The Snuggle Nest® is a portable infant sleeper designed to offer baby more comfort and stability in the adult bed. Sturdy, vented, support walls enclose baby, providing closeness and a sense of security. Baby’s comfort is taken to the next level with two options for soothing sound: Brahm’s Lullaby and Womb Sound by Pediasleep.com®. A soft LED nightlight enables easy checks throughout the night and a new Comfort Mesh Liner™ provides a more comfortable surface for baby. Great for co-sleeping, napping, travel, and also as a changing area and for moms with C-Sections and preemies. Lightweight and compact for trave

Self collection in Sengkang MRT.

Please PM me. Thanks

hi mummies, the pain you are feeling ard belly is likely the braxton hicks contractions... they are harmless, just sore. i dont have it yet but been reading up. gynae did swab test for me during 28 weeks (usually done 28-30 wks) to test for bacteria which cld be harmful to baby during natural birth. the test is early so doc can prescribe antibiotics to kill off bacteria ahead of time. it was so awkward coz i wasnt mentally prepared, but heng ah, test result negative :p is this same as cervix test?

Hi zanissa, I think the test you mentioned is the one we did. I hope my result is negative also.

Good night mummies!!

Btw, we have decided to donate the cord blood to Scbb. Today they just called me to do the telephone screening n will meet them during my next checkup to sigh the form. We feel it is more meaningful to donate as it might help those people in need.

I did not had any tests so far and i am in my week 33..I had discharge and itch on and off,my gynae will just prescribe the pills for me to insert and thats all.So when will i be doing the test and to check the cervix?

Hi little bb, my gynae did the test for meat week 33. Maybe you want to ask? Think it's a very minor thing to them n different gynae did at different timing.

I'm selling my Graco infant seat cheap [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Fits infants and babies up to 6 months.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/6084522.html?1317078141

It's a comfy bb seat that can b converted into a rocker, and fit into a Graco pram if you want bb facing you while going for walks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pls PM me if interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zanissa,

I have write to SBCC and see how they reply me, later update you should there is any. The other time I also donate the cord blood, but there is a lady directly arrange with me when I have my regular appointment in SGH.

This time round nobody approach me, so write in and check with them how to make the arrangement.

Hmmm.. My gynae didn't do any test for me... =(

Waiting... haha!!

KEep having discharge... I dun like!! Use alot of pantyliners...

stemcord,

we have signed up for stemcord last weekend. find them better than cordlife. cordlife abit too commercialised n seems to want to encourage u to keep for 21yrs which sometimes may not be really useful. stemcord only recommend 5-6 years first and review again as the amount of stemcells collected n stored may not be enough to treat the weight of the patient if really in need.Just as an insurance for the first few years of the bb. We hope we never use it.

Fynn,

just as i guessed. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] no wonder sound weird. hee.. so you are all readily packed for your bb? i dont know how to start unpacking. all the things i bought and pass to me are stack ontop each other..sigh. no storage shelves for me to unpack to yet. waiting for my drawer delivery this weekend.

Braxton hicks,

I woke up last night to a painful cramp for few mins then i felt my bb moving alot..she must have been kicking quite hard thats why got cramp. i hate sitting on buses that jerk and vibrate alot as it made my stomach cramp up also.

bedroom slippers,

anyone know where to get nice one that is not slippery? i got a cheap one frm CK but smell like insecticide even after washing few times. i dont tink i want to wear that already duno what chemical went into it.

twink, I didn't get any cupboard or drawer for my bb.. hehe! I just shift some of my things away and left a small corner for my bb..I haven't start washing those things yet.. So, same as you, they are stacked one over another.. hahahahaha!! Now quite lost.. dunno what to do.. Pack the bag to bring to hospital sounds abit early for me.. Cuz EDD is end of Nov..

On MC for 3 days starting yesterday and Im enjoying it! hahaha.. Due to the scar yesterday, I will start packing my bag and baby's stuff this Sat..

Previously I was given a nice bedroom slippers but I gave it to my friend coz I don't wear.. So sad to know that I actually have to wear during my confinement and now I have to get new ones.. hehe..

So far, have bought quite a few pcs of clothes but mainly for 6 months and above thinking that baby grow very fast.. Now than I realised I haven bot a single pc of clothing for baby before 6 months.. All the passed down clothes are simple wear at home clothes.. Think need to start looking ard for a few nice clothes for her to wear when she goes out..

Felixp

My collaegue is a mother of 3.. I jus join this co not long but no one tell her that i was preggy so she very angry with the boss.. If i go ML on the busy week she confirm make noise lor

Maternity pad.

I buy 2 packet at the stemcord seminar on sat ...

post natal masseage

i buy 1 trial at $38 during the seminar , if it gd i tk the package of 7 sessions..

ssbaby (ssbaby)

i having seeing horror movies during preggy. my hubby say to build up gal gal courage... lolx

i feeling my stomach stretch to the max already.. my stretch marks is all over my stomach.. i wan to cry le but i think it is worth it for my baby .

My nursery room had completed,now slowly unpack the stuffs and put into his wardrobe.Bb clothing will start to wash.The last big item that i still havent buy is Quinny bassinet.Think will have to buy another nursery bra,bb shampoo,dry shampoo and that will be complete.Now considering what insurance policy to buy for him & will buy straight after giving birth.Really looking forward for the arrival.

Discharge

I am having discharge & itch every now and then so every 3weeks i will insert the pills to stop it but it only last for a week or more and the discharge abd itch will come bk.So irritating and the 1day therapy pills cost $20,sometimes gynae prescribe me a 6day gel pills cost $40.Recently the itch come bk again but nt much discharge only feel wet like having watering discharge.haiz..

Little bb

So nice got nursery room! Mine is nursery corner lor, just bought a chest of drawers to put all the washed baby clothes and stuff. Haiz, still 2 more years before we can move to a bigger place and my baby can have a room of her own...

Stretch marks!

All over my butt [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] And my thunder thighs, full of cellulite now... sianz.... Grrr everything for our baby.....

Bedroom slippers... just gonna use those i took from hotel rooms during holidays LOL. There was one I got from Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong very good quality! So cheapo here dun need to buy!

Hi Esther, oic... Your boss is very good to still offer you the job. Same thing here, i oso transferred to another dept when I was 4 mths preggie and the boss leave it to me to tell my colleagues myself... I told them the on the 2nd week and although most of them are unmarried (and cant relate to my situation), they have been very helpful and didnt complain (at least not infront of me!) that they need to cover me during my ML... Anyway, I hope ur bb be guai and only pop after u have completed all your work !!

Little Bb, another few more weeks to endure! jia you =pp

Yes, Cyn, i am quite depressed seeing my thunder tights and big fat butts!! Haizz.. I already gained 11 kg and i hope by the end of it all my weight gain will not exceed 15 kg =pp another 7 weeks to go for me. Btw, my gynae commented that my bb should come out early and not late =pp i hope can see her by 38 weeks onwards =pp

Iam also gg to use those slippers i took from hotel rooms...

hi mommies

I have an extra brand new (in box) tube of Elancyl Stretch marks Prevention Cream (150ml, expiry dated Jan 2015), bought from Guardian Pharmacy, would like to let go at S$30. Retail price is S$47.30. Self collection in the west/central area. If keen, please PM me. Thanks very much!

Regards.

Felixp,

I hope the bb pop out on 11/11/11 .. My EDD is 18/11/11.. lolz... I onli can close my acc latest by 14/11.. but i wish to tk 1 week early.. my boss wont say anything, is my colleague who make noise.. haiz..

by the way ... mummies u all buy extra bedding or jus buy the extra cover onli ??

stretch marks - get ya free sample of Mustela cream at http://www.babysafe.sg/pregnant.php

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i just received mine.

evelyn - thanks much! what u r doing is v meaningful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fynn - i wld hv preferred not to do the swab culture test! it was so embaressing :p

we inherited a bag of baby clothes which are 3-6mths, so we just bot a 10-pc set for newborn from mothercare - got hat, booties, bib, sleepsuits and rompers, shd suffice for first weeks. haha! good to wash early then just keep one side standby!

Hi mums, haven't posted here in awhile and seeing alot of new faces too..I suppose most of you would have bought lotsa bb clothes alrdy or have hand me dwns but just saw Rebeana's post on needing some pre 6M clothes ;)

So just wanna share a link if you ladies are interested to get stuff yah...

https://picasaweb.google.com/116573977670613870697

Can PM me or email [email protected] if you have enquries or want to place an order. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi moms,

I hv a few items for sale/give away. Please sms me at 91558725 if you are interested.

1) medela swing breast pump bought 14/8/2011 (warranty till aug 2012), selling at $250. Used barely a mth as i hv not enough milk supply.

2) my breastfriend pillow $40 (almost new, used a few times only as boy is a premature and refuse to latch on)

3) medela washable breast pads, very new and good condition $10

4) 2x 3ml avent nipple cream samples FOC

5) 30ml palmer's nipple cream FOC

I also lots of cellulite around my thighs,butt.My tummy got red stretch marks at the lower tummy and a dark line from the belly button to the way down.Unsightly! Wonder all this will be gone after afew months?I had gained about 12kg so far,i do hope not exceed 15kg too.Normally after giving birth we will lose how many weight?

Esther-What beddings you refering?

zanissa-Thank you for sharing with us the free sample of Mustela cream.Currently I am using their stretch mark cream.

I also have alot of stretch marks!!! Become dark red colour liao... Both on my left and right of my belly button.. hahaha!! I keep saying that my tummy looks as if it is going to explode... Stretch to max liao.. haha!!

Esther, I bought from Ikea the bed sheet for baby.. It comes in a pack of 2 at $12.

Mummies, talking about stretch mark. I recently discovered i got red colour stretch mark also. Not sure if later on will disappear or not. I have been using Palmer 's cocoa butter since 1st tri.

Some of my friends said they have dark spot on face during pregnancy or after delivery. It really sounds scary. For me so far I discovered I got more moles on my body n face. Sounds funny ! I even got one on my last finger now.

Ikea bed sheet

I got one pack also I think it should be cheap n good. Got blue n white colour.

Malay massage

Anyone here will use Malay massage? Any advantage / disadvantage ? Some people now engage spa type massage also. Which one is gd? When can we start the massage if going for natural?

Shjean-I did engaged malay massage during comnfinment.It helps to get rid of water rentation in our body,tone and slim the body.I think about a week after natural delivery you can start massage,my friend start on day 5.As for csection,can start after 2 weeks.

My house here suddenly so windy,huge wind instead and sounds like typhoon.I rushed to close all the windows,the wind can blow someone away.Its scaring to hear the sound and i am alone at home.

little bb

my house here oso suddenly had big wind, howling sounds... my bedroom door suddenly slammed.. i got scared too, lol. are u living in punggol area?? =)

little bb

i mean normally u all buy additional pillow case/bloster etc or jus onli buy the cover to replace it??

i read fr book that the dark line down to the belly is normal. all preggy mummies will have it n it will disappear slowly after delivery

so far i fain to 12kg + .. everyday i look at the mirror , i will OMG , i putting on so much weight n the stretch marks is horrible ...i am using palmer cream , but it seems no use...

actually cream or oil is better???

vis

i going move to pungol in 2014.. now staying at in law hse..

massage

I did engage a Malay lady to do for me after my first delivery. She came to my house every week for about 7 weeks. Very good. Got rid of wind and I did slim down. But my slimming down was also due to the breastfeeding of my twins.

Dark line

Yes, it's normal. It will go away after the pregnancy. I had a faint one for my first but this round dun have.

Having really bad backaches. Anyone also experience this? It can be so bad that I can even move. This is especially so in the morning after resting.

Thanks for all your information about the massage. Think I will go ahead to book the Malay massage also.

Weight gain

Mummies, i have put on about 16 kgs. So 10 kg plus is very common. Think about me, you will feel better. haha. And I think my weight gain all concentrate on lower body. I will think all the previous pants, jeans,skirts I will not be able to fit any more. Anyway, as long as our babies are healthy, do not think about these things first.

Palmer cream,

I personally prefer the organic type and it is sth like lotion. I like the smell[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]