(2011/11) Nov 2011

Dear all, thanks for your information about detail scan.hehe. I am looking forward to it but so sad my hubby will be on biz trip and unable to adjust the date now.

And I also got those white/yellow discharge nowadays. I do not dare to use those liner and I just J&J baby shower foam to wash.

Anyone knows when is the Taka baby fair? Anyone has started buying for baby stuffs? We were a bit panic when some of my friends who will deliver in Oct has started the shopping.

Shjean-i think there is a baby fare at Expo this weekend,i heard it from my friends but dunno is it true.I went to the taka fare before,i find it difficult to shop as too many people,not much variety and the cashier very long queue.Im a first time mum,i almost bot all the baby stuffs for my newborn.Bot alot from motherhood baby fare afew weeks ago.My gf a oct mum had also got ready all her baby stuffs.

Hi Shjean,

Welcome and Congrats [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I tink Taka fair shld be ard Aug but there is a bb coming this weekened at expo. You may want to checkout...i assumed you are a 1st time mum, you may want to write down a shopping list on what are the items you need b4 purchasing...

Btw, where had all the mummies gone? FB?[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Me..still prefer here to chat

berrypie, all in fb i guess [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

oh... my babyplus + 2 CD cost me $46 shipping charges from vpost [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif]

janice, heard babyplus is good but i din get it..juz let my bb listen to some CDs instead..

Hope ur bb will enjoy it...

R u gg to expo this weekend?

berrypie, ya i heard it's good so i bought it, still waiting for it to arrive. CD too waiting for it to arrive.

Not going expo cos hubby doesn't allow me to go crowded place and i'm not suppose to walk too much and stand too long too. Am told not to buy any baby stuff until delivery (pantang thingy) so i didn't go and see in case tempted to buy anything.

Little bb and berry pie , thanks for your useful information! Yes I am first time mum. I got one shopping list from my relative. Maybe I should post the list here so you can help me to check [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi nov mummies,

can I join the fb page too? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I've submitted a request but nv get any reply then nw cannot find the page le..

Hi Shjean,you can post it down here..there are afew 1st time mummies here too...we can discuss and use it as a reference.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

berrypie, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yep yep. i only go one place to buy what i want and go. no chance for shopping [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Shjean, yes yes, cos i'm also 1st time mummy and dunno what to prepare at all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mommies! i'm here! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] been busy busy at work and with my little girl. really naughty girl.. sigh.. hubby and i wondering how to cope with 1 toddler + 1 newborn next time.

shjean,

better use liners for the discharge and don't use any soap to wash 'cos the soap may irritate the sensitive area. most mummies use those scentless liners which are thicker and slightly longer to contain the discharge. i've been using for years! cannot live without my liners. :p kotex recently launched a range of very pretty liners with designs. haha! i like them! nice and thick enough!

re: baby stuffs

what have you bought so far? no need to be too kancheong and rush out to buy. wait for good deals to come along. the rest just get the basic items like for bathing, a few simple button/kimono style tops + swaddles and bottoms for baby for the initial couple of months, NB/S size diapers, a box of breastpads, some milk bags, standby tin of infant formula etc. the rest like larger sized clothes can slowly buy when baby comes. 'cos friends and relatives will buy a lot for your baby too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry, ya me too cannot live without my liners. i wanted to try not to wear but juz can't. i'm using carefree breathable unscented. not bad [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry, i see. i like cos it's thin :p individual preference hehe... huh washable? the reason why we use panty liner is not to mess up the panty so it's easier to wash now still need to wash the pad, indeed very weird :p

janice,

usually i shop online, i find it's cheaper to shop online but depending what items are you buy.

It is best to have a shopping list with u cos for me i tent to forget things easy nowadays(i use to hv very good memory). Im a second time mum so there not much for me, perhaps repenish some milk bottles, milk bags, diaper or bb shampoo..

Starry, welcome back! same here, i dont want to do with my 2 kids...my hb will be working all the time incl weekend,i will be stucked with 2 kids, hope they dont drive me nuts....

Better enjoy my freedom now, taking half day to go Zara sale later..hee..hee..

berrypie, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] will start to look out maybe later then will not be too tempted to buy anything. Will buy those basic 1st. Me too getting very very forgetful, after delivery will be worst? I also keep dropping things nowadays dunno why...

janice,i don't use panty liner cos it make me feel more itchy. i use eve wash and bout alot of cotton undies/disposal undies to change daily or twice,i will place tissue paper (change everytime when i in the toilet) instead of panty liner if i had more discharge..personally find it more hygience.

Janice,no hurry. Get your basic first..for me i prefer to get my list done before 3rd trimester cos dont realli want to shop as the tummy is bigger esp gg to crowded places...

berrypie, okie i'll check it out thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] those baby stuff i can only look see look see now then prepare a list for my hubby to go and buy when i deliver.

wow, ur hb v good..im the one bout all the bb stuff, even if i give my hb the list he may not know what is it and will anyhow buy w/o comparing the price...so still prefer to buy myself...

twink, i hv the cloth napkin but never use. If u engage a CL perhaps it better to use cos save cost. i still prefer the diaper thou. Just bout 2 pk of Goon NB diaper at motherhood fair, most of the time i use huggies.

Saw ur list, chest of drawer of 6 white color which i bout at $199 at ikea when they r hving promotion...its a good buy (retail price is ard $600++)Not sure they still hv it now.

berrypie,

i'm an online-shopping addict. :p prefer to shop online too and browse in comfort rather than mingle with crowds especially with big tummy. easily tired out too! it's relatively safe and fuss-free to shop online and indeed a lot of stuff are soooo much cheaper than retail stores. like my medela freestyle for example. i bought it online for just $475 when it is retailing for nearly $900!

twink,

i like mamy poko and pampers for NB. for clothies, i let my girl use the blueberry minkies. http://www.blueberrydiapers.com/Products_3/Pocket-Diapers_2/Minky-One-Size-Cloth-Diapers_4. my mom loves this 'cos very easy to wash and very economical to use in the long run. no diaper rash for my babe too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

twink, initially i wash with my shower gel and sometimes feminine wash until was told to wash only with plain water. Yep i'll try to put tissue from now now and see how ;)

berrypie, my hb no choice hahaha cos we are not allow to buy now and when i deliver i can't go shopping le. actually i dun feel good too cos i know he will not know what is it and anyhow buy. He'l just grab

I've the following items for sale. 

1. Babysafe sling (used only once) dark blue colour $30

2. Baby Bjorn carrier synergy (dark blue) seldom use $180

Interested can PM me. 

berrypie, i didnt see any promo lately at ikea.u got a really good deal there! still duno what drawers to buy for baby items. maybe might get those toyogo drawers.. ya i was thinking of using cloth napkin during confinement since i got CL.

LittleBB, wow the blueberry minkies are so pretty! i didnt realise this is actually a cloth diaper. i saw some of these in mothercare was still wondering how it was used. they do cost more than normal cloth ones. maybe might buy a few to try [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

twink, janice,

won't tissue cause bits that will stick down there? tried before when i didn't have an extra pad with me and needed to improvise. felt 'messy' down there.

re: blueberry minkies

they are really pretty! and very very soft on the outside also. my girl doesn't wear pants, just a simple t-shirt plus her minky can le. very cute! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry, i duuno whether it will cause bits cos i just started to try now :p

wah i saw the blueberry minkies really very nice. i think i'll buy too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry, oops i realise i address to wrong person just now. hehe..hee

Janice, dun wait too long to change the tissue or use better quality tissue. hee.. not those that leave bits and pieces on ur face when u wipe sweat.

did u gals book the malay massage already? i just booked mine 7days for $460. just wondering if i should be massaging everyday or every alternate day better?

twink, so far so good leh, i keep changing lah cos i keep going toilet. one thing good about it is i know whether it's wet cos i'm still monitoring whether i've water discharge.

i had booked my confinement nanny from agency as well as their jamu massage. 7 sessions + 2 breast massage + 1 hot compress cost me $718 (after $100 discount since i book together with their nanny package). Very expensive hor? Yours is freelance? If it's good, i'll continue the massage but probably will look for cheaper one already hehe...

Twink-Yesterday night while sleeping,my baby kept moving and i wokeup afew times.Its so amazing..

Starry-Welcome back.Long time never hear from you.

This Saturday im going to Mount Alvernia hospial tour.Next Monday my detail scan,so nervous.

twink,

no worries. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hey, ur massage package for 7 days is cheap. hope it's good too!

janice,

your package is a little on the high side.. the one i had with origins jamu was 10 sessions which includes hot stone compress for breast and breast massage. also got 2 sessions baby massage. total ard $750 like that.

little bb,

thanks for the welcome back. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry

i think of Origins Jamu also.. are they good?

another one i am considering is jamumassage... dunno good or not also.. but is more exp...

starry, hmmm....btw is 10 sessions enuf? $800+ is really very ex

twink, ya where u book huh? after the package if it's cheap i might get it some more hehe...

Items Nos

Bedding

Mattress 1

Cot Bumpers 1 or 2

Bedsheets At least 2 sets

Pillows / Bosters 2 Sets

Blanket 2

Sarong 1

Waterproof Mat for Changing 1

bed lining 1

sleeping bag 1

Muslin wraps 3

Travelling

Car Seat 1

Knitted Cap 1 or 2

changing mat 1

Blanket 2

Baby bag 1

Nursing

Breast Pump 1

Storage Bottles/bags for Milk At least 6

Bottles for Feeding 6?

Teats (check Nuk/ pigeon)

Brush for cleaning bottles and teats 1

Steam Sterilizer / Sterilizing tablets & container 1

Plastic container/basin to wash baby bottles 1

Box/closed container to keep sterilized bottles/ teats

Tongs 1

Nursing Bras

Nursing Blouse/ t-shirt

Breast Pads

Cream for Nipple Sores 1 tube

small face wipes/ Muslin sheets 10 or 20

Baby's Wardrobe

Jump Suits/ Rumpers (Short sleeve) 5

Jump Suits/ Rumpers (Long sleeve) 5

Short sleeves / Long sleeves Tops 5

Long Pants 5

Mittens 5

Booties / Socks 5

Bath Toiletries

Bath Tub 1

Non-slip Mat 1

Short Stool 1

Small, soft face towel / Bath Sponge 2

Foam Bath 1 Bottle

Baby Oil 1 Bottle

Nappy Rash 1 Tube

Liquid talc 1 Bottle

Soothing Oil for stomach 1 Bottle

Towel with hood 2 to 3

Other Necessities

Disposal Diapers for New Borns 3 Packs

Nappy Wipes 4 Packs

Cotton Wools / Cotton Balls/squares 3 Packs

small plastic bowl 1

Nail Cutter / Scissors 1

Thermometer 1

Pacifier 1

sterilized cotton balls 1 or 2

Storage cupboards/ drawers 1

Things to pack for labour

Items (For Mum) Nos.

Nightdress (Should be suitable for nursing baby too- buttons in the front) 2

Dressing gown- to wear over nightdress while walking in hospital 1 Pair

Face Towels 2

Slippers 1 Pair

Nursing Bras 2

Breast Pads 4 Pairs

Disposal Maternity Underwear 3

Sanitary Pads- extra large size 1 Pack

Sweater / Cardigan 1

Toiletries Bag (Toothbrush, toothpaste, face cream, deodorant) 1

socks 2

magazines/ ipod/ camera (charged battery) 1

Nipple cream 1

Items (For Baby) Nos.

Baby Jump Suits (Long) 2

Mittens 1 Pair

Baby Blanket (To keep baby warm) 1

Disposal Diapers 1 Pack

Cotton Wools / Cotton Balls 1 Pack

Knitted Cap (To keep baby warm when discharging from hospital) 1

Dear ALl, I am 21 weeks now and since last Sunday I start feeling my bb's movement inside. The feeling is so amazing. How about you all?

shjean- I am currently in my week 21 too..I had also started to feel my bb movement.Today when i used the babyplus,the movement so intense.I think my baby doesnt seems to like the babyplus,once i started to play he will be aggitated and kicked non stop.After awhile he will moved to another side,when i place the babyplus near him,he again kicks and twist non stop..So funny.First time i felt myself like a mum.Yes indeed the feeling is amazing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shjean, if u deliver in mt. A, they will give each baby a new bath tub which they used to bath the baby in the hospital. I still used it for my 2yo boy now. for sanitary pad, I like sofy extra long type. Most hospitals will provide kotex.

Little bb, nipple cream is needed as infant don't latch v good n cause our nipple to crack. I used medela, nuk n avent. But can used bm after nursing if the crack is not too bad.

Min, I too hv the same problem joining the fb group. I just pm u my fb acc. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ladies, where do u shop for yr nursing bra. I m wearing the nursing bras I used last time now n fear that I may need bigger size soon. I only start to chg my bra size on my last mth of pregnancy last time.