(2011/10) Oct 2011

Gonna induce on 6th am (@ wk 40 + 3days)

scared to death, emo at Gynae clinic today

wat should I do/ not do / prepare???

Pofy: congrats!! Try to rest more so tt the milk will come, too stress or nt enuf sleep will affect milk flow. Drink more papaya soup, really helps. As e rest mentioned, u can express out watva milk u have, gve to nurse on daily basis to cup feed. Or use fm to cup feed.

Sweetsnow: need to be more careful. If regular ard 15min can take note of waterbag or blood. If pain level more intense then better go hosp

Libra_bb: I feed every 2hrs. If wait till bb cry, then he will be too hungry n cranky n wun feed well

Gilera: try talking to bb n ask bb be good n come out soon. E doc scan bb Everyting Ok?

Have to induce due water level low: only a few pockets n overdue le. Past one week bb onli gain few grams so no point prolong. So advised to induce lor.

Bb head not lowest yet n zero dilation.

bb Heart beat, my urine, my blood pressure all ok

I ck out early and jus got home. Now hve to rest n then later go back to hospital. I hope can breastfeed him again. But looking at the timing, I can only direct latch once a day with all the mrt n bus travelling.

Thank u everyone for the great concern shown. I cried buckets not being able to bring him home altho I know he is in good hands. It's jus emotional. Back to practical matters or else I will cry n cry.

I hve no milk yet but got the Colostrum.

Royal

I can use a new syringe to collect then store in fridge. But the syringe got no cover. So I put in zip log bag can? When I go hospital how to warm it up? Nurses didn't teach me tis method. I came home to pump jus now n wasted all the Colostrum co's I wash off. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Pofy, yes, u can do thay.but rememberto put in fridge cos u dun see your bb so frequently. Do this every 3 hours to build your supply.but when u r in hosp, get him to latch on.

First few days, supply will be low, use hand to express out n collect them in syringe. meanwhile, use pump after that to stimulate supply if need to. After few days when supply slowly increases, just use pump to expres out. I used syringe method for the first 3 days, then change to pump express after that. U can keep them in milk bags n bring to hosp. Let me know if you need the bags, I can give to u..i not using since my supply is low.remember, relax n rest well.

Should I self admit after induce pill #1 tomorrow morning 9am, or go home?

Gynae day can go home, afternoon pill #2 then admit at 11pm. 

Wat if I ready to pop before 11pm then nv save one day charge wat ....

gyn say can go home? not sure about the cost.

For mine no 1.

was at the delivery room when gyn induce, poke waterbag at the same time. deliver at around 9pm tried without epi at first but request for epi at around 3pm

Congrats Libra_bb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I've also popped on yesterday morning.. Bb's weight is 3kg, will start bf later..

Mummies who are still waiting jia you.. You will be able to see ur precious soon.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Libra_bb, my bb has high jaundice as well. #1 also like this. dun be heartpain it's just for a few days and you have all the time with him once discharged. i don't wake mine up cos he hates being disturbed and prefers to be left alone, except for feeding and cuddling time. your milk will come, don't worry [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gilera, talk to your bb to be good and come out easily, stroke your tummy in a circular motion, rest rest rest!, think positively [however way bb wants to come out (natural or c-section) is beyond your control], trust your gynae and nurses during delivery and envision a happy family in your dreams. oh, don't eat danggui on the eve of your delivery. whether to go home depends on how fast you are progressing. if slow, better go home. labour ward charges aren't cheap.

pofy, glad to hear from you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it's good to keep your mind occupied with other things. do think positively - bb will be home to his lovely nest until marriage and you'll have a blissful family life of 3 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] supply sure will be low initially. slowly build up and don't stress yourself.

congrats Esther, and welcome to the moo moo club! try and rest well as much as you can [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mommies

could i check when waterbag burst, it is a either a continuous trickle/gush of water right?

i mean it will be continual flow and not stop and then leak again right?

Royal,

I tried to pump but my pump after sterlised is wet so Watever I mAnage to pump out is mix wif condensed water. Can still feed? I pump out today at 12.30pm but left in the fridge n didn't bring it wif me. Now I at hospital waiting to feed baby. If can feed tmrw I bring co's can store for 2 days right? What I pump out not white milk. Like Colostrum mix wif water. I tried to use the syringe to collect the Colostrum but difficult to suck up. Watever I manage to suck up which is jus a few droplets I pump it back into the bottle used to collect Watever I manage to pump out. Is this still ok for bb to drink?

Luv,

Yes it's good to be able to visit the forum actually. It helps to take my mind off the scary tots n be practical. If not I was crying n crying n not helping myself or my bb at all. I jus want him to get home but he has yet to clear the many blood tests. My bb has a genetic blood defect. Sigh. Complicated with pending results fr my gbs. I hope he clears the gbs related tests or else I will be devastated.

Hoppy,

My waterbag burst when i was sleeping. It was a full gush of warm water wif a smell. Before I could prop myself up again, the next gush came. I got a towel to soak n walk to toilet to wash up. Normal whisper pad couldn't hold the leak. I had to use the maternity pad. My hubby called a cab. In the taxi no water came out so I think the pas did ok co's towel not soak too but once I reach the hospital delivery ward another gush came n wet all my panty n pants n slippers.

Gilera,

My waterbag burst but we had to use forceps to get him out becos he was too big for my birth channel n even after 8 hrs he didn't descend much n I didn't dilate much n he started showing signs of distress ao in the end I had to have big cut all the way to my anal. The wound till today hurts badly n I dare not poop. Walking is difficult n slow n getting up the bus is worse.

If u admit after the 1st pill u hve to pay one extra day of room charge. In Tmc the room charge starts fr 11 pm. So is why ur gynae ask u to check in at 11pm. Save 1 day room

charge.

Librabb,

Sorry to hear abt ur bb. Let's hope all our bb r healthy n those in hospital can get discharged soon.

Jojobar,

I got a manual pump fr a friend. nurse told me if I m going to direct latch when bb gets home I need not buy plus I won't be breast feeding after I go back to work. She didn't offer to rent to me n I also didn't ask co's of the cost. So far the manual pump seems to be able to help pump something out. Jus dun know wat I pump out can be fed to bb.

Confinement rules

I broke all of them already. With the daily hospital trips it jus isn't practical not to bathe lah. I will be not clean n bb is in a delicate state n we worry of infection. So the rule on no bath n not going out n wearing long pants n long sleeves went out of my window.

As for food, worse.

Becos of my son's condition doc say cannot eat herbs. I called natal essentials to request no herbs. On 2 occasions I got confirmation they can do it. But on the day I called to activate I got a return call to say sorry they can't do it. Best they can do is tide me over for 3 to 4 days n I m on my own. I was left high n dry n upset. So in the end they offer to return me my deposit n say not tat they dun want to do my biz but they can't meet my request???? So here I m wif no confinement food. Normal food court food.

thanks for the website.

just came back from KK, the jaundice still high 289 as at 11am.. if exceeded 340, need to do blood transfusions.. cried a few since i heard the news this morning..

pofy, u must be strong ok... i know how u r feeling. our bb are strong warriors , they will be fine.

Libra / Pofy,

Pls take care.. i nod it it is easy for us to say not to be upset but if u are upset or unhappy it does 'flow' into your milk and the BB can also sense it...

so think positively... jia you and take care...

Pofy , yes.still feed the bb with whatever you hv. Stay strong.foodcourt food shld be ok as long as you eat meat, fish n veg.u need all the nutrients. If u hv slow cooker., use it to cook some soup n drink it when u come back fr hosp.

I hv bad blocked ducts, my milk dun flow n breast are lumpy n hardened. Very painful when massage..worse than contraction pain when they are pressed. So u be diligent in expressing n massaging your boobs so you dun end up like me.

HI Pofy,

thank you for the post.

as for your baby, dont worry. Just do whatever you can and togehter with the medic staff, i'm sure everything will be ok.

Like what Royal said, pick the correct food and avoid those oily food. You need to eat to be strong and take care of your baby ! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dont'worry! everything will be ok!!!!

Hi pofy,

Don't worry so much. My #1 had high jaundice as well and was hospitalized. I was shuffling from home to hospital and broke all rules. To be honest, my health was back to pink state pretty quickly too without confinement rules and food. I have no confinement lady last round, just get my mum to cook soup and home food.

I agree with you,shower and washing hair is important to maintain hygienic so that we will not pass germs to baby ESP while traveling.

Libra bb, don't worry too much too. My #1 nearly also needed it, but we keep praying and feeding. The jaundice level came down eventually and we manage to escape the blood transfusion. May I guess which week did you deliver your baby ? I ever heard sone old wives tale that the earlier you pop, the risk of getting high juandice is high. My no 1 was deliver at week 36+, hence it seem to be true to the tales. But I am not convince hence just kapo asking.

Hi pofy,

Since you already have a pump from friend just keep using and pumping. No need to rent then. While pumping, try massage your breast, I rem when the milk came in my breast was so hard. So I keep pumping and massaging at the same tine push the milk put. It work, more milk express and I have softer breast...royal, you try this method as well see if it help to relieve your hard breast situation.

Hi libra bb,

Thanks for sharing. See the old wives tale is not true. ... Did you ask the pd, how many days he expect the jaundiice to come down. If not by when, he will make a decision what is the next step forward.

Keep close communication with the pd, so that the more info you have. You understand the situation better and it might calm your anxiety.

they increase additional light for him.. if the level come down to 220 then he can discharge.

then i will bring him home & sun bathed him every morning.. else i will borrow the light box from my cousin.

i will visit him every day so that i can keep myself updated.

thanks jojobar.

Laila, it's normal.perhaps, u just monitor see if any contractions or labor signs.

Pofy..another advice.if your milk is flowing, dun use springe method le, collect them in bottles n feed via bottle instead of via cup. My gal had 6 days of cup feed, she nearly forget how to suckle.

How do mummies Hadley bottles pumps n bm storage cups? Everytime hv to wash w bb detergent then let dry then sterilize then store in clean dry box? Can just leave in sterilizer those unused? 

Using Avent sterilizer suppose to complete in 8 min but after 8 min still haven't auto off.....

pofy, pls dun cry. The initial period may b tough but we mummies have this endurance thing in us that ensure the well being of our children. You are doing great! I go 1 time pd with bb alone, come home wash n hang clothes, took the night shift and I nearly died. Food wise, eat healthily. Drink lots of Milo, oatmeal, bread. Oatmeal increases BM supply and down lots of fluids eg soup n red dates tea.

gilera, after every use, i washed, leave them in the steriliser and only take them out when needed.

Librabb,

U r very strong. I don't know how to put it in words but I feel its like I can salute u. I broke down many times I felt very useless. I really feel u r great co's u can still encourage me. Thank u very much. I really appreciate it. I hope our bb be good n get well soon.

Jojobar,

My breast very hard. Jus like u say. I try to pump out but still hard. Becos of the journey etc I actually didn't pump for almost 6hours! Jus did a pump at 10.30pm n could get 30ml. But nipples very pain n breast very hard still but cannot cOntinue pumping already. Hoping to sleep n see if I can pump early morng ard 6am. I will try ur method.

I m dead tired fr all the travelling up n down n also the bad pain fr the wound. I walk even more slower than when I m pregnant at 40 weeks. How long does it take for the wound to stop being painful? Am I being too impatient as it has been 3 days n I m still on high dose of painkillers.

Luv,

Thanks. I m nothin compared to librabb. I share her pain n her worries. Sigh. I hope all bb be good n go home n stay healthy. There is nothing that will make us mummies more happy! Sigh.

Hi pofy,

Your milk had come in now. You might need to pump every three hours. Hence if you pump at 6am, your breast will be very hard. You might want to consider to wake up middle of nite and pump. This will Also help you to establish your milk supply. I can understand it is very hard to use a manual pump and massage the breast at the same time. Can you get your hubby tp help you to massage on press down/ stroke the breast toward the nipple to squeeze out the milk while you pump manually.

Take care and be strong, the ordeal will be over soon !

Pofy

Put some hot towels on your breasts and massage with those, that will help. Try to massage and pump or hand express every 3 hrs. Use these steps:

1. Hot towel for 5 min.

2. Hot towel massage.

3. Pump or hand express

4. If very painful, use cold compress.

5. Cold cabbage leaf, wear inside your bra until wilted.

Skip 4. If it is not very painful.

Bottom pain will last about 2 weeks more or less... Try this:

Buy a sitz bath from pharmacy to soak your bottom. Fill with cool water, add some salt and ice and sit in the bath for 15min. Helps bring down the inflammation, Use as often as needed, maybe 3x a day. It's very scary to poo, I know, even now 17 days after delivery I just missed my usual poo time by half a day and it was a major drama! You must poo everyday to avoid constipation and super hard poo. Eat lots of veg, drink some prune juice.

Take care, don't be so sad, things will get better soon, you'll feel better soon too. The first 2-3 weeks are the hardest for all of us.

Thnx I need all e strength from u all as I am emo weak

okay so once all items in sterilizer used up n washed then will sterilize new batch. Is there a min time as this avent takes longer than e stated 8 mins.

Tamms,

Thanks. I note down on paper ur suggestions already.

Royal,

Hospital says they feed via bottle no cup feeding. Sigh. I guess as long as milk gets in i hve to leave it to them.

Nipple issue

After direct latch I notice nipple pain. Could be wrong position but after nipple dry up there is black stains like dried blood stains. Is it normal? I use milk to dab but stick to bra after tat n pry off painful. Normal?

Jojobar,

My hubby dead tired. Haha. He could not even wake up when I shake him. Poor thing. I try to massage pump massage pump. It takes longer. U r right. Breast was super hard n I woke up jus as wat luv mention the last time. Stain my bedsheet n also my Tshirt 2 big patch. Sigh.

When I pump one side. The other side is leaking. How to solve this? The bra pad also soak. Wasted milk. Sigh

Pofy

If you don't wanna waste the milk you can catch it with a milk bottle to store. The black spots sound like you have blister. Have to correct your latch to get as much areola in baby's mouth as possible. It's possible when baby is latching to try to stuff more breast into his month while he is sucking so you dun have to take him off your breast and relatch

gilera, today's the D-day for you! Hope the inducement works and delivery will be fast and smooth! i'm not sure about the min time but i think should be no more than 15min.

pofy, now day 9 post delivery and i'm still on fybogel and 1 dose painkillers. would suggest you to poo and eat more high fibre food ie wholemeal bread, oats so you don't have to strain your anus. i dunno what the black stains are but everytime i feel pain from nipple, i'd squeeze out some BM, rub all over the nipple and air-dry. works wonders for me. agree with tamms on the latching part. you shouldn't be feeling pain while he's latching.

tamms, love your advice on the bottom pain part. hope it works on me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pofy, u can try to put some nipple cream after pumping. I tried pigeon n medela. Just wipe off with water when u r latching or pumping. When latching, can wait till baby mouth open v wide than bring to yr breast. If baby only suck yr nipple, try to unlatch n latch again.

Luv

Ya it feels quite soothing. Just dun add too much salt or it'll sting!

Pofy

I had those black spots too, it's blood blister I think. Wrong latch causes it. If you dont latch and still hv this, then maybe you use too much pressure when pumping? Not sure if will get this fr high pressure pumping though...

hi pofy

i m not as brave as u thought la.. we have to be strong & stay healthy to take care of them when they are back. visited him just now, but 2day only can see him for 10mins. nurse wan to let him spent more time on treatment.

taxi fares are soo siong... i cant walk for long, the stitches area still hurt sooo much.. haiz

Gilera,

Wish u a smooth delivery & all the best!

manage to pump out some milk...finally but breast was very warm & hard.

Thanks everyone for your encouragement!