(2011/10) Oct 2011

Thnx for sharing all motherly instints n at present do find newborns scary little creatures. I wonder hw I will react to mine. I hope they clean him up first.

Hai so not only me freaking out. So uncertain wat lies ahead yet hv no control/ plan over it.

Am pissed w mil nagging not to take epi n that last time also no such thing as epi. Nagging that doctors r out to cheat our money by making us take epi. Say epi next time back pain etc n super discourage me to take, I feel so pressured.

She can Tahan good for her la , y must force me the same when now we hv a choice in advance medicine. Y want me to suffer n hv horrible exp? If so then I will not hv #2. I replied all these she insist it's ok n epi is devil. So fed up I really cannot stand her nagging. See this is wat happen if try to be close she will start all crap so best is dun talk much keep distance.

She even placed her hand on my tummy n chanted. When I say scan saw bb mouth open close, she say bb chanting. F man! I wanted to say bb cursing cannot meh? So annoying right

Gilera,

Thank God my MIL dun give me pressure..only occasionally telling me not to eat cold stuff. She knows I hv GD and will sometimes comment only when she see me eat fried or sweet stuff..

To tackle your MIL, Just choose to walk away lor..avoid talking back..cos she will comment even more..

gilera,

the nurses dun clean my child 1st. they let me carry him before cleaning him up. anyway, i cant remember also, gynae just pass the bb over. i was still crying for pain. i 1st tot it was char siew. so bad of me.

I also got a big problem. The 2nd hand baby cot I bot was delivered today n I realise the bottom portion for which we hve to put the mattress is not made of wooden planks! It's jus rattan or cane netting? My hubby said it might not be strong enough to take a toddler's weight n at most baby can sleep 2 years only. My fault cos I didn't check this part n I hve the same problem it cannot be push out or in my room. We had to dismantle it then re-assemble n now my room got no space to walk. I left with one small corner to climb onto my bed n worse of all I wonder how I m going to change bedsheet for my bed next time?? Headache. Very frustrated by small space. I wonder what home builders r thinking??? ask us to hve more kids but the flats get smaller n smaller n the price get higher n higher. Super upset.

i feel whether to take EPI or not is very individual. so u dun ve to bother what other ppl say (even ur own mil or mother)cause in the end, whatever it is, it is still urself having to bear with it.

i think old ppl, esp mil likes to give alot alot ALOT of comments like how to take care of bb, wat to do, wat not to do... sometimes what they says is true cause they been through it, u juz listen and judge it for urself.

In the end, the BB is OUR responsibilities not anyone else.anybody can talk all they wan, bt when things happen, is the parents that are responsible.

my 3 cents worth of view.. :0

Vivi.

Thanks. We got to do some planning. With the space constraint. I might jus hve to do away with bed n switch to mattress on floor once bb hit 1+. Now room in mess n I m all tired from the cleaning n washing. Totally exhausted. I use washing machine. Putting all the hands me down, towels etc to wash. Cleaning up the room of dust too. Tis is worse than Chinese new year spring cleaning!!

gilera: my mom also says the same back pain problem abt the epi thingy but i insist there is no scientific evidence it causes back pain. she also said if i don't eat confinement food, i will get very weak. (i already told her i don't want the usual confinement food). so just let them rant and we have to choose what we want to do with our bodies. it's our body anyway, not theirs.

agree totally with serena.

pofy: oh dear. was it a good deal? i purposely bought those with wheels so can wheel in and out of my bedroom.

yay finally can get off work. thankfully i got to nap a bit just now. don't really care what my colleagues say as mine is open cubicle office. i think my own health more impt.

hey mummies.

jus wanna share my GD.

As i been controlling my diet, Monday check up was Gynae comment BB weight was only 1.85 kg. too small for week 33. Gynae said she is going to close both eyes on my diet & advise me to eat more protein food like beef & fish.

Such irony. been controlling diet til over-control.

mummy- Ya la! Old age back pain might not be coz of epi wat. Once old everywhere also pain liao

u just nap like dat ? during lunch hour shld b ok but abit weird. Oso quite uncomfortable to lean forward sleep like in school. Hw u nap at work?

huishan- try to take e meats without marinate sauce etc. Just gain e nutrients from e natural meat, steamboat plain style?

royal

im worse.. even when my fren's bb turn 1mth i ask them not to pass to me to carry cos im so afraid tat i might break their neck!! i think wait till almost 1yr old then i dare to carry but also carry a while cos too heavy haha!!

pofy

i've nvr tot of changing bedsheet!! omg seems like i'll be facing the same issue! gosh!

I'll be going for my chk up this fri going to be 33 wk this wkend but i doubt my bb will reach 2kg too everybody's commenting my tummy still so small n last few chk up gynae comment it'll be a small bb.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] well i jus pray tat my bb's healthy small nvr mind out then feed haha!

my hb told my MIL tat bb's 'shaking' vigourously esp at nite n my MIL comment tat it's too hyper now ny hb ask me not to eat so much sweet stuff...

Backache- mine was natural no epi n the back is aching like mad now.. Think try to bu during confinement.

Huishan- load on proteins, carbo like rice, noodles n durians- sure to gain weight.

Leeoh- similar situation. No maternal instinct. In fact I was so miserable cos total loss of freedom n everyday is nothing but pumping, feeding, washing, sterilizing etc.. I even regretted having my kid and here I am expecting #2 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: epidural

if possible, will try to go without .. MIL also spoke to me about the 'side effects' ..

re: MIL

well, just take everything with a pinch of salt .. me do not bother too much, if not can go crazy .. imagine my MIL will repeat herself numerous times over the same matter .. not sure whether she wants me to get the message or she got poor memory .. was telling hubby yesterday night that I suspects my MIL got dementia =p

re: baby cot & space

cupboard to be put into another room?? or look up ikea catalogue for ideas ..

after reading e post i realise that my bb seem big... juz juz haf my check up last week.. at e rate of 34 weeks my bb already 2.5kg... omg!! how im i going push him out when he is full term!!!

Ok! Cot mattress arrived n quite thick so bb quite high level with e cot level on highest.

Just submitted ML will start on 26 sep return office 16 Jan = 16weeks x 7 days = 112 days. Will lugi 4 PH coz taking 16wks straight. My Edd oct so ml start wk 39. Wondering should clear my annual leave 6 days on wk 38, if so only need work 2 more wks. Wat u mommies think?

Plan natural birth so dunno when bb decide to say hi.

i'm a new member on this forum. I"m due in Oct 2011 too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyone bring your own breastpump to the hospital? I was thinking of bringing my own as i heard that some mothers may have engorgement on the first day after delivery and if the lactation consultation were to hand-express for you, it is going to be very painful.

Any idea if the hospital will sterilize the pumps for us?

Hi Hoppy,

During my delivery for #1, I brought my pump along. But never used cos the nurse @ MT E brought the hospital pump for me to pump.

Vivi, no need to bring sterilizer, the nurse will sterilizer for you if you want. This time, I will still bring my pump just in case, the hospital did not provide.

jojobar,

i dare nt use other ppl sterilizer so i bring my own. and its kind of mafan and paisey to ask the nurse to sterilise cos its like sterlize it 3 hrly.

Hi vivi,

No need to feel paused lah. You paid for hospital fee leh, is part of their services. But if your concern is hygiene reason that you want to use your own then is different lah.

Hi thanks everyone.

I'm delivering at Gleneagles so I think i will have to check with them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think an alternative is to use the sterilizing tablets but i'm kinda hesitant to use that.

anyone here delivering at Glens? My EDD is 21 oct 2011 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I will bring pump too. It was listed by Gynae. Wanted the lac nurse to teach as well. Wonder of during hospital stay will supply kick in.

Will not bring sterilizer. Let e nurses sterilize la. Hospital standard shouldn't doubt plus paid for services plus less one bulk. Imagine having to carry many things back home upon discharge. Also packed my pump into a zip pouch instead of the box it came in. Save space.

So wat else hv mummies accomplished so far?

Mine is cot n submit ML. But I waana rest from wk 38

need to wash up all bb clothes n bed linen. Muslin wraps need to wash or not? Weekend no sun, at work now sun so good for laundry!

Tummy been v tight lately.

Hi Gilera,

ya, i agree with one less bulk to carry... moreover i signed up wth Cordlife so i need to bring the package too. May I ask where di you buy the zip pouch? My pump is the Avent one and it doesn't come with any carrier and I m sourcing where to get a carrier for it.. can share?

I have washed the baby clothes and bedsheets already..

Muslin wraps - are u referring to the nappies? yes, better wash. Because you don't know how they handle the garment in their factories. When I washed mine, i spin-dry in the washing machine and it's not very wet when you take them out. The material is thin too so it doesn't take too long to dry. Wash on Sat and you have Sat and Sun to hang [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya, today i have sore lower back.

just received the maternity package from my HR .. going to study it and discuss with boss - most likely is to work until i deliver and to return to work on 2nd Jan .. remaining ML to clear over 12 months ..

washed all the clothings, etc .. packed hospital bag, except another few more lacking items .. will be setting up cot within the next 2 weeks ..

me bringing my breastpump .. going to sterilize at home, and pack into a zip-lock bag before placing it into my cooler bag extra comparement ..

hoppy: i bought the cooler bag from taka, around $20+ .. there is an additional separate compartment, where you can put the pump (mine is avent single electric) ..

fantastar,

how many week are u into your pregnancy already? Well, if can rest a few weeks before ur EDD i think its good. At least can rest.. I"m into my 33week tomorrow.

but you have to note if u sterilize ur pumps too early as I know the pump only stays "sterilized" for a few hours. Just check what the product says.

me currently in my week 33 .. not planning to rest before EDD as i am still passing over my work, and plus i would like to maximize my ML for baby ..

i think it should be fine to run under hot water before usage .. cannot be too sterilized either, if not baby will get sick easily ..

oh really ? ok ok.. learnt something new today.

else, last resort - get hot water from the hosptial or run them from the tap [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hoppy: if the nurses can sterilize the pump for u then u dun have to use hot water rite? there are some soft parts in the pump, not sure if these can withstand the hot water...

ya.. i hope the hospital can sterilize [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

trying to make it fuss-free.

ya loh. bt r u gg to bring everythin in the box to hosp? such as those bottles n cooler bag etc? sounds like quite a lot to pack...

Just to share my experience from my last delivery. The hospital actually can provide lots of stuff. They give me glass bottle to store the milk and after that immediately they feed the milk to the baby already. So no need to store, even if you want to store, the nurse will label and store for you in nursery.

The glass bottle fit my Medela PIS at that time. Now i had chagne to medela freestyle, should be able to store as well.

Sterilize the part when you need to use it.

After i return back to work, what i did was sterilize two set of the funnel in the morning and i put into the airtight tupperware. Then i was one set for my morning pump around 1130 and another set for the 430 pump. If you pump more at work, then buy another set of funnel.

Hi Gilera,

For me, I had completed the following:

1. Confirm the confinement lady and paid desposit

2. Confirm the post natal massage

3. Set up the baby cradle in my room - baby sleep with me for first six months, before transit to his own cot in room share with my #1 and grandma.

4. Clean up study room and put in a day bed for the confinement lady

5. Sign up of Stemcord

6. Tested the breastpump to ensure it work (i bought the set in US as it is cheaper)

7. Complete shopping for baby already (in term of clothing, bathing and diapers stuff)

Yet to complete:

1. Wash all the baby clothes and bedsheet. Planning to do throw all in the machine and dryer at week 35.

2. Readup the instruction mamual and Set up my sterilizer and milk warmer at week 36. I bought the same Avert one (from my #1 but cannot remember how to use [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So far, that all i can think of ....

Oh and I had half -pack my hospital bag [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Will complete the packing over the next two weeks.

Lucky i had a half pack hospital bag cos when i was bleeding two weeks back, we just grab the bag and go...

Hi mummies-to-be...

I will be delivering at TMC. Can share with me the items to pack for the hospital bag? Just want to make sure that I didnt miss out any essential items. Thanks heaps!

Mine also Avent single electric pump. Still figuring out parts m how to use. The zip bag just those flat rectangle from Daiso that can fit all e parts. No compartments.

Can send pic of the one from taka w compartments?

Wonder wat glass bottles TMC provide for breastmilk can fit all brands.

My hospital bag contents:

breastpump

breastpad

sanitary pad

small towel for wiping breast

open front pyjamas

cardigan

socks

bra

disposable panty

set of clothes for discharge day

plastic bag for dirty clothes

camera

@creamdonut: i don't think i will bring the storage bags.. Like what Jojobar mentioned, the hospital may provide lots of stuff. However, I"m at Gleneagles so i need to call up and check what they do and do not provide. Then i think with that, it's easier to make a decision.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Gilera, ok, i will go check out the ones at Daiso too.

Ya, I"m lookking for those open-front pjs. I intend to get those cheap cheap ones but the ones I saw all cost around $35 !!! LOL

But i heard they sell those cheap ones at Giant hypermart and some of the old-school shops around Chinatown.

The hospital does provide disposable panties and pad if you do not want to bring. One thing I recommend to bring is nipple cream. My last delivery, my nipples sore and the hospital does not provide the nipple cream. But they can get for you from the hospital pharmacy and charge to your hospital bill. So I end up asking hubby to bring from home. This time, I had put mine in the bag already.

Hi gilera, thanks for the list of things to bring to the hospital. Very useful!

Hoppy, I bought mine from a shop at TPY HDB hub. $15. Not sure if it's convenient for you.

Just had my checkup. 2.1kg at 33 weeks 4 days [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Actually most bottles have the same circumference so that they can fit most of the bottle caps except for Avent Wide bottles.

I will be bring my breastpump to hospital too. Just to stimulate supply. My milk supply didn't come after 5 days for my first born. Was quite upset and depressed then.

Just had my checkup on Monday. Baby weighs 1.8kg at 32 weeks =)

I spent the half the day on the phone trying to find mattress for the 2nd hand cot I bot. It was terrible. Chinatown store n kiddy palace dun sell the size. N all the hypermart I called said no stock or worse it comes with the cot not sold separately! Such an odd size of 48 by 26"! Chinatown store ask me to make do with 48x25 but there will be a gap. So I end up calling so many stores n finally found one in west coast plaza selling it. Will have to visit tmrw n pay up. I hope all goes well. Dead tired.

Seems all of us are almost packed n ready. Me too but emotionally not ready. Getting cold feet actually. Thinking of all the different scenarios is making me worried n awake at nite. Sigh. Worry can't bond. Worry bb cry cry n cry n I can't handle. Worry baby colic n cry n I can't stand bb crying. Worry how my labour will start. Wow. The list can go on n on. I m beginning to think I m a coward. Sigh

Work front also not progressing well. My boss got a perm staff seems to possibly replace me. I m trying to hand over but I worry no time to teach all as I m already in my 34-35 week. Sigh

Open front pj

got some ah ma ones from Chinatown washed so many times still not comfy. Got 2 dress kinds from Spring but skirt above knee, maybe now belly make skirt shorter. So if wear this kind at hospital must ensure blanket cover legs. Anyway it's good investment when we confinement wear comfy at home.

Pofy- bb mattress I got contact of mattress maker coz I Aldo replace hand me down cot's mattress. They will custom cut watever size u need n hv range of qualities. Mine 5 yr warranty quality n delivery. Let me know if u want contact or u go ahead with e one u found.

Your work wise think u better take full 16 wks n find new job sensing ur boss up to no good. Else he might pull stunt reject flexible ml etc. Most impt to rest hv smooth birth n recover. Jobs can always find another.

Most worried abt birth n recovery now. Handling of bb not so worry of that now. Guess would be similar to having puppy which we constantly hv to keep eye on, pick up after mess, night time whine etc, wake up middle of night to attend to it etc. Extremely frustrating first few months n wanted to give it up. Now w training n used to handling can accept le. We alternate day hv ti vac n mop up fur n saliva- u can imagine how Xian after work come home face all this.

bb On the way at least will hv maid to help out.

Jojo

thought just use breastmilk to soothe sore nipple better than nipple cream? Wat brand good? Would savlon cream work as well though need to wipe away , not safe for bb.

My day was fussing on ML. We can't take 8 wks then childcare leave for 2011 then continue another 8 wks? My hr said 16wk x 7day=112 days N will lugi 4 ph. If last 8 wk flexible then can just plan leave like normal exclusive of ph n weekends. Do they count last 8 wks in number of days or wat. But I still feel take full shot then can properly return to work officially. Else flexible, work still pile up n constantly hv to catch up on days on leave.

Haiya::: headache. Anyway if take straight from 26 sep (my wk 39) will return on 16 Jan. Then following wk Jan 23&24 if CNY oso ok lor.

Hv all ur bb turn head down oredi? It's getting diff to sleep soundly. Lying on sides the shoulders getting sore. Diff to flip sides too. Travelling to work, jostling w crowd.... Feel so slow n brushed aside by ppl!

hoppy: i tink if using the hosp bottles, cannot bring home one leh. maybe only "lend" u use during your stay to feed the bb... bt u intend to start on bottle so early for ur bb?