(2011/10) Oct 2011

Letting go of Medela PIS Advance (Backpack) @ $300

Good condition. Used only a few times.

BABYBJÖRN Baby Carrier Air - Letting go @ $90

Condition: 9/10 (box included). Colour: white abnd grey. Carrier same color as the picture attached

Breathable and cool

Made from an advanced, breathable 3D mesh.

Ergonomic for your child

Properly supports your child’s head, back and hips from birth.

Convenient and lightweight

Email: [email protected]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5955554.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5955555.jpg]

hi MTBs,

I'm selling my 6 month old peg prego piko P3 pram with car seat..

condition:9.5/10

price: $900 neg

pls call me at 91112839 if you wish to view it.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5956749.jpg]

winnie,

Fridge to Go should be able to keep the BM cool in the office where there is sufficient air-condition. But, to be on the safe side (just in case I need to go out of office for meetings), I bought 2 extra ice packs to place at the top and the bottom of the bag and my BM feels as cold as if it is taken out from the fridge when I got home. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But of cos it will add extra weight to the bag when carry home.

HappyMoMo, u might want to buy extra ice packs if u are into expressing ur BM at work [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Huishan,

Severe breast engogement will cause mummy to have high fever. So do try to wake up at nite to latch or pump out the BM constantly.

It might be tough especially when we still need to entertain #1 in the day time. But let's Jia You together so that our babies can get the best and safest nutritional milk in the entire world! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hello everyone! friends of mine are conducting a survey for pregnant ladies and they are giving out complimentary baby journals (for you to put ultrasound pics and notes for your bb) for all respondents. if you're interested, please pm me your email address [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks!

Hi Mummies to be,

i am selling the following, PM me if you are keen in any

Ardo Calypso Dual Breast Pump at $280

Bought in Feb 2011 at $350. Used for 2 months.

Pigeon Silicone Nipple Shield (x 2) at $2 per pc

Capella Stroller 2009 version S705 (3 years old) at $100

Munchkins Soothing Crib Light & Sound - $15.00

Bb was 2.2 kg on fri wk 34 d 5

Tom will start wk 35 liao

Gynae said to start getting major things ready esp after disclosing that cot not set up yet. Attempted to pack hospital bag n am abit confused w my avent single electric pump. Do many parts...intend to bring can ask hospital nurse demo or not.

Next checkup Gynae will check v with 2 fingers n if pain means my threshold low. Kinda weird as nv had such test before nv had pap smear done either.

Thanks Ben Ben, I will take note of this.

Anyone has been ask by gynea to track movement of bb by counting the number of kick in a day? My bb was not very active since yesterday night. Dont know what is happening. Usually it is able to turn and move very aggressively. And even 3am in the morning to 6am. Should I arrange to see Gynea?

Hi! Went to Cheng Choon over the weekend to get the rest of baby stuff. Tot would be only getting a few things but in the end still spend $150 on the clothes, mittens, pacifier and bath tub. Baby is expensive business!

My next check up is on 1 sept at end of 33 weeks. Hopefully my placenta will move up by then. If not, might really have to be C section [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]( Any mummies here will low placenta too?

happymomo,

Have not been asked to monitor baby closely by no. of kicks. However, just to take note of baby movements. Has baby move? When did you last notice baby not moving? If you are uncertain, would recommend you make an appt to see the gyne to feel assured.

Happymomo > if bb kick at least 10times in a day, shld be fine.. But if less than that you may wan to give ur Gynae a call and check with them.

Leeoh > me too having low placenta. Don't worry too much unless ur Gynae really emphasize.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I can't wait for my checkup on this Friday. Have not seen bb for a mth..

Hi Adele,

I am giving birth @ Gleneagles... ( no choice) as my doc going delivery there....

anybody know if Gleneagles give free glass bottle to store breastmilk?

serena leow,

i'm giving birth at gleneagles too. i don't think they will give free glass bottle. when i went for maternity tour, they only mention about giving a romper and a blanket.

Hi. I don't think TMC provides glass bottles either but the last time, I asked for sample milk and they gave me some ready mixed ones in glass bottles which I reused. Not sure if it is still the practice now.

My gynae did raise the low placenta issue with during last visit so think mine situation might be problematic. Does anyone know what is the cut off distance from the cervix before can be natural?

I also noticed that the movements are less kicking and more wriggling and elbowing (or kneeing?). Sometimes I don't notice too, ESP when I am busy. So will take time to lie down on my side - noticed that she will usually move when I lie on side

Hello everyone

Thanks I will keep track and look into the kicking. I am supper tired. I guess everyone here is.

By the way washing bb clothes and towel for the first time, can we use machine wash?

Creamdonut

Thanks! I am worry that baby clothes cannot but in same machine with adulte one. But not economical to have two machines at home.

Anyway using nipple cream now? Can it help to lighten the colour pigmentation we have now?

I mean is anyone using nipple cream now? Can it help to lighten the colour pigmentation we have now? Any idea would our nipple colour return back to a lighter shade?

@angeline, think ve to ask when given birth, fren suggested using glass bottle to keep BM, as BM tends to be oily, is easily to wash the glass then the plastic.

@leeoh, TMC do not give glass bottles, fren given birth there.

@HappyMoMo, i used washing machine to wash my BB clothes but i do not wash it with the adults. i wld 'clean' the tub first before washing the BB clothes

i am at week 32 already and ve to see the doc every 2 weeks now. bt everytime, i ask abt the BB weight, he only tells mi few hundreds gram, not necessary to know the weight now, wait till the last scan before birth then wld nod the detail weight then can decide C or natural....

bt i really wan to know the weight of the BB now to see if she has grown well... haii

Creamdonut, not to worry, I'm in week 33. But gynae says no need to see him twice a mth, so I will stil see him only once a month. My next checkup is on my week 36 in 3rd week of sep.

hi Serene, i'm 31 weeks now but my gynae ask me to see him again in 1mth only. My sis-in-law also say it shd be 3weeks when at this stage. I've no idea why.

But my gynae will tell me bb's weight and tell me if it's fine. My bb's 1.5kg at week30.

Serene- who is ur Gynae? Y cannot disclose bb weight? I find that unacceptable.

I guess if Gynae thinks all is well jonkeed see so freq? But for me at least I feel taken care of that now I m consulting every 2 weeks. Next one wk 36 w vaginal examination sept 8.

Nipple area seriously v dark n big now like African mama. But boobs not bigger lei.

I hv 5 more wks to go. Could be sooner even n hv to b on standby liao. So scared. Sometimes I think I wanna give up this can't be happening. Sometimes I think aya just push put when e time comes la. Hospital won't let me die right.

My Gynae told me to watch out for signs, bleeding, water burst n freq contractions. Bleeding n water supersedes. Which of these u think more common as it seems most mummies r induced after a checkup then asked to admit hospital le.

Tummy do big now sit up bend forward to eat kena kick, lie on sides kena kick sigh!!!!

Went for my check up yesterday, things are looking good. Though the gynae do not know the reason of the bleeding last week, but he think I have a good chance to delay the labour till week 36. Phew.... My hospitalization leave will end this week, I might need to go back to work next week.

My next check up is on 9 sept by then I will be in week 33 ! Hopefully baby will be bigger. Yesterday the gynae estimate bb around 2kg. My nesting instinct have not kick in [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] still have not put the cot bedding etc

We r setting up hand me down cot now n need to replace some screws then hv to set up coming maid's bed.

Or should just let her sleep on mattress then mattress can put up in day? But pillow n blanket also must hv place to put. A bed will take up space, but think at least her luggage bag can be under her bed instead of our storeroom.

Hb super insist cot to be in our room. I guess it will be gd tat bb will be in our view but afraid will disturb hb sleep. This cot so diff to assemble. Now it's in our rm. Doubt it will be dismantled n moved to other room n assemble again for e next 5 yrs....

Sigh, no more privacy? When can bb sleep in other room after first month or after first year.... Lol

Hi mummies, my dr also seeing me only once a mth so my next appt is 2 weeks later on the 12th when bb is 35 weeks. She said from then will start 2times a mth so I think it really depends on the individual dr and mummy. But I think once bb full term, ie 37 weeks, then will be twice a week until bb born unless sone problem arises then might be weekly.

Bb clothes: I also use washing machine just choose the delicates option and use the special bb detergent. I dun think anyone owns 2washing machines!

Hi. My gynae told me to go every 3 weeks starting from 32 weeks but this time I am going end 2 weeks cos I am going Malaysia next week for a short trip. Looking forward to see baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby sleeping: what privacy?? Forgot what that is already :p My boy has been sleeping in our room since he was born. More for our convenience - It was too tough to hve to trot to another room several times in the middle of the night. Then having to stand there patting him to sleep. In the end my boy

slept in the cot for a short while only. After that I moved him

to a small bed next to ours. With the second one coming, my room will be just a row of beds [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Washing baby clothes: first wash I put everything in the washing machine with baby detergent. But subsequently hand wash cos not enough clothes to fill one load.

gilera

bb will sleep in our room cos easiler as we take care of bb at night. then move bb to his room when he is 1yr+. bb will not use bb cot for 5 yrs lah.

Morning mummies..

Checkup > mine also currently once a month, next visit will be on this Friday, so have to wait till after friday then I wil know when my next visit will be.

Bb clothes > me too will use the washing machine to wash but I wil put bb's clothes in the laundry net and wash it together with the towels and hanky. Will separate from the adults because I'll be using those baby detergent.

Leeoh > me too same elder one sleeping with us. But we intend to train him to sleep on his own in his own room coz I only got 1 cot. So the dad will accompany him for the first few nights and subsequently will be on his own. We'll just monitor him through the camera.

Winny > the nappy rash cream is to use to prevent nappy rash, so it's good to get it now. The brand desitin (blue) is quite good.

Hey esther, your EDD is very close to mine right? around 16 Oct? Is it a boy or a girl?

I don't have a spare room anymore - the one originally intended for kids is now taken up by my PILs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] So there is no where to move my boy. Are you training your #1 soon before the baby comes out? In case he thinks his place in the room is being displaced by baby.

I am moving my boy to another single bed and his current smaller bed will be used by mei mei. The future arrangement will be #1 - hubby - me - baby in a row. Hubby will be in charge of him and I will be taking care of mei mei [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gilera,

My bb cot not collected yet. last night was packing up the room..kinda of feeling scary to welcome her..not sure what to expect..I scare i will get Post natal Blues...

esther

don't know how old is your boy.

It will be good to move him out soon eg sep so that he will not think that bb has taken his place.

transit mine boy to use mattress on floor when he do not want to sleep in the cot. try out with afternoon nap first. we don't use camera/bb monitor cos when he cry will run to the room straight.

good for baby to sleep in the room with you for at least 6m. Imagine waking up and walking to the next room every night just to give milk at 2am and 5am! Sure walk into a wall at that hour...

Just moved into new house on Monday. Now in week 35. Time to start packing hospital bag. baby was head down at 34w, but now it feels like he may be engaged already. Tummy not so high anymore [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

esther

We are planning to transition my daughter into a room on her own starting this weekend, before the baby comes. But think I'll still have to lie in bed with her to fall asleep. Like Winnie said, if you move your boy out when baby comes, he might be resentful and think that baby has taken his place. So make a BIG deal about what a big boy he is, now he has his own room and bed. Make him feel proud about having his own space.

leeoh > Yup we have the same EDD (16 oct). At least ur HB will help you to take care of the elder one.

Royal > don't worry.. U'll be able to get alot of support from here.. So shoo away the idea of having post natal blues ya.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Winnie / tamms > my boy turning 2 in oct. Have been letting him having his afternoon nap (going to 1year) in his own room so as to let him get used to it. Ya I also wanted to start before the baby arrives so he will not feel that because of didi his being "chased" out of our room. Think I'd start this weekend also, I've got only like 1mth plus..

Ok guess will hv to wean bb sleep in his own room when he can at least sleep throughout e night. Wouldn't few months old mean more 'trouble' in cot away from parents coz by then bb more mobile n climb crawl etc.

Now wk 35 def hv to pack hospital bag. Guess nurse will teach how to use breast pump. Hv removed from box n all parts etc in a zip bag. Sekali receive some other pump as gifts.

Am just so worried abt birth. Hope natural w epi but wonder how I able to survive. Sob sob then no life no privacy.

Anyone plan what wk to start maternity leave yet?

Now wk 35, feel to submit for wk 38.... N use up annual days left before wk 38.

Would hv to train maid coming within 2 wks too.

@gilera: he never say cannot disclose, he juz dun feel it is necessary now....

m in my week 32 now but already feel tired, when ppl look at me, they always tout i am like giving birth this month (my tummy look huge)

my plan is to work till i give birth cause my hubby's office is next door to mine, so he feels it is better for mi to be in office, if anything, he can imm send mi to hop rather than i stay alone at home.

i am also scare abt the giving birth part.. sometimes, the tout of we are really going to have a baby, another person in our life freak me out..... i dun nod if i wld be a good mother or not.

We hv right to know how our bb progress so weight shouldn't be such a secretive issue. First time heard such a thing unless Gynae withholding for certain reason.

We should rest n relax when we can now instead of working til pop. No chance to collect your thoughts n calm down if sudden pop at work.

Life after baby: I feel that we have a maternal instinct that will kick in after baby is born so no worries about that [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My own experience with my #1 is that I didn't "fall in love" at first sight. In fact the baby felt like an alien creature when he was given to me after birth - all red-faced, covered in gooey white substance and screaming bloody murder. After that I was so pre-occupied with breastfeeding and so sian about being stuck at home that the first opportunity to get out of the house with my hubby felt like a huge relief! Baby was not very responsive within the first few months and I didn't know how to baby talk also, so I felt lost and in reality quite bored.

It got better after the 4-5 months when he started to respond with ready smiles etc. I would say it is a case of "ri jiu shen qing" rather than "yi jian zhong qing". Now i love him to bits [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Yes, he is the centre of our lives and there is no "me" time anymore. But it just happened so naturally that we do not resent it. We wouldn't want it any other way too.

I am just sharing in case any mummies here would feel that "hey, how come I didn't feel this overwhelming sense of maternal love once the baby is out?". I was expecting that for my #1 and I felt that I was a terrible mother for not feeling that way. Now, I know that it is ok and it is natural. The love will come in your own way [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mummies, me back at work after a short leave over the weekend. no energy!!

i've also not packed hospital bag yet...too early cos i still need my clothes at work! prob will just pack bb's portion first...

don't think i can work til pop....ML is not really leave right...it's the beginning of another kind of work!! so better to take some leave BEFORE starting ML, unless your work is not intensive type.

me also first time mom, not sure how i will cope also i guess better to just take things one step at a time. important to be mentally prepared but also not to think so much as there is always uncertainty in the future.. even the birth/labour is unpredictable. i've heard of so many instances where the mummies have to undergo emergency c section and stuff...

let's be strong and jia you!

Leeoh, Thanks for your sharing..

I am a first time mom, seriously I dont know how to handle kids. In the past, I don't dare to carry my nieces and nephews when they were newly borned. I only carried them when they reach 1 mth.

on the hindside, I am also not sure how my hubby would be helping me, I worry, we will end up fighting n quarrelling about how to handle the baby.

Now, there is the labour part that I am worried of too, my threshold for pain is low, I try to walk alot cos people tell me, walking n exercising can help to hv an easier labour.

Suddenly,I am feeling stressed down and low...

royal

ask for epidural. at least, you still can rest during contraction & save your energy when you are abt to give birth.

I don't dare to carry other newborn too even now but when it is you own, no choice, it will come natually.