(2011/10) Oct 2011

jasmine,

you managed to do it without washing hair throughout?

you know, after those few days of not washing hair, i had wash like 3 times to get all the oil out and feel clean again. when i went salon to trim hair and do scalp analysis, i was told that my scalp pores are blocked!! plus got 2 pin-hole sized bald spot. the analyst said likely due to not washing hair during confinement. damn sad. now switched my shampoo to fully herbal and organic ones, hoping to remove all the oil and minimize the 'damage'. maybe i'm someone more prone to this kind of thing bah.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

haih... now really not in a good mood aredi. Clashing my opinions with her, now my mum don bother to msn me aredi... so sad day. sien, who implements confinement for 28days one...

she don allow me to wash hair then cannot bath, just use towel to rub rub body only. how can i tahan like that. somemore asked me to wear long sleeve pyjamas, and long pants. i cant imagine how my life will be if like tat... oily hair, smelly & sticky body, not enuf sleep for breastfeeding, think i don have appetite to eat also with such environments.

re: confinement

Singapopre's weather is too hot not to bathe for 1mth! i did shower n wash hair too. Used herb to bathe n blow dry my hair after wash. But i dont shower everyday la. 2-3x a week. Other days i clean with warm water only.

ya WBB mentioned not to buy those dry powder shampoo and put on the hair. it will make the scalp pores stucked and become bald...

minidiary,

no need to follow all the rules 101%.. especially the part about long sleeves and long pants. think before we kena any hives or shivers from not wearing long this long that, we will have heat rash and heat stroke first. your mil is very strict type? try to nego with her bah. my mom quite strict with health and food issues but still gave way 'cos the weather was waaayyyy too hot last year in oct. i would have died in my long pjs.

starry

Yup i survive through it! Was a torture.. i kept complaining i wanna wash hair.. everyday tie hair.. i hate confinement. =x

noon mummies.. feeling so tired and bad headache today.. in e end took mc. hee..

minidiary, the massage lady contact's 92416671. She's call mdm sue

starry,

it's my mum who will be coming over to do the confinement lo. if confinement really brings me a negative impression. don think wanna have #2... so many rules... headache

re: long sleeves n long pants

I dont think the long sleeve long pants theory is suitable for our hot n humid weather here! Starry is right. will kena heat rash or hives.

But i try not to let the fan /aircon blow directly at us. Especially head and joints.

minidiary

I was so happy that WBB busted the myth about not showering and washing the hair during confinement. I've always insisted to my mom and husband that I will be showering and washing my hair every single day during confinement. Because of my stubborn nature, they dare not oppose me. I think it's totally ridiculous not to do that in Singapore's weather. Besides, how to explain why our Caucasian counterparts can do it and only the Chinese can't? As educated women, I don't see why we should still believe in the old wives' tales.

Minidiary:

My mom also doing confinement for me.... She said if we want to bath, we need to bath with "da feng cao". And we have to bath at 12pm where the sun is the warmest. 14days later then she allow me to wash my hair. Try to use warm water to bath & close all the windows when u bath. After washing your hair, blow dry it.

i will be patient and see how long i can tahan without washing hair and bath. she's doing confinement for me, if i don listen to her then she will give me black face.

but if i cant tahan anymore, i will scream!!! maybe i will just hide in the air con room day and night if ask me don shower and wear long PJs.

tabbyz,

im happy also to know about that's myth. but now unhappy that my mum doesnt accept it and give me negative words. feel the world turn upside down.

yan,

WBB is Wong Boh Boi. She's a very experienced/famous consultant in TMC. Some of us here attended the maternity classes conducted by her.

minidiary,

No point arguing with your mom over this if she's insistent that you listen to her. She just wants the best for you.

Lol lunchtime at vivo, watching kids play at the water playground. Mostly dads running after them. The mummies are sitting aside watching. It's just soothing to sit by n watch isn't it. Aiyo these children screaming in delight! Hope my boy will enjoy next time too ....

minidiary, the massage depends on wherther u are c-birth or natural. Natural can start sooner. Got to bath in the morning first then when e lady come over, they'll help to massage and bind.Usually they'll say bind for 8 hours, for optimal effect, my friend bind overnight but must can tahan cos quite uncomfortable to be binded whole night

minidiary: try talking to your mum again, when she has calmed down .. both my mum & MIL are tradition-minded as well, but they are alright with me showering and washing hair during confinement .. i told them that i will have my shower in the afternoon (when it is the hottest), will use the herbs, will dry myself thoroughly before i stepped out of the bathroom, wash my hair alternate days ..

you have to tell her that you will be doing the post-natal massage and that it will be uncomfotable with the massage oil .. besides that, you are also breastfeeding ..

instead of arguing with her, reason with her .. it might be hard initially but eventually they will understand ..

creamdonut,

for capella models, you cannot fix car seat on it. that's another con for families with car. for me no issue as hubby and i both do not drive.

minidiary,

yeah, try talking to your mom again? maybe she will give way. mine was like that initially. till she herself experienced the heat and had to bathe 3x a day. think she kinda pitied me bah. haha! and she didn't make noise when i wore short-sleeves and shorts, some more almost everyday went out. either to see PD, see gynae for wound cleaning, or buy stuff, even went shopping mall. she nagged a bit like why wear so little etc. but also kept quiet most of the time lah. the only thing she was very strict about was confinement food.

jasmine,

i really salute you! i couldn't do it no matter what. max 5 days. no longer than that! but funny thing is, although hair very oily, it didn't stink. thought would stink with all the sweating and oily scalp.

i quite enjoyed my confinement. the huge plus was of course the bathing and hair washing. then there was all the good food and definitely the joy of watching my little baby girl everyday! having my friends over was an added bonus too. otherwise whole day home can be quite boring.

starry

no choice~ i never let down my hairs at all. during 1 month, i wash my hair with shampoo twice.. feel so refresh~ i love staying at home and c my gal everyday too~

jasmine,

hopefully this year Oct/Nov weather will be kind to us. cool and windy, sure can survive. if like last year hit 32-33 degrees and more everyday, think cannot le. i will hide in aircon room! my mom actually asked me to sleep with her in the aircon room (my old room has no aircon) but i decided not to, 'cos wanted to be alone with my babe. and in case she cried, she won't disturb anyone.

re: hair during confinement

i tied up all the way. even my fringe. purposely let it grew long so can tie everything up into a neat ponytail. very irritating to have hair plastered against forehead and face.

i feel that my head gets stinky if i dont wash hair!envy those of u who dont "stink" le!

starry

Yup~ my frens were told me oct will be a cooling month. when i had my gal sept 2008 the weather so hot! at least u still can sleep aircon. For me no aircon, fan only must rotate.

same even fringe i clip it up..

yan

no stink lehz. only oily not v oily also. but when i comb my hairs, alot hairs drop.

re: washing hair

I can't remember exactly when I washed my hair... maybe 5-7 days after birth. Confinement woman says ok to wash, she just boiled ginger water for me to wash hair. It was very spicy!!!

As for bathing, boil herbs, mix with hot water and just wash with that. I did not shower in hospital and on the first day coming back, so I think that's 3 or 4 days of no washing, just wipe.

Please, must wash, very smelly ok?

I wore t-shirt and lounge pants w bedroom slippers/socks at home.

My mil is chinese and she never practised these confinement rules, she doesn't believe in them. Lucky for me. She is very healthy, 60, with 2 boys in their 30s. No headaches, no rheumatism, only occasional gastric problem. I stopped taking herbal bath after before the full month was up because we ran out of packet herbs and did not replenish. hopeful that Oct will be a cool month. My daughter is a Dec child, and I still felt very hot... sweat buckets the first 2 weeks.

Creamdonut

I think there are only 1 or 2 models of horizontal car seats on the market right? If you wanna get lightweight stroller that can attach car seat, you can try Combi, I hv seen some models that come w car seat. Personally I am not a fan of Combi, because it seems too flimsy to me. And my hb is quite big sized, so it looks funny to me to have a big guy pushing a small and short stroller around. it is very light weight so if that is your main consideration, then you can consider Combi strollers and carseats. Safe n Sound convertible car seat that I have does not lie flat, but there is recline.

i believe those no bathe no wash hair theory is more applicable to those winter countries like china whereby its quite a common practice to shower only once or twice a week during winter (for non-confinement people)

My student's mum is fr China. Recently gave birth in SG. she also bathed n wash hair cos too hot here! hahaha

Re: Confinement

For my past 2 confinements, I have been bathing twice a day and washed my hair twice a day too. Haha...

It's really hot and sweaty esp if you BF.

i think just let it be first. i will get post natal massage. so if starts on 5days, then i got excuse to bath myself lorr... hopefully no big arguement or scare if i really get depression when things i wanna do become kenot.

Starry,

just now i called Originsjamu, she asked me who recommends to me. I said ur name... got free perks? haha but the lady said rebecca will call me back, still waiting for her call [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

if don't shower also must at least rinse down there. very yucky with all the bleeding and sweating. yucks!

prettymums,

that must be heavenly!! i don't even need to THINK about bathing + shampooing 2x a day. can bathe everyday i happy liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i also cannot imagine letting baby nurse at a sticky, sweaty, smelly and salty breast. yeeewww..

starrymommy, yah... for me, in the day, my CL will boil the herb water for me to bathe. I will wash my hair. At night before I sleep, I will bathe (without the herb) again. But this time, I will hide in my room and dry my hair before going out of my room. So no one will know... haha...

Been feeling aches Between legs, when lift legs up to wear pants bottoms/ undies. Seems to be getting harder to balance too

Anyone same or exp before?

24 weeks liao

just now I went to pee and there was a sharp pain around my lower hip area. It was so pain till I couldn't stand up for that split second.

yan

Yes i believe the no bathing theory comes from the chinese from colder parts! How can the same rule apply to us in the tropics where humidity is almost 100%??? When I was staying with a family in China, they bathed only once or twice a week! It was so weird when I was there cos they didn't want me to waste their precious hot water!!! My German friend bathes only once a week when she is back home.

Sweat, blood and BO... its really unhygenic not to shower

For now, i just wish that my confinement will be a very easy one for me. don hope to argue with my mum and black face in the house. then my hubby will be the middle person... hahaha

envy for those allow to bath everyday and wash hair...

feel so moody and i have Magnum ice cream again... shiok!!!

gilera,

ya sometimes i have little bit aching when lift up my legs wearing bottom/undies. i think is normal because our bump is getting bigger... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyone bought maternity panties already? i m still wearing the normal ones but getting tight now. haha. But i dont like maternity big big until tummy type le.

can someone enlighten me, why we need to buy maternity pad? what's the difference of Kotex Loop and the Kotex adhesive? is Kotex is the only maternity pad brand in the market? how many packets will we need ar??

minidiary,

i love magnum minis! my favorite is the strawberry flavored ones. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yan,

i bought some wacoal stretchy undies when i was in phuket. but they are still hipsters. no need to get maternity ones that cover the whole tummy 'cos will feel too hot.

re: maternity pads

those loop ones are very awkward, need to tie. very messy to untie and tie when need to pie. adhesive ones are like normal pads, which i find a lot less fussy. you can also use other brands of thick and extra long overnight pads. works the same way. expect to have heavy menses-like flow with blood clots for the initial 2 weeks then become normal flow and slowly just brown stains. whole duration is approx. 4-6 weeks depending on individuals.

minidiary: due to your 'influence' last week, i am now hooked on magnum minis =p

yan2609: i bought maternity panties as hubby was complaining that i am 'strangling' baby with my panties =.= i also bought disposable maternity panties, as i am not planning to wash my panties during confinement (my friends told me that it is very messy) ..

Oh then not necessary to get maternity pad la? I still have whisper and sofy still. I thought got something special on those pad...

Ya I'm eating the strawberry one. Eat one still not enough. Going to make banana milkshake later... Hehe

Got disposable maternity panties also? Why we need that? Thought can just dump the panties to washing machine and wash...

Haha mini magnum just nice for us, didn't eat too much so wont get fat... Haha

I'm thinking to get bigger size panty only. Don think needs to buy maternity panty, bit exp the price I saw in Mothercare for maternity panty

i also wore disposable ones during confinement.

guess i will have to get bigger size panties and also maybe some maternity ones if its cheap.

minidiary,

nothing special in maternity pads lor. just that they are super thick, super long and super ma fan! i hated them. but hospitals like them. weird. i only used a few pcs thru out my whole hospital stay then the rest wasted le. if tie too lose, the whole thing will drop. if too tight, you feel uncomfy. and i don't feel secure wearing them 'cos it's like anytime turn in bed the whole pad will shift and will stain nightgown and bed. that time no choice had to use as i was confined in bed for 2 full days, can't put on my own pads.

fantastar,

wahahaha!! your hubby is very funny! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] what strangle baby with undies?? lol! i also worn those disposable undies thru out confinement. scared got stains and i feel uncomfortable letting my mom wash my undies for me. :p bought mine from watsons, full cotton ones. more expensive than paper, but so much more comfortable! worth every cent. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fantastar

my hubby also say i m strangling my baby with my tight undies! hahaha

how abt bras? u all wearing nursing bras now? or bigger sized bras?

i bot afew nursing bras and wore one yesterday. when trying, i can hook inner most and feel comfy. but yest when i hook, can't hook inner most one le... die.. i wonder if my boobs will grow bigger and need to buy more nursing bras.. omg.. normal bras i need to put 2 extension liao loh...

Oh Watson got fully cotton disposable panties... Good good will try to look out for it. Why u buy those kotex loop? Loop aredi don need to wear panty one?