(2011/10) Oct 2011

re: medela

i think too many reviews that PIS' suction is far too strong so they came up with the freestyle. got total nine levels of suction so very comfortable! i think it's cheap for a pump of this calibre too. SGD450 now for US set if you buy from BP thread or through spree. won't get milk into tubings either.

I have the following items for sale, do PM or SMS me if you're interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Brand New Pigeon Silent Electric Breast Pump

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5365222.html?1303201789

Safety 1st Deluxe Bath Cradle

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5267655.html?1301149290

Used Medela PISA Faceplate

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5214044.html?1302587212

1d1r,

no warranty, but so far no complains for many local mums abt US set. even if got problem (touchwood!) can send to the local repair centre for repair at fixed rate $100. usually no issues with motor which has quite long life unless you drop it into water then sure die on you immediately. if need to change any parts etc tubings, funnels, just get from BP or kiddy palace. all in all, still save a lot compared to buying local set at $799-$900. the price difference is horrendous! by converter you mean the plug? the set is 2-pin type. i bought a small cheapo converter from those 'japalang' shop for $1.50 nia. easily purchased.

Think these few days nvr sleep well, was napping for the past 5 hrs just now.. Now feel like I sleep until I got no energy like that...

Starry, I think minidiary can add u into the oct FB group..

Now i 13th week, if my weight still dropping nvm one right? I will still take my daily dose of vitamins to ensure I got the nutrients but I duno enough or not.. I know I nvr eat enough but the moment I eat, I will vomit leh..

tabbyz,

go to the spree section http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/590029.html?1303203951. sometimes have, sometimes don't. and remember to read thru the T&Cs carefully especially abt extra shipping or handling charges.

i bought mine from BP. got a few sellers..

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4876677.html?1303203159 (bought from her. collected the next day near her place.)

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5359713.html?1303200789 (go see her website for details on pumps.)

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4523110.html?1303201725 (bought my medela spare parts from her.)

but don't need to get so soon. i waited till 3rd tri then made up my mind to get medela freestyle. don't get the medela swing although it's cheaper. it's useless!! my colleague had to borrow my freestyle because her swing no strength to express her milk out. she used pigeon manual pump with much better results. just my opinions lah. if can go do research and read reviews online first before committing to buy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I just puked... I hope I dun puke again on the way back.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re: Breastpump

Was planning to buy after delivery as I do not know the status on milk flow and volume .. Is it advisable? Have been 'screening' through the available breast pump brand in the market, but do not know which is good .. Any advice from experienced mum?

A Malay auntie gave up her seat to me =D Maybe coz she saw me hugging my tummy and nauseating away =p But thank goodness for the seat .. So tired after walking to and fro from collecting roast goose .. Wanted to take cab but not even one in sight; thought should have plenty since after 5pm ..

starry

thanks for sharing! I'll save the links in my favourites folder! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Medela Freestyle / PIS / Swing

I used these 3 before for my #1.. I think I can give my reviews here.. Hehe

Freestyle vs PIS: PIS is very strong, even the stimulation phase is very strong as compared to freestyle.. It feels that the suction is there pulling and pulling strongly and like what jasmine says, it can be damaging n cause u bleed from internally.. So if u are getting this, dont use it at full strength from the beginning... Freestyle's sucking motion is more comfortable and gentler.. it sort of have light pauses after each suction...

Swing: I will compare swing's sucking motion to be the same as freestyle, the only drawback is that it is a single pump.. and ya, the motor not as strong as freestyle..

All the pumps can control the strength that you want.. Personally, all the 3 works for me and can extract milk very well.. I think it is how the boobs let down the milk and pumps are just equipment to collect it I feel...

For comfort and convenience, go for freestyle..

For those who has difficulty letting down (I would say for mummies who didnt latch and used pump for a start), PIS may be good cos sucking motion is strong... Both are heavy if you carry them out..

For lighter option, u can get the swing.. but single pump u need double the time to pump milk..

Fantastar, depending on which POV you subscribe to, it is believed that ALL MUMMIES HAVE MILK. whether a lot or a little depends on how hard you strive to breastfeed.

For me, I bought a manual pump as standby cos usually first few months it's good to latch to stimuate flow. But cos my boy did not know how to latch initially, I ended up expressing & got hubby to run out to buy the model I like after I tried at hospital :D

You must remind yourself:

$800 pump means must pump for at least 8mths to make it worth it. :p

Cos for infant, average ard $100-200 per month on milk powder :p

Re: BreatPump

I also find that Medela suction is too strong. My first medela set(mini electric) was past down by my sil and it gave me really painful nipples. At one time, I could really see my blood coming out of my nipple as it sucked. Then my husband bought me Ameda. He did ask me if I wanted the Medela duo pump (I forgot was it PIS or Freestyle) as the review was good, but the set ($799 SGD) was too expensive and at that time I didn't know how long I was gonna breatfeed my #1 so I told him to go for the cheaper Ameda set. Ameda was good and it didn't give me painful nipples but it didn't last long.. 6 months after I used it, it started giving me problem. eg. It could not start when I switched it on. I had to hit the machine a few times before it started. Sometimes when I used halfway through, it would produce "old man cough" sound and I have to hit it hard again.. haha... But I survived on it until my girl turned 1. As for my #2, I'm thinking to stick to my Ameda first until it dies off totally. Then will get a new set from other brand most probably.

Ya lizy, I heard that ameda not very lasting.. medela is the trusted brand.. U can try the freestyle for your case..

1d1r, this time round I intend to breastfeed until 1yr old but then, from 6 mths onwards, I will mix in formula milk.. I realise that the breastmilk from 7th mth onwards is very diluted.. i stopped my #1 at 7th mth..

Roxanne, milk from 7th month onwards IS suppose to be diluted so that your baby will be hungry and want solids instead of only depending on your milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But it still contains all the goodness of immune factors that no other milk can offer.

My boy was totally breastfed till 18mths then start to mix formula milk. & he took onto formula milk very well. Now he's taking fresh milk & loving it. Think for #2 will wean direct to fresh milk instead of formula milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Roxanne for sharing your experience with Medela sets! If I'm getting Medela, I'll go for freestyle. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1d1r,

I totally agree with you that if we were to get an expensive breat pump, we must commit to BF for long else totally not worth it.

Stimulation phase in breastpumps:

Actualy I find that not necessary. All you really need to stimulate a let down is a 'nipple tickle'! Just flick your fingers/tissue paper on your nipples and 10-25s later BOOM you should have let down, save yourself the pressure from the pump [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fantastar,

i had the same doubts as you before i delivered my girl. but still went ahead to get the freestyle before i popped. you must trust yourself and your body. the breasts are really wonderful milk making machines! so you DEFINITELY will have milk and milk flow. can wait till after delivery to buy if you want then just get a simple manual pump (BN sets at cheap prices can be found on WTS thread) first for the initial few days. some mummies do wait till milk really comes in then get a proper electric pump.

for me i am kiasu lah. but i am glad i bought early! 'cos my milk came in and was engorged on 3rd day. used hospital's medela pump and then back at my mum's place (moved there for confinement) used manual pump first but hands felt like dropping off with all the pressing. such a relief when my hubby brought the freestyle over finally lor.

1d1r,

which hospital were you at? got avent pump there? i was at MAH and used the monster-sized medela. hee hee!! when they brought it in, i just stared 'cos nv saw breastpump so big before. i don't know what's the model name already. initially wanted to latch on all the way, then the nurse recommended me to pump because i was badly engorged by 3rd day and my girl drank very little, couldn't empty the breast.

re: ameda

think a set costs $299 at taka baby fair last year. nothing included. just the pump itself. considered a cheaper alternative to medela.

tamms,

wahaha! wanna laugh at your post! so true though! hee hee! sometimes i just closed my eyes and imagine my baby sucking and really, BOOM got let down le. :D

Tamms, eh, everyone is different. I need the longer stimulation phase for proper letdown to occur. And to make things faster, I normally will try to get 2 letdowns during 1 pump session so will get more milk also :p

Starry, I delivered at TMC [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1d1r,

can share how you managed to get 2 letdowns in one pump session?? i remember i had to stop halfway when milk seems to have stopped coming out, hand express then pump again then will have milk flow once more.

Me planning to breastfeed for at least 12 months .. But electric or manual better? Heard that manual is better as we can control the strength and speed ..

fantastar,

Manual is good for initial period when establishing milk supply and when breasts are so engorged that electric pumps don't work as well in expressing. But manual pump is VERY tiring. Imagine pumping 4-5 times a day if u are not fully latching and for at least 30mins per session. Hands will break/cramp from all that pumping! Manually pumping in the middle of the night can be torturous. Electric one is still a good investment. Can doze for a few mins while on auto.

I just had to ask for a seat on the train again. Become very thick skinned in this and no longer feel pai seh asking. Too tired and drained to feel any embarrassment.

starrymommy: just hug your tummy; people will get the 'hint' ..

thanks for the input; so electric is better? me have not decide yet and is starting to compile a list of baby essentials ..

starry

haha... true right? hmmm dunno abt 1d2r but for me i need to wait around 7-10min after letdown #1, then #2 will come.

1d2r

I latch round the clock so letdown is fast for me. I only pumped 1x a day before sleeping for storage.

fantastar

everyone woman will have milk. The key is to latch on demand, ie, roughly every 3-4 hours. This means you will have to wake up to bf. Mums who sleep thru the night and let CL feed the baby instead will hv a real tough time establishing supply. You MUST do night feeds.

If you can't bf for whatever reason, then you must pump at the same interval.

fantastar,

electric is MUCH better. I used the Avent electric Uno (single), cos I mostly latch. But it will take a longer time to express when you get back to work. The alternative is to consider 1 manual and 1 electric to save cost and time. This is only IF you do not pump frequently otherwise the muscles on 1 hand will become more developed!!!

fantastar,

electric is good for ppl like me who don't tbf. i mostly pump out. or if you intend to go back to work yet still want to provide bm for your child. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tamms,

next time i try your method. that time i didn't have the stamina to latch ard the clock and relied on pumping ard 4-5 times a day. super siong.. especially the midnight ones. did your baby nurse very well? mine sucked very well, but kept falling asleep when at the breast so it was like 3-4hrs of sleep per day for me initially. and not 3-4hrs straight. more like 1 hr naps. in the end my mum told me to stop bfing at night, give formula instead.

starry,

PM me ur fb email add. I add u into the secret grp...!

wow great to hear all those bf lessons... I really dunno what is let down... milk flow non stop? haha i just imagine only.

Hi. Sorry to interrupt.

I have 2 spare bottles of Clarins Oil to let go. They are brand new, and unused. I bought too many, cannot finish.

My price: $58/bottle (30% discount!)

Retail price:$82/ bottle

Do pm me if you are interested. Or email to [email protected].

Can meet up at Bishan or Raffles Place. Other optiosns can be discussed. While stocks last!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5367066.jpg]

1d1r, haha.. I didnt know and I see so diluted ah, I stopped bf liao.. But it is true about the immunity, my gal fell sick 1 mth later after I stop bf..

tamms,my letdown also quite long de.. and i agree with u.. must work hard to have supply.. and the best breastpump is our baby!

Re: milk powder

seems like a lot of u r drinking Enfamama, how come ah? other brands not good? so far I have tried Anmum and Similac, and prefer Anmum cos Similac is like super sweet.

I want to ask 2nd/3rd time mummies.. How do you prepare the older kids for the newborn didi/meimei?

recently i bought a toy for my gal and she is very happy.. then i told her it is from the baby inside.. but she clever la, she knows is daddy who pays for it..

creamdonut, similac infant milk powder also super sweet! I saw alot of infant on the stage 1 milk, grew so so plump from it.. and their poo stinks!

Anyway, i am taking similac, but very diluted one cos too thick I will vomit.. Its a free sample.. dont waste it

Hi ladies, long time no post but have been readng.

Breast pump :

I used avent electric for my #1. true that it is not very lasting for me. After 8mths, a bit gone case, sent back to exchange 1-1.

But what I appreciate is that it has dual function. While the motor sent for repair, I used the manual.

Manual is very tiring and slow.

I thought of changing to medela this time coz I heard abt the good reviews. But I also heard that e suction so strong & I'm thinking if spoilt, den I got to spend $$ to buy a manual to tahan.

So end up I probably get back avent, since I'm used to the suction etc

Morning mummies .. Besides Avent, is there any other brand with dual function? Thought of getting both manual and electric breastpump .. Best if they have dual function ..

mornin mummies.. haven logged in long time coz battling with morning sickness..ouhh still like a beech i tell u... im coming 14 weeks preggie n it is still bothering me.. sigh

Has anyone bought any clothes from this site? Looks very pretty and not that expensive ....

http://www.motherhood.com/

This is my third pregnancy and I want to try something different ie not bought from local stores like Spring or Mothers en Vouge

roxanne

my gal was on similac infant milk powder since young. Change it to enfa when she is 2. she still small size lehz and she drinks lots of milk. i think is depends on family line whether the kids will be big or small size bahz.

hey mtbs.

i'm feeling very down now. collected my oscars report last night but my results is not ideal - 1:605. my #1 is 1:6710. that's 10 times of difference. my overall adjusted risk was pulled down by my ultrasound risk which is just 1:188. T_T

totally ruin my mood for the upcoming trip tmr. i dun hv the courage to handle a special child & i'm terrified that bb may hv down's. i told my hb i like to hv a definite ans for sure but he is quite agst it as my risk is abt 0.1% compared to the miscarriage risk of 0.5%.

anyway, my hb suggest that i take my mind off this issue & enjoy the holiday first. i hv 4wks to arrive at a decision. not sure if i can temporary put this aside & relax.

sob sob sob...

"Morning mummies .. Besides Avent, is there any other brand with dual function? Thought of getting both manual and electric breastpump .. Best if they have dual function .."

I bought Medela Pump in style in 2008 - so far so good - been using it for my number 1 and number 2 ... going to use it for my number 3 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning mommies!

Laila

You're not alone. Some mommies are still having MS here too.

Angel

I'm sorry to hear that. However, many mommies here shared that the OSCAR test is not 100% accurate. Have a serious talk with your HB about this topic. Do keep us updated!

Angel

like u my oscar show low risk however e NT measurement was v thick n gynae recommend to either do CVS/aminio/leave it.. was so depressed for few days n initially i read a lot of info online but it made me more stressed up! so right now i realise i've time to decide whether to do amnio test later n try to 'relax' meanwhile cos it isn't doing me any gd by stressing out. I've not 100% decide but i suppose most likely i'll be doing amnio despite e miscarriage risk of 0.4%... gd luck to u! meanwhile i say enjoy ur trip no pt worrying at this juncture..

WTS

Natal Care Plus (400mg): Each box of 30 capsules at $14.00 (U.P. $16.05)

http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/8470/img1140sx.jpg

http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/5936/img1141e.jpg

Natal Care Triplus (625mg) : Each box of 30 capsules at $28.00 (U.P. $32.10)

LAST 4 BOXES OF TRIPLUS ALL RESERVED.

All boxes with Expiry 2013.

Bought too many from Dr Adrian.

================================================

An Australian specially balanced formulation that helps fulfill DHA requirement for fetal / baby brain development, and optimizes the brain development of the fetus and infant.

The core element in NATAL CARE PLUS - Natural Fish Oil - contains DHA and EPA, which is particularly needed during pregnancy and lactation. Apart from that, NATAL CARE PLUS also contains Vitamin E, an anti-oxidant that helps to alleviate the negative impact of free radical formation, and increase normal cell function.

================================================

Cash on pick-up/delivery @ Jurong East or Raffles Place.

Kindly PM or leave SMS at 9 876 1872.

Thanks all and have a safe pregnancy!

finally going for my oscar today. how long does result take to be out? i already forgot when the clinic called me up the last time.

angel,

i hope what i share with you can encourage you.. there is this mummy in my oct 2010 forum. she had oscar results that came up to be high risk for down syndrome baby. both her and hubby were in a ang moh country that time and those ang mohs kept pressurizing her to do amnio or just straight away abort. only gave her these 2 options. think culture there very different. once suspect will have DS, they will either further test to confirm or just abort. very sad.

anyway that mummy was also in mental and emotional torture thinking about it for many weeks and even sought 2nd opinion from local gynae via long distance call/emails etc. she had no friends nor family there except her hubby. but she's very strong. in the end just learnt to trust her maternal instincts and firmly told the doctors no amnio (didn't trust the doctors there), no abortion. she knew the baby would be fine and really, her baby came out perfectly normal last year september. really thankful she didn't listen to the kuku ang moh doctors there. bottom line is, do what you feel is necessary to have a peace of mind and most importantly trust your own maternal instincts. if really must do amnio, go for it. otherwise wait till 20 week detailed scan to see if everything is normal. for now, hope you can just enjoy your trip. take care and update us!

starry, Oscar scan is a combination of blood test and scan. The scan result is immediate, but blood test result takes days. If you were doing blood test and scan on the same day then you need to wait for days for the final result. I did my blood test few days before my scan and I got my result right after the scan.

starry... I heard the ang moh docs are really jialat... if they suspect something... they put u thru a battery of tests... that's y their healthcare is really expensive...

I went KK 24 hour clinic last nite.... vomit to the point water also wanna puke... doc said I have too much gastric juice... give me gastric and vomit pills... no appetite also... haiz... I really miss my mum.... but she went holiday with my dad in China.... sigh....

Angel:

I know its really easier said then done. But worrying wont help u & ur baby. So, u relax and enjoy ur trip!

I agree with Starry.Trust ur maternal instinct! Either u decide to go for amino or u wait for detailed scan at 20weeks.

I have heard of quite a few cases on false results in oscar whereby baby is born normal as well.

Cheer up! take care!