(2011/10) Oct 2011

Like to join this thread as i just tested positive on friday_18th Feb. Based on the online EDD calculation, my EDD will be end October.

This is my second pregnancy, I have my firstborn in August 2008. I deliver my firstborn in Mt E, will be going back there again. Just call my gynae yesterday, but he is doing surgery. So made an appointment next Sat to see him.

Very excited to be mummy again !

hello everyone! Is it possible to detect preg even b4 menses due? I tested positive on 16th.. 3 days b4 my AF due. ANd i tested everyday for next 3 days. all positive. i m abit paranoid cos few mths back i had positve preg test n blood test. But low HCG.. doc said it was early m/c AKA chemical pregnancy. SO i m v worried now,. hope this preg is REAL!!! pray pray pray

hi mummies-to-be,

Wish to join in this thread's discussions as I just tested positive yesterday. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] This will be my #2! EDD is 1 Nov 2011 but because I delivered via C-sect in Oct 2010 think will be C-sect again in mid-Oct.

#2,

Thanks! I'm excited to be a mommy again come Oct. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yan,

It's possible to test positive even before period due if hormone level is high enough and your test kit is more sensitive than the average type. I was browsing the test kit selection at Guardian yesterday and saw one type that can test even a week before period due. Can't remember the brand though.

Starry, I'm also excited [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My boy will have little bro/sis to play with already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

OMG! that's like just nice a year apart??

I can't imagine myself having 2 toddlers at the same time.... considering that my boy was rather naughty!

yeah, just nice 1 year apart. think i will be pulling my hair out the first few months bah. luckily my girl quite easy to handle and doesn't fuss (i used babyplus when preggy with her) unless hungry, tired, soiled diaper etc. otherwise i'll be in hell as the pregnancy symptoms are coming much earlier this time round. you having MS now?

any recommendation for gynaes in the west??

Yan is freaking me out!! Low HCG can lead to early mc /chemical pregnancy. I am having faint line from for the past 3 days. Lines didnt get darker at all.

Can i try to see Dr Ben Tham tmr?? im tearing now panicking coz im not feeling good about it.

welcome to all new mummies!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry: wats babyplus? Sorry suaku here ;)

Guava: I tink u should still go ahead book dr tham. It's better to set ur mind at ease cos I can see tt u r getting more emotional ya? Tell u wat, dun wait till Tom to call e clinic - email them now for an appt Tom. Email them ur symptoms n ur worries, let them noe u r anxious. They might not reply u by today with an appt bt ur request will be looked in first thing Tom. Of cos, u can follow up with a call at 9+ Tom if u had not received news fm them, bt fm experience, they check emails very regularly. Hope this helps, n u try not to tink so much ya? Go out for a stroll or a movie, tink positive k? Hugs!!

1dog1rabbit: can apply 2 brands? I toy mus use one brand twice for better efficiency... Hmmm, mayb I was wrong. I haven started applyin/researchin on what brands r good leh. I lk a v bad n lazy gal, oppsss!

#1,

babyplus is a small device strapped to the tummy from week 18 onwards that plays rhythmic heartbeat-like sounds to your baby. here is the website: http://www.babyplus.com/. i think it worked for my girl! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] gonna use it for #2 also.

Hmm How to you know you have low HCG ? determine by the intensity of the line of the test kit ?

I just relook mine, not sure if it is considered faint.

I remember last time when i tested pregnant, i went to see gynae for the blood test immediately. Maybe i should try to go and see him tomorrow.

Hey KWXY!! Don't freak out!! U got faint line is still positive! That time I had positive reading by clearblue digital only! The other brands all negative! That's y I went for blood test!

Aiyo!! Don't scare urself! Be positive ok?!!

Hi Starry

I sold off my babyplus after my firstborn is delivered. I am still thinking if i want to buy other other one for this one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Right now, my top priority is to have a safe pregnancy and plan for vacation in 2nd trimester. My firstborn love to take airplane, so better bring him for another trip before we will be all grounded for at least a year after the next one come...

Yan, what do you mean by positive reading using the clearblue digital??

I dunno why I feel so insecure about everything now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi! mummies,

do u know wat can we apply on our breast&nipples har? my breast&nipple is very itchy, don't knw is it due to my breast and nipple are very dry recently.

jojobar,

Where u traveling to? I have a Phuket trip planned for May. Hope will be well enough to go still.

Re: HCG

Dont think able to tell whether low or not just by using test kit. Only way to find out is to do blood test.

Kwxy,

Are u expecting ur first child? It's very normal to feel uncertain, stressed and worried about a lot of things. Blame it on the hormones... I'm sure u and baby will be fine! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kwxy- that time I used the clearblue digital which indicates the no of weeks preg. It showed 1-2( something like that I can't recall) which means I was preg 4 weeks. But when u used the clearblue (non-digital one) with + / -, my result was -tive. So I bought other kits eg Watson etc.. Tested all negative! So I went for blood test. Result was preg! But HCG was low. And repeated blood test 2 days later the HCG level decreased instead of increasing! So doc said that it's chemical preg whereby menses will come within the next few days. And advised me to stop taking the pills( an tai ).

@kwxy hmmm why u feel worried? Did u try a few brands? As long as it's positive ( even faint line) I feel that it's good enough. Cos the HCG will built up v quickly within the next few days. But if u are really concerned, u can opt for blood test at polyclinic, hospital or gynae. Hmm.. Scanning at this stage (4-5weeks) may not be able to see anything cos too early. Cheer up!!

Yan, thanks for the explainations...do you have any spotting before that??

First i used the clearblue normal HPT and saw VERY faint line, hubby and i not sure, we used another clearblue HPT the next morning, this time faint line, still not convinced, we used the digital one, so it showed "Pregnant 1-2 weeks"...which means 3-4 weeks. This morning itchy backside and use the normal clearblue HPT again...still faint! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Starry, YES! its our #1...and i dunno what to expect and will often have a lot of question marks...i only shared with one friend and my immed family members. so i also dunno who to ask...

Sorry kwxy, I jus realized my prev post was addressed to u instead of guava. Was usin iPhone so the fonts r a bit small, sorry sorry!! The post is on dr than, and how u can email him instead....

Emilybaby: yups, JL is John little [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] not sure if the JL expo sale is still on, mayb it's cheaper there? Bt I Noe if got Robinson card will hav further 10% off normal items [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Actually I thinking of buying like one size bigger bras leh, since aft preg will still be "big" rite? Dunno leh, or will b on maternity bra all e way?

@kwxy- hmm. i didnt have any spotting that time. But i had v v bad cramps, similar to menses.

This time round, hopefully things all turn out well!

U too!! dont worry!

maybe u can try using other brands? clearblue is v sensitive. My hubby and I decided to use those cheap cheap brands to confirm this timr round! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thank you Creamdonut!!

I ordered another 10 HPT strips so i can test every 2-3 days....until i see Dr Ben Tham. I used up so many Clearblue Normal/Digital HPT...so ex man...

Yan, you dun worry too!! You will be ok and you tested a few +ve! Jiayou!!

Now praying all our HCG will go UP UP UP!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

KWXY,

sometimes due to irregular menses (like mine), i only tested +ve on 3rd week of missed period. then can only see water sac on week 4. I realised being pregnant need to be very patient.

i also wasted 2 scans which see nothing because too early to see!

so sit back and relax , enjoy the pregnancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

a faint +ve is definitely a +ve !

Thanks for the support and info from mommies in this forum. I hope to see bb heartbeat tomorrow at TMC , if not, in 2 weeks time.

creamdonut,

Thanks for your concern..i was given a sheet from Dr Adrian asking me to go TMC tomorrow for further scan. I think like what 1dog1rabbit says, it could be just assigned to any stenographer to do the scan for me instead of presence of a gynae.

If tmrw i can ask for Dr Tham at the counter, it would be great! will go early morning...

minidiary,

yea i need to calm down...stay positive throughout. I didnt feel any pain or bleeding so far(touch wood), so i shouldnt be worried. maybe the hormones are making us nervous all the time... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

creamdonut,

ok,thks! but never mind lah cos i already bought fews in China last year, more cheaper than S'pore :p

haa..haa..for my 1st pregnancy, i realy need to changed my bra size, but for tis time, still don't knw yet, maybe will knw it one or two mth later bah. i never try maternity bra leh, but i saw it before, look like very thin, is it enough to cover our nipple or not har? cos u knw lah, pregnant women nipple will be more bigger than other ppl mah :p

Thanks for all the encouragements!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Guava, i read from Dr Tham's website, you can bring along your thumbdrive and save the photos/videos of you beanie!!! ...so nice...then i think have to pay $5 for any additional hardcopy photo... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

emilybaby, while buying the milk powder today...i also went hunting for bra extension...my bra getting tight...but all out of stock.

kwxy,

I tested using a clearblue for my #1 and it showed very, very faint line also. As long as got line means pregnant! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] For this pregnancy, I bought a cheapo brand test kit and got same result - very very faint line. Like u, itchy backside bought the $26 clearblue digital one and it showed pregnant 2-3 weeks today. Haha!! Don't worry so much for we are all here to share and discuss. I was also a kancheong spider with my #1 so it's perfectly normal!

#1,

Was like u last year, everything also dunno. :p Just ask and ask lor! Oh, but do get the Babyplus. I really think it works to a certain extent.

Emily,

Can get those maternity bras that offer more coverage. JL carries a brand call Eternity. When on sale only $9.90-$12.90. Very comfy and won't see nipples. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry, thanks!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

how long apart you test your clearblue digital and the cheapo test kit??

kwxy,

did u try from the shop call pretty?

creamdonut did mentioned tat John Little is selling too, maybe you can try there.

starry, hee..hee..thks thks..will go to look for it if realy need it :)

Wow... the thread has moved really quickly today! I hope everyone's day had gone well!

After a day of queasiness and visiting parents/ in laws, I'm going to zzzzzzz already! Good night all! Let's all have a better tomorrow ahead!

kwxy: wen u seeing dr tham? rem to bring ur bbt chart to show him, so that he can hav more info on ur trend for discharge etc.

his website v gd hor? he even got mention the tmc shuttle bus which i cant find on tmc website, hahhaha...

btw, guardian got sell hcg strips too. they cm in casing, unlike those online ones, so its more hygenic and the price does not differ a lot, bt a few dollars. so if u intend to restock can consider next time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

guava: jia you for tom!! hope u will be able to see beanie and say hi, hehehe.

starry: okies, i will go check it out. small investment to pay for a guai baby!

Hi Starry

We are not sure to where to go yet. so far, we had bring my boy to Perth, bali and Hong Kong disneyland twice. Still exploring brisbane or macau.

We definetely will bring him onboard star cruise before Oct.

Will save club med for later, after the October...as it is baby friendly.

Suggestion, do a Babymoon if you are having a first kid. After the baby arrive, everything change even for vacation. Since arrival of firstborn, our vacation have been nearby and babyfriendly kind ....

I was glad that we went japan when i was pregnant with my firstborn. now, i cannot imgaine bring him to japan