(2011/10) Oct 2011

wow wow minidiary! so many already? wah sey! neutral also good, next time if come out 2nd one boy or gal oso can use. heehee but i think i save the website as favourite first, later then buy...

Serlina,

unfortunately no wor. i guess gotta wait one more day? boh pian...now me and minidiary oso waiting for our gynae appt...the wait is really long! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can't wait to see bb....

btw, where did you get your stretch mark cream? i dont like cocoa butter smell...any aloe vera one i can apply? i think stomach starts to itch a bit..

dunno whether i sensitive or wat but usually i dont scratch my tummy one..

emilybaby,

hmm not for me. only on and off pain sometimes.

guava,

at least u see the first appt aredi.

mine havent leh.. now i think 7 weeks aredi...

i wan to see a gynae!

i ask my hubby in HK buy clarins stretch mark cream and oil for me.. he told me he bought 2 stretch mark cream and 1 stretch mark oil... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

actually i was very gan chiong, i went to see him one week after i missed my period but test is -ve. he did u/s on me but see nothing.

one week later, i tested at home again and its +ve. the following week went to see him, he still cannot scan anything.

he said come back 2 weeks later. then only saw water sac. i asked him how come i missed period for so long still didnt see. he said its due to my irregular menses.

so this sat, will be 7 weeks for me...hope to see bb! :D

haha actually i also gan chiong, wanna see asap

but no luck to book gynae for saturday... and hubby in HK.

ok we countdown countdown!!!

6 DAYS TO GO!!!

Hello ladies!

I just tested BFP this morning (Clearblue: Had a vertical line down and a faint horizontal line across. Positive, right?) and am still unable to believe this is real?

I think I probable cannot believe until I confirm with a GP or gynae haha... anyway, I calculated, if it is a confirmed BFP, I will also be due this Oct!

First pregnancy. First in both my and DH's family, so feeling a little jittery... Haven't told them yet!

For now, we just need to get it confirmed with a GP/ gynae right?

yes morninghugs, as long as there is faint line, its +ve! congratulations! the reason for faint line is becoz your Hcg level is not high enough yet. mine oso like tat when i tested...

i think it's good to wait a while more...see my story above? i too gan choing went see gynae cannot see anything cos too early to detect. unless you dont mind spend $$..

u/s scan cost abt $60 + consultant etc...can easily add up to $150

for your info, 4 weeks can only see water sac. so if you are not yet 4 weeks pregnant, i suggest you wait 4 weeks is up , then go see gynae...hee! gan chiong like me no use! I make myself worry only cos can't detect anything for 2 visits ...

a lot of first time mommy here...including me and minidiary....we are counting down to our gynae visit this Sat! 6 days to go ...YEAH~

Guava: Heh, thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I looked at the leaflet accompanying the HPT and it seems the faint line applies to the vertical line. The horizontal... by default seems faint haha. Mine was a strong vertical!

Anyway, I am not going to a gynae yet. I have an appointment with my GP for my skin-problems next week anyway, so will probably take the opportunity to get a blood test done then heh.

For now, is it enough to just take folic acid?

Now I got another problem! Coming down with sore throat and I am trying to just gulp water and gargle with salt water! I hope it does not escalate into something worse because I worry it may affect the little beanie!

oh oic, sorry i didnt use Clearblue's HPT...heehee..not sure abt the lines though. Should be the same i guess.

then when you see your GP, make sure you tell him/her that you are pregnant and to give you medication safe for intake.

yea, i also take folic acid when i havent seen gynae..

hi morninghugs!

congrats to you. yeah, i've tested with Clearblue Digital on 30th Jan. and some other cheap HPT too haha show strong line but till now i havent see any gynae yet. guess im in 7 weeks now.

maybe u just take folic acid. that's enuf. this is what im been taking while waiting also. haha

remember when u see GP, must tell that you are pregnant... so they can give u suitable medicine that wont affect your little beannie!

minidiary: Thank you! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Yup, will tell her about it.

I just hope it will not become a full-blown flu or something because I was down just before CNY with sore throat and stuffy nose! Even till now I wonder if it is the pregnancy that had caused the stuffy nose (I did not get the body aches. Just stuffy nose and sore throat)

Guava: Thanks for the advice! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I had sorethroat before during CNY.

see GP, didnt give me antibiotic. only lozenges... haha

so I use salt water to gargle and drink honey lemon to get it cure. but still now left with some cough...

minidiary,

i dono leh...havent done before....but im hoping just ultrasound scan will do. i saw somewhere v scan can be painful?? i scared of pain...and needles..

my sis with a kid says v scan not good for baby cos the apparatus / tool will disturb the womb? not sure though. for her, she didnt opt for v scan.

guava,

ultrasound scan got 2 types... once is thru v-san and abdominal scan. but there said v scan can see clearly...

im also afraid of needles and pain... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Guava & Minidiary,

R we seeing the same gynae?? Hehe....

It's my 1st pregnacy too so my hubby super kan chiong.

I tested negative when i missed my menses, n 1 week after i test again, it show negative so tot no chance le...who noes recently suddenly felt nauses n bloated..so decided to test again. I bought the kit which show how long concieve de..and it shows 'pregnant 3+'weeks

Super anxious to go see the BB also...lol

minidiary,

guess the abdominal 1 is gd enough le....dr adrian will print out the pix for u to bring back de [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

think v-scan too pain le ba...hee...

minidiary,

guess the abdominal 1 is gd enough le....dr adrian will print out the pix for u to bring back de [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

think v-scan too pain le ba...hee...think v-scan is more for those who really can't see the BB thru ultrascan

Serlina,

i think minidiary has booked another gynae...hehe.

but we both have same gynae appt date.

your discovery story similar to mine!

mine is a gynae at AMK hub.. Thomson Women clinic.. because only her got Sat appt. haha

see what she will did for me la.. V or normal scan. now i gan chiong la...

hey ladies~ long and tired sunday, went out from morning till now just settled down watching hk drama now.

welcome morninghugs and serlina [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow minidiary you you bought so many bb clothes already? even stretch mark cream too..lol. you better control control if not ur nursery gg to fill up real fast :p

emily> no lei, mine not itchy. just feel its bigger/fuller. maybe you can try applying aloe vera gel to ease the itch.

Guava> i continue with my usual facial product other then the pimple gel i stop. also need to put makeup..if not cannot go out..lol..pants wise is getting tighter but i think its cos i ate too much..haha..bought a elastic band pant at G2000 sales that day, hope it will be comfortable.

creamdonut> i also have on-off cramps but not pain that kinda. you better talk to ur gynae about it.

Thx rabbit bb!

I wonder wat brand stretch mark cream do non-1st time mama here use ? Im lookin for other brands than palmers... Dont like cocoa butter smelll...

Anyways. Me gg to zzz liao... Night night mommies, sleep tight & sweet dreams! :)

Guava> heard review for palmer is good, but i will keep a lookout also. if any I'll share with you :p

night night all mommies...happy Valentine's day in advance @--,-----

thanks minidiary and rabbit_bb for ur replies.

guess i will call tom n see which gynae i can go to check first then. cos i wanted to wait longer for first visit since now still so early wun b able to scan anything also. bt now i'm scared, so tink dun save the money better know wats happening first :x

Thanks everyone for the warm welcome!

Re: V scan - in the early weeks, v scan will give a clearer image, so usually before week 12 v scan is done. Its not painful cos the probe is quite thin, just relax.

Chinese gender prediction - this is true in 8 out of 10 friends whose pregnancies I have charted, its also accurate for my #1. Of course its not 100% but the odds seem to be higher. Perhaps can try a combination of Shettles and chinese chart for higher accuracy??? haha... for the next baby.

Cramping - I had no pregnancy signs except for sore breasts (and early spotting) when I was preganant with #1. And my skin was RADIANT. This time I have some some mild cramping and ligament pulls. Have also got mild nausea during the evening. And my skin is a little spotty....... hope it clears up soon.

Stretch mark cream - I don't like the smell of palmers either, find it a bit plasticky! I used elancyl, sometimes olive oil.

Welcome to the thread, Serlina & morninghugs! happy v day to u girls!

serlina, a few mommies here go to dr adrain.. he is quite popular.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

minidiary, i think my HK trip nd to be cancelled.. cos got cases of swine flu and bird flu.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

morninghugs, i ks.. i used the digital one.. more str8 fwd.. :p

tamms, i find v scan quite painful but bearable la... i look at the equipment and it still looks big although gynea said it is suppose to be slimmer.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

btw, being emo is the privilege of preggie regardless of the gender of the bb.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

good morning everyday! hope you all had a good weekend [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

welcome all new mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i think most of us are having our 1st look at our bean this week. countdown for myself: 4 days to go!

my kid's having intense separation anxiety. sigh i'm feeling moody...

don't worry ladies V-scan is not painful as gynae will put gel on the probe. bb can be seen v clearly. later pregnancy will do abdominal scan tho not as clear.

Happy valentine everyone!

Sugarbabe: hope ur son get well soon.

I uses the brand Erbaviva for the stretch mark cream and oil. And some of their other products. It organic and the smell is mild. I have little stretch mArk but not sure if it is the cream that works. My hb rub for me every night b4 bedtime.

Ladies u can get waist extension band for your pants too if it getting tight. Mother care, kiddy palace all sell.

rina,

really cancel HK trip? where u saw got new on swine flu? how many cases arh?

rabbitbb,

yeah lo stocked up some bb clothes when im hunger to have a bb that time... haha

guava,

try Clarins brand. heard review not bad, that's y i ask my hubby to get for me...

tulips02,

lonely valentine's day for me.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

luvagape,

Im counting down to: 5 days to go!

rabbit_bb, tulips02: Hi! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rina: I am just going to leave the result at that - not going to test using other HPT...

minidiary: I just went to see the doc today because I woke up in the middle of the night with the worst sore throat ever. Doc also didn't give me antibiotics. Just some anti-inflammatory med for the throat. Maybe doctors are not keen to prescribe antibiotics to preggy mums?

I am still nervous because I have been unwell - flu, sore throat etc. Am really hoping this will not affect beanie! My friend said usually pregnant mums will have stronger immunity system because the body is preparing for an additional being, but this doesn't seem to be the case for me! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

guava: Do we need stretchmark cream so early in the pregnancy?

Tulips02: I hope you are feeling better by now! I also felt horrible this morning - blocked nose, sore throat and slight nausea which I think may have come from the sore throat. I actually took a nap after coming back from the doc with some sweets in my mouth throughout my nap! :p

Hi all oct mummies

i seen Dr Benjamin Tham last week at TMC and confirm my pregnancy. I went back to him today because of my brown discharge and spotting..quite scary..Lucky everything is good and can see the baby heartbeat. my BB is 6 weeks old, so my EDD is in Oct.

Was given a week mc to rest and also needed a jab today and coming thursday to help to stablised the pregnancy.

hi morninghugs, do take care of yourself. Drink more water and rest well. Preggy mums usually have lower immunity, not higher.

hi cherlene, welcome and congrats! You too rest well. Try to stay in bed as much as possible.

luvagrape: Yup, trying to really rest today. Sick of being sick already! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

p00h_p00h: Rest well! May you and bb be healthy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

By the way, speaking of bleeding, is there anyone here who did not experience implantation bleeding/ spotting? I had absolutely nothing of the sort but my friend swears it definitely will happen because the fertilised egg will worm itself onto the womb, causing this.

hey morninghugs, nope i've nothing of that sort. if there is implantation bleeding, it's usually very slight and few women do notice it. your friend's womb must be sensitive enough to discover it.

How was your weekend? Hmm, seems like today is quite quiet. How's everybody? Has the MS start to kick in yet? Mine is everyday suffering[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Welcome serlina n morninghugs!

My review on Dr Adrian - I find him really good in his stitching skills and that's the reason why I go back to him this time round. He is a few words man which I find uncomfortable initally but I am quite pleased with his warming and caring attitude on my delivery day. Overall this gynae to me is 8/10 but having say that it's all up to each individual. Hope these helps[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BTW, anyone with Dr Adrian at CCK?

Minidiary,

I also like Clarins stretch oil. I used up 3 bottles on my tummy and it helps to relieve the itch. I used as whole body massage oil after delivery and surprisingly it can also help to relieve water retention. I bought at airport tax free save me per bottle $20. Smart of you to ask your hb to buy back.

Morninghugs,

I don't think implantation bleeding will definitely happen to everyone. I had implantation bleeding for my #2 but not to my #1. Some will experience but not all.

Cherlene,

Do take plenty of rest as it helps in the brown spotting. As long as not bright spotting/bleeding, still ok. Rest is important. Take care[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morninghugs, I had spotting for 9 days for my #1 in weeks 5 and 6, but none for this one which I find a great relief!

Re: stretchmarks, well they say the sooner you start using the better. I used creams throughout my pregnancy but still had some stretchmarks, although they are so faint I wouldn't have noticed them had my Dr not pointed them out to me. The jury is still out about the effectiveness of using creams. If your mom has stretchmarks, chances are you're going to have them too. I'll still use them just to keep my skin moisturised and the prevent dry skin itching.

Also re falling sick during pregnancy, its best to avoid any kind of medication. Meds will probably have a greater effect on bb than your actual sickness... I had a cough and sore throat last week, didn't take anything for it except lots of water, and some manuka honey. feeling 100% today already so maybe the manuka really does work!

morninghugs you might wanna try this - put a 1litre bottle of water next to your bed, when you wake up in the morning drink as much as you can, finish up the bottle before you leave for work in the morning. Also twice a day, drink some manuka honey and a squeeze of lemon with some warm water. Can also take Redoxon vit C it helps some people. This is how I avoid the medication route and it works for me. oh I also take garlic pills, its supposed to boost immunity but I'm not sure if it really works.

Hi everyone..

Big hello to serlina and morninghugs

amici_grapes - my MS kicked in a few days ago and has been pretty bad recently. Haven't been able to eat much, especially meat.

Any advice?

Cherlene - I had spotting and cramps for the last few weeks. Every time I did something strenous, the spotting would get worse. Surprisingly, the spotting has disappeared.

Minidiary - just a few more days to your lao gong coming back. Yay!

happyenough - wow great that your spotting has gone away, come to think of it, my spotting came only after I was loading some heavy suitcases into my car... so best to avoid straining yourselves

tamms: Hmmm, think I will stop all the flu med and go out to buy some fresh lemon later! But think I will still stick to my anti-inflammatory med for the throat because erhemmm... I depend on my voice for work and I have to resume work tmr haha...

I have never taken this med before but this was prescribed after I told the doc about my pregnancy and he said he will be careful in his prescription...

Thank you for your advice! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

amici_grapes: Hello! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thank you for your reassurance... It is especially useful coming from a non-first-time mummy!

happyenough: hello! I heard drinking ginger tea helps? But will be a tad heaty though... how about splitting your meal up into tiny portions and having it over several smaller meals? I think it will help...

Hi Everyone!

I just went to the gynae this morning, confirmed 6wks, going 7wks preggie.

Saw the blinking (heartbeat) on the screen. What a nice V day present [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

This is my #2.

Seeing Dr Woo Bit Hwa at Punggol Plaza. Love him to bits [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Just paid for the antenatal package today.

I'm having very bad morning sickness and cravings (like I did in 1st pregnancy).

Poor was running ard SG the past week satisfying all my cravings...

tulips02,

how are you now? feeling betteR?

morninghugs,

preggie mummy have lower immunity.. so that's why we are not feeling well often. im still cough badly also... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] ya, doc didnt give me antibiotic either... just give me lozenges. I also suck in at night when sleeping... haha

i had implantation spotting during 2ww. just 3dots on my panty [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cherlene,

finally found you to get info of Dr Benjamin. How you find him? Im thinking to get him as my gynae. Is he good? Is this your first pregnancy or 2?

Hope you rest well and stay on bed... don do any hard chores...

amicigrapes,

thanks for telling me making good choice for Clarins. hahaha yeah buy at airport cheaper! im waitin for my hubby to come back so I can start use lo... When you start to apply?

happyenough,

yeah lo.. my hubby will be back in 2 days! im still counting down. but today is valentine's day... and Im going to be alone for the first time on this day.

tamms,

I also eat Manuka Honey... hehehe! very nice and sweet! but my cough hasnt gone away... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Welcome 1dog1rabbit!

so fast you pay for package?