(2011/09) Sep 2011

Regarding Breast Pump: I will deliver at Mt A. Do they allow us to try the breast pump? I delivered there for my previous pregnancy also but nv heard of trying out breast pump there. Is it only Thomson?

Where else can I go to try out breastpump? The Hygeia pump that my fren sells, she say can adjust the strength of pumping. Medela and Avent cannot adjust strength issit?

hi mummies, from today's straits time it was advertised that OG is having 20% sales and a baby fair. So any mummies keen to buy baby stuff maybe like milk bottles, teats, etc, can stock up liao.

For mummies using pampers active for their older child, guardian having a promotion, buy 1st pack and get the 2nd pack at 50% off (of the same size).

Shelyn, Avent can adjust strength & speed. I remember Medela PIS is fixed speed (first 2 min is quick pump followed by slow pump after that).

My hubby saw the Hygeia pump at baby fair. He say looks not bad.

You can request to try out at the breastfeeding organisation. Forgot the website offhand. Will try to post later.

Medela PIS can adjust the suction strength but not the speed.

#2 - i also eyeing on chili padi confinement catering. Thinking to try a new one other than Newbaby this time.

Ellysia, I was talking to my mum last night if this round I should get confinement tingkat cos my maid will be busy with my #1 (hv to send him to school & enrichment classes). My mum looked at the menu (Chilli Padi) & told me to just ask my maid to follow & cook. Most of the dishes my maid already know how to cook. Those she dunno, my mum said she'll teach her before my confinement.

Cos I don't like herbs & offals. Confinement cooking a lot of herbs & offals lah. So my mum say I'll be wasting money & food. :p The only 'herbs' I add are red dates & wolfberries. that's it. Sometimes will cook ginseng chicken soup (only add red dates & wolfberries with ginseng - nothing else).

She even ask me to pay her, she come over to cook everyday. (she's just joking, end up, she will also come everyday one.)

What are the confinement caterer available? So far i only found Newbaby, natal essentials and Chili Padi. Any other choices?

I see. I can't tahan my mum nagging. so dun tink she be coming over this time round. Anyway my mum dunno how to cook confinement food one. she v long no cook ored. I am a better cook than her now. The last time she cook until my kitchen black black n dirty, bec she keep forgetting to use my kitchen hood, then oso she busy taking care my son so she got no time to clean up the kitchen. after my confinement i spent some time cleaning up my kitchen. Moreover my mum doesn't support bf and she always tell me to give up.

I dun mind the herbs. But i dun take angelica (dang gui) bec TMC says will reduce BM, so i usually skip tat dish. I told Newbaby to replace tat dish but they still give me.

Newbaby give fried rice every weekend and i dun like bec the fried rice got egg. Prefer plain rice. But i like newbaby papaya fish soup which they give once a week. The portion is always v big and my mum always end up eating the remaining food.

U can try black beans, dang sheng other than wolfberries and red dates. Black dates also. these are quite good.

My colleague will also ask her maid to cook confinement food for her. Alternatively u can choose to order partial meal (14 days) so that yr maid has more time to take care of the kids during the first 2 weeks where u need more rest than the remaining 2 weeks.

Jus seen doc. So disappointing. Bb is looking down n can't see face or even gender. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Guess got to wait till detail scan in two week's time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi janice, I think should be all OG stores. Previously when they have such sales, all outlet carries the same promotion. If u do drive and go to the Orchard store, the one beside centrepoint, before u drive into the carpark press for the complimentary ticket and u can bring the ticket to redeem for a $1 parking discount when u spend $30 at OG, redeem at the OG cashier when payment. I usually take this sales to buy items like AVENT pacifier, medela bottles/teats, mustela products or etc for my 16mth girl now and I also buy toys for her when there is 20% discount, similiar sales to Robinsons. OG got maternity wear too, have a look if u happen to shop there. Happy shopping.

Re: Confinement Food

I had my C food catered during my last P. It was a terrible experience for me n I will Not cater ever again! Not only the food was cold, it taste bad too. The last day was the worst! The man came so late that I'm extremely hungry!!! This time around, my parents will train my maid to cook C food n my mum will be coming over to stay with me.

Thanks Annie! most probably will go orchard OG tomorrow after work. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Annie, am waiting for the hospital package details from u... ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Please PM me in FB.

tks for the info on the baby fair

last 2 days were not easy. Think baby change position with the head lying near my bladder plus i've been drinking litres of water every day. Coupled with the coughs makins me leak water :/ eeekkss! i've to start wearing panty liners. gdness ..is this how it will be like after birth (at least for a while) as well? cant imagine?!

Kyra: so sorry to hear abt your dog's accident! At least crying helps release the emotions u have inside. dont worry about it! so long as it doesnt become a habit. keep light hearted! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm down with flu myself now.

Prugift: shd be meetin my fren next week for the policy. we shd be getting it. at least a basic one just to start bb off.

Thanks for the expo info. We need to look for cot.

OG babbyfair: someone said earlier OG paragon or somewhr near there is disppointing. mb can try the one nearer to bencoolen?

#2 : is chicken essence safe to drink for preg ladies? cos i dont really take herbs or anyting herbal now.

Yasmin : hope all is well with you. You are very blessed with a 3rd child by 32. I am ard the same age and just expecting my first [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw did anyone read about nicholas's bb? apparantly he has put his bb on diet as he weighed 14 kg.. cant rem how many months though.. only glanced through the headlines and the pic. very funny i thought!

bunnz, the disappointing sales is the Metro at Paragon. I was there too last week, really lousy.

I heard pple taking chicken essence only on the day u are on hospital for delivery and post delivery. not sure for now, can drink or not cos is heaty. Few weeks back I was also coughing so hard that almost leak...

oh i got confused over OG and Metro. must be the "O" haha

Annie: thanks annie for reminding that chicken essense is heaty.will steer clear then. wait for after birth.

wah lau..feel like need to wear diapers.

Bunnz, just to share, I was advised by folks that on the day when u about to deliver, before u leave home, drink 1-2 bottles of chicken essence to give u strength and energy for labour esp for the 1st labour which can take many hours. I had a bottle that day and my labour almost took 20hours.

ok thanks annie!! if can bring bottles into delivery room then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw for mummies who applied for mt A card and the childbirth classes at mt A, how does the process work for registerin the child birth classes? So apply the card first, then book for the classes right to get the 10% discount?

Anyway just booked for guided tour at MtA

Asked how to book the rooms, was told only can book for room on date of admission.

Tot need to book early like hotel :p

bunnz: i've been to the tour. we can do the pre-admission online, but rooms are subjected to availability on that day of delivery..

Annie, No worries. Just need it for reference and "prepare" for the worst... ... HAHAHA its not easy to have a new member in your family = higher cost.

bunnz, i had similar "happening" like you. Coupled with the coughs makins me leak water [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Rumi: I asked my gynae if I can take ginseng and danggui as according to my mum’s request, but gynae said better not to coz it may contain steroids that are not good. Not sure if cordyceps falls into the same category?

Breast Pump:

Oh yes sounds like a good idea to try before buying! Shall do that then! Do all Parentcraft at all hospitals have such service? =)

Mt A Card:

Anyone knows by any chance if this card will enable us to get discounts on what? Hee does it apply to the detailed scan too? =p

dang gui cannot take during P, can only take after giving birth.

Jennifer,

which confinement caterer u take the last time?

pooh

richfood catering menu looks good! Can i check with u on the following

Does the food come hot

Portion enough to eat?

Tasty?

Can change menu ingredients?

I m not sure abt the herbs to take during P bec' i heard tat some herbs may cause more jaundice in bb. So i only take bird nest during P. Not going to take cordyceps tis round bec' its heaty and make bb size grow big. Too big hard to deliver. My boy 3.6KG and head 35mm give me a hard problem pushing and i need forceps which cause 6 weeks for full recovery instead of the usual 4 weeks.

simbaobao, nah......public too. just tat members get add'l perks... =)

why not donate your bb's cord blood? to save lives?? and if any of your kids ever need it(choyx3!!!), you only need to pay minimal fee, even if u only donate for 1 kid. and they'll inform u if yours are needed.

i would encourage mummies to seriously consider abt donating their bb' cord blood and help your bb to save lives! dun throw away just like tat!

to read/know more:

http://www.scbb.com.sg/

do call and arrange early as it takes some time for administrative works to be completed.

am tinking to donate out the cord but hb tinking to keep it in the cord bank -_-" i told him how long can we keep, the amt / per isn't cheap too.. hoping can convince him to let me donate it to someone who can make use of it.

The last time i didnt keep in cord blood also didnt donate.. my hb decision. will tink abt it again this time round.

Ellysia: do u have fb acct?? i send u some photos of the food.. I find the food nice and enough to eat.. CHanging the ingredients, i am not sure. But i heard from my friend u can tell them what u dun eat.

b.isforbb: Mt A dun have detailed scan. so the card only give discounts on:

$100 off for single room

$80 off for 2-bedded

$60 off for 4-bedded

10% off ante-natal course

10% off consultation fee @ 24hr clinic

15% off at health screening centre

10% off at retail pharmacy

free 6mth insurance coverage for nb

pooh: i am still deciding between avent & NUK.. my gf told me not to get too much @ once juz in case baby not used to it den nid to change new ones which happened to her..

what activities are there for 4month BB at infant care? we will need to bring our supply of BM to them?

HB not into getting maid. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Shernice - i went to the website but this statement is freaking me out.

Collection of Maternal Sample

The next stage involves the collection of blood sample from you before delivery takes place. Approximately 30mls of blood will be collected and used for the evaluation of infectious diseases

30mls = 3 big tubes or 6 small tubes. I dunno if I can survive cos I'm already so scared of injection >_<

gilera

i check with infantcare and they say if bb too small, usu is stay in the cot. after they become mobile then can crawl around, play with jumperoo etc. Got 1 infantcare i visit, i saw teacher reading story books to a bunch of cute toddlers (maybe around 9mths onwards).

milk bottles

My boy tried avent but dislike avent bec the flow is too fast and choke. NUK he doesn't like. in the end it is pigeon.

Most likely i use pigeon unless no 2 dun like then will ask hb to buy new ones. tis round won't buy so many bottles waste money.

gilera - the IFC i enquired, the teachers do flash cards for the babies around 4 months old.

Actually, many were quite shocked that I am sending my baby to IFC when ML ends. They said so young, go childcare. Makes me feel that I'm a terrible mummy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Quite depressing at times, but I also dunno what else can I do? Hais... if I can stay at home and care for my baby, won't I?

ellysia: pm u my fb acct.. thanks.. in that case, i dun buy too many bottles.. keke

pommes: is it for cord blood banking??

Pommes

dun worry. i am also planning for infant care this round. My MIL dun have the energy to take care tis round le. anyway i feel infantcare is ok except abt the getting sick part.