(2011/09) Sep 2011

muffin: i get the same feeling sometimes.. u can try drinking water.. if you still feel hungry after that then you probably are.. otherwise, sometimes it's just probably coz you're thirsty.

The full feeling i think is due to bloatedness from wind.. coz sometimes i'm like hungry but eat abit then full liao.. coz wind takes up the rest of the space!

Re: prenatal classes

very useful for first-time mummies and best if hubby can attend together but even if hubby can't go, also can go on your own and listen la.. at least you know roughly what to expect, what to look out for if you think you're in labour, how to time contractions, labour breathing techniques, breastfeeding info etc...

@Muffin: I also feel the same; basically pregnancy makes me very confused at times- confused about what and when to eat, confused about whether I am fat or not (Opps), confused whether I am full or hungry HEHE...^^

Expo bb fair starts tomorrow and ends on sunday..., any mummies going to check it out?

think this baby is gonna be much smaller than my first one.. at this stage during first preg, i was eating like a cow and drinking powdered milk (although i can't stand the taste) every morning! now i eat usual portion and i'm full already..

now becoz i feel nausea off and on (especially after meals), i can't seem to bring myself to drink the powdered milk and just took some samples from gynae clinic.. haven't gotten down to buying the tin in case i end up not drinking and waste money!

hey , i might go dwn to the bb fair if am doing fine and if hb's timing permits him too.

it's my 1st time gg to bb fair.. think i might be all over the plc. any ideas wat is the highlight of the bb fair at expo?

Re: taka fair

Was there last weekend and stocked up on pigeon breast pads (the best!!) since on discount and some new avent bottles (125ml) for baby.. not intending to buy anything else for now since mostly have at home liao..

very gian to buy the medela double pump but so ex! but for the convenience and the amount of time it can save, might consider during next taka fair in august..

I also wanna go Taka fair to stock up on Pigeon breast pads. They always have very good offers for Pigeon breastpads and they are the most comfy ones around. Tried other brands and got rashes!!

@ pommes & chocolate, drink in moderation i guess. maybe once a week or something? cannot drink everyday for sure. same as orange juice, will cause phlgem.

@ muffin, yes, sometimes i do get that feeling too! think cause by the nausea cum bloatedness.

til now, i have yet to take any milk. each time i drink a cup, i will have tummy ache and cramps. tried on fresh milk and powdered milk and different brands but all same result. but if i take milo, horlick, instant cereals which also have milk, no such effect. weird right?

@Mareike: How about adding just a spoonful of milo/horlick powder into fresh or powdered milk just for flavouring? See if it works?

RE: milk

i also cannot take milk. even 3 in 1 milo etc i also cannot take. tried each time, and each time after drinking, i always ended up with 2 days MC coz puke until no strength... sigh...

Chocolate: last rd, i also start drinking pre-natal milk le.. but now totally, cannot.. maybe rabbits dun like milk? :p

@Christine:Not true that rabbits dont like milk! :p I take 2 glasses of pre-natal milk each day and cannot go without having cheese slices with my toast *opps*

mareike: blossoms suggestions is good.. that's how i used to drink my powdered pre-natal milk.. i put about 1-2 teaspns of milo into it. otherwise no way i can stomach it!

christine ong: maybe you can take milo kosong? as in just buy the milo powder and put with water instead of the 3-in-1 which has added milk? ya man, maybe rabbits don't like milk!!

blossoms: wah! i hope i can drink pre-natal milk soon. *blinking with hope*

chocolate: yea, i did... milo kosong.. lol... but i can drink soya milk leh... wahahhaa...

@Christine: dont worry about that; in the mean time just try to get your calcium from other sources..., Also, try not to take those instant milo, horlick sachets as I read the labels and found the sugar content very high!

HI all.

busy mornin till now.

tired out.

decided to skip my night plans and rest at home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my friends commented can spot my tummy today..but i wore fitting clothes la ! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gina : yeah planning to get the mount alvernia card at the expo this sat. $68

apparantly can save some money off the hospital stay. mb i shd dbl chk with gynae that he still delivers at mount a?

BlossomBB: my package is $550 +GST from first visit. incl ultrasounds every visit.although i duno the intervals of the visits... similar to #2 so far.. 6w,8w, 12w etc

incl routine blood/urine test/prental vits/visits shd i fall ill

but so far we always go in few days earlier than appt cos hb 's schedule always clashes.

Milk : i never take any milk formula.. but i make my own almond milk 3-4times a week.

hot drinks only drink holicks.

yeah understand about food..like whenevr i go grocery shopping..i wld walk by the aisle and see the items and not feel like buying/eating esp biscuits!!

but when i'm at home, i wld suddenly think of eating this and that.

Since so many of you are drinking milk, can i ask is it advised by your gynae or your own decision? just curious [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i am selling

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5229425.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5229426.jpg]

Belly Belt Combo kit

includes:

2 bellybelt button-up

2 bellybelt slide

3 coloured panels

With bellybelt, you can wear ur regular clothes when you're pregnant.

more info here:

http://www.born-and-bond.com/maternityacc_bellybelt.html

Retails at $29.90. I am selling at $15. Free postage.

i only used 1 button-up belt 3x. the rest are brandnew.

pls PM me if interested. thanks

@blossombb ! Hi-5!

I like to leave it outside for 5 mins and eat it on its own .. the taste is just wat i like ..hee.

Am gg to have one now ! ;)

mareike: mine is DHAxtra softgel, 815mg de.. outside the box is written as flavourless and odourless, but every time i burp got the smell loh..

muffin: i always have that feeling too.. also dunno whether i'm full or hungry.. hehe..

@bunnz: I take milk on my own accord as I really like it even before P; one glass without fail..., Switched to prenatal milk as it contained some 'goodness' specially catered for MTBs... I am not taking calcium pills which I told my gynae I dont need.

@muffin: I like my cheese toasted so it will have the gluely and sticky feeling hehe... How are you feeling now? Are you still on MC?

@bunnz: It's going for $68 at the expo? I went to the websit last week, was $98 i think for a 2-year membership. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I seemed to be hooked on milk now, drinking like plain water, which also means I will put on lots of weight. Hahaha.

I wonder if the bellybelt really allows u to wear your regular clothes while pregnant, what does it do?

@joey: I'm also on the same DHAxtra softgel.Smell very strong right?

i also dun take any milk since i was 8 mths old. but milo depends i cant take 3 in 1 milo with calcium will puke.. milo tin from austrailia recipe also cannot will puke..

only plain milo powder in sg version i can drink. i dun add any condensed milk.

packet milo i can drink most of the time but sometimes the batch seems to have very gross milk smell then i dun dare to drink.

anyway just take calcium tablet lor..

i heard cant anyhow take honey especially wild honey. it contains bacteria or what not.. so better not take.

yeah $68 at expo.. at the same time go look see the cordlife booth n outing

i bought like a belly wrap(9.90 or 13.90 forgot ) from one of the website sung reco ..which shd allow me to wear my normal clothes esp when tummy is bigger and tops get shorter..also gd for pants which cant bottom up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] tummy still small to use at the moment

gina: i also paid $98 via cheque coz i sent in my application directly to Mount A but they refunded me $68 when they sent me my card.. so i guess they honour the promotion price?

actually i didn't know how come got refund but now i know haha..

@Blossombb, yep am still on medical. will see dr poon tmlo. today am feeling better . started on chicken essence 2 days ago , seems gd.

Hi Gina,

I bought the belly belt when i was 7 weeks!! haha...cos i was kinda bloated...then my jeans seems so tight..so i bot the belly belt to "extend" it...how it works is hmm..its a piece of stretchable cloth, one end with a button, the other end with a hole...so you attach it to your pants and jeans in place of the original button..

But now i think my butt also increase in size liao...so better to keep my skinny jeans aside first..haha..cos i'm afraid of contricting my blood vessels with jeans too tight! hehe

i think they have same promo on website too..the last time i checked..just that i'm not sure whether promo is still on.

@bunnz.

Do u happen to have the link of the website that sung recommend?

i cant button my jeans and shorts now and i think i need the bellybelt soon.

I think no need to rush; there are more bb fairs coming up at the expo in Apr and Jun..., [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@bunzz / choc15: thanks!! I think I will also submit my application soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@kelly / choc15/ bunzz - thanks for the info on the belly wrap. Choc15, do you still have the link that sung recommended?

I may need to purchase one soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just finished a pack of milk and going to eat a raisin bread for tea! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Muffin... best dun go yet... I can't remember off hand how long to avoid but 1-2 weeks ago, best don't go... cos the virus might not be on him but on other things in the house...

Like to check, when u all say you have back pain...is it those short sharp sudden kind when you all stand suddenly??i had been having this kind of pain these few days..quite irritating..the sudden pain will also radiate to the butt area..but the pain duration is only for a split second...

I am finally sitting down after a long day of standing around. So tired!

milk

now drinking my strawberry flavoured UHT milk. I have also powdered milk in my office but too tired to make. have been drinking my fresh milk before preggie. After preggie, hubby "upgraded" my milk to those maternal powder milk. now into my 2nd pack of anmum choc flavour [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

belly belt

Thanks Kelly for explaining. I am also wondering how it works. Currently, all my bottoms I can't button so I just hold it with belt and wear a long top to cover.

prenatal package

I'm curious if you all pay $XXX for the prenatal checks, then what about the delivery charge? My gynae's package is at $1200 but included delivery charge. My colleague thinks I got a gd deal cos' hers was $600 for prenatal checks but delivery charge was $2K.

back pain

my back pain should be much worse than the mummies here, cos' of my slipped disc problem. Mine when relapse, the pain radiate all the way to my toes, sometimes my whole left leg goes numb. Sometimes the pain is those "sour aching" type that I can't stand properly and walk with limp.

Pommes, for my gynae, natural delivery is $1400. $700 cash to his clinic and $700 billed into hospital bill (claimable from medisave for $700).

For some gynaes I know, their delivery package must be paid in full at their clinic in cash. Which means can't claim from medisave. That was what some mummies from my boy's birth thread told me. End up they pay a lot more cash than expected.

pommes: mine is almost same as #2. Natural delivery is abt 1.2k to 1.4k (not tat gynae has a range, but becoz i cannot rmb.. haha.. need to go back home and check the pricing again).

Like what #2 said, $700 claimable from medisave, so pay gynae only the remaining.

How come cannot claim the full package? I thought just submit everything to Medisave. Hmm... I think I better check with the counter staff when I go back for my appt.

Pommes, last time my gynae's bill is settle at hospital. But my gynae's nurse said that a lot of ppl nvr pay their bills. So hospital nvr pay my gynae.

So now he collect partial in cash at his clinic before the delivery. Then the balance $700 is billed in the hospital bill so we can claim from Medisave since the max claimable for natural delivery for gynae's fees is $700 (else we can't claim).

Some gynaes collect the FULL AMOUNT in cash at their clinic instead of bill at hospital. So you must check properly.

A few of the mummies from my boy's birth thread did not know this until nearer to delivery (too late to change gynae) and they were quite upset.

#2 - I paid $700 cash at clinic. Was told the remaining $500 to settle at hospital. Just thinking of how to claim to the max, cos I can also claim maternity expenses from my company. Hubby also claim both myself n baby's expenses from his company.

Pommes, your package is antenatal package or delivery package?

Cos if it's antenatal package, can claim from Medisave (I think is $450) so some gynaes will tell you to settle the rest at hospital.

Then they charge seperately for hospital bill.

For baby's bill it is under your name. Baby will not be admitted as seperate person unless got serious complications and PD request for seperate admission.

So if wanna claim, can only claim the antenatal package plus the overall hospital bill...

#2 - beginning to sound complicated. But I think hospital bill (whatever bill it is), just claim from Medisave. The OSCAR and the detailed scan, I think will claim from my company. Hubby will claim all the baby's vaccinations and checks up later on. But thanks for stating out the different scenarios.

Pommes, no worries. Best to check clearly with the clinic you go to so got mental prep of how much cash is needed. Cos I know of couples that end up no cash to pay upon discharge (did not expect it to turn out so expensive).

For me... since it's my own company... HAHAHA!

I'm claiming everything under BENEFITS :D