(2011/09) Sep 2011

Simbaobao (simbaobao): yea i guess i ws tryin to act very active ystd sice the maid(part time comes every wk once or twice) ws also in gettin her to clean up and also scolding her she is so slow cant mover her ass fast to do things

but i still feel its sum how related to progestrone hormone since i stopped takin duphuston since two days and i hv read tat there are ladies who get spottin n 16 weeks and the gynea wil give em sum form of progestrone etiher in form of inserts or jabs or meds

@#2 - Your gynae charges is quite cheap. My charges would be consultation $85, scan $85. A typical visit with supplements can come up to $250. Yesterday was around $300 becos of the stretch mark cream. Will be going on package from 4th visit which I find it very worthwhile! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Also did my maternity booking with the hospital, heard MAH very popular and single bed rooms get snapped up fast.

@VirgoMTB - Take care & get more rest!

@Simbaobao - don't worry, no news = good news.

Just to share:

Please keep a FILE of all the antenatal receipts (keep a copy in another file too). You will need it when you check into delivery ward for claiming the $450 from your Medisave for antenatal care. For those under package, the receipt for the package you paid will be good enough.

For my first pregnancy, I kept all the pregnancy related documents in 1 file and photocopied everything and kept it in the car at all times.

Nearing delivery date, leave the file in the hospital bag which you intend to bring when you deliver. Then there won't be last minute panic & your hubby just need to ensure that he brings the file with all the necessary documents.

Also to be kept in the file:

Marriage cert if you intend to register baby's birthcert at the hospital before going home (I find this most convenient). Else you will need to make a seperate trip to ICA within 14 days.

Photocopy of both daddy & mummy's IC.

Any other medical notes/memoes from other doctors if you have existing medical conditions.

Cash/cheque (if you intend to pay the hospital deposit by cash/cheque).

Prenra, usually it's done by the hospital cos they will claim the Medisave together with the hospital bill (based on my experience with #1 and other mummies' advice at that time).

Maybe you can still keep a copy, just in case you need it at that time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can I join in?

I'm now 10weeks3days pregnant. EDD is 25th Sep.

Previously, i had a m/c in wk7 in 2009 which was a huge blow to hubby and I. Now everyday feeling scared and worried. Praying hard it will be a smooth pregnancy this time. Trying very hard to be positive but can't seems to stay long.

Can I ask if anyone continues to take BBT now? My TCM asked me to do so but when my BBT dropped abit, she gave me a scare and made me so worried since Sat til now.

I only puke once to twice a week from week 6 onwards, nausea also seems to subside since wk 9+. Is it considered too early for nausea to subside at wk 9+?

Sorry if i sound very parnoid to you. Feeling very worried and scared.

Waiting for my appt nw... Lol they Juz received the report tis morning... So hopefully is good one...

Virgo: pls take care la. Seriously I had no faith in part time maid to clean up my Hse... Will puke blood. Pls have more rest. No point risking our health n baby over them.

Hi Mareike,

I stopped BBTing 1 week after i found out that i'm pregnant. I stopped doing it cos i think it's giving me unnecessary stress everytime there's a dip in temp.

As in morning sickness, touchwood, i do not suffer from it...my gynae simply says i'm lucky, so everythime i see these ladies in the forum reporting their vomit, i get paranoid and start wondering if my pregnancy is ok...but i guess, everyone is juz different. =)

kelly,

My gynae charges $68 for consultation and $48 for ultrasound. Last time used to have package at 16 weeks but now only package only starts at 20 weeks.

I think taking BBT adds on to stress level. I was so stressed during TTC when I took BBT. After a while, hubs threw away the BBThermometer and we striked after that. HAHAH!

@Kelly, I'm like you. I haven't experienced ms at 11th week and was quite concerned and asked my gynae is there is anything wrong since this symptom was common among other ladies.

However, he assured me that different women take to pregnancy differently so we shouldn't be too concerned.

BBT is Basal Body Temperature....I had religiously taken my temperature every morning when i was trying to conceive..haha...its interesting cos from there u get to know ur menstral cycle better...and know when you ovulate =)and how long is you follicle and luteal phase...

thanks gals for your kind words. yup, i think when i see my TCM this week, i will tell her i will stop BBT coz it is making me feel stressed.

just abit concerned on the nausea. usually i will feel want to puke in the day and at night, tummy will be bloated. but today, totally no nausea feeling at all. so kinda of worried. coz the last time, when my nausea gone, my bb also gone. so abit concerned now. i will only get to see my gynae tomorrow. really hope everything will progress smoothly.

how do you girls chase away worries like this? I always wonder if bb is still growing and if heartbeat is still there. silly of me to keep thinking so negatively.

RE: Nausea

Actually, we feel nauseous due to hormone SURGE.

On certain days, the surge is not very obvious to the body, the body could have gotten used to it. Then the next day or a few days later, there could be another surge and your nausea comes back with a vengance!

Similarly, some ppl are not affected by hormone surges, so they won't have MS or other obvious pregnancy symptoms.

As long as no red spotting, no bad cramps, don't worry too much!! Worrying adds stress to the body too!

Hi Chine,

Mine is female gynae, Selina Chua at Mount E.

Hi Mareike,

I'm also a worry freak, haha...but i know since God had given life to this baby, God will have the best plan for the baby. So everyday, as a mother, i juz take it that its my responsibility to pray for my baby everyday. Pray for God's coverage over the unborn child, bless each and every development. With prayers, the peace of God naturally guard your heart and mind..=)

Hi Kelly,

Oh... now i recall. I did BBT while trying for my #1. Super stressful and there were a couple of times when i broke down in tears just because i think i "O" but hb is sick or work late.. cannot BD.

For #2, I only use online calculator and monitor the CM. Eh... tio after 1 try. lol..

Hi Mareike,

I think first trimester most pple worry a lot. Because we cant feel baby. 2nd trimester will be better. Then 3rd trimester also always worry, everyday counting if can feel the baby kick.

I'm quite a natural worrier too. With no MS and other symptoms, I sometimes worry about the fetus too (is it growing well? will i get a shock at the next scan?). So the weekly visit to gynae actually sets my mind at peace, although the bills are very high. Consultation at $80, Ultrasound $30, Hormonal Jab $50, medication and supplements range from $30 to $60. Haha, when my puppies were young or were too quiet, I would wake up in the middle of the night and check if they were still breathing =X

Anyone flying in the 2nd trimester? Which destinations recommended? Think our BKK trip isnt coming true. Not sure if I should rebook to BKK or change to somewhere else.

Kyra, I know what you mean! I also keep checking my dog when she was a pup to make sure she's still alive. And that paranoa continued with my boy. I will walk over just to watch his rib movement to make sure he's breathing and alive. Damn paranoid!!

Hi I have one set Brand New unopened Babyplus prenatal educational system bought from USA want to sell as I receive another set as a gift from my friend.

selling at $250.00(neg) I can arrange for courier deliver to your home

please PM me for details

VirgoMTB : you better have less movements.. esp u cook as well. need to stand and bend or whatsoever. Take extra care.

#2 : okok will go find my marriage cert n copies of insert ot insert in file later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks for tips.

all my receipts already in file..plus whatever I purchased for this pregnacy like clothes and stuff. So can keep better track. dun want to overspend unnecessary.

Just wana check any ladies's hb here are citizens of another country but singapore PR?

just curious over what do you do with the citizenship of bb?

Kelly : i also have no ms and still so super active. i always have to touch my tummy to remind myself bb is still there..hb says i'm crazy. only thing i cant walk for long without sitting down to rest and eating every 2 hrs or so.

BBT : i only tracked for 2-3 days every time then stopped ...couldnt be bothered. 3 min temp one. So when I found i was pregnant, it really is a miracle!!

Mareike : Welcome and congrats!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

If you are feeling stressed, you shd stop BBT. Have to keep yourself in tip top all the time, esp now !i mean in terms of positiveness!

Do min one thing every day which makes you truly happy. the happier you are, better things will come. Have faith! Just by being pregnant is already a miracle in itself [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Be thankful for all the good things that have happened .

We can only do our best for ourself and our bb.

whatever else happens is up to the Big Guy..so no use worrying over it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sorry ah.a bit naggy

Gynae check : first visit , i got billed around $157.. (70 for ultrasound, the rest for vits and consult) I straightaway sign package lol. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gina : you are always one step ahead lei.. :p

you visited MAH already?

these 2 days, my breasts will sudddenly feel a bit painful on one side.. anyone experience this?

also this morning... i forgot and got up and quickly as well (like doing crunches). wow then the next sec, i felt like a sharp cramp/jab in my left stomach! but for a sec. surprised me!

Hi Bunnz!

Yesterday i also had the same funny pain in my left boob...wah..then i was think if its my heart or my boobs..hehe.. then hor...the nipple like started to become dry and slight peeling..

think the sharp pain u feel when u get up too quickly is due to the round ligament pull which i read somewhere...quite common i think =)

Hi Kyra,

I am feeling exactly the same way you do. My appointment with gynae is this coming Friday and i just can't help worrying if BB is doing ok and if my blood test results is ok and if i will be doing the oscar test and its result.

I'm flying down south - Sydney for a family trip. But also hoping that i can visit BKK with hub for a babymoon trip.

Bunnz, my aunt was in this situation. Her hubs is Malaysian, SGPR. She is Singaporean.

Cos she gave birth to her first girl in Msia, they registered her as Malaysian.

Their second girl was born in Singapore, straightaway register as Singaporean.

For their first girl, they had a hard time applying PR for her and later on, converting her to Singaporean. My aunt did not know she could register her elder girl as Singaporean by going to the Embassy/High Comm in KL.

So I think you need to discuss with your hubs on whether you want to register your child as Singaporean or not?

So far from what I now from other forums, most of them register their child as Singapore Citizen if eligible.

hi Ladies, how is everyone ?

Re Breast.

occasionlly i do feel the soreness and they r pretty sentitive these days.

ydae hb and i notice some crust like thingy on the nipple, anyone has or experience this b4?

Re Bill.

consulation : $75 for 1st consul. subq $55 and ultrasound 45, the strip / urine test $5 (excluding supplements and medication)

Package starts from the 12th week

Re worry and concern

i was reali a woorie freak the last weeks and there r 2 occasions that it cause me so much tension n headache that i had to panadol.

I guess it s natural of us to be , esp some of us becos of our nature or some experience or other reasons.

Like what Kelly mentioned, prayers and faith along with postitivity makes a lot of diff. hence reading on gd books helps to lift us up.

Think Sonia _jumper quoted a veri gd praragraph on postitive tots just a few days back.

i am home from my gyane appt...

oscar test result 1 : 569

Coughed badly and it goes and come back again.. was complaining to the gyane the medi doesn't helps @ all.. and he laffed.. said its powerless la.. no point taking it.. asked me take warm honey + lemon & bird nest...

I shown him the blue black i had.. he smiled and said MORE to come -_-"

also had to include Thalassemia test cost my family had history of it.. my nephew gotten it from my sis as well... *sianz*

baby is now 12 weeks 4 days ... 6.1cm

Simbaobao, since you got family history of Thalassemia, your family doc din advise you to go for pre-marital screening with your hubs to make sure he is not a carrier?

Your nephew and sis is minor?

Kelly: Well said. I'm very touched with your words. Nowadays i worry a lot too... When i'm all throwing up, i will be thinking oh gosh, when will this stop. When it stops, i will be thinking, oh no, what's wrong. But i think its very wise to leave our worries with God. On our part, we just do the best we could, pray, eat healthily and try to be a happy mummy.

@Bunnz - The maternity booking at MAH was suggested by my gynae so I followed. Hehe. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I haven't done any hosp tour but am likely to just deliver there cos I'm catholic and would prefer to deliver in a catholic hospital.

I also understand that MAH does not do OSCAR test cos it is against our belief so I will still do it in TMC just to get an ease of mind that bb is doing well.

@Simbaobao - How to interpret the results of the oscar test?

Bill at KKH private suite is $82. Consultation and routine tests. They did not charge me for the ultrasound .. keke (for 1st baby, gyane did not charge me for the ultrasounds too). But the machine is quite koyak, hardly can see anything. So i really envy when you all said you can see baby waving and bouncing away.

i signed up for the FAST scheme. meaning i one shot pay $488 for advance payment. Once i deliver, they will give me $100 vouchers to spend at their pharmacy. Those unused amt of the $488 will be refunded back.

KKH does not have the best service, i just feel like ANOTHER pregnant woman there. I personally encountered their kok up service twice too. But still choose to go back because i think they have a very well-planned gestational diabetes program.

My female gynae is Dr Goh SL. Very approachable lady.

This preggy wasn't planned.. we din expect i get preg so fast.. was tinking to do the test later part of the year.

Yeap they r minor.. my cousins are carrier as well.. so i was checking with hb.. he said his family had no such history..

So gyne said will do a blood test on it when i go for other blood test.

Gina: My gyane said depends on age group for mine as long as the result is above 1 : 300... we r safe.. lower den 300.. got to go and draw amonic fluid to do further test.

Consultation: $50 (1st visit) $40 (sub visit); scan: $40 + GST

Simbaobao: happy for u.. My next visit is sat..

Thanks!! I will ask about mine after I do my test next week. Fingers crossed too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Anyway, congrats on the good results. One load off your mind now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pooh / gina: yeap.. thanks.. but this is only a rough guide.. not 100% accurate.. i know of ppl who doesn't had very good result but the baby is absolutely healthy when born...

hi girls, thanks for sharing ur female gynae.

any idea how much is the prenatal package and her delivery charges, for natural n csection?

I remember doing a blood test during my 2nd visit..blood test checked for Thalassemia, usual blood profile-platlets,RBC, WBC etc, then specifically check immunity against Hep B, Rubella and if carrier of HIV and syphillis (think the last few are compulsory, required by MOH)

hello mummies! what did you have for lunch? hehe.. i had a mc chicken with shake shake fries!

chine>> my gynae is also female, but her charges are sky high..

her charges are like this, consultation $65, scan $100, medication - vit C $12, DHA (mum 2be) $48, folic acid (cant rmb how much)..

anyway my blood test results is back.. my gynae called me last evening, tell me everything is ok!

am hving mee tai mak (mouse noodles). went buy cos had to eat smthg.

I hv just confirmed my CL ydae, at least one thing to check off the list. i tried to extend her to 30 days but cant becos she has to chop her passport on the 29th days ...

Hi mommies and mommies-to-be

I have the following items on sale, do PM or sms me you're interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

New Fisher Price Baby's First Blocks - $12

New Baby Delight Supreme Snuggle Nest - $60

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5110509.html?1299047115

New DOM Benedictine 1L (3 bottles) - $50 each

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5156750.html?1298789829

Preloved My Brest Friend Nursing Pillow - $35

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5145163.html?1299047179

Used Medela Pump In Style Advanced Backpack - $290

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5157387.html?1299047241