(2011/08) Aug 2011

long time since i last posted. how r u?

my cl left early on sun so hav been busy with my little one. MIL drops by late morning to aft to help out which i am grateful for

eczema

sungrapes, good to stop steriods once clear,

be really careful using steriods to clear. cheap n effective but clinically proven to thin e skin. pls be careful n dun use for prolonged periods of time. skin thinning is esp bad for bb n can lead to other complications. a serious one we hav heard fr a dermatologist which a boy was blinded by that due to yrs of usage prescribed by gp.

Felica,

Me too! I zz with ds1. Ever since bb arr, I fall asleep 1st cos so tired n dun even get to chat with hb.

PD

I'm with dr vasanthi at kinder clinic at parkway.

My bb rash came back again ESP at the ears! Very bad. Red and rough and weepy. Gotta apply the steroid again. If not hw??

Any PD to recommend?

Hi Tunis! Ur CL left alrdy? Ur hb no home cook food Liao!

R u all bringing bb out alrdy?

Aqua,

Who ur PD? Any gd ones ard our area? My PD is very crowded and long waiting time. I dun mind a gd, reliable gp or family doc.

Feel like bringing bb c doc for his ear rashes. I dun rem ds1 hvg skin problems like my bb now leh.

Felicia

I will only delay MMR.

Rotavirus oso impt for children gg cc .

Hate hvg to deal with diarrhea.

Felicia, my weight went back to pre-preg when I went for post-natal checkup @ 2wks, same for my 1st preg but I actually put on 4kg while breastfeeding my 1st! Now also slowly putting back as I breastfeed, sigh...but the worst is the tummy which is carried forward from 1st preg!!! ='( Hope sit-ups will help???

Oh yah, anybody ordering tingkat? Think Carole & the rest mention 1 in Eunos/Kaki Bukit but I lost the URL...

Hi mummies-to-be!

I have For Sale: 6months preloved Medela Pump In Style Advanced (PISA) & Breastmilk Storage Bottles.

Locally bought US complete set with local power plug. See photo for included accessories. Full Set Photo Bought for S$599 on 24/02/2011. Receipt Photo Used for 6months, warranty for another 6months. Selling $400, or $410 with the storage bottles shown below. Also for sale: Medela Breastmilk Freezing & Storage Bottles. 12 x 80ml BPA-free bottles with lid. Bought for S$40, selling $20. Storage Bottles Photo

Interested parties, please leave PM or SMS @ 987 six one 872.

Thanks for viewing!

Carol so blessed!!!!!

My tummy was reduced by Mdm Izah... Give her a try she is not that expensive .... Mei LI is when u want to contour [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

You blessed woman no weight gain after preggy!!!

Hi, just started reading this thread.. My baby is born aug 6, my 3rd one..

For eczema, try using Hope's Relief cream. I have tried all sorts of cream already including the doc steroid one, but this is the best so far. My first two kids have quite bad ezcema also..so tried one cream after another.

Last time, I got it from the forum spree but after that found it's sold in an organic shop in bukit timah road. I can't remember the name of the shop but is a corner shop, 2 storey.

Btw, not losing weight also...so sianz..

Oh okie.. Yup I will do 5 in 1, she was so cranky after hep'

Blue lips did ur kids out grow it?

I change my bb diet to formulas yesterday. 2 her feeds. She didn't poop for 24hrs!!! Is it ok?

Felicia, wa brand Fm?

I gav my elder 6 in 1 coz less jabs n dunwan her suffer more. Some say before jab, feed bb w pao sheng or some pandol to prevent fever.

I bf n super hungry all the time, my weight never dropped! Jialet, 1 mth stagnant no loss. Tot of giving up bf, at least can diet!

I gave her semelac.. Aqua dun la ;) my hubby went to his office to do survey, it took most 6 mths to see weight drop, but watch the diet, dun eat too much.

Give urself another 1 mth? I also ta haning ...

Sigh.. Bb still not pooing, anyone same experience before?

hi bluelips

same with me bfing is really tiring n e thought of giving up comes to me at least a few times a week, esp when he latches for hrs aft hrs zzz midway n my back aches. now i try to sleep whenever bb zzz n when i hav help. this so tt more energy.

aqua, dont give up! like what felicia says, tahan 1 more mth then see how..., bm is gd. my hubby kana stomach flu but bb ok when he didnt know n was still carrying n kissing him. if not for bm i think bb sure sick.

weight. dropped a pathetic 1kg since bb born. almost 2 mths le... bfing better dun dief. but will def do aft i stop bfing...

Felicia, similar is Heaty, giv bb water.if continue nt poo, u consider changing Fm. Some Fm Heaty, nt suitable for bb, trial n error, u wil know. In meantime, juz try giv water at diff timing

If give fm, think must I've water, else hard for baby to poo.. Also, if u suddenly switch to fm, then baby's stomach may not be used to it.

But do try to bf if can lah..I really enjoy the bonding session with baby. Also, baby really healthier.. My first girl only fall sick after I stopped feeding. That said, do not be too stress if not enough...I was super duper stress last time during my first baby also when BM not enough and have to supplement..

Tunis, bf really tiring...at night now I lie down to feed, else the back really cannot take it. Maybe u want to try? Must jia you and don't give up..after a few months, it will be easier..

Btw, I also found when bf-ing very hard to lose weight, cos kept eating and scared supply will drop if never eat. Only after I stopped BF, I dare to reduce amount i eat. My weight never budge at all for few weeks already. Can't wear any of my old clothes except t-shirt. Yesterday went out to buy a pair of jeans..sianz..

Felicia, my baby grew out of it after a year..but occasionally still got flare up but more on the body instead of face. I realized is the food I take also. My baby now have a sudden bad flare up after her full month. I think is the Msg I took during that few days of the full month. Finally can eat out and also taking chilli. You need to try and find out if your baby iis sensitive to any particular food - peanut, diary, seafood. It took a week for the bad eczema to clear after the flare up..

I saw your recommendation, so call Mei Li for massage next week to see if she can fix my thunder thighs..really horrified how big they are now after giving birth...hopefully will help

Baby reacts differently to different milk powder, if th baby cannot poo, might be better to change..

For baby on BF, never poo is ok..cos most of the breast milk to absorb bythe body. The longest my babies went without poo-ing was 7 days. As long as baby still active and not straining to poo, is ok..

But if FM, then may need to be more careful..If never poo, can be constipation, can see if baby is straining..i gave a bit of barley water to help last time. I can't remember who told me this already..but it seemed to help.

Sorry for the response coming in jumble up..;-) trying to remember back what happen with my first two kids..

U girls know y I'm so busy?

I'm not being ungrateful.

But my mil is monopolizing my maid to do cooking,until maid has no time to take care of my kids! And I hv to do evthg! My maid oso super busy cos she knows she suppose to help out with the bb instead and play with ds1.

She such a tyrant in the kitchen!

God help me!

Felicia,

I'm gvg bm daytime, fm for nitefeeds, abt 2 feeds. Bb poo reduced frequency. I'm oso using similar. Bb dun poo for up to a wk is not uncommon. Maybe u can call up ur PD for assurance.

Blue lips,

Hw old ur 1st two kids? R u sahm?

I bottle feed oso shoulder aching, back aching, dun talk abt u all BFg n latch on.

Sungrapes, my 2 kids one is 6 another one 3 yrs old. How about yours?

No, not sahm...need to go back to work end of oct already...think of that also sianz. The last few weeks passed damn fast like in a blur only.

My maid is quite good, everything do very fast, else really cannot cope as I am spending most time latching baby on.

Blue lips,

I hv elder boy 5 yo and bb is 6wks, born 16aug. I'm sahm.

I think after u all ML end, this thread will be very quiet. so boring for me Loh!

Ok, for mummies gvg fm and bb get rashes, can say maybe is allergic to cow milk. But for those fully BFg? My PD say dun drink cow milk and eliminate diary products frm diet.

That's quite extreme, I feel.

My bb rashes is on and off. I will still use the steroids creams but alternate days. Just hoping to prevent discomfort while this rashes goes off.

Bluelips, u have 3 kids? Wat yr kids gender?Wow, salute to u! Now I hav 2 girls plus my can't make it maid! Wan to die, reali vomit blood coz maid can't cook after 2 mth!

I felt such a failure teachin my maid n almost broke down. Now seriously consider if I wan replacement.

Sungrapes mil problem is endless, pls close eyes. I also v stress when mil I's staying w mi.

Aqua: Try to show your maid when you are cooking. Then ask her to cook the same thing another day within the week. I just show my maid how to prepare for the first time and then she will do it the next time round. So far ok, except when she go "crazy" sometimes, the food also turn out "crazy". (the other day kenna from me liaoz)

MIL Problems:

I think 90% of wives have MIL problem. If anyone got a very good & understanding MIL, must really appreciate. Bad thing about my MIL is she likes to talk bad about ppl behind ppl's back. *wonder what she says abt me!* My MIL v cute, always cook things like "chai por egg", raddish soup, "tau suan", food which I cannot eat for me to eat! Today I just suan her in a polite manner. (ask her if this is what she cook for her daughter when latter was doing confinement in her hse. then mil replied she forgot!)

I always try to minimise contact with MIL cos I dun wan conflict. Talk less, talk when necessary!

Pipi, my mum has taught my maid cooking daily for 1 nth. My mil also guide n make her cook my confinemt meals, together 2 mths Liao . Told her many times, pots dry fully then put cabinet, she always turn deaf ear n keep when still wet. Worse still, never aPologise !

Today one of the plate so oily, n never clean while I found another bowl stick w the mee boon I ate on fri! Gosh, reali wan kill myself first!

My hubby knew I was so upset w the maid n now he volunteer to guide maid how to cook. But it's nt abt cookin g issues, it's my maid attitude. She dunno, she dun ask. Force her write notes but she dun refer, always tell mi she scare fire.

Mil always nicer to their daughters, afterall mummy n daughters always closer. Daughter inlaw snatch their sons away, heeeehee!

Lucky I no son, nex time I dun hav daughter in laws, else I b bias too

I all 3 girls... But the first 2 super active also..play and talk non-stop. I have also been letting them watch more tv recently as not enough time to spent with them. Later go back to work will be worse.

Pipi and aqua, When my Mil is here also I am stress, at least your mil cooks, mine cant really cook, but i need to be polite and still eat since she's trying to help. And she will buy lots of junk food for the kids..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Aqua, my experience with maid is u must evaluate whether she got potential to improve and willing to learn.. Cos I can tell u, if starting come already got attitude problem, is only going to get worse.

Aqua: some of your maid's mistake, my one oso make. Ie: Oily plates kept in cupboard. When I asked her if she wash with dish washing detergent, she say yes. Then I say why I wash never like tt, she wash like tt.

My maid will wipe dry everything and keep all inside the cabinets every nite. (can't even find a spoon in dish rack @ night when I wake up to drink milo)

Mine also say she scare fire/go back agent. I will shoot her back, scared then work properly with your heart here, not in Indonesia. N'way now my maid much better already. Prev also give me headache for about 1 mth plus. Now tt she calls home less often, her work performance oso much better. (sometimes I just scare her, saying I will cut her salary if she break my plates or wash my bedsheets till spoil) I wun cut her salary lah but just want her to be aware of her working attitude.

Frankly I think I am a very blunt person to my maid. I dun like, I just shoot it out. If I keep, I wun be happy and will show my black face all day.

I also prefer to have daughters. I got 1 already. Now hubby hope to have son, cos my in-laws side no grandson yet. Factory close for reno till 1 yr later so not planning one so soon. Heeh.

I realise what a silly mummy I have been [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I have been full breast feeding her, totally not on fm or ebm. Its so tiring hhaa but I ta han for 6 weeks.. then...

Reading this page,I thought I tried out ebm, of cos I realise my speed of pummping is not fast enough to replenish the amt my mother, maid, hubby and mil spill, over estimated blar blar, so I gave a bit of fm to stock up more breastmilk.

Anyway now, all's over [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] She pooped, my ebm is enough and I have learnt to only let her suckle from 7 to 10 pm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Now I have a life..

previously, frankly, Mei Li and Mdm Izah were my life, I was so stuck to the bed. I was so desprate I actually got my mum to buy me this funny lookng machine that makes me stand tilted to bf my bb cos it claims to loose weight. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Yesterday and today, I went shopping hehehehehe HAPPY!

Sungrapes and all mummy with maid problem, I do not knwo if this helps, I notice there are alot of stay home mums, maid problems, kids...you think we can combine forces to help each other if we are near?

E.g We gather at 1 persons house, e.g with our kids and maid. Says 2-3 mums at the same time, too many I think its hard to arrange. 1 mum teach the other maids to cook, 2 mums look after all the kids?

Or if there is any ideas, I believe we are of better help to one another. And if we do this like once a forthnight as a start, can it be an excuse to keep MIL away for a while? (Unless they stay with you?)

I am able to help with the teaching of cooking, am also able to help to play with the bigger kids.

I dunno know if this helps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But I kinda think that if we can put expertise together, it might help since we have almost same problems? -- Excpet MIL... this one hard to solve so keep them away [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MIL hahah yup I have heard so much horrid stories, I am so glad from the start of my relationship I drilled both into my inlaws and hubbys, no in laws are allowed near me, unless I agree hahahah and I told my mum, please dun borther me too often [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] To ensure this works, I chose a house that is super small, no extra beds and super far from both sides hahahaah Even my furnitures are enough only for 2 hahahah ....What a horrible daughter... but they have been pretty nice, the only thing they do is to pamper my girl ... which is exactly what I am too tired to do now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bluelips, I hope Mei Li will help cos, I so understand the PAINS of being fat.. ARGH!

Felicia, good that you have a life back.. Me still stuck, rarely leave the house as need to feed baby often. My hubby is at the F1 now, he was there yesterday also, and both days I cannot go! He just texted me that got front row to linkin park concert! And I am like so stuck at home...

I also hope Mei Li will be able to help, that's the only thing to look forward to now..

Blue lips... its going to be painful... and you will bruise..but try to bear it. I do get comments that my tummy is flat, my problems are my thunder arms!

But I did cut down on carbohydrates, I top it up with fruits like papaya. I find that it is going down slowly, like 200 grams a week... hahaha

I drain away ALL fats from the soup and I eat only steam fish and super lightly fried meat or vege, so its balanced but totally as no fats as possible... and I keep strictly to only 3 meals a day, oats in the morning as my carb as well. See if these work fo you girls [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

How I wished I was borned with good slim genes, my best friend was back to her pre natal jeans within 2 MTH!!! AFTER BIRTH digusting! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Felicia,

Ur bb pooped! Must be relief for u..

It's gd that u have found an arrangement to suit u and get some of ur life back!

Maybe blue lips can try pumping gv ebm?

Stuck at home with no life sucks, but as long as hb appreciate and cherish its worth it. Very bad if they dun help and dun understand the hardship we go thru.

Aqua,

Frm my experience, attitude is very impt.

If ur maid bad attitude, then I suggest u chg. Dun try to chg her or hope she will improve. This is not a matter of training,it's her character, which no amt of scolding or training will work.

My frend's indo maid during fasting mth purposing steal roast PORK used for praying to eat. When confronted, she can say she did it purposing to make mdm angry so she can be sent back to agent. Can die right this type of attitude? Hw to be nice to this type?

Cooking is practice makes perfect. My mum teach my maid hw to cook and I make her cook evday so she can improve. The 1st few wks I had to tahan her horrible cooking cos not consistent. But after awhile it improve a lot. Nw she can make really gd Cantonese soup. But her character is slow slow type, if I see her work I will buay tahan. Like slow motion.

Very suitable to take care of bb.

I wan her to take care of bb and housework. But end up mil will ask her do marketing and cooking. Takes up a lot of her time which eats into my time..end up I gotta do housework else can relax abit.

Hw involved do u let ur maids be in taking care of nb?

Only bring bb to u, change diapers or no touch bb just wash n prepare bottles?

Bottles: do we need wash w bb dish detergent followed by sterilizing them?

There's no point to let maid take night shift since bb need mommies to feed right. Presently maid sleep ard 9pm!

Gileria, after bb full mth, maid helps to change nappy or feed bb if I m away eg. Shower or go market. But mostly I take care, she will do all housework, cooking, handwash bb laundry etc

Newborn mus sterilize bottles, prf using the bottle detergent.

Btw, does mos maids here wash bb laundry, nappies in morn , noon or nite? My maid USA wash at 8pm n can take as long as 2 hrs!

HAAAAAAAAA aqua.... so funny!!!! my maid washes twice a day. 10 plus n 4 plus. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I used disposables.. No enough hands to help with washing.. My maid still got the whole family's clothes to wash, a plus cooking breakfast, lunch and dinner..

I confirm my bb allergy to msg. I took a packet of instant noodles, and her face act up again.. Now, dunno how to eat out..

Sun grapes, I don't like to pump so normally will justlet baby latch on. Also scared nipple confusion so waiting a while more before introduce bottle. When I go back to work then no choice lor will give ebm.

my helper has zero involvement in my bb cos i dont allow.. shes very rough with everything so i dont trust her being gentle to bb.. only thing she does is doing bb's laundry - even if poop till clothes got, i also do first round of washing before i give her..

though my mum told me my helper got pat pat baby when we all were away and baby is crying.. i feel abit inferior but i hope she didnt pat too hardly cos i know she wants to help look after baby la.. so i nv tell her off..

i dont clean baby's gum/tongue, i only let her drink a sip or two of water to rinse rinse

I clean using gauze and boiled cool water, tongue and gums

Maid with my bb

I think bb prefer maid to me cos ahe is super patient and when bb cry or eh abit she will rush to pat or carry. Whereas for me, I dun wanna spoil bb by carrying evtime he make noise. Last nite was determine to settle my bb to sleep and he cry so much I din wanna carry. Mil scolded me and carried bb away.

I know she heart pain but I told her I dun wanna make it a habit bb cannot settle by himself. Then next time I will be the one to suffer! After that, bb puke out a lot of milk. Next day, I told my maid and she tell me cos bb cry so much b4 feed that's y he spit up. I was like ..is it? So my maid like mre experienced than me Loh!

Frankly, one bb need 3 person to take care. Split into 3 shifts. Haha!

I have been silent reader all these while, my girl is borned 15aug & starting monday, she has difficutly falling asleep? She needs to be carried but the minute you put her down, she awakes. Any of you experienced this? Pls tell me this phase will pass.

Sungrapes, agree with with. Hv been reading up about baby's cry, that hv trainable and untrainable cries. Babies are smart, they know how to cry for attention, so, dun always carry!! You'll suffer. But ur MIL stay with u? A bit hard then, my mom also dun wanna see when i leave my baby to cry!

3 trainable cries : 1. Before meal time 2.late afternoon, evening crankiness 3. Nap time.

3 untrainable cries: 1. Cry during feed (burp baby, or if BF, maybe the flow of the milk that caused it)

2. Cry within 30mins after feeding.

3. Napping and woke up with sharp cry. These hv to be attended to immediately.

Am training my baby day 2. Will let you all know how it goes. But now, usually after he is fed, diaper changed, he cry, i'll carry him to check if he is wet, and burp him again. Then, if i put him to bed and he cry, i'll let him cry for a while before i pacify him. But will not carry him, just pat and talk and give him pacifier.

And even before feeds he cry, i'll make him stop crying first before he is being carried. And i told anyone that is handling him to domthe same as well. So that he can relate that ifnhe wants to be picked up, he need to stop crying first. Its still too early to tell if this method works... Will update[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sam, my baby as well. Thatz why i started reading up to train my baby. Its beem 2 days, but by leaving baby to cry when he is crying for attention, its been more relaxing for me as i can get things done at home. I hv asked a pediatrician's advise, he said baby this age left to cry is not a problem. 10-20mins ok, it depends on one's tolerance level to the cries. Can start off with 3 mins,cp and gradually extend. My baby is 5 days older than urs.

When my bb cries before meal, I hold her tight and I say no. Till she stops I quickly pull her to my breasts. after a while she gets it, she cries, I say stop she does, she gets to suckle, she doesnt stop she doesnt get to suckle.

Night feed is a nightmare, I feed on demand, so sometimes she sleep through 5 hrs, sometimes like last night ever 2 hurs she is up. I am not trying to let her sleep in my mothers bed to see any difference, keep trying different patterns.

Aqua, hows the massage? Bluelips you tried?

I am looking for a nice sarong, but dunno where to buy, mine look so ugly so paiseh to bring it out hahah