(2011/07) July 2011

u all so lucky.. still can get bra.. that time, i wanted to get bra, that old auntie told me.. u preggy ah, no need get so expensive bra, get extension will do. I told her, current bra size the cup a bit small.. she still insisted no need get new bra, get extension. she even got the check to say, u can check with ur gynae.. if wear, have to wear wireless for circulation. Got biz, also not interested.. so till now, still no new bra for me..

she is the old auntie at the wacoal counter at BHG Bugis. the bra i chose was selling at 50% discount, usual price ard $30+

Ladies, may I know if it's still safe to be eating bitter melon/karela? I read in an article that it is unsafe for pregnant women and I didn't know about it before. I think I have eaten it a few times during this pregnancy. :X

morning ladies

today me early in off..so report in 1st b4 start to do work..else, no time to come in..

Chinook

Hmm..bitter melon = 'ku gua'?? If so, i had this sooo many times, didn't know its not gd for bb leh..how come?

Xinyue/lizzie

me too lah..yet to get any bra..wanted to get nursing bra but yet to buy also..honestly, i dun really like to go into the shops cos i dun like to be 'pressurize' into buying loh..hee..luckily, still can wear my current bra though i think my boobs are starting to outgrow the bra liao..

Wendy

Dun worry too much abt your boy..i'm sure its the starting phrase for kids gg to cc..my boy, when he 1st started cc at 18mths, cried like dunno wat..come to think of it, i was hard hearted then..cos I still leave him to cry though was sad initially, but u learnt to be harder..currently, he loves gg to sch so much :p

Chujie

Wow..u r sure fit..hee..i cant even swim 2 laps when i was not preggie..what i did for exe is light aerobics at home..follow those dvds to exe.

morning all mtbs

Chinook...i ate tht in my 3mth...fish soup with gu kua...but heard is liang so had stop taking it...and also cucumber also liang

just to check we can do paint our nail right.....can't stand my nail any longer

ivfamily > ya, same.. boobs are starting to outgrow the bra.. i also hate to be pressurized in buying..

is it necessary to get nursing bra??

Regarding bras

uniqlo got some bras without wire...if you are not fussy, can check it out coz the sizes comes in S, M, L, XL...not your usual with numbers ie 34D type. price is around 30+ i think...i bought one but i need extension coz too tight...haha i think my extension need to put two liao...

Regarding swimming

May i know if it is still ok to wear bikini? or have to wear those tankini that wraps your stomach? dun feel like investing in a tankini leh

re bitter gourd

didn't know it is unsafe cos i'm still taking it. just take things in moderation.

sunshinebb

yes can still paint your nails. But u might want to avoid those that contain Phthalate, Formaldehyde and Toluene. Check the ingredients.

thanks tsukushi....will make appt later hahaha...will do french mani....use to do arcylic de...but the smell just too strong...think is best to advoid it till bb abt 1yr...cos when bb born still hv to bath or carry them...can't do with long nail

sunshinebb

i also feel like going to do a pedi cos it's a bit hard to reach down now. But too lazy to make an appointment!

Yeah bitter melon/gourd as in 'ku gua'. Saw it in an article that someone sent me. I went to google 'eating bitter gourd during pregnancy' and saw more websites mentioning it as well. Anyway I agree that all things in moderation should be okay..

re: bitter gourd

It is ok but like other mtb said.. a bit cooling.. so better don't take too much.. but about 8th month onwards, we should start to eat more cooling stuff.. then you can resume bitter gourd..

Tsukushi> regarding lower priority.. I was referring to organ donation in sg.. if you opt out from organ donation.. then if you need an organ for operation.. if there is an available/match organ.. but at the same time another person who did opt for donation and need the same matching organ.. the one who opt out will be as lower priority..

Do you understand what I am trying to say?

I wonder if we never donate cord blood will they put our family lower priority on using the gov cord blood bank lor..

re: bra

I think the aunties are right.. no point of getting new normal bra now cuz upsize.. cuz size will reduce back.. extension is good enough.. I would recomment you all to get nursing bra which can use after birth.. more worth it.. hehe.. But test it on how easy it can be open and close using one hand.. cuz later you will be carrying your baby when try to access it..

re: swimming

I am not fit la.. just do slow frog stroke.. havn't do it for a pretty long time cuz lazy.. so feel fatique after 12 laps.. (took me about 1 hour to finish)

Few years back when I was not preg.. I can take 20 laps in 2 hours..

my husband said I lack of exercise after given birth to #1.. haha.. I think swimming is good compare to other exercise cuz you can do it as your own pace.. and it is full body exercise..

STbystander,

I felt a bit exposed if wear bikini or tankini, worry the other pool users mind.

I buy a spaghetti top for swimming $30 from taka. Also similar price set from the forum BP.

Cos need to accmpy 1 yr old son to waddle pool.

Thk some exercise is good too.

So sian..office no water...hv to walk far to go toilet, no water to drink also...sighh...

RE: Bitter gourd

oh no..been eating so much lah..cos i had at least 3 servings of fish soup per week & there will always be bitter gourd in them..hmm..but think of it, my body is the heaty type..so gd to hv cooling stuff in it..hee

Xinyue

if u r comfortable with gg braless while bf, then should b ok not to get nursing bra ..for me, my in laws r coming over to stay then, so bobian, got to maintain modesty at home :p hee..else, guess can always use a shawl to cover..shall see how.

ST

I think wearing bikini is ok during preg..why the need to cover the stomach?

chujie: about the gov cord blood, if it follows the same procedure as for organ donation, then what about those who are single or childless? Won't they be even lower priority?

kimifin & ivfamily...no lah my colleague say need a support of the stomach when swim...so i tot muz wear those that cover...but i havent tried swimming when i pregnant so dunno how it feels..and i only swim at nite so the pool not crowded :p

sunchine- i also always feel my breasts sitting on my tummy....got resting place.haahaa

and i feel my tummy growing upwards to wards breast instead of growing outwards.haha

chujie

I didn't think of linking cord blood donation to organ donation. But if you hadn't opted out of the organ donation, they shouldn't put you in a lower priority, right? If they do that, then I'm going to opt out of organ donation too.

re nursing bra

When I attended mrs wong's class last time, her advice was to wait until 3 days after delivery to know your actual size. Now still too early.

I still eat bittergourd bt in moderation coz it's one of my fav food..

If u cook the bittergourd in soup, it is considered liang.. So don't eat too much.

If u stir-fry the bittergourd, it is not liang anymore.. So can eat more, but still in moderation la..

sunshinebb/pinkyrose

your tummies will keep pushing upwards, now is just the beginning. mine has already turned into a food spill catcher.

tsukushi and pinky....haha yes beside food spill catcher...i also try to grab thing...hv try to hold paper in between my boobs and tummy and show my hubby...he say i siao...nothing better to do

sunshinebb

haha i agree with your hb... sorry! It's so uncomfortable after dinner that the only thing i want to do is to sit back and stretch out.

i also didnt get any pregnant bra...only 1 nursing bra which acts as my pregnant bra all this while. i got a size that is slightly too big for my boobs but its ok since i m always staying at home. if i got out, i will change to a wireless bra. although feel a bit suffocated, but i dun go out e whole day since i m not working.

ST

Hmm..to me, unless u r jumping around or walking long, else dun need to hv support for tummy bah..beside, there's water resistance in the pool, so should b ok w/o support for the tummy..not sure whether my deduction correct..hee

Thks Nana mum for the info..didn';t know stir frying bitter gourd is not liang anymore..

RE: Wired bra

Hmm..rem reading somewhere tt its best not to wear wired bra esp if u r intending to bf as it will restrain your milk ducts..not sure whether correct a wrong. Anyway, I dun like wired bra cos (lazy me) it will go out of shape after gg thru the washing cycle in the washing machine..hee

re: cord blood

KKH doesn't charge anything of collecting cord blood, but if you do for private.. you must let them know and give them the kit before hand..

if donate, I think need to sign an application also.. can get the leaflet at the hospital counter

Not sure about other hospital..

re: swimming suit

I bought the sporty type 2 pieces.. I think do not need any tummy support as water is the best support.. and we are mostly in horizontal position when swimming.. should be good for foetus..

ivfamily > ok.. i see.. hmmm.. i hate to wear wireless bra. like no support. scare after give birth, breast will sag..

actually it is advise not to wear wired bra.. but myself still prefer wired..

I think if the bra is fit and does not press on your breast.. it should be ok.. I breastfeed my son till 18 month.. so far using wired bra still no problem.. but be sure don't miss feeding and pump too long time.. otherwise.. can cause engorge.. but that is not related to the wired bra..

xinyue> i also dislike wearing wireless bra n e worry of sagging boobs. but since i m pregnant, my boobs are swell up, wearing wire bra makes me feel so uncomfy. i notice my boobs now are a bit lopping down..not sure whether its due to e bigger boobs or e cause of wearing wireless bra since preg.

janice.. it is due to gravity.. hehe..

my first preg.. i didn't wear bra at home as I feel very restricted but then boobs really droop as it expand.. it touch the tummy and i feel v. uncomfortable (that's before birth)

and esp after breastfeed.. milk release.. like empty balloon.. droop even more and feel so sad..

So this time i wear bra all the time even at home.. i feel that the droopiness not as bad as #1 time..

anyway.. this is part of the package of motherhood.. can't really escape.. do more boobs exercise after birth la..

Ooh no boobs will droop if don't wear bra?!!

The first thing I do when I reach home is to remove my bra.. I only wear bra when I am out of the hse.. It's been a habit even before pregnancy but my boobs weren't that big so they didn't droop (yet) haahahah

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] think I better start wearing at Hm..

Janice/Chujie/Nana/Xinyue

hmm..I also dun hv the habit of wearing bra at home..erhh..so far *touch wood* breast yet to droop..hee..maybe didn't expand a lot ..kekeke..but I'm also worried will sag & droop after my 1st preg..& esp after expressing bm so much..luckily, didn't loh..but rather disappointed cos it went back to my original size after stopping expressing bm..but at least it didn't shrink to become smaller..cos i heard there are such cases leh.

Chujie

Think swimming gd form of exe to work your chest muscles..i also did push ups back then..

I'm from Dec thread.

I still hv sample pkt of anmum materna, similac mum, friso mum, enfamama. In total abt 14 pkts.. Gotta self collect cos to bulky to send by post. Anyone interested, pm me?

ivfamily> yeah an imagine you r e fit fit type. me soft type, always sleep...tats why my dh n aunt said my bb is like me, sleep sleep sleep, dun really move much.

just wanna check the other time when you took blood test for Oscar scan does it includes test for Hep B, Diabetic, blood count, HIV, etc? I'm abit puzzled cos most of my friends were telling me that these test should be done much earlier.

cos I was only told recently that i need to do those test and the nurse left a big bruise on my arm after withdrawing 4 tubes of bloods. :S

Tze> Hep B, Diabetic, etc are not compulsory.. so as you are taking blood for Oscar, so it is easier for nurse to take them together if you want to do those tests (less pain for you too as less poking)

These tests has no time limit, you can do them anytime.. only oscar has special time limit.. not too early or too late as the result not accurate..

I had mine misc blood test when I did my thalassemia test + oscar test.. a few tubes like you mentioned

STbystander,

I only waddle n push the float which my son is sitting in. Already got backache after that day...

Dun thk will really swim so no need support. Just cover.

chujie ~ ohh really?? I thought those are like "basic test" which should be done together with Oscar scan..

What about those mummies going to SGH like me have you done your Hep B, Diabetic etc blood test? if yes, when was it done??

Sorry i'm getting abit worried and paranoid now..

tze> i drew 6tubes of blood during Oscar test...hahahaa...is to test for all that u hv named....but since i m a diabetic patient, i still drew blood on every visit to check on my glucose...soo drawing of blood is 'siew siew water' to me....

dun get worry....they can ask u to do test for anything n anytime de...

Re: nursing bras

I got most of my nursing bras from spring maternity. Cheaper and better than marks and spencer. They cost about $20++ to $30++

tze and feimei- errrmm during oscar,nurse only took 1 tube for me. and my gynae never mention anytin abt doing blood test for all those hep b etc etc....

now i getting worried

pinkyrose>> those test are not compulsory.. those are normal blood test.. so sometimes patient will opt out from taking test that they have done recently with their own GP or company during annual medical check.. each test are $$ and you have to pay additionally.. although money is not really the main issue.. hehe.. baby health is..

If you have done regular check up.. and result are ok, you don't have to worry too much..

If you do not have regular check, you can check with your gynae next time if you want to play safe to take those test.. they can be done at normal GP too..

But usually thalassemia test is compulsory for both husband and wife for first pregnency.. cuz if both husband and wife got minor of that disorder.. kid could have major blood disorder.. did you take that?

chujie/Janice

u two flatter me lah..i'm not fit..maybe in the past..now, sad to say..getting more & more unfit..actually, tried to do light jogs but cant even manage 2 rounds lately as my hip will pain..:p

RE: Oscar test

During my Oscar test at TMC, I rem the nurse took 2 tubes of blood from me..seems like pretty fast leh..over & done so soon..so far, my gynae never say anything negative abt the tests..so i presume should be ok bah..

Feimei

wow..6 tubes?? i cant imagine how much bllod u need to replenish after each visit

Hee...bb moving so much now..think he enjoys listening to the pop song "Love Shot" currently playing on Class 95