(2011/07) July 2011

Pillow - air the piles? how? I was given 2 days mc for my piles le.. den 2nd and 3rd day grow bigger... and it hurts.. =( i cant sleep.. not exactly working.. cos i m in school.. and i feel bad missing class.. cos will miss out my discussions with my group mates..

will the nurses teach us how to breastfeed and express milk? i heard breastfeeding can b kinda painful if baby dun latch on properly...

1st time mummy so feel lost when comes to this

dun even noe how a breast pump works... =p

Morning all! Had my 1st prenatal yoga yesterday..hee. Just alot of stretching and some useful advice on how preggie mummies shd be taking care of themselves since our bone structure may tend to soften for birthing purpose.

Re: Paternity leave

Really hope the govt will seriously consider this.. 2 weeks is also gd enough! :p I feel the 1st few wks when bb is born shd be the most crucial time as the whole family starts to adjust to the new little member and its feeding hours..

Re: Bb insurance

Pardon my ignorance, but we can actually buy bb insurance now?? If so then i'll quickly contact my prud advisor now leh..since now still got time..ha.

Lynn> mind sharing with us the name of the ins policy? Thx!

blue skies- so urs will be prince or princess?

feimei- yeay!! no need to be sad alr ok.urs will be before me now.heeee....

audrey-oh dear ur piles like getting worse hor....take care pls..i always push it back in after i feel that it came out.heeee

Insurance - if i m not wrong, its call prumama or prumum now.. there are a few riding policy with it.. just get a pru advisor and tell them about tthe baby plan =D

piles - too big to push actually haiz.. its like a little grape now =( ... going for colorectal specialist visit in march =(

suying - KK de mummies haben go scan leh... if u wanna.. i can update u the charges b4 subsidy when i go next week lor =D

blue skies, congrats on the good result. haha i also hv difficulty but i dun care. bend down n paint my nails. haha.

feimei, yup. how many u want ah?

audrey, ya. when i had piles, i din even wear panties at home. just open leg bigbig.. haha...

ying, i also heard of painful nipples when bf. i also first time. scared. wonder whether they teach us. i heard that they will just throw at us the bb and said "nah, feed the bb". isit true?

haha... thanks audrey... rem ya... mine is under private. help mi check the prices k ;) i oso having a grapes lo..... so xin ku.... sometimes even feel itchy ;(

Morning all

Hope all doin great. One more day to weekend!! So need it!

Chujie - Noted. Thanks u!

blueskies - Congratz!!!!

ixoral - How was it? Where was urs? I intend to take up the yoga/pilates classes at InspireMum in Tanjong Pagar..

pillow> need to tell u now? during CNY, my MIL mentioned that she gg to make...(she never make b4, wan to try... =.=" )dunnu her's version edible anot leh...if i tell u next mth, will it be too rush for ur mum to prepare? dun tink i need much...as u say, 2-3bottles enuff, right??? i will call up my CL to cfm how many she usually need...

audrey: I was on Norgesic, Cataflam and Lyrica. Can you imagine my horror when I found out I was preggie? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I was diagnosed with a slipped disc between my no.5 & no.6 cervical vertebra (at the neck). Was out of work for a good 2 mths!

pinkynose: I having a little prince!

suying: My detailed scan at KKH was $128 (but that is private rate coz I was referred there by my gynae from Mt. A).

ying: Don't worry too much about the breastfeeding. You'll get the hang of it. And if you don't, there's always the breast pump [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just to share, my first boy was an impatient drinker so he kept biting and yelling in the first week that he was born. It was so stressful for me coz I couldn't latch him either. Made the decision to pump the breast milk for him for 2 mths. I gave him a mixture of formula and breast milk coz the breast milk alone was not enough. In the third mth, he was on formula milk and I went back to work after that. He's turning 3 next month, stands at my belly button (I'm 1.65m), and is a healthy, active boy. So just some thoughts - if you can breast feed, then go ahead, but if you got problems, don't worry, it's ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] not the end of the world...

blue_skies> agreed w u...my cousin jus telling me ytd on the bf-ing part....her gal like to be latch n dun like to be on bottle...soo very tiring for her but yet, there will be bb dun like to be latch n wan to be on bottle...all these really hv to wait for bb to be born then decide fr there...we as mummies, hv to try to accomodiate to bb needs lol...no choice if hv to be very tiring....our own flesh...hv to sacrifies everything for them!!!

ladies, i am sooo tired now.. dozing off very soon le! sigh.. i abit regret not taking my leave today cos i cancelled it yesterday due to a tender interview this late afternoon! urgh.. have this negative thinking cos all my top management not keen to go..y shd i be bothered right?

blue_skies - thanks for the advice =)

how about any recommendation for prams? we want those w reversible handles ... so choices like quite limited... quinny n capella...

jgwee > Oh ok. Thanks.. Ya, this taiwan trip is my honeymoon. Married le.. Now then go honeymoon..

Few years back when I went to BKK, I only take cab whose driver willing to go by meter. Tuktuk is ok (when not preggy) but always kenna fleeced a lot..

yaya > Go nearby places??

crayon > No need envy, if I don't go taiwan, means totally no honeymoon for me at all after married.. Don't know need to wait till when.

pillow > How much are you charging for the rice wine? Might be interested to get it for myself.

feimei > Yay.. Great! Can see baby in 2 weeks time le..

Breastfeeding

Here are some few websites for good references..

http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/home/index.php

http://www.drjacknewman.com/

There is a breastfeeding mothers support group in SG. They provide free hotline to advice any mummies who have problems in bf. They also organizes workshop for mums who wants to know more or learn about BF. In SG, there should be qualified lactation consultants to assist new mothers with BF. If u have problems BF during the hospital stay, seek advice from the lactation consultant. Alternatively, u can call BMSG for recommendations for LC. LC are the professionals who are well trained in BF.

One take away is that, if u have a good latch, u will not have nipple problems. If your nipples are sore n painful, that means the latch is not correct. Find a LC to seek for advice.

Liz, Ying> I went to the one by Colleen Simmonds where the class is held at her Tg Rhu condo's function room. She is also 1 of the yoga instructors at Mother&Child at Tanglin. (www.colleensimmonds.com)

I find her not bad..the pace is good and the class isnt too big (about 6-7). But may be easier to follow if you had done some beginner's yoga before cos i realise she dont exactly correct our postures, maybe becos it's prenatal so she encourages the fact that just do as much as you are comfortable.. And she gives advices along the way for things to take note of for preggy mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 1 of the ladies in yesterday's class is at 38 weeks! Man she's Huge! i really applaud her effort to even come for the class..hee

I rem 1 of the mummies here also goes for Colleen's class.. forgot who :p

hihi morning all mtbs

Oh Feimei...ur chg to to end Feb...hmm thou u gg pei me...LOL just joking...i also dun mind to go 2 trip loh...can see bb more...im more than happy

regds BF-ing

hubby bought a book on this topic...then force me to read...but dun know why so lazy aft work no energy at all...so in the end he is the 1 to read...LOL

sunshine> yalol....dun mind making 2trips down...nvm la....will still count down for u...kekekekee...

my cousin wan to pass me those books too but told her that books is like sleeping pill to me...once start reading, i will doze off....hahahaha

maelyn - yup was originally looking at combi, then one SA told us that as me n hubby both quite tall, so bb will b tall.

says e combi structure is smaller so perhaps not so ideal as bb will outgrow the pram vy fast...

otherwise i thot combi is neat n lightweight

Ya loh...Feimei...now daily i hv to slp by 11pm...no energy to do other things...but think will make it a habit when i 5mth...to read some storybook for bb...bedtime story...hehehe cos think to start the bonding as early as possible

sunshine- good la he's the one to read.hopefully he tell u the right thing to do...if not,he can do the Bf.heeheee.how we wish right...

sunshine> yalo...mus start bonding soon...my silly hub...keep saying bb very boring inside...nothing to play...can play himself/herself...with the fingers, leg... -,-" dunnu to luff at him or wat...then everyday jus say "bye bye, bb, daddy go work work liao, u be good!!!".... =.="

thanks blueskies.... congrats on yr little prince ;) yrs was refer so i was thinking gt subsidy from yr MT A??

pillow... hw nt to wear panties inside when have piles & walk around.... like dat can ya?? for mi cannot lei... for guys maybe diff. lollzz like so wierd like dat plus my house so many ppl staying together. lollzz

i still undecide to buy baby cot or yaolan to put at my mums & my hm???.... any advise which is better.. think is time to look around & compare prices.

Policy name call Pru First Gift... It covers mother till delivery and bb from birth...

Quite reasonable... MTB a 1 time $320 and bb portion either $100,$200 or $300 depending on coverage amt and budget... Can look for agent to share more... Coverage begins fm 18 weeks and also a 14 day waiting period...

My energy nw also snaps very early, used to be a night owl... Nw no longer, tired easily...

ya lor...pinkyrose...he very funny de...so gan cheong than me

haha Feimei...ur hubby same like mine lah...will touch my tummy and say daddy home, u hungry or wht u doing inside...LOL

hi all...for piles before preggy i used to do salt bath. soak yourself into a tub of warm water with salt everyday when taking shower...may help abit. but becareful since now preggers...difficult to stand up/ sit on the floor. usually i sleep overnight then piles became smaller....if walk or sit too much will make condition worse coz you're adding pressure to the piles. now i try to eat yogurt everyday before my meal so my stools are smooth the next day. it works for me...

hows lunch? i jus had mine. brought tom yam kuey tiao soup and end up tom yam soup v v hot and spicy. now can feel it is acting on my tummy.. hope my bb can withstand the spicyness cos regret eating it...

feimei, i just ate 1 mandarin orange.. bring down the spicyness abit.. nw drinking water.. super bloated!

px> so today can show ur tummy liao??? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi, dear mummy im actually a slient reader in this thread. Im also a July mummy my EDD is 24th july 11. I had receive many info for u all so now i also wanna contribute abit =)

For those interested in Aqua aerobics @ KKH:

Aquafitness In Pregnancy Programme

Commencing Date : 12 March 2011 to 2 April 2011 (Once a week, every Saturday)

Time : 1.00 pm to 1.45 pm or 2.00 pm to 2.45pm

Duration : 4 sessions

Cost : S$111.30 (inclusive of GST)

You can get registration form thru this email:

For payment wise:

U can either enclosed with a cheque payment mail to them or you may also fax to 6394 1267 with credit card details plus the signature of the card holder.

** They only taking in 5 participants per class/slot.

Hope's this info helps.. =)

thx liz,

I'm nowing enjoying frozen yohgurt with dried cranberries. v careful with my diet this week cos doing glucose test next mon.

Paul's brand is good but not nice....but sometimes, cant find in smaller supermarkets.

Px22,

V area itchy lor.

duno...maybe cos some food trigger or hygiene.

i used to have this when #1 time too...that time use the feminine wash a few times...doc say if ok, stop using.

he din give med.