(2011/07) July 2011

modisch> can drink herbal soup every weekly? i think its way too heaty.

in order to prevent my nightly migraines, i keep drinking water till i wanna puke and pee so often.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hate drinking plain water.

mummies, chinese barley is bigger in size than ang mo barley n will be mre ex than ang mo barley...like $1+ or $2 whereas ang mo barley very cheap, less than $1...buy fr medical hall bahh....very easy to brew urself, if buy fr those herbal shop, they shld be using ang mo barley becos not everyone like chinese barley becos chinese barley got a funi taste n the color not very clear, cloudy color de....

Hi wendy, good info on the breast pumps.. I am totally new and thinking what to get. I am thinking should i get a manual to try? haha.. I dun wan to waste buying these and end up i didnt use..

cary/modisch/sunshine> not working today...now on the way there lol....raining leh...sooo sianZ!!!! Zzzzzzzz....hahhahaa....today all very gan chong on my scanning today...kekkekee...=p will update once i step out of the room, ok!!! Shld be gynae doing scanning today becos he did not book any scanning w sonographer...my app 2.10pm!!!!

Crystal

I don't think you need to get another sterilizer for your mum's place. What I did at mum's place was to boil the bottles in a pot instead. It's much more cleaner than using a sterilizer. Don't need cot also, baby can just sleep on bed coz they can't flip yet. When bb grows bigger use mattress instead. But you'll need extra set of bottles.

Wen, I'll b signing w PEM this evening. Will b taking their herbal pkg too! Hehe! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kimifin, mine is HDB area... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Px, I am also having leg cramps now that wake up me up in the middle of the night so u r not alone. Ask ur Hubby to press down ur foot towards the direction of ur knees when that happens.. I think I am having cramps coz i need to walk around, stand and climb stairs at work.. So my muscles r kind of strained [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

My friend who has been breast-feeding for half a year recommends medela electronic double pump.. hers cost a thousand plus! But she strongly recommends it and advised me not to even buy a manual one to try coz the manual one is very painful so many mummies gave up bf after a while.

wendycsk, dun buy manual.. u will end up giving up breastfeeding. cos manual is only 1-sided and u'll hv to prolong expressing time to double. yield of milk oso very little.. my personal opinion. electric n dual is always better

wendy i used e manual one to "trigger" flow.. but it is v trying.. until my hubby also tell me pls go n buy a new electric pump hahaha coz .. hehe his hands also tired from helpin me pump ... one thing abt manual pump .. u pump one side e other side might leak n drip might need to use a breast shell to keep ur precious milk ..

eh if u guys wanna buy cheaper pumps those TMC mummies can go parentcraft to get 2nd hand pumps if u wan to i had a few frenz who did tat e last time .. but limited stocks .. even 2nd hand u still need to make sure u get new funnels for urself.. e machine 2nd hand only.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

usa sets (spree sets) might hav warranty issues here.. if any servicing needed might need to pay surcharge for usa sets .. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi modisch and nana, thanks!! I think i will try medela electronic den! Thanks so much.. Is there differences with electronic pumps?

hehe i like e excitement to know e gender [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

good luck Feimei ..

crystal_cloud,

I suppose the online spree that you are looking at are USA sets. They order directly from USA and you have to top up shipping cost as well. If you buy medela pumps in SG, it is much more expensive. For e.g., Medela freestyle selling at USD 270++, here is SG selling for $988.

Crystal,

I think she bought her pumps locally and the model she is using is one of the better ones.. About a thousand lor.. Sigh...

Janice,

PEM is a confinement nanny agency..

I recently signed up with them too! :D

For milk bottles, my friend advised me to get those from medela if I am breastfeeding coz the top can put a lid or something.. Then she oso recommends pigeon

congrats syrah.... can close shop liao..heahaha

btw,how does it feels like carrying twins?do u feel double nausea and evrything? and urs conceived naturally?i kepo

and feimei-yes update us ok.i excited for u

Wendy (w160879),

on the "less walking" during work. cos your job needs all day walking?

Would drilling or such noise be harmful to bb?

last time, the bus interchange was so noisy, but no choice, have to wait for bus there...

thk some thgs hard to avoid.

wendycsk> guess u r referring to rice wine, issit??? Not sure if can buy fr outside, normally those housewife aunty will make, maybr u can get ur MIL to ask ard neighbour, see who gt make such wine for confinement use lol...

Those who have used Medela/ have friends using Medela...have there been any issues so far with the quality of the pump, does it spoil very often/ easily? Do you know how much repairs will cost without the warranty?

Thinking of buying from the States since so much cheaper, but if I'm going to end up paying alot of money to repair, then wondering if it's safer to buy in Singapore?

Feimei, haha I'm curious about the sex of your baby too...let's see if all the old wives tales are correct [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

medela pump-

if buy overseas need to buy power adapter to be suitable for sg used.

duno y, these few days, my digestion no good again and kinda bloated after meals..

kimifin yeah my job needs me to perform face to face interview with customers .. so tat requires a lot of walking coz hav to bring them to pc walk to get some forms here n there.. but i do tat once a week.. in my current scope...

so my boss excused me coz i tried to do so in my 1st pregnancy i had v bad veins popping on my feet..

coopie so far i brought my PISA to service once coz .. e rubber providing e suction broke..

my mini electric no issues .. :p

spree usa sets realli v much cheaper .. but i din buy e spree sets .. higher resale value for SG sets I guess.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

elch, hee ... dun panic dun panic [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

modisch, I use black chicken to brew my chicken soup... no one brew for me so I brew it myself haha

w160879, yes I'm Hock Hua member ... joined when I was preggy with #1 back then - I still remembered I spent $700 that very first visit there!

janice, can drink chicken soup once a week - won't be heaty [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

feimei, soon soon! update us hee

sunshinebb, go check the Hock Hua deal ... until CNY period.

wendy, not sure where to buy those confinement wine ... I didn't take it for my #1 and for #2, am planning to order confinement tingkat.

re pumps, I'm going to get the freestyle, lots of good reviews from friends [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nana mum: thanks! my job no need to walk.. desk bound 8hrs all the time, I have to go eat snake walk abit to relieve the backpains sometimes.. so dunno y suddenly leg cramp..

Re medela pumps, this is wat i gathered from all the research that i did:

PIS is more powerful and pumps faster, but very bulky (and noisier?)

Freestyle is lighter and very portable, good for mummies who BF even when they go back to work. But not as powerful as PIS and takes longer to pump. On top of that its more expensive. I saw it in a singapore website selling 758 i think

px, i'm going to order from the spree - the organiser gives a one year warranty too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ... cannot buy from singapore, too expensive!

Breastpumps:

I use a PISA. Really good but really bulky too. Used it when I'm not latching. Converted to 100% manual hand expression, just hands and bottle. Nothing else when my boy was about 10months or so as he bit my nipples till it bled and had pus. Too painful to have the nipples sucked by the breastpumps due to the badly bruised nipples. Hand expressed till my boy is 16months before the supply dwindled off.

modisch> my MIL brew w black chicken but so far onli once....hahahaha....i used to brew, i bot kampom chicken, skin off the skin n jus brew, no herbs, jus to get the essence!!! Black chick shld be brew w herbs...

Crystal

I boiled my avent bottles. And they are fine. I think those bottles should be able to withstand boiling heat. Coz they need to be sterilized after all.

wendy, yes I did ... used medela dual pump but I sold it off liao - cos electronic stuff no point keeping for too long.

elch, wow hand expressed! must salute you!

feimei, any idea what's the diff between chicken essence and soup? like the benefits etc ...

I just came back from my GP.. on mc today coz of sore throat and migraine.. I didn't know that my throat was so inflammed until my doc showed it to me with a mirror.. The entire throat area looks like bah gwa!! Sigh.. Occupational hazard.. I am so used to having a funny feeling at the throat that it has to be this bad to be painful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I have to be on antibiotics now to prevent it from becoming an infection + fever....... Doc says it's safe for bb but I still don't feel good about taking it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Feimei,

Issit a Bunny Prince or Princess?? :D

nana, better cure the infection first ... bb will be ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] feimei still waiting for her turn hee

hi all.. my mom last time got the dry shark bone for me from HK and ask me to cook them with either chicken or pork with herbal till shark bone nearly disappear and drink up the soup..

that I heard help to increase Calcium intake.. but not sure if they sell in singapore.. the soup taste like normal herbal soup but more jelly feel as the bone melted into the soup.. i guess it contain colligen too.. haha.. I think I still hv them in the fridge.. that time she brought a lot over.. maybe will cook again this time in later stage..

chujie, dry shark bone sounds really interesting ... never tried it before [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

px, here here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] from Tan Leng Leng ... nice organiser [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/3147559.html?1291248589 ... for repairs, ya hor, I'm not sure too, haven't read the full details yet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But I have got friends who ordered thru here and no problems thus far [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chujie, I see ...

w160879, he's turning 4 in May so it will be a 4 year gap between #1 and #2 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sorry to interrupt.

I got 2 packs of huggies new born diapers (unopened) to let go at $5 each.

Also letting go of pigeon nipple care cream(unopened) at $12.

Do PM me if interested. Thanks.

me using medela advanced pump in style.. the pump still good condition but the rugsack handle one side torn quite badly.. maybe cuz i like to carry by one shoulder.. I used it till my boy was 18 months last time..

will use new sets of bottles and sheild this time