(2011/07) July 2011

jas, open liao lor.. i always pass by the bridge in the morning can smell the 'siew yok' roasting though it doesnt give me any cravings for it except i feel abit porky. Hahaha..

speaking of pillow, i oso hv problem with pillow..cannot be too high cannot be too low, too soft dun work too hard oso cannot. super mah fun (my parents always said that)..i bought so many so many pillows before I settled on this king koil one n summore my hb gotta sleep on it for few times to make it softer but not too soft.. :p now i gotta find a nice one for me to bring back to Malaysia cos i cant stand the one back home alr.. haha

Px22

replacing curtains for doors or still curtains?

haha......

though our nursery room is quite bare, only 2 cubicles and 1 basin, i'm quite appreciative that we have that lor, otherwise have to pump in toilet.

i was hoping that there's hot water in there as well, so that i dun have to go pantry, sterilise bottles and then go back nursery room.

sometimes by the time you do that, both cubicles are taken and you have to either wait or pump beside the basin.

modisch

why dun you feedback to your HR on the nursery room? maybe they'll build one or just take one meeting room to be the nursery room?

modisch

oh they open so early ah?

oh yah they do have porridge for breakfast also rite?

star night / Px22

you gals taking full 4months ML?

I think i'll do that, less disruptive at work.

starnight: nope I not from HR.. but HR is the land of pregnant woman hahahhaha.. I wonder y. I sit in the other room.. where all the little little team sits.. so i dont even know wat the dept sitting next to me does.. yes the 2 other ladies on 14F from ops..

jas: eh I dunno wat curtains wor.. cos i never go in the room before, they jus pasted a notice over the door saying its closed for which date cos they replacing the curtains.. Pump beside the basin??? then other mummies can see u wor?!?!

I will take my 4mths ML + store all my annual leave and take one shot.. in fact I was hoping I dont have to be back till 2012.. Seems like not possible unless we use hospitalisation leave.. can we??

And have u guys told ur bosses abt ur pregnancy? I am leaving mine till the day he passes me the bonus letter hahah

jas, I guess I will take 4 months ML & add another 2 wks block leave + childcare leave in a row. That will be easier for my boss as he will be hiring a temp to cover my absence.

jas, this bank is not new lor.. so many employees and i saw alot of preggers ard. i m sure they hv feedbacked before. i oso mentioned to my HR when i signed the letter of offer prev he said in PWC building, he saw mommies going to server room to pump (but gotta becare of cameras)..duh! and then in our tower, gotta book meeting rooms but the meeting rooms are not concealed totally, if u bend down or tip toe, can see inside liao..so no privacy at all. one of my colleague express in toilet (she say no choice)..aish

Px22, haha I can imagine since most of them in HR are women. Ohh I am not from ops so I doubt I know who they are...

I told my boss when he did my pmo in Dec & he seem pretty supportive. Hope really so & won't affect my bonus!

modisch, jas, I got difficulty in sleeping these days & worry it will get worse when the tummy grows. So tot better to buy 1 maternity pillow to standby first...

Morning all mtbs

Thanks PX22

2 free liao...so everyday go down the golden dargon to learn knitting....hehe actually bb 1 easlier to complete than adult cos size much smaller

star night

wah shiok leh.... can go early lunch and avoid the lunchtime crowd.

Px22

yah lor, i ever see one mummy pumping beside the basin, but she used her bag to cover lor.

guess she couldn't wait for those inside cubicle to finish.

4 years ago when i go and pump, i felt so insecure, cos it's only curtains, and imagine, ANYBODY can go into the room!

2yrs ago improved by restricting access only to mummies, so you need to apply for access to go into the nursery room.

i wanted to hide from my boss till my tummy shows, but no choice had to tell her cos there was an offsite, and attendance was compulsory.

those not going have to give valid reason.

so i gave her a valid reason and was spared lor. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

star night

after you buy the pillow let me know if it's worth buying.

hehe.....

but not cheap rite?

think one mummy here said it cost $120??

Morning Mummies!!

I'm having a BOY! yay~ had my scan on sat when I am 13 wks....I think boy easier to spot....

see my scan below...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4987139.jpg]

modisch: which bank are u from? say the abbreviation enuf liao i think we shud know lol.. My ex bank barcap- the milking room got sofa n basin and mirror and fridge, and its only for one.. no cubicles, can lock from inside. I use to go there for naps lol..

starnight: yeah i guess HR know all the benefits inside out also, tats y everyone having babies one by one lol..

Sunshinebb: golden dragon- the one in tampines? I use to learn there too.. but i guess i really not a handicraft person.. maybe u can start taking orders from clueless mummies like me n sell them hahah

Jas: i saw a few mummies with only one small bag.. the pump so small ah? or they express with their hands???

Nobody in my team noes yet.. either that or they pretending not to know although one of them teased me abt putting on weight ask me issit pregnant.. tat was 3mths ago before I knew i was preggers.. still have to hide for another 4 weeks ah.. painful...

Px22

i'm not sure abt the hospitalisation leave, cos i never utilise it before.

I super "pai seh" that i'm taking 4months leave liao, so i try not to take unnecessary leaves.

but my ex boss was telling me that there's no need to be pai seh, cos the 4months ML is my privilege.

so after hearing that i felt better.

but now i have a new boss, and not sure how she takes it, though she "seems" ok for now.

*shrug*

px22, working for the largest local bank in SG.. i tink foreign banks always hv better benefits and emphasize alot of work life balance. here, policy states yes but in actual fact is not..haha.

i m using freestyle pump, very small. the pump is like palm size and it is meant to be carried everywhere with easy.. u can charge it at home and then operate on battery for 1 whole day n the pump is still powerful. cannot express by hand lar..will take very long time and painful summore..haha.

alicia, congratulations!!

Px22

oh when i was using medela mini electric, yes i only bring in a small bag, cos the motor is so small.

the bag only contains the motor, funnel, and bottles.

then i changed to medela PIS, which is bigger, but i managed to squeeze in everything into the medela cooler bag, so it's just a "camera bag" like what my colleague would say.

my gf says the medela mini electric is damn noisy, like a grass cutter.

hehee......... i agree, but it's very handy lor, good for travel and as a spare.

first time mommy here. my edd is either end june or early july..

not too sure if I too ganjiong but I wonder what kind of milk pumps are recommended?

and where to get cheaper maternity clothes...

am going to the gynae end of this week to check on the gender too.. hopefully my bb will be 'guai guai' to open up and let us see.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Px22

dun buy manual pumps, cos you'll end up giving up.

Tiring and tedious.

Star night

why you not intending to breastfeed after returning to work?

our company have the nursery room for you to pump...

modisch: eh i tot ur bank move to commtech? only front office stays in DBS tower?

medela freestyle is good ah? I also thinking of buying tat but its soo ex! my fren said its 788 after discount wor..

jas: i also dunno if can use anot.. my lao ban is a playboy so i dunno wat would be his reaction.. I am the only one tats married in my team

alicia congrats! the 2 long long things are the legs issit?

hi feimei, i dun need apply permit leh. I saw on some forums only need ot aply if she is staying more than 30 days. Unless your CL is not returning to malaysia cos of her last assignment which needs she already stay here 30days liao.

Feimei, ya lor. these CLs hor will pass to friend if they got other assignment delay de but they normally tell you before signing. Like siew ling, she told me if kena crash with previous assignment, her friend will come to my house for that period and she will come later. Cos EDD is also not accurate ba, thus hard to count. Hopefully that cl siew ling is fine and her last assignment will really end in late june.

Px22

har? you mean whether you can going pumping?

if your lao ban not in favour of you going to pump, then you can do it during lunchtime.

you mean your lao ban so rigid wan ah.......

alamak! sekali mine also like that.

then i faint....

i still dunno her pattern yet cos she's quite new to us.

thanks everyone! I have a gal now & now I got a boy. Clothes majority cant reuse so have to buy new one....

Px22: yup the 2 long things r the legs.

pillow: I still ask my gynae is it the hands covering or wat? She said its not the Cord nor hands. Its Penis! lol. I even asked her, shouldnt it be sticking out? she said coz not totally form yet....haha.

px22, very 'luan'.. some ops move to comtech and some move to changi business park. frankly, i rather move to cbp cos it is nearer to my hb's work place and my home too. but my boss not in favor cos he say if he were to split the team up, when we move to marina bay in 2012, we wouldnt be able to move together...

pumping > tink need to set expectation with ur boss before going on maternity leave as when u need to go express. last time before i come back, i told my boss i will express at 11.30am till 12noon (i will lunch in) and another time at 4.30pm - 5pm. I will leave office later to make up the time etc.. she understands so when we were in meeting, she allows me to be excused. my current comp n boss, i dunno lar.. but so far so good when i need to take mc to rest at home cos not feeling good.

medela freestyle > i got mine from US directly..cost me abt SGD$500+..alternatively, u can check with Thomson Medical Parentcraft. U can buy 2nd hand pump at 1/2 the price or u can buy new one at the full price and after u stop expressing, sell it back to them for 50% off the price..quite worth it. Last time, i rented Medela Symphony, a hospital grade pump to pump at home..that is oso very good! helps to stimulate our breast for letdown (similar to freestyle). these pumps can be rented from mums & babes (AMK and Tampines One)

alicia, ur gynae so good. at least u can record down. haha, so the bigger one must be the balls then the small one is the stick! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so ur shopping hsld be starting soon!

audrey, ask choo-ing gum to open leg big big

Congrats Alicia! that is so heart warming.. your scan pic so cute ah..even has the "it's a boy/girl!" on top. haha

Went for my scheduled gynae chk last sat, and bb is now 5.9cm at 12w3d as of sat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Can see fingers and the feet already.. gynae spotted smthg which she thought may be a boy, but she say too early to cfm. Scarly is just the umbilical cord or smthg.. ha ha.

Hi Mummies & mummies-to-be,

I'm from the June thread but wana share this with everyone here.

I just attended mumsfairy breastfeeding workshop last week and wish to share that I found it really informative and useful. It made me really motivated to BF when my little ones arrive. So for those who wish to BF, you may want to check out their next workshop.

www.mumsfairy.com

Yes, once know gender, it is either recycle from #1 or go on mad shopping spree! Hahaha.. Well, part of me wanted to save $$ but part of me wanted a gal so that I can buy all the pretty dresses n shoes! Frankly, i bought so many hair clips n cute rompers for girls but if it is a boy, then i gotta let it go liao.. lolz

jas: no.. my boss wont bother if I go pump.. we always disappear for coffee anw.. lol

I meant if i should whack hospitalisation leave hahah. I dont wanna work Dec.. everyday sit there dunno wat to do very sian

modisch: i heard the marina bay in 2012 part too.. but was told that its not confirmed.. i wish it was though- cos DH works in DBS as well but he is in Commtech. If he moves over then I wont have to wait so long for him to knock off

PX22....i learned from the 1 @ china town..People Park Centre 2nd level...thinking to try other thing...hand itching

wow wow wow Alicia...congrats...yes think boy can spot earlier...hope my scan this Fri can see the stick and ball 2....LOL...will talk to my beanie to be cooperative n let mummy see...so mummy can start shopping...actually m thinking to buy more unisex col for infant...maybe white or yellow ect...so next time still can reuse....

Audrey....hehehe chooing gum...do update us on ur chooing gum

jas, I thought of buying the wedge only, the pregnancy pillow is too bulky & ex & I am not sure whether it's gg to be comfy anot b4 I invest so much on it. If I manage to buy & after trying, will update here whether it's good anot.

I am quite lazy so I doubt I have the energy to BF after I am back to work. :p

Haha I am back from lunch but decided not to go to the bridge today cos the weather doesn't seem very good so I am afraid it will rain when I walk back to ORQ.

Congrats Alicia! So lucky of u to find out at 13 wks, mine can't even tell at 15 wks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

syrah, thanks for the info! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my colleague 'jio-ing' us to take mrt to Raffles Place - yay!! Can eat the fish soup from philip street..u gals shuld go try it! it's really very yummy..both tomyam and normal oso equally nice. i used to eat that daily when i was with ocbc.

px22, i heard those from comtech will not move to marina..only those staying put in shenton way will move wor.. not sure of the plan though. still very unsure!

jas: yeah mine is bo cheng hu during dec.. towards the xmas NY week, everyone goes home at lunch time.. my colleague goes to casino every day.. and I LL need to cover another guy on leave, and he has to run dumb reports at specifically 5pm, so from lunch till 5pm i got nothing to do.. can be so jialat that I read books or go shopping until I covered all Marina Bay Link mall and whole of raffles place. Almost ventured to chinatown...

modisch: the fish soup is the one tat also has the chicken/duck rice one issit? I also use to work ocbc in 04/05!

Px22

wahaha.... i like your job man! *envy*

If i were you, i'll not take leave in Dec, since it's so switch off.

I'll go shopping then go back office at 5pm to run report, then meet hubby to go home together. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But unfortunately, my dept not so switch off.

I'm always the FIRST to leave at 7:30pm...

modisch, I tried the fish soup at philip street but I prefer the one in Arcade tho philip street's fish are fresher. I never tried their tom yam b4, maybe go & try someday but the queue always super long...

Px22, so shiok for u guys. I only left office earliest at 5pm in the last wk of Dec.

They din let me see chooing-gum gender leh...

I dunno why I am here too..

The gynea just say it's routine check zzz

Waste my time ...

Okie.. At least I think choo-ing gum is healthy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]