(2011/07) July 2011

morning all...

Janice > I done my NT Scan and Blood Test yesterday. It costs me total of $235.60. Helped you to ask the nurse whether can do a walk in. She told me, it is recommended to come for the scan and test as referred by a gynae. This is because they will send the report direct to the gynae. However, if you want to do a walk in, they also need your assurance that you have a gynae. Gynae is needed to 'interpret' the results of the scan and test. She also commented that it would not be nice to do the scan and test over there, bring your results back to your gynae when your gynae can do the scan and test for you.

though I had an appt, the mommy before me took 1 hr 10 min for her detailed scan at week 20+. She is expecting twins and her twins are not co-operative. Thus, I had to wait quite a while.

crayon_mami> Yeah gal, I cant wait to go home. Hehee..I will be traveling alone. Thanks for your great advise. I am wondering who can I get help in sg airport for my luggage to be taken off from the belt. Any idea??

xinyue> oh, thanks for your great advise. i m actually feeling 'messy' as in wat shall i do when back. shall i see e gynae first or go to another place for the oscar scan + BT. Based on wat u hv mentioned, i guess i know e answer. really appreciate u telling me. i forgotten which gynae and hospital u r in? i realised dr jocelyn wong from TMC is so expensive.

Px22> Hehee...ur baby is so smart. knows how to react after hearing the doctory say. i m also glad to hear ur baby is doing great! u super kiasu, reach e clinic so early. hehee..too nervous is it. so when can u know the results?

xinyue> wow, twins. its gonna be hard on the mother. i think waiting time of 45mins to 1 hr will be quite normal. how come so many pple in sg is pregnant?? tot the birth rate is low. hahaha.

Janice.. not i kiasu.. the nurse bluff me.. tell me to reach at 8 when the clinic not open.. end up i finish scan and still the first person to reach the office... scan is immediate, i was told the NT scan looks normal, but not conclusive cos u have to wait for the blood test results too.. my next apptm with Woody at 30th Dec.. will probably lemme know by then? But ya so sweet that my bb is so "automatic".. can understand english at such a young age hahahahha

To all mummies,

I just found out that there is another test (after you have passed the oscar scan) called FA Scan. FA stands for Fetal Abnormalities and will be done ard week 20. This is to perform detailed scan on your baby. Main thing is to check for cleft lip, shape of brain to ensure no several brain problems etc.

This is just an information for you gals.

janice > Haha. Maybe some of these mothers are foreigners instead of locals? The babies need to be in the correct position for the scan. Sonographer needs to do measurements for few body parts. Mine, took like 10-15mins..

Ok, my gynae is Dr JOhn Yam, he can deliver in almost all pte hospital. I have shortlisted Mt A but still deciding as I have heard mixed reviews about it. Heard that Mt A is the cheapest of all the pte hospital.

His package starts at week 16 at $588.50. So far, first time consultation is $60-$80 and subsequence is $40-$60. Scan, I dun remember the pricing.

His main office at gleneagles.

Px22> guess its proven tat our baby can actually understands and knows wat we are talking abt. I better stop saying all the 'sh*t' words. Our baby can hear. hahaa..

yes, janice. I will be going for the FA scan on 23/Feb at NUH also. Price ard $161. This scan to scan for abnormalities, to see if bb's organs functioning ok.

btw, Yesterday I did the scan and test. I will only see doc next tue (regarding the results).

I have not done any tests on HIV, Hep B, etc.

hey px22, mine was measured to be at 4.2cm only when i tried the oscar scan last fri at 11w3d. so mine is even smaller... hope everything is ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

now hoping that beanie will cooperate during the scan nx tuesday. also 8am! at TMC.. i am wondering if i can wake up or not.

xinyue> hmmm..true. when i m in my 20s, e tot of having a baby fears me to death. sorry no offense but i cant stand baby crying. only in my 30s then i start to crave for preg experience.

actually i also wish to go to Mt A. My aunt n another fren's wife delivers there plus its very close to my parents' place. Your gynae package of $588.50 is consider cheap compared to mine. but i hv not finalised my gynae yet due to the price. to be honest, oscar scan + bt of S$488 is so much more ex compared to others.

tingie- I also TMC.. Fetal Assessment Unit Level 4 right? Dont bother to go so early.. they aren't open.. go about 8.15am can liao the reception will be open by then.. then still gotta wait a while for sonographer to reach. Their official opening hours are 8.30am lor.. felt so cheated to wake up soo early and sit there watch CNA..

congrats xinyue... u have pass yr 1st tri. envy envy... bb so coperative. im still counting down for my scan ;) oh... yr gyne is at NUH. Ic... yr result will only be out next week. As most of us in KKH can get the result shld be on the same day. Cos BT will be done eariler b4 the scan. Dat's y KKH offer diff. package.

janice... yes... birth rate in sg is low. it could be a lot ppl wan a rabbit yr bb so a lot bb in yr of rabbit is out to see the world. loolzz... agree with u. i think i shld control my temper & the shit words too ;)

xinyue> wow u already arranged everything before hand. tat is fast. so which week are you at now? if tests like HIV or Hep B is not necessary, then can dun do right. eg i alriz hv 2 body checkup which includes HIV, Hep B done (1 in sg and another 1 in china) before i got preg. so I dun see a need for me to retest on this again.

Your doc very efficient. so fast can know the results which is good coz didnt keep you waiting for too long. Your doc is good.

hihi morning all mtbs

remember to take ur pill n drink more water.

not feeling so gd....super bad headache

mdmkhoo....yes i dislike the KKH A & E doc....not pro at all think all green fr sch...super super chop chop type loh...the doc u see so siao de ar nv give u medi

r u feeling better now???

Janice.. when I was in my teens i also hated the sound of crying babies and children.. but bcos I stumbled into the wards jus now by accident and was at the incubation ward.. with all the half naked crying babies.. Their cries like Orchestra.. but I felt so happy and warm there.. so touching to see all the little lives arriving to this world.. i think we change as we age..

PX22...ur bb so cute know to shift...think when u pop bb will sure like to take pic de....can't wait for my turn

can u see bb gender liao???

Janice, you try to liaise with the counter staff at the airport when you check in at Shanghai. Ask if its possible to arrange for help at our side. If not, i think you can approach any of our airport staff to help you load onto the trolley ;-)

July: Mine is also a Pig baby boy, but he's born in Nov. Almost the same gap as yrs. I agree that boy can also be very fun to play with. My boy can be very active but he can also be very caring and loving. My hb certainly loves my son to bits, they enjoyed lotsa fun time together. That's why i'm hoping for a girl to play barbie doll with me. Haha...

Hey, u've diff symptoms for both pregnancies, so high chance u might get a gal this time round. Pray pray ya:)

Berry: Like u, i bght tonnes of clothes for my son. Cannot control myself lah and i like to see him in nice, clean and smart outlook so couldnt control buying and ended up with wardrobe full of clothes for him:p

Hair Dye/Rebonding: My gynae said no no to all hair chemical treatment even before i asked him. Wanted to dye and perm my hair also cannot le. But i still go for my pedi but cannot use my fav massage chair.

sunshinebb: dunno can see anot.. cos sono dint say and we also didnt ask.. But DH saw bb moving he also smiling.. finally feels like he's gonna be a dad soon otherwise not much tummy he still doesn't really "feel" that I am pregnant.. but v funny hor how come bb got such big tummies?

and for the first time in my life, i got called fat! Last night at the dept xmas party, a colleague who hasnt seen me for months (cos he sits on other floors and he is gay) saw me and commented "eh wat happen to u? u very fei and round now! pregnant ha?"... FML

sunshine... must take care & drink more water.

janice... u r rite... popular yr will have lots of bb wan lo. dat's y sch. nw needs balloting ;) yes... u can try reach the airport ppl for help ;) welcome u back ;)

px22... i n DH loves kids a lot. but i gt the fear cos... have lots of fren beside mi r single mum. N oso heard the delivery process is so scary. really cant imagine much lo.

all mummies... i thought gender can only be seen in week 20 which is detail scan. U sure can see during Oscar scan??? i feel normally 1st bb we will be uncontrol. lollzz.... no matter boy or gal... we sure shi cong(over dote) ;) heard... having gals will have bad MS. but my best fren no MS at all lei!!! i think is nt true lo. dis maybe depend on individual person body.

PX22...my tummy is super obvious...if i wear tight fitting can see clearly like 4mth...now me feel super fat no waist at all...haha some of my colleagues start asking me why my tummy so big...n i told them lots of wind inside..LOL

janice > No worries. I am in my 20s.. 25 to be exact.. Never thought I will get married. And, have a baby. In fact, I got married in OCt this year and now preggy already. My mom says too fast and I didnt plan. I am scared of kids.

Yes, I agree with you. The pricing is really expensive. Pricing wise is also a factor for me.

Maybe you can ask your aunt and this fren for feedbacks on Mt A? I feel, getting good svc also depends on luck?

suying >Thanks.. Will be your turn soon. Gynae with Gleneagles. BUt I always see him at Boon Lay area. I not sure if I passed my 1st tri. Because U/s scan by doc states me at week 12, 6 days today but the U/S scan ytd states me at week 12, 4 days today. Hmm... However, EDD remains. Ya lor. got to wait a week for result. NUH needs to send report to my gynae ma.

No la. I not with NUH. Just go there for scans only.

janice > No la.. Just that when I did payment for the scan and test yesterday, the nurse there gave me the date for the FA scan and I asked her for the price. So ok lor.

I was told by a 2nd time mom (whom I met there), told me that 1st tri test is only NT Scan and blood test. So still unsure of the other blood tests. haha.. Dunno is he good or not. But he is professional la.. He chop chop kind. only tell us what we need to know. somemore, i got to chase him on his maternity package then he tells me.

sunshinebb: hhahahah the wind excuse not bad.. pple ask me why I am round now i say aussie eat too much potato so put on weight.. and constipate so stomach fat.. haiz so sad I also lost my waist already..

Jan-ice,

usually there will be airport staff around... u juz try to look out for them to help u. Dun be pai seh to ask. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

suying > Don't worry about the birth process. You probably have no time to be scared. More like Overwhelming instead.

nature will have a way of taking care of itself. Whether you worry or not, there is nothing we can do but wait for the outcome.

janice > welcome back.. soon, you can satisfy all your cravings, KFC cheesy fries, whipped potato, etc. Have you started packing your luggage?

wow, xinyue, u r very young.. one of my frens oso gave birth to a boy this yr, same age as u... her boy develops fast... at juz 5 mths, teeth come out liao... I think he's trying to flip now... wonder if this has to do w mummy's age (give birth young = baby grow faster)?

Lizzie/suying> thanks thanks! finally home sweet home soooonnnn...

Px22> yeah true, age really changes our thinking. i couldnt agree wif you more.

xinyue> wow you are so young. young mummy. Hehehe..i guess young age sure get pregnant easily. so how many babies u plan to hv?

xinyue> wow dun remind me of the food!! yummy man!! well my hd has helped me pack last nite. he asked me not to move anything.

crayon_mami> sure hope everything will be fine coz me not passed 1st tri yet. thanks gal!!

xinyue... wow... young mummy. yr gyne is glen but u done yr scan from NUH. like dat oso can ya???

sunshine... yr excuse is common. at time being still can use as excuse. but when times pass by gt to admit liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] lolzzz... mi oso no wasit le lo. mini skirt n jeans cannot wear. i think my ass is big nw. lollzzz... anybody feel the same???

crayon > [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Not sure about that.

janice > [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hb says 2 is enough. Don't know if young age will get pregnant easily. SG is ex place to raise kids, no doubt edu standard is there.. But really too ex already

Px22, now dat u're oredi in 2nd tri, when do u intend to admit u're preggie? hehehe... For me, i've been hiding in loose jacket for the past mth, so no one has noticed my bloated stomach... :p

Jan-ice, i haven't passed my 1st tri yet too... 3 more wks to go... how abt u? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

crayon_mami> oh me is 2 more weeks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] wats ur food craving now?? i can eat everything. nothing makes me feel like puking. is it same for you??

morning all! had a few meetings earlier and finally got time to log in here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jgwee, cross legs most likely gal? let's see then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

crayon_mami, yup, think half of my friends (the closer ones) knows of my preggy.

px22, your baby very guai! the blood test, though they take one time, but will insert it into 3 different tubes - think for different test bah

Jan-ice, have a safe flight tomorrow! there should be airport staff around to help you. Yup, there's another detailed scan at week 20 - that's when they scan the baby's spine etc.

Alicia, joined last night, think need you to approve [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cactusnah, I also have a pig boy - born in May [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I started my multi-vits, fish oil, calcium today and will have to take my iron pills tonight ... so many stuff to take from now onwards but all for the good of baby!

xinyue - you are very young! envy envy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pai seh, want to ask u gals... r u still wearing your low waist panties? cos the elastic part seems to be at where our beanies r supposed to be... is there a need to change to loose higher waist type? :p

crayon mami: no leh.. yesterday my colleague asked I also reply "SIAO".. dunno how to announce my pregnancy. Maybe wait until get bonus letter then say.. If bad bonus I can tell my boss "I am pissed so I am going on a 4mth leave!" wahahaha

Its only last week that I told my MIL and mum.. the rest of the dads and the grans and siblings still have no idea. Also hiding in loose clothes and shawl.. Look so auntie now

suying > maybe that's the arrangement for gynaes from gleneagles. I met another mom whose gynae also from gleneagles ytd at the scan.

janice > hehe.. u mentioned that in ur previous postings ma. maybe u can starting writing down what you want to eat when you are back.

hehe.. try online shopping for cheap and nice clothes for urself? as for baby stuff, get hand-me -downs if can?

crayon_mami, think it's ok as long as you are comfortable in that pair.

px22, waiting for 2nd tri to tell the rest?

Jan-ice, i dun hv special cravings, except some unhealthy food (eg. char kway teow w cockles, luncheon meat, laksa)... but canot eat right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] anyway, no matter how much i crave for any food, i can only eat abit. Eating more will make me want to puke. But so far, glad dat i've not puked. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I hope DH will not put on weight faster than me ah... I've been asking him to finish up my food for me... hahaha...

i think after week 12 then considered 2nd tri right?

cary, so many frens noe u preggy liao? so far, only 1 fren, 2 colleagues n my family knows... hehe... will hint hint after 1st tri is over... :p