(2011/07) July 2011

Brenda,

I also experienced LS. I asked my gynae, he said I must have eaten something wrong, like too much fruits? milk? (he say milk will make LS worse wor) Then I told him no ar.. my diet is the same as before. So I believe its indigestion ler... Sometimes I MS, some of the food also look like not digested..

Anyway, my LS is much better now..It will soon go off.

Jamie,

waffle with ice-cream sounds nice ler.. where to get waffle leh?? I am at AMK / Bishan area..

FeiMei,

I also take ponstan ler. My GP also prescribe me some caffeine pills(Pacofen) which can take on top on ponstan. She say a little caffeine will help. But of course now take panadol only, dare not take ponstan though gynae did say ponstan is safe for preggy.

sunshine > dunno. maybe they are often placed in very high regards and it actually got to their heads.

both mother and bb lives in their hands ma, so no matter what, got to be nicer to the gynae even though we are paying for their services. sickening

xinyue> The nurses and gynae are so strange! Why ask such a qns??!! DUH

Found some info on gestational diabetes:

Gestational diabetes is a temporary condition that occurs during pregnancy, affects 2-10% of all pregnancies.

When you're pregnant, hormonal changes can make your cells less responsive to insulin. For most moms-to-be, this isn't a problem: When the body needs additional insulin, the pancreas dutifully secretes more of it. But if your pancreas can't keep up with the increased insulin demand during pregnancy, your blood glucose levels rise too high, resulting in gestational diabetes.

Risk factors

* obesity (body mass index is over 30).

* had gestational diabetes for previous pregnancy.

* strong family history of diabetes.

* previously given birth to a big baby (above 4kg)

* had an unexplained stillbirth.

* had a baby with a birth defect.

* have high blood pressure.

* age over 35.

Just booked my 1st appt! So slow hor, compared to most of you. Only can see gynae on 16 Dec when i'm 8 weeks cuz she's going on holiday. Boo hoo... shall hear your updates on your bbs to know about mine ;p

maelyn,

Yes, caffine will help abit if i dun hv ponstan wif me lol, the immed cure is kopi gao gao or double expresso...hahahaha....tink i gone case liao....but lucky many yrs no relapse ler, only nw preggie, on n off...hope it will subside aftet 1st tri.... ;(

MTBs, im craving for Starbucks. What do you girls drink there during your pregnancy? Im craving for cafe mocha but i wonder if its ok if i take decaf?

Day 3 of my hospitalization leave today. I think im feeling slightly depressed. Maybe cos i feel lonely..lol

no caffine for 1st tri or throughout huh ?

And also as wat Lizzie mention, can we take decaf ?

Lizzie > don't feel depress... we are all on the same boat ... so u r not alone ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hello mtb.....

congrats to all MTB....

i am confirmed pregnant from the blood test on tuesday at my gynea visit...although i have tested twice at home..

yes still early to scan...cant see anything yet..so havew to wait till next tuesday..but recently have some brownish spotting...

so gynae has given some duphaston to stablise the situation till next week's visit...

hopefully can see something and well

as i will be in my due date in AUG but most probably..i will have a C-sect as the last delivery...hehehe so will join you ladies in july..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

baby is my 2nd preganacy..my 1st was born in mar 2009...

he is very active now and need attention..

tiring..and this time round..i am more sleppy..i always KO each time i lay in bed..hehe

okie so much for now...

Hi DCK

Saw u in aug thread.. Welcome here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Feeling crampy today.. Lie down no use.. Now on the way fir tuition.. Sian..

Lizzie - I wanna have a hot hot cuppa cuppacino from starbucks too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Maelyn: hmm, I dunno lei.. Gelare hv I knw.. Bt I'm frm boon lay side so I nt sure abt amk area..

Nana-mum: lash extension tink gt the glue fumes to worry abt. Smelly!

Sunshinebb: my first time doing lei. Bt I dunno can or nt. Shld b ok rite since its on e face. Lol!

Re: caffeine

Tink they mentioned tt caffeine increases the hb rate of e bb for awhile. Nt too gd. Bt last time I wanted to feel bb movement so I drink coke. Really will hv slight increase in movemment :p

Lizzie: I drank sprite n non caffeine stuff bt gave up aft 1st tri. Altho I'm nt sure if its advisable or nt, bt I rmb I had a lot bubble milk tea towards e end of my preg.

Dck, welcome! =) me too can't wait my girl to slp so I can catch a few winks too..

Starbucks and coffee

Had decaf cappucino starbucks yesterday during meeting yummy! In fact, today I had 1/2 cup kopi guni. Shiok. Compared to first preggy which was strictly no kopi, this time I gave in. Hehee

For non-caffine drinks, can try ribena, 100 plus, sprite, peppermint, camomile (pure). Some herbal infusion may nt be safe for preggers.

Ms

Mine is getting worse. No appetite, keep vommitting. Makes food terrible. Envy those mtbs who have cravings.

Sleep

Can't sleep well these days, wake up at 130 and 5 everyday. Super shack

LS

Had that for my first pregnancy. This time constipate. How come cannot gek ah?

Hey mtbs, need your advice. Not relevant to pregnancy.

I got a new helper and tml I have a pre-arranged dinner with a group of friends. The menu is expensive and what should I do? Order a set for the helper as well? Don't want to leave her at hm

Jus nw bot pack of holicks 3in1 Lite n try nw.....yummm...not bad....full of nutrients oso...can buy n try rather than keep drinking milo....this is alt choice!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi all mtb, i've jus tested positive at home, this will be my 2nd baby, no.1 is turning 2 tml...need to check wif u mtb on which gynae u go to? reason is i am not gg back to my first one as he determine the day my ger was born, although he's good but i want to get another pro-natural gynae..any recommedations? preferably in town..thanks

*wave at bur* I am here too!!! Haha..congratulations..it's good news!

Can try my gynae, Dr Yvonne Chan at TMC. She's quite good. pro-natural too and her stitches very good

Tiring day.. but past 2 days was worse where I keep throwing up! Today, i ate all spicy food fron breakfast till dinner to keep my baby happy..hahah. This baby is really a spicy baby..must have tomyum or chilli then i will not throw up.

Hi mtbs, i gave in and had my first cup of hot mocha decaf but alamak! Tastes soooo awful heehee! Nothing like the real thing but for the sake of baby rabbit, i guess have to make do lor heehee'

Audrey: go have your cuppa since your projects submitted liao! ;)

Thanks to those who replied regarding me being lonely.. I think its the hormones ;o

Morning ladies, jus to check anyone of u still taking bbt?

My bbt usually is 36.70 to 36.80.. This morning msd only 36.62.. Will u get sudden dip a day during taking temp?

I wonder Shd i b alarmed?

hi kath, whn's ur due date?? i think mine shld be late july or early august..can't believe jus 1 shot & we r hving no. 2...hehehe.. a bit stress..

hi starry, thanks on ur recommendation, does she delivery in TMC too? & how's her chrgs like?

lizzie, i experience the same thing wif my no. 1, i love kopi o & beef, but immediately puke after i had my kopi o & can stand the smell of beef.. its our hormones...hehehe

yesterday i went for my check-up and heard magical baby's hb at 6 wks 0 days. later on, i heard from my colleague my boss was super pissed with me for taking the day off for this doc's appt (even though i'm using this as off-in-lieu for working the previous weekend). somehow, i think these two things converged together to make me want to quit. reading all your posts dear ladies...we really do have to bear with so much crap and even though i don't post much - just want to tell you all have been so brave and courageous whatever situation you're in right now. and whatever it is, make it a point to minimize stress and heartache while it's within our control, it's good for our bbs and our well-being. enjoy your weekend!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4832543.gif]

Sorry for those i hvae missed out, u may wan to drop me ur EDD info via email, the thread is moving fast, quite troublesome for me to find back ur info.

my email: [email protected]

bubbles,

not to worry soo much....bosses r like that....dun let that affect ur mood....most impt i carry out ur work, the bosses can do nothing...

be happy!!!

hihi all mtbs

welcome DCK and bur

bubbles....so happy for u...mine appt next wk (wk 7) hopefully bb stick well n strong

ur colleague n boss really too much liao...wht wrong, cannot take day off for appt meh??? saw from May thread a mtbs was terminated by her employer when they found out tht she was pregg...now she is seeking the help of MOM to get her 2mth paid maternity....so sad...can those employer be more ren xin...

thanks feimei - love your cheery attitude.

thanks sunshine for your advice...it's a little trickier for my situation - got a lot of running about and standing to do in my line of work and doc has told me specifically i can't do that as i'm spotting lightly. i'd rather quit than risk affecting bb's health in any way. unless the boss is willing for me to alter my job scope to become more desk bound. however, given that there are actually more "running about" stuff i'm supposed to be doing in the next 2 mths, it's really like being between a rock and a hard place.

bubbles> dun quit! U'll only make your boss happy for doing so. Ren for some 7 months then you can enjoy 4 months paid maternity leave! To make the 7 months wait more bearable, ask gynae for mc during check-ups.

4 month maternity leave - the bonus on top of our bundle of joy!

Hello Ladies,

I am new at this thread and I hope you ladies won't mind me joining. Am expecting my #1 and now at 7 Wks and I just saw my bb heartbeat last wk. Now looking forward to my next scan in 6 days time. My EDD is 23Jul'2011.

Welcome day! More than happy to have more mtbs here. Our EDD quite close - mine's 24 July =)

Ur check-ups are scheduled quite close hor - 2 weeks (usually is 4 weeks) You get the see bb more often!

hi babyjosh,

oh! Our EDDs is just a difference of a day. I conceived through ivf and my gynea will monitor me on a 2 weekly interval to ensure things are okay for the 1st trimester. Glad that the scan is 2wks interval as every scan gives me a peace of mind. Have you started experiencing morning sickness ?

bubbles,

u hv my support!!! dun worry, go for it...make ur boss change ur job scope....so that u no need to run here n there....tell ur boss u will try to giv n take so that both party also Happy mah... :D

Relax for the wkend...dun think too much!!!

day> Congrats on the success! Yep seeing bb more often gives more peace of mind. Yah, MS started last week. I'm more nauseous this round, previous preg no MS. Actually my EDD is tentative, cuz my 1st appt is far far away on 16 dec. =)

bubbles> That's a good place to start. Hope things work out for you.

morning MTBS! Went for my scan on thursday and bb is 2.62cm at 9week1d... so heartwarming to see him/her grow so fast, was only 0.58cm at 6w4d... can see head hands legs tummy and heartbeat but never wave at me leh =(

Feimei pls help me change my EDD to 6 Jul? bb is growing fast!

Anyone knows how's elch after her operation?

Feimei> sob! I'm having headache again!! Any natural remedy to recommend?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Px: wahhhhh can seee head hand ah?? Soooo cute!! My friend and his wife went for their scan at 3 mths and they saw baby scratching his/her head lol!

px22,

Wowww....sooo hapi hapi for u... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] nvm la, no waving to u this time, still got alot of chances...each visit giv u surprise mah...!!! Ok, will change ur edd...actually every1 edd will varies alot becos hv to c beanie progress!!! My gynae say no need wait till 40wks, once reach 37wks, anytime can pop lol...if so, my edd will be late jun lol...nvm la....edd is nt to our worry nw, as long as beanie stick to us n grow healthy, anytime after 37th wks, i oso welcome him/her!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif]

iko,

Have u taken ur kopi for the day??? If nt, drink some caffine, can help to subside abit but onli one cup horrr....or u can try ginger tea, it will relax u abit!!!

Daph,

Will update urs! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

iko,

Smell our best frenx, ru yi U!!! Rub some on ur nose, forehead n the back of ur neck, use ur palm to massage abit on the shoulder...it shld help to relieve the tension!!!!

hi.. bubbles... ya. bear wif it n dun get affected by our employers. i have the same situation as u. heard dat my employers told my dept manager nt to employ gal in future as gals r so problematic. wth!!!... when i heard i super piss off.... cos she herself is a gal, she has a daughter & daughter in law. y only her gals r human beings & we r nt. wat r we in thier eyes??? jus a worker???? if they dare i will wait for them to sack mi instead ;)

feimei... u may update mine too. my edd is 16 jul. @ KKH - Doc. Loh SF

thank you

bur

not sure if she delivers at tmc, think you gotta call up the clinic to check.

she charges $80 for consultation, $110 for early preg scan, and vits all separate charges.

she also doesn't have package.

so each visit is at least $200 lor....

anybody feels cold these days?

dunno issit the weather or just me.

thought preggies are supposed to feel heated up most of the time?

i just read from "What to expect when you're expecting" that increased sensitivity to cold is one of the symptoms to hypothyroidism (a deficiency of thyroid hormone due to an underactive thyroid gland).

now it's making me worried.

starry,

Hands n feet r cold but body is warm/hot, tats how i feel!!! Alot of us r the same here, dun worry!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry,

My feet, hands and tummy feels cold .. I need to wear socks and jacket to sleep every night.

I think it's normal?

Sometimes it's better not to read up too much about the symptoms coz it freaks us out easily especially at our early stage.. I don't think the symptoms online can apply to everyone so don't think so much [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Our mummies didn't have all these info abt pregnancy and I think they had a much happier pregnancy than women in our generation [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hehe

Starry,

If u read in between the lines, "sensivity to cold is ONE of te symptoms...", not confirm guarantee chop.. It might due to imbalance diet? Or for my case i suspect inadequate intake of food coz i have been throwing up a lot.

If u r still worried, give ur gynae a call [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Don't think too much.. Think happy thoughts!

I believe that if u think and will yourself tp be healthy, u will be healthy.. That's how I always "self-heal" when I am sick coz I have a phobia of pills [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]