(2011/07) July 2011

feimei

I will start to wash around week 30-32. Hospital bag needs to be packed around this time too. Bad thing about here is too many spams.. haha

xinyue/tsukushi> i oso tot maybe start washing 1mth before but looks like abit late worrr...hv to cater for rainy days...i dun wan my hse to hang soo many 'flags'...hahahahahaa...thou her cloths r those small small de la...but still alot...will u gals hand-wash or throw into washing machine to do the job???

I also prefer here..since i cant be seen frequenting FB too often :p

yest had my gynae visit..was surprised tt bb weighs 800g now..to think that many commented tt my stomach is small :p even gynae also surprised himself as he also tot will be at most 600 g plus..bb head is also rather big at 25cm..pity cant measure how long

Feimei

i hv yet to buy bb clothes..kekeke..just 2 rompers, a few bibs (which were complimentary)..thinking of buying nearer to the edd bah..cos cant estimate how big/small he will be.

hihi...haha me also prefer here...but nowaday everyone seem into FB leh

Feimei..m thinking abt this qns 2....think will wash ard 8mth

iv> now walking abit clumsy liao...when nearer...tink i will jus damn lazy to go anywhere....hahahhaaa....most of the clothings i bot online lol...soo they r delivered....i din buy any newborn size leh....all starting from 3mths onwards...i even think 3mths size looks pretty small...hahahhaa....the biggest i bot is 6-9mths...

m thinking if i dry the bb clothes in the house dun hv sunlight leh...can we dry outside...saw many of mine neighbour doing it...hmm but is it ok for bb clothes??

I prefer to chat in this thread too.

I am planning to wash bb stuff one month ahead too. Though most of the clothes are hands-me-down from my #1, my mum has already wash all and keep in a clean bag. Will need to wash some new clothes, wash cloth, face cloth which I bought for #2.

feimei,

I plan to handwash baby clothes leh. Am using the baby laundry detergen. Maybe after hand wash will spin using machine so that can dry faster.

sunshinebb,

Actually its good to sun bb clothes. Hmm.. u check check whether you have good neighbours anot.. make sure no water drip drip drip or birds hanging around the cloth line.. Hee..

feimei > if that is the case, maybe can wash around end May. Personally, I felt if wash too early, later clothings will have dust even though keep in cupboard.

Those hand me downs I got, I already washed them but will wash them again in end May or June.

As for hospital bag, I already set aside a bag, clothes, mittens, booties, hat and a blanket (to wrap baby in) what is left are my things. Me kiasu.

The clothes, most likely will dump all in washing machine and wash using baby detergent.. By right, I heard got to handwash, but tummy big already, sit down and wash, also a bit xin ku.. like something blocking us from breathing smoothly.

ivfamily > I also prefer here than FB as I cant login FB at work. Hehe.. 2 rompers sufficient.

Who knows, maybe u get lots of baby gift set then u can save on NB clothes already. If getting clothes, suggest get those bigger sizes ones like 3-6 mths or 6-9 mths..

LOl.. tummy size not impt unless using it to get seats on MRT.. so long baby ok, can already..

Mount Alvernia Hospital Tour

Any mummies went for a hospital tour yet? I will be going for a tour at Mount Alvernia this coming Saturday. Wanna get familiar with the route to the hospital, check out the car park rates and visiting hours, find out what are the things they are providing so that I no need to buy duplicate stuff, will also find out what to bring during hospital stay.

feimei,

I will throw everything into my 5kg machine. I think machine does a better job of washing than hand. I think it's better to wash a bit earlier in case you pop early.

sunshinebb

I have no sun in the house too, but I think it's ok to hang dry in the wind. Of course, I would prefer some sun on the laundry to kill the germs.

xinyue,

Why is it better to hand wash bb's clothes? I've used the machine most of the time for my bb clothes (but I am using a vertical drum machine). During my first baby's full month, we received tons of clothes and I had to sell away many sets because my son had already outgrown newborn clothes by that time. Really disliked receiving newborn clothings for full month!

Maelyn...also thinking to handwash all bb clothes

Xinyue...wow u so fast pack ur hospital bag ar...me even bb clothes still hv not buy leh

tsukushi > handwashing does a better job. cleaner. washing machine not that clean. this is based on my own personal experience. prior to married, my clothes were handwashed. after switch to washing machine, i can often still see stains on my clothes.. clothes turned 'hairy' too.. Am using those front load.

thats why I proposed to ivfamily to not get any more NB clothes.. Maybe in hospital, already can get NB gift sets..

feimei > for me, I very kiasu.. The smallest size romper I got is for 6-9mths. mostly I got 9-12 mths.

sunshine > me kiasu ma.. erm.. I am those very slow and forgetful kind. If pack early, at least still got time to get whatever I missed out.. The clothes I packed for baby are hand me downs.. which looks new.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xinyue

Maybe you can handwash better than me! I think my handwashed clothes are not as clean as machine washed, unless there are stains which I remove manually before throwing into the machine. Esp when there's urine in my boy's clothes, I think I can never get rid of the smell if I handwashed them.

I didn't buy many NB clothes for my first one and it was a good thing, cos he has outgrown them by his full month. For my 2nd one, like you I only bought a few pieces for going out, also 6 months onwards!

tsukushi > no la.. handwash can scrub scrub the clothes.. but machine wash, is spin spin, no scrub..

Ok, thanks for the advise..

Morning mummies..

Since ages since I log in... Talkin bout washin bb clothes, me juz wash dem last week.. Hee.. Bought a drawer cabinet specially for his clothes all.. Tollyjoy detergent smells gd.. Like it.. =D

Mummies... Soon, it'll be our 3rd tri oredi... Fuyoo!! Couple of weeks time...

wow..didn't expect thread to move so fast! Great to see all back in action ^_^

feimei/xinyue

tt's exactly what my hub said also..no need to buy so many newborn ones since people will give as hampers etc..i'm thinking of getting those airy ones for him to wear at home, at least for the 1st few wks.

Xinyue

hee..i never handwash my clothes..expect for my own undies..hee..& mabbe becos my hands r sensitive, cant contact w detergent much, still prefer to throw into the washing machine..

Tsukushi

heheh..for my #1..he helped us save a lot cos he never seems to outgrow his clothes..kekeke

RE:packing of bag

hee..think i'll only start to pack at 32wk bah..heheh..else, will forget what i hv packed.

Talking about detergent, if you plan on cloth diapering (not the traditional flat cloth that you need to fold, but those modern ones like those with inserts and covers), be careful of the detergent you use. They can spoil your diapers.

ivfamily > Ok.. Use gloves? my hands also sensitive to certain detergent..

ivfamily

Wow... I'm pertually buying new clothes for my #1 cos he seems to outgrow every few months. His growth only stagnated last year when the clothes lasted for almost 1 year. Feel very sayang for some of the clothes cos they are still quite new.

toking about bb detergent, highly recommend ABD powder detergent... very good for removing odour and stains... use a little will do... i use it to remove stubborn stains on adult clothes too... machine wash oso can... stains confirm remove... not toking abt old stains tho... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tsukushi > re cloth diapers : those modern ones have inserts?? for the nappy liner? what is the covers for?? for now, I only have the traditional ones and i thought i can use nappy liner with it..

thanks for the advise.. how does one knows the cloth diaper is spoilt?

i plan to wash ard June too. we can put into dryer to dry?

xinyue-wow u packed so early your bag? haha

scary le, we are left with 2mths plus.. ytd dh and me were counting and we got a shock that we are nearing and haven made any plans. haha.

xinyue

tried using gloves..but the feeling not there..cant tell whether wash cleanly a not leh..

btw, any ladies here got skin probs after preg? my skin on my feet itched terribly & i'll scratch loh..even applying cream, it will dried up but still itchy..i def need to wear gloves to prevent myself frm scratching..kekek

Tsukushi

u can imagine my #1, at 5yrs old, same size as a 3.5yrs old..hehehe..so he can still wear those 3 to 4 yrs old clothes loh..i rarely buy clothes for him..

xinyue

XW is right. Traditional cloths are not waterproof, you need to wear one more diaper cover to prevent leaks.

Modern ones have many types. There are all-in-ones where you don't have separate inserts, but very hard to dry. There's one type with a cover and an insert, you can wash them separately. And etc...

Nappy liner is just a piece of material on the top of your cloth diaper, purpose is to catch poo or to create a barrier between your baby's bottom if you're using a zinc-oxide diaper cream or if the cloth is microfiber.

Oh yeah, I'm reserving my #1 clothes for mei-mei [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i onie will wash baby's clothes 2 weeks before delivery since i alr knew which date I will be having my c-sect.

I realise i have about 2mths to delivery and I have yet to finalise my boy's name..bad mummy!!

I oso yet to buy alot of stuff like maternity pad, disposable underwear etc..

in such foul mood now!!

ivfamily - Me too!! My skin is gettin more dry & itchy... Sob sob... Even afta applyin cream, will be okie den will itch a bit esp on my lower leg... Haiz..

Been applyin cream on my tummy. Hopefully no stretch marks.... Its a bit red at de side of my tummy though esp de right side.. Dunno if thats stretch marks.. =(

ivfamily

I do have skin problems! I have to apply tons of creams and calamine lotion to ease the itch.

xinyue

I think you won't face much problem with traditional cloths, cos very easy to wash. But I think you do need a diaper cover. I didn't know about this for #1 and had pee leaking all over me.

For modern ones, the diaper will start to repel water if too much buildup has occurred, or start to stink. But I think can salvage. I just purchased diaper safe detergents to try out cos thinking of cloth diapering my #2, since we are going to have so much laundry with #1 clothes.

XW > Ooohh.. ok thanks.. learnt something today.

pillow > Kiasu ma.. also, as time gets nearer, we might find it tiring to move around, getting things ready for the bag..

ivfamily > same thinking.. me.. the skin on my feet itched too and is dry.. i tried applying the cocoa palmers stretch mark cream on it and it actually helps abit.

tsukushi > ok, thanks.. learnt something today.

tsukushi > Ok! I only afraid of handling the poo poo on the cloth diaper.. So, was thinking of using nappy liner on the diaper. Heard babies can use tons of cloth diaper..

what brand of diaper safe detergent did you get? can use this to wash baby's clothes also??

sorry for the many qns.. me first time mom.. lots to learn..

cant wait for my evening appt today... count dwn liao. the clothes i order for GAP has arrived. woo hoo.... waiting for them to post out ;)

Wow, seems many mommies are considering cloth diapering. I think i'm the lazy mommy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I have been using normal diapers for my #1 and will intend to use it for #2 this time. Though it costs more in the long run, but it saves me alot of time and effort. Just that have to be careful that bb bottom is cleaned properly and diapers are changed frequently.

Maelyn > The last time i did the tour was in 2008. Afterwhich Mt Alvernia underwent major renovations for their rooms and have many selections available now. As for parking, it is a daily flat rate if you are staying there (i think its $5). Baby will be provided with a packet of diapers (that time they gave pampers newborn diapers), a baby wrap, bag, Johnson baby wipes, bibs and some free samples in the bag. You just have to bring 1 set clothes and mittens for baby to go home in. They don't really provide anything much for mommies, so must bring all the necessities or else if you ask from them, they will usually charge.

Do keep us updated if there are any changes. Thanks in advance [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i bought baby clothes from taiwan and Shen Kwong trading co. Also bought disposable and traditional diapers. I tot of not buying traditional diapers but my mum tell me to used it coz CL will help us wash. And my mum wants to used it when she look after my baby. All the baby clothes my mum will me wash. I waiting for baby fair to buy the baby detergents. Ytd when chinatown bought pjyamas and pads. Hospital bag i will wait for end may or june then start packing

haha i m still cloth diapering my 2 yrs old.. he still not ready for toilet training wor.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Zachmommy y in foul mood? who make u angry?

yday i hav was tested positive for sugar in urine.. mus start to watch my diet.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hope i dun get gestational diabetes.. bb is abt 700g for 24 weeks doc says bb is big hmm my natural birth dunno wheth will materialise?

u girls havin gathering at some condo rite? how is e plan?

hmm... i bought it dat time gt add. 20%discount. now i dunno. gt to go to the spree at sporemotherhood check it out ;)

xinyue.. my son's record for a day of cloth diaper is 28 diapers tat day.. he jus keeps on wetting them n poo ing too.. eh.. nappy liners r gd u need them to keep more of e dirty poo off e nappy..

for diaper detergent i m using e ABD powder from Pureen mus soak e diapers but i find it keeps e diaper white .. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wendy > Did your doc ask you to take the glucose test? Must watch diet..

28 diapers for one day??? wow.. I thought only 6-8 pcs for one day. hmm... ok, thanks. can use this ABD powder to wash the baby's clothes?

it's been a real long time since i log in and yeah, hope to get some advise from u gals..

I have using california baby for my 1st boy since birth.. its convi cuz its for head to toe.. but seriously very expensive especially when I need to stock up at my in laws place who is taking care of my boy and also my own house.. I swear by california baby products but now with 2nd one coming, i am just wondering what is the next alternative.. something thats good, smell nice and cheaper at least?

@liz & ivfamily: I had severe itch during my first pregnancy.. none of the creams work and cannot take medication to help too.. cold compress helps though.. i will wake up in the mid of night due to bad itch.. and the only way to ease the itch is to shower in cold water. otherwise i will prepare a pail of water with ice and use a towel to dap on the itchy areas.. this will help better.. otherwise will have lots of scars all over..

with my 2nd one now, so far i am still pardoned from the terrible itch and i hope it will not come! occassion itch on my lower leg is there and the right side of my tummy also experience the same.. i will control and try my best not to scratch.. else get a cold towel and place over itchy area..

hope above helps! ;)

xinyue,

can, i use ABD powder to wash #1 clothes from bb till now he almost 5 liao...

J2010T,

kiddy palace shld have, tom & stefanie... but i like to stock up at bb fairs... much more cheaper...