(2011/06) June 2011

Spring card> A kind mum sent me the card details. Thank you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning. My amnio test schedule at 1230 today. *finger cross.

Which baby fair better, personally I prefer taka n motherhood baby fair. I also went for bhg or Robinson sale when they hv 20% storewide sale to grab some bb stuff.

Newborn clothing style, newborn stage i will use drawstring string, button or wrap ard style for easier putting on n remove. I will avoid romper for newborn stage as their neck r no strong yet. N use romper when their neck stronger like 3+ mth as it suit our weather n can cover bb's tummy. Try get A mixture of style then u decide later which style u prefer more [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies hv rashes, try take cold bath iso warm or hot bath. As it irritated the skin more. N looser clothing so it won't rub on yr skin n create more itchiness. Understand how u gals felt as I hv eczema badly too on n off. Those r d advice my skin doc mentioned. Speedy recovery.

Alteriel, tks so much in org d gathering. Waraku r not halal. But my Malay col will go there n get their fish soup based ramen [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Chil,

Thanks for the tip. I am also looking forward for taka and motherhood baby fair. Will also keep your tips on newborn clothing style in mind.

Waraku is not halal, so I guess perhaps, I will bring my own food from somewhere(hopefully they dun mind) and order a drink or something...please dun mind me, if everyone is agreeable on Waraku, go ahead ya? *smiles*

Yesterday i went to GP due to my rashes on my tummy is getting rather red and angry..and it starts to get itchy. I bring my palmer's cream to show my GP..the moment she saw the cream..she told me to stop using as VITAMIN E may cause allegdy and she suspect that i am alledgy to it. She even told me tat she herself got it when she apply this cream! OMG. I ask her how come the rashes only appear recently as i have been applying for quite a while liao..she told me that allegdy reaction towards VIT E will not show up immediately one..usually only shown up after a while! So ladies...pls take note!

Now,she cannot prescribe me any medication but can only give me some calamine lotion to ease the itch. So i gona bear with it for a while! Sob Sob!!

I would like to join in the gathering but due to work nature and OT..i may not be able to join...sob!

You ladies must enjoy yourselves. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi tsukushi (makino)

As i did not add longan..i am not sure of the ratio..perhaps other ladies here can help?

May if you feel too heaty..u just add a little to test out? then gradually increase. All these are very general and mild..shouldn't have any side effects if you add access. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

victoria, you mean we shld not use cream with vit E? my body shop face cream contains vit E & i've been using since pre-preggy... *cross fingers*

hi all mommies,

MIA-ed for a while and spent some time catching up on the threads that I missed.

Went for my detailed scan yesterday and I think my baby gave me the best V-day pressie he (gender's confirmed, it's a boy) could ever give! He moved while the sonographer was doing the scanning!

Both hubby and I saw our baby kicking his legs, opening his fingers and rubbing his face. So touching, I teared. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Somemore, he's not shy lor, opening his legs for us to see his birdie.

Since the gender's confirmed, hubby was thinking of english names for the baby.

Moon, my hubby also thought of Cayden but different spelling - Kayden and another was Ayden.

I think both names are fine but when I was surfing the net, it seems alot of babies now have names ending with -den, which made me hesitate a bit; scared that it will be too common... still, we haven't decide on the names yet. :x

claire > I went for my gynae check yesterday too and he mentioned that in the second tri, raw food (in singapore) is rather safe and we can eat like normal people now, so maybe don't need to wait till after baby is born. Finally I can feast on salmon sushi! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I missed out all the salmons during the CNY Lo Hei. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

And no worries, I am not prepared too.. haven't started on my baby shopping yet. ;p

JJ > my baby also weigh 402gms! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but the sonographer says he's slightly heavier than average babies of the same 'age'.

Glitter > The sonographer says the average weight at 20wks shld be ~350gms but she assures me that the baby is still good for his weight.

altariel > regarding your rash, maybe you wanna consult a GP? For me, I have my fair share of itch too! I started having rashes then itch all over my boobs and stomach on the start of my second tri, so I suspected it was due to the moisturiser I had started using then. After I stopped using the moisturiser, the rashes and itch was gone. But other areas, like the hands and legs starting itching. The skin condition got worsen to eczema. Hubby often jokingly say, "aiyoh, why your skin become like lao ah-ma liao...? not attractive anymore.."

qiuen > yah, dr lawrence ang refers us to TMC for DS. So I did my DS at TMC in the morning and back to his clinic in the afternoon for the routine check.

my EDD is 30-06-11 and gender is boy. if you got update the table, you can help me update the details also. thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: baby gender

btw, i heard from my hubby's cousin's wife saying that last time when she's preggie, the gynae told her that to get the baby to open the legs for u to see the gender, mommies can try going to the scan with a full stomach. She explains that when the mommy/baby eats & is full, the baby will then rest/sleep in the legs open position. Not sure true or not... but can try it out. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: baby kick

Because we saw the baby kick during the scanning so I asked the sonographer why I couldn't feel it. She says it's because the mommy's waterbag already absorb most of the kicking effect, so cannot feel it.

During the last few weeks, I felt sthg weird at my tummy... was thinking if it's my intestinal movements / muscle movements or baby kicks. So now I know, they ain't baby kicks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Welcome the year of the rabbit by encouraging them to save! This little rabbit will move it's ears each time u drop a coin into it!

We are the FIRST in SG to bring this environmental friendly product in!

What are they?

They are made of recycled paper and can be reused 100%.

Pls throw them in the recycling bin and it will be reborn as recycled paper again!

Creativity

Children can raise their creativity and expression through the process when they assemble the savings bank and draw on it.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5110892.html?1297737236

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5112750.jpg]

Hi Eileen,

I heard from the GP that some people are alledgy to VitE and it causes rashes. If you did not develope alledgy..i think should be ok to use. I think most moisturizer contains Vit E..maybe just the concentration level. Too bad for it cause alledgy to me so i cannot use lo...

Hi life is beautiful (beautifulmom),

Dun worry, i cannot feel most of my baby kicks too...only occassional nudge from her. I try to monitor..sometimes she nudge me up to 6 times in an hr...sometimes none!! wonder why too..hehe

So i guess we have to be more patient..really envy mum who can feel their baby interact with them already...i guess for me i have to wait for our baby to grow bigger and have stronger kick for me to feel it more.

I only felt my girl nudge around 21 week. Now i am in 22weeks.

victoria > I guess I will just have to wait patiently to feel the kicks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Never rub your tummy in a circular manner as it is simulating a whirlpool inside and might lead to premature labor. Instead, use your fingers and firmly pressed down on all sides of the tummy. Left-Right, Top-Bottom.

How do you know if your baby likes it? If your baby does not like you touching him/her, then the top of the tummy will feel very hard and not soft to touch.

Another way to simulate your baby to move is to do a butterfly manner and send ripples in the waterbag.

Also, at week 26 onwards, your baby can head as the nerve endings have grown to the ears.

NEVER in any case, put a headphone or earphone at the tummy. It might make him tone deaf or even worse, lead to premature death. Instead, talk to the baby from the outside at a neutral voice. "Hello, how are you today? Be good to Mummy ok?" In fact, I just told him to kick more and Hazel was complaining to me that he is kicking like crazy inside. Hahaha.

The next interesting thing is that you can actually start to use torch light to shine at your tummy and introduce him to light. Sounds corny? She said it works!

Victoria, same here..My girl no pattern one..She just moves and kicks whenever she feels like it..haha..they say, baby will move more while we are at rest right, but for her, even when I'm standing and teaching, she will give me surprise kicks! Haha...

Have not log in for a while.. My son got viral fever over CNY and now having flu and cough.. Have not been getting enough sleep at night.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Saw that there will be a gathering.. When is it? Do include me in ya..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies, I'm an Oct 2011 MTB. This is my 2nd pregnancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just to share some great products I've also recommended to other mummies in another forum:

Prenatal vits: http://www.iherb.com/Twinlab-Dr-Greene-Prenatal-120-Capsules/11053?at=0

Fish oil/DHA: http://www.iherb.com/New-Chapter-Wholemega-Prenatal-500-mg-90-Softgels/22651?at=0

This website is in USD (conversion rate now is good!) and they ship direct to SG.

You can use discount code YAF688 to get US$5 off your first purchase.

This is a very good website, I buy my son's supplements and toiletries (all organic) from this website since my boy was born in 2007. :D

If you don't have a credit card but want to order, PM me. We can combine orders (I stay at PG).

BTW, they also have organic products for preggy mummies. My face wash, body wash and shampoo are all bought from this website too (Aubrey Organics). Price is not expensive with the direct shipping to SG. :D

In fact, most of their products are available at shops in SG, but double or triple the price. :D

Just to share urine leak matter with you all here.. I brought this up again to my gyne and he did mention that urine leak during preggy is normal during 3rd trimester onwards.

I have urine leak quite early (now already have it and in 2nd trimester). Gyne say its not a good sign to leak such a early stage as this shows that inside me is weak already... only way is to improve is Kegal Excersise.

So those who are in the same situation as me should try Kegal now.. dun wait but I know sometimes we just forget about it.

Ask if after birth will we improve he say some % will improve but remaining 5 to 10% will not.

Gee.. worried already....

Hi Ting,

Can we use up moving stroke movement to stroke our tummy? I was told by my friend whom attend the annental class to use bottom to up stroke motion to stroke our tummy instead of circular movement that what i've been doing so far.

By the way...how to stimulate in butterfly manner??Sound intresting.

Hi Christy..there are quite a few times when i sneezed..my urine also leaked out abit..so consider weak??

Victoria, im nt sure eh..hv to ask experience mummies..but watever we do..hv to be gentle already..i think i will move up n dwn nia..wont be doing any circular movement..means if we run abit to catch bus..aint bb up and dwn also already..

but i think later stage can massage in circular movement coz nt tat much water as bb too big also..coz i got see my colleague stroking in circular movement eh..but is at ard 35wks ah?? when the bb is kicking more often..can see their legs/hands against ur tummy..hv to calm them dwn..

was asking mum regarding the red date tea. no wonder mine was tasteles. heee

mum's recipe is:

for a small pot (that can cook 1 serving of maggi), put about 20-30 red dates, then slightly smaller amount of dried longan (depending how sweet you want it to be). Plus a handful of wolfberry. Boil for half hour.

She mentioned is better to get seeded red dates, then remove the seeds yourself. Cos sometimes the unseeded ones, the middle will be rotten.

christy

oooh i din noe leak of urine means inside is weak.. nvm i will ask my gynae on 1st mar cuz i

also always exp leak of urine..i leak cuz i always hold my bladder too long..then leak..

ya reali inside weak, very worried one leh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ting> Sadly yes.. read the following I got from a website: http://www.indiancontinencefoundation.org/urinary_leaking.html

STRESS INCONTINENCE occurs when the pelvic floor muscles become weak and can no longer support the urethra and bladder neck. As a result, simple activities such as coughing, sneezing or lifting a heavy object can cause urine to leak. For some, this leakage may occur because the external sphincter muscle is not functioning properly. Stress incontinence is the most common type of incontinence.

Joyce> My mom say yes during preggy will leak.. but I dun know after birth some may not recover... so that the worried part.

Empty your bladder.. when I am on the higway and have traffic jam I tell my hub to stop at the next petrol station so I can release myself...

As I wear panty liner sometimes the flow is a lot till the side of the panty also kana.. sometime dun have..

What I know is the more we give birth the more weak cause my grandma have this problem and I think she go for op on this... due to last time pple give birth to 10 kids.

I personally think a good pratice from now is... Morning... Afternoon and Night do Kegal for a start.. got to start now.

Those who do not have this problem yet I think also good for you to strengthen your pelvic floor muscles....

I have a couple of students' mum went for op as it doesn't improve after delivery.

ting > thanks for the info. I didn't know it's not advisable to rub in circular manner. I have always been doing that.

zerochristy > i signed up for the TMC's FBI and recvd some free goodies, among them, have this pad for urinal leakage. I haven't used it yet and am not sure of the difference between this and a normal pad but maybe you can give them a try. the brand is poise. (not advertising for them, but just sharing there's such a product available)

same have, i have the leakage problem when my bladder is too full and when i sneeze. :x

life is beautiful> I have heard of Poise its for urine leak.. just act like a pad we usual use.

Pianojazzy> I think you meant do not hold the bladder... cause holding bladder will be worst.

Victoria/quien,

Thanks for sharing your recipes! Shall try to cook the tea!

I signed up for the SBI card, and didn't get any pad. Instead I have gotten lot of useless things that I already have like changing pad, bottle holder, and the diaper bag. Maybe the most useful thing in the goodie bag is the tin of Similac Mum but which I don't really like.

I have the urine leak problem since my 2nd trimester too. Gynae advised me to exercise pelvic floor muscles (when bladder is empty) and to try holding the bladder muscles when passing urine. Pass some urine, hold the muscles, then continue passing urine.

Besides this, also frequently have discharge & sometimes yeast infection. Haiz, so many issues.....

Talking about forceps/vacuum, i vaguely remember that someone told me the use of epidural is associated with assisted delivery.

Hanis,thanks for the website.I might order when I come back to sin.

Life is beautiful,congrats to knowing ur bb gender.it's really the best v day present!

As for urine leak,I think kegel really helps a lot

Christy,same here!I trim a lot of my hair down there.I m also afraid of infection.hehe

Went to see my gyne today.bb is now 790g.and super active until we can't do a proper scan.Even my gyne said wah...ur bb really loves to move n kick a lot.poor mummy...I told my

hubby aldy that his bb is really active,n finally today he got to see his son kicking throughout the whole time...wahaha

i have also started using poise pads after i cough quite badly prev before cny. The cough causes quite a bad leak. Though now i no longer have any leaks, i feel more secure using the poise pads. I realise that for the same sizing as our normal panty liner pad size, the cotton pad is significantly thicker in case if the urine leaks comes back again for me.

same thing i also started using posie after i got to try it as a freebie from the FBI giftpack.

Just had my DS this morning. Doc cfm we are having a girl! In my 22weeks now, girl girl is measuring 475 gram.

I asked my Gynae about my rashes and he said this usually occurs to 5% of expecting mothers and tells me not to worry too much about it as it will go away after delivery. Wah.. hope the rashes will not stay for another 4 months!

Christine> Like you, I had the leaks too when I was coughing badly! Back then I used a panty liner and it was not enough. I got so scared of leaks till I had to hold in my bladder each time I cough! Touch wood! Hope I do not get sick again in my 3rd trimester! Cannot imagine if I am coughing again with a big load in my tummy!

Clare> Wow! It must be so fun to see your bb kicking around so much during the scan. Mine was more shy as she kicks before and after the scan, but acted ladylike when we all peep into her world during the scan! hehehe

Is receiving blanket the same as the one we use to cover the baby in the cot? Is fleece material better?

Evvie,

Congrats in knowing ur bb's gender.

I also heard that the rash will go away after pregnancy.

I did the glucose test today coz' I m 24weeks+,so the nurse asked casually whether I wanted to do,so I thought I better get over and done with.but I think the sugar rush made bb hyperactive.

Girls shy shy good leh..my bb only knew how to show the gyne his private part and his buttocks.He was sticking it out like a sore thumb.

I think its always a wonderful experience to see our bb during the scans.

JJ > thanks for the card!

Any kind mum can share spring card too? lol

life is beautiful > the problem is my husband super strict one. He dun even allow me to go for steamboat and I cant touch up my hair also [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Feel very miserable and ugly sometimes... lol

My baby kick also no timing one... sometimes will kick kick, sometimes no kick. So her dad sometimes waiting eagerly and nothing happen, then when he left to do something the baby suddenly kick lol

Talk about leak last DS on fri told doc I always felt full bladder n leak wn cough,a urine test show I got infection n it's the nt safe for preg kind so vday brush dwn clinic to get the medi for me

tsukushi, use of epidural might increase the chances of assisted birth because mummy cant feel the pain, can only rely on the monitor to tell if contractions is here. So it might prolong the labour for inexperienced mummies & bb cant stay in the birth canal for too long in case of complications, hence, the need for assisted birth... from my experience with #1 (without epidural), the contraction monitor wasnt very accurate with my contractions cos its about 10-20 seconds slower, by then the peak of contraction is over, making it difficult to push the bb out...

hello mummies. done my amnio extract ytd. smooth process and result will be out 3 wks later. n gone my $2k.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] will be resting at home today. maybe tmr will go back to work, although mc till friday

urine leak when sneeze n cough. i started experience this time too.. #1 time no hv. not alot, just troublesome. i was quite surprise as i always tot c-sec will not hv this prob. seem like i'm wrong. mayb is bcos large bb? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tsukushi, agreed w E'leen. tat is wat my sis told me. she said she cant feel anything after the epi injection, and both her kids are assisted delivery.

Re: Support binder

I saw from threads Dale is good. Any experience mummies has any comments?

Re: pregnancy pillow

Anyone using pregnancy pillow already? I tot of getting one but there is so many different ones in the market. Which is good? See till i blur blur.

Re: Sleeping posture

Anyone have problems sleeping? I used to sleep on my left side b4 preggie cos it is good for the colon. After preggie, sleeping on the left side is uncomfortable. Right side is more comfortable but it is not good. Anyone has this prob?